Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 07:25 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Nov 16 2010, 06:00 PM)
@zstan
reading your previous post, thought you will write more on your blog.
unfortunately, can't see any.
do you go to any theme park?

p/s: even if i see any of SNSD girl, can't really differentiate between them lor...
bro.

i just reached malaysia today 5.30am. can give me some time? sweat.gif no i didnt go theme park. go there means one day gone.
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 09:23 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 16 2010, 07:45 PM)
Zstan,

Easy to find money changes in town area ?
The trees still gold colour or barren now ?
Where to find street foods night market like those in Taiwan ?
What is the turn around time to exit from immigration (arrival) ?
should be la. seen quite a lot in those tourist areas. biggrin.gif

trees are now..yellow..red..brown..etc.. as far as i know of its Dongdaemun night market la..turn around time? means? the time to clear immigration? for me i waited 5 minutes. my muslim colleague was suspected as a terrorist and got detained for awhile. laugh.gif

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 16 2010, 08:21 PM)
Backpacking is the way to go. biggrin.gif
My first time to Korea was pretty much through backpacking, travelling alone.

You'll feel really, really warm when you ask for help properly.
It's a good feeling.
a bit hard to ask if you dunno any korean. =/

Added on November 16, 2010, 9:31 pmfrom my latest blog post biggrin.gif :

Yo people I am back from Seoul after a 5 day 3 nights trip. =D

As a mini summary for my trip, let's start of with the weather.

During the first day, weather was still fine and as the days go on, it gets colder and colder, need few layers of clothes but that's just me. Those koreans have no problems walking around in a jacket and t-shirt or mini skirt. Its also quite dry so lip balm is helpful in this situations.

The food here is not too bad. Don't know how to appreciate the kimchi though. Nothing we can't find in Malaysia. Price of food is not that cheap, even an ice cream can cost RM9 and 3 piece KFC about RM24 after conversion. Having said that, most of the things here are pricey lol. A note to Muslim people though, almost everything here is non-halal. So if you are close minded, there's really nothing much for you to eat.

The restaurants there are not like Malaysia. Here they serve a variety of food and drinks whereas in Korea, if that shop sells dumpling noodles, that's all you are going to get. And only ice water or alcohol to go with. No teh ice, kopi ice, apple juice etc.

Do note that if you buy food from the side stalls during your journey, that the nearest rubbish bin is quite hard to find. Preparing a small bag for rubbish would be helpful. And there aren't many chairs around either, be it the streets or shopping malls. Well, i guess Malaysia is the only country with chairs & rubbish bins everywhere in shopping centres. Even singapore also don't have. =D

Speaking about shopping centres, they are all quite specialised and some, cramped. If these place sells clothing, the whole area around also sells clothing. Clothings & accessories here(not branded) are very cheap here. Should sapu a few to bring back.

The buildings here are also quite compacted. Its hard to find linked houses in the city unlike Petaling Jaya where houses are abundant. They usually live in high rises or cramped houses. Not forgetting to mention that Seoul has A LOT of SLOPES. That's why all so slim one. =/ The

Last but not least is the people. Generally i find Malaysians a bit more polite. Language wise, their level of english is reaaaaaaally bad. Very hard to communicate. Its best if you translate all the important words and places that you want to go before heading out to the wild. There are many things to see at the back alleys. So don't just focus on the stuff beside the main road.

Some teaser pictures if you missed them earlier:

Night view of Seoul City

Korean Money.

Sexy Hot Male & Female Dancers

This post has been edited by zstan: Nov 16 2010, 09:31 PM
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 10:03 PM

15,856 posts

hmm..not about the way they talk..there are few occasions like..if i ask something more..they get annoyed(and these people are hotel staffs)..and then when me n my other friends are queuing up at the counter..they will start 'tsk tsk tsk'..er u get what i mean?

anyway, can't generalise la. there are rude malaysians as well. biggrin.gif
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 10:23 PM

15,856 posts

you from korea? haha. see when next air asia got promo again. really need a local guide la.

that day i ask two korean guys where's dongdaemun market they dunno point me go where.

end up got lost walking under super cold conditions still can't find. mega_shok.gif
zstan
post Nov 16 2010, 10:53 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 16 2010, 10:45 PM)
Naw.. I work there, travel back and forth to Korea quite frequently these days.
Right now in Malaysia... holidays.

Haha they won't know how to point where to go, because the Koreans now a days all rely on the subway and public transports.
They just remember the number of the buses and subway trains, how they arrive there they ain't have the slightest clue most of the time.

Not all of em'... but many youngsters (even middle-aged men and women also influenced like that already) now a days are like that, especially in the Seoul area.

So you gotta ask em' which train/bus to take instead.
ohhh..you are in seoul? wa..so majority don't have sense of direction? rclxub.gif cause i asked them where's the market they still need bring out gps..and point wrong way some more doh.gif

taxi is relatively cheap also. faster and less hassle.
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 12:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Nov 17 2010, 09:41 AM)
That work out to be 1000won=RM3.05 in Malaysian money changers.
all in all, its still cheaper to change in Malaysia la. nod.gif

QUOTE(koinibler @ Nov 17 2010, 09:51 AM)
sorry bro, that many super informative post thinking that you've been here for several days already..
but still good its? make you urge to write thinking there're a lot of member who not patience enough  drool.gif  to wait for your post(or a new post)
haha. there got free wifi at those tourist areas ma..so can online lo..wait la later one more post..
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 01:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(icun_94 @ Nov 17 2010, 01:06 PM)
Guys, I really need favor rite now. Just dunno where n how to start. Ok, like dis, dad planned to vacate in korea(South Korea) on coming Christmas, so what's the best of korea? If possible, I need to know place of interest , etc.. Thanks in advance. Fyi, I oredi know some place for entertainment like, Lotte World, and Everland only.. Btw, we gonna stay der for like 5 nights and back to M'sia and go to Australia. Thanks brothers n sisters.
read from page 1.
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 01:50 PM

15,856 posts

Continuation from Seoul Trip 2010-Sneak Peak:

Arrived at airport around 11am. Rented a big van. =D

A dedicated line just for this flight

Seats of the Airbus 330. Quite small and cramped but still acceptable la for this price.

Flight attendent serving food.

..this chicken lasagna is niceeeeee.. drool.gif

After 6 hours of flight, I finally arrived Incheon International Airport at 9pm local time. Do note that Seoul is ONE HOUR ahead of Malaysia. Hence, the sun rises faster and sets faster(5.30pm?) than here.

arrival~
Old man refilling water

Water refilling counters are abundant almost everywhere in popular tourist destinations. So you need not worry about buying water. Just carry a water bottle with you will do.

Main arrival hall

zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 02:08 PM

15,856 posts

Since Air Asia did not serve dinner, we had to buy our own food when we reached the airport. It was already 11pm and everybody was starving. KFC & MCD was the only viable choice left as we need to board the tour bus soon.

Burgers not found in Malaysia

The Tower Burger -Hashbrown, Cheese, Spicy & Crunchy Chicken Patty drool.gif drool.gif drool.gif

After a 1 hour journey, I arrived at Co-Op Residence Seoul where we stayed for the night.

Front lobby

The bed

..and everything else. Very very compact.

Night shot from the balcony. Still not that cold at that time.

outside view of room.

stay tuned for next post. blush.gif

zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 02:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 17 2010, 02:05 PM)
Koreans not that stupid when they come to money, they're all very money minded people, every single won they'll count.
Christmas time it'll already be snowing.
So.. depending wherter you like the snow or not actually.
If you do, you can go for ice skating, it's pretty fun.
nola my cousin met one very stupid one.

his cup of coffee was like 5200 won.

so he gave him 10200 won, easier to change back right? but he dun wan. he insisted that my cousin paid 11000 won and changed back 800 won for him. doh.gif
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 02:43 PM

15,856 posts

lol. i brought a mini tripod as well. accidentally dropped on the floor some more. hood cracked. cry.gif

buy sony a55 la. can take pics and video as well. icon_idea.gif
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 02:51 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 17 2010, 02:46 PM)
Nice pics!!!  thumbup.gif

Oh I get that ALL the time. laugh.gif
Especially those trainee waiters... doh.gif

Most of time I just give them the closest and ask them to keep the chance, don't need mafan.
So like coffee 5200won, I'll just give them 6000 won and walk off.
thanks thanks. just normal travel snapshots la. blush.gif

wa ini orang kaya ini. laugh.gif 800 won is Rm2.40 liao. can buy 2 packets of guava here d.
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 03:31 PM

15,856 posts

got la. dongdaemun night market la.

Added on November 17, 2010, 4:19 pmContinuation of my previous post:

After a lovely sleep its off to my official visit of Seoul. =D

Front view of the hotel

Korean cars. Mostly KIA and Hyundai. All very nice compared to the models in Malaysia. People here usually drive these 2 brands unlike Malaysia, apa model pun ada.

Han bridge and Han river.

Girl on phone.

Before visiting the Blue House(the place where the president stays), we stopped by a local shop(arranged by the guide) for breakfast. buffet style.

At this time the leaves are already very colorful. Yellow and red leaves make up the majority.

Place for breakfast.

One of the souvenirs selling there.

My breakfast- rice, noodles, taufu, you za gui etc.

After breakfast then we proceeded to our next destination.

More trees

This post has been edited by zstan: Nov 17 2010, 06:55 PM
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 04:26 PM

15,856 posts

And so we arrived. But we didn't get to go in the main building. =( Not like Putrajaya where we can actually visit the inner parts of the buildings. We only get to visit the monuments outside.

The Phoenix which symbolises the King i think.

There was a building nearby to visit too.

Korean musical instruments, which is also similar to Chinese ones.

a little more pics at my blog.

next up: gyeonbokgong. biggrin.gif

zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 05:44 PM

15,856 posts

sorry la bro. this blueberry ice cream by the road side already cost me 3000 won. laugh.gif

zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 06:56 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Nov 17 2010, 06:00 PM)
Depends on the area, depends on the owner really...
Usually around dongdaemun area it is about 1500 won for 2 sticks... pricing aren't really standard.

I usually go to the ones manned by ahjummas or halmeonnis (aunties or grandmas), they're all very nice.
Will give you free stuff if you stay around and chat with them a lil'.

Added on November 17, 2010, 6:01 pmBTW @zstan
That "some river" you're talking about, that's the Han river.
And the bridge over there is the Han bridge. smile.gif
ah.. thanks..editted.. biggrin.gif
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 09:13 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Nov 17 2010, 09:00 PM)
@zstan
since you're staying at co-op residence, i do believe its in dangdemun area,
but you mention its still hard to find dangdemun market,
so, this give me an impression that the dangdemun is quite large area, yes?
nope the one i stayed is at ohmok-gyo...

its not hard to find the dongdaemun market..its just that 2 local korean guys pointed me to a totally different direction...
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 09:52 PM

15,856 posts

Continuation of my previous post

After the visit of Blue house i then went to visit the Gyeongbok Palace or GyeongbokGong. According to the back of my entrance ticket, it seems that the original palace was almost completely burnt down during the World War 2, hence restoration has been carried out for the past 10 years. At the time of my visit, only phase one is completed, meaning only 40% has been restored. But no thanks to the tightness of my schedule, i didn't really visit the whole palace properly. Pictures are quite limited as well as our clueless guide kept rushing us here and there. Sigh.

Walking to the palace

Main entrance of the palace. or is it the back?or middle? @@

more colorful trees. biggrin.gif

turn left and go......

Entering the folk museum........

Some phoenix again

Buddhist Heart Sutra in traditional Chinese. Another proof that Korea originated from China.

Placenta chamber..whatever it is used for.. @@

Superstitious Koreans as well.
zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 09:57 PM

15,856 posts

Back to the palace...

A walk down the road.

At that time there was a royal parade where these people dressing in their traditional costumes and circling the building. No 'palace girls' though. cry.gif

When there were no clubs/bars back then, these was the place that the officials & ministers partied out with the girls.

more pics at my blog biggrin.gif

zstan
post Nov 17 2010, 10:29 PM

15,856 posts

lol nola. you see the dates of the first korean empire. all long after china's empire.

most of their old stuff in the museum were in chinese, including wordings of the palace. can see for yourself.

my guide told me, the koreans got their inspiration to change the chinese words into the now korean words when they were observing people playing chinese chess, the wei qi. a lot of boxes ma. so they convert those words according to those boxes. all from traditional chinese. japanese words also come from chinese ma, that's why there are some similarities. even the pronunciation of some korean words are from chinese. try translating market into korean. biggrin.gif

they were not part of the chinese empire. they were chinese(barbarians kononnya) who ran away from china. same thing like japan. this was during the time when Qin Shi Huang burned all the books in China to unify China, some how korea and japan was too far to be affected. This is from my understanding la. maybe SSJBen can give a better explanation. blush.gif

12 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0333sec    0.22    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 01:57 PM