125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

fazadrock
post Aug 7 2010, 04:23 PM

aww.. are you adjusting well to the weather here? did you managed to see cherry blossoms when you were there?

i like summer in jeju but not in seoul. it was just too hot. perhaps i shud go there once in every season haha..
huiyin_hsu
post Aug 7 2010, 04:36 PM

169 posts

Yes ^___^ i ran away to cameron highlands for 3 days because the weather in KL was too hot! hahhaha.. but i'll have to get used to the weather lor, no choice ^^ and yes~ there were cherry blossoms all over my university as well as busan when i was there smile.gif went to nearby city to see cherry blossoms too~ ^^ really really pretty~ i haven't been to Jeju because my friends said that there's not much to do there and the island is pretty similar to what we have around here (apparently its very famous among the koreans because its.. different frm the rest of korea) but to us it will be like..... normal lor. and its expensive so i havent been there~ i was in Seoul once during winter and once during um.. Spring.. maybe a month before i came back here~ So.. i dunno what is the weather like in Seoul during summer but but Winter is crazy T_T

anyone thinking of going to the DMZ ??? I heard its really good, but apparently Malaysians cant go there because of our passport.. we'll have to apply in advance or some sort like that .. i think its a must go place~!

mount sorak (Sorak-san) is a nice place to visit too! (i haven't been there myself T_T but apparently its a really pretty place to visit during autumn (all the autumn leaves) ) biggrin.gif

sfwong1
post Aug 7 2010, 05:26 PM

456 posts

DMZ?? what is that? i plan to go skiing there part of my itenary,now im feeling a little bit scared i will fall sick then like that will spoiled my holiday already,sobs...btw during christmas which is the best place to visit? like celebrations and stuff... maybe a little bit of partyin,hehe.
huiyin_hsu
post Aug 7 2010, 05:28 PM

169 posts

Its the area between south n north korea.. i went skiing also during winter but it was a place an hour away from busan.. in seoul there are many popular skiing areas but it can get abit costly~ smile.gif i dunno much about celebrations in Seoul because i was in Busan during christmas smile.gif
blizzardng
post Aug 7 2010, 09:12 PM

48 posts

i wonder will it cost more if i only check in the guest house when i reach Korea without any "prebooking", except that i might have a trouble if the guest house has fully occupied. hehe Will it cost a lot? Any advice here?
huiyin_hsu
post Aug 7 2010, 10:03 PM

169 posts

in Korea you don't have to worry about accommodations.. as i've written i guess maybe 8-10 posts back, there are plenty of places to stay..if guesthouses are full, you could always check into any of the motels available (its ALL over Korea) seriously. and its not expensive too.. after all, if you're backpacking im sure you want to save as much money as possible, and besides you're only going to sleep there for a night. Each night could cost 30,000won (cheapest and abit far away) or closer could cost 50,000won and up... So don't worry about making pre reservations! But of course the downside is that you'll have to carry your backpacks (or put it in the subway locker) because if you check in in the afternoon it will cost you more .. towards the evenings and nights could be cheaper.
terryykf
post Aug 7 2010, 11:35 PM

175 posts

huiyin_hsu,

hi,u stayed in Korea for how long??
We will be going to Korea on 27May-31May next year.So its still Spring by that time???
huiyin_hsu
post Aug 8 2010, 12:41 AM

169 posts

haro terry. i stayed in korea from last year sept until this year july. smile.gif ya that time should be spring ^__^ if im not mistaken oh goodness.

fraulein
post Aug 8 2010, 01:48 AM

510 posts

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Aug 7 2010, 04:36 PM)
Yes ^___^  i ran away to cameron highlands for 3 days because the weather in KL was too hot! hahhaha.. but i'll have to get used to the weather lor, no choice ^^ and yes~ there were cherry blossoms all over my university as well as busan when i was there smile.gif went to nearby city to see cherry blossoms too~ ^^ really really pretty~ i haven't been to Jeju because my friends said that there's not much to do there and the island is pretty similar to what we have around here (apparently its very famous among the koreans because its.. different frm the rest of korea) but to us it will be like..... normal lor. and its expensive so i havent been there~ i was in Seoul once during winter and once during um.. Spring..  maybe a month before i came back here~ So.. i dunno what is the weather like in Seoul during summer but but Winter is crazy T_T

anyone thinking of going to the DMZ ??? I heard its really good, but apparently Malaysians cant go there because of our passport.. we'll have to apply in advance or some sort like that ..  i think its a must go place~!

mount sorak (Sorak-san) is a nice place to visit too! (i haven't been there myself T_T but apparently its a really pretty place to visit during autumn (all the autumn leaves) ) biggrin.gif
I'm thinking of DMZ (Demilitarize Zone) too, but the dress code and rules are really really strict. Are there any problem to get there with Malaysian passport? My husband thinks it's dangerous since we can get into the Joint Security Area in that close vicinity with North Korean soldiers.
huiyin_hsu
post Aug 8 2010, 03:37 AM

169 posts

So far i have a couple of friends who have visited that area and its pretty safe smile.gif at least they all came back in one piece.. as long as you don't go violating rules around there i guess it should be fine

i wanted to go there too but apparently certain countries are restricted / with special permission or stuff like that... and with malaysian passports (i assume becuase we are an islamic country) we're not allowed entrance.. however there's two areas open, one is the DMZ and one is the Panmunjeon Observatory or some sort like that (go check online i forgot lol).. one of them we are allowed and the other we need to submit some kind of documents apparently a week or more before hand or something like that..

do check with the tour guide / tour (because u have to join a tour to get there) before you go to korea ok~ smile.gif
terryykf
post Aug 8 2010, 09:06 AM

175 posts

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Aug 8 2010, 12:41 AM)
haro terry. i stayed in korea from last year sept until this year july. smile.gif ya that time should be spring ^__^ if im not mistaken oh goodness.
oh really?great...can see cherry blossom then....ahaks.....
hmm.....i heard that the living cost in Korea are higher than Japan,is it true??
huiyin_hsu
post Aug 8 2010, 10:36 AM

169 posts

yeah ^__^ you will be able to see Cherry Blossoms. A very popular city to view Cherry Blossoms is Jin Hae. Its an hour bus ride away from Busan.

I don't know about the difference between living cost in Korea and Japan because i havent been to japan ._." maybe other forrumers can answer ur question better...
atah
post Aug 8 2010, 11:28 AM

633 posts

hi huiyin, could you please advise how much budget i need for a day's meal for 2 person? not fancy restaurants but those street food and normal restaurant at those tourist attraction places.

rjb123
post Aug 8 2010, 11:42 AM

1,820 posts

Interested here also, I booked myself ticket to go in November - I see I'll probably have quite low temperature , nice change from here smile.gif

Also been recommended to go to DMZ by another forum, think I'll check it out when there.

Looking forward to this, never visit Korea before biggrin.gif
aeiou228
post Aug 8 2010, 11:56 AM

5,867 posts

user posted imageuser posted image

Winter Sonata

May I know where is it located ? I want to rent a bicycle and take picture here with my GF at this one of the most famous photo back ground in Asia. wub.gif

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Aug 8 2010, 12:01 PM
terryykf
post Aug 8 2010, 12:22 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 8 2010, 11:56 AM)
user posted imageuser posted image
Winter Sonata

May I know where is it located ? I want to rent a bicycle and take picture here with my GF at this one of the most famous photo back ground in Asia.  wub.gif
Nami Island. smile.gif
terryykf
post Aug 8 2010, 12:24 PM

175 posts

QUOTE(huiyin_hsu @ Aug 8 2010, 10:36 AM)
yeah ^__^ you will be able to see Cherry Blossoms. A very popular city to view Cherry Blossoms is Jin Hae. Its an hour bus ride away from Busan.

I don't know about the difference between living cost in Korea and Japan because i havent been to japan ._." maybe other forrumers can answer ur question better...
oh la la...so happy!!
Jin Hae??May I know where is Busan?Huhu...never been to Korea b4,so not familiar with the places there.sorry ar.....We will reach Incheon Airport,meaning we will reach Seoul right??Then from Seoul,we nid to go to Busan??

aeiou228
post Aug 8 2010, 01:52 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(terryykf @ Aug 8 2010, 12:22 PM)
Nami Island. smile.gif
Thanks. Found it !
http://maps.google.com.my/maps?q=Nami%20Is...F-8&sa=N&tab=il

Added on August 8, 2010, 1:59 pmObtain the following from TripAdvisor forum take the subway (if you are staying in Myeongdong) – take green line 2 (3 stops to Dongdaemun) change to blue line 1 (4 stops) to “Cheongnangyi subway station at Line 1. Take exit 4, follow the signboard to Cheongnangyi train Station (to your right). Buy a ticket to Gapyeong train station. The ticket cost 3,800 won one way and is a 1.5 hour ride. The train interval is every hour.
From the Gapyeong train station, you can take a cab to the ferry wharf. There are a lot of taxis outside the Gapyeong train station. Just tell them ferry station or Namiseoum and they will understand. It cost 3,500 won and is only about 5 minutes ride.
From the ferry wharf, you need to buy the ferry ticket which includes the Nami Island entry ticket, total is 8,000 won. The ferry ride is another 5-10 minutes.
Coming back is the same. At the ferry wharf, you need to walk straight ahead to the family mart in from of you and there are a lot of taxis waiting there. Just tell them train station. You will have to buy a train station to Cheongnangyi station to go back to Seoul.”
http://www.lukewrites.com/travel/south-kor...%EC%84%AC-korea

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Aug 8 2010, 02:00 PM
liyana_seoultrip
post Aug 8 2010, 03:06 PM

hi. My friends and I (3 of us) have booked our flight ticket to Incheon-Seoul 19 May - 24 May 2011. We are looking for another lady to join our backpacking trip just to have a round number smile.gif. I think you can still get the Airasia flight ticket for RM855 return trip inc. taxes.

It's a 5D5N trip because we will reach Incheon on 19 May at 9.30pm and leave on 24 May 11.30pm. Hopefully it's still going to be springtime and we can walk freely with usual clothing because the weather/season change is quite unpredictable nowadays. This year it was still so cold in early May. And I hope summer won't come early next year.

All of us are 25 year-old and Muslims females. Currently we are finalizing the itinerary and accommodation but we are not in a rush since there is plenty of time before the trip. I can speak fairly good Korean and I have Koreans friends there (Seoul) that speak good English so I'm confident about going around in Seoul. One of my friend that coming with me also had stayed in Seoul for 2 weeks before.

Excluding the flight ticket and passport I would say that you need around RM1500 for accommodation/food/transportation+admission fee/a bit of shopping.

Please contact me at liyana@live.com.my if you're interested. My name is Liyana smile.gif

huiyin_hsu
post Aug 8 2010, 03:06 PM

169 posts

@atah : per meal cheapest would cost u 5000won. So 3 meals a day multiplied with two people would cost + - rm100 per day. That is the cheapest and can make sure u r full la.. Street food is very expensive.. One stick of sausage with glutinous rice can cost almosr rm9...

@@

Added on August 8, 2010, 3:27 pm@terry: Busan is located at the south of korea.. U can check the map

This post has been edited by huiyin_hsu: Aug 8 2010, 03:27 PM

125 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:44 AM