Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

zstan
post Dec 18 2010, 01:09 AM

15,856 posts

basic english?

i will remember for a long time how that cashier at kfc at the airport who screwed up my order and then throwing the receipt at my colleague.

but that's just me. laugh.gif
zstan
post Dec 18 2010, 11:39 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Dec 18 2010, 01:31 AM)
lol throw at yr colleague? wah if me i sure damn piss off.
yeah...happened on first day at airport some more shakehead.gif

QUOTE(namie90 @ Dec 18 2010, 09:26 AM)
ooh...if cant speak chinese so how la?hehehe...but after all the reading in this forum..got lots of confident to travel backpacking in korea.
like i said, do your homework.

write down all the places you want to go in korean on a piece of paper..if u dunno how to go..can show this paper to the locals..

Added on December 18, 2010, 11:40 am
QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Dec 18 2010, 11:28 AM)
Here is a tip when you want to ask for direction in Seoul.

Preferably, choose a working class young male to ask for direction.  Why ? Because the possibility of communication in English is better, they are more friendly towards foreigners and 9 out of 10 will flash out their GPS enabled cellphone to assist you.
however some of them can't read the GPS properly and point you to another direction as well. shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 18 2010, 11:40 AM
zstan
post Dec 18 2010, 06:04 PM

15,856 posts

actually itaewon is a good place to chill and hang out at night..

many of those coffee houses and bars. noticed a gay bar too. laugh.gif

okla maybe its not quite suitable for tourist who's main aim is to visit as many places at once in a limited time.. blush.gif
zstan
post Dec 18 2010, 06:37 PM

15,856 posts

Myeongdong has more established brands compared to namdaemun, which literally has none. laugh.gif

a more loaded girl tourist would prefer myeongdong though... 3 story forever 21..zara... drool.gif
zstan
post Dec 18 2010, 09:00 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Dec 18 2010, 07:49 PM)
ok after reading this itaewon is inside my list already with cheonggyecheon stream.
which  train station shud i stop at and line what with which exit to get to itaewon,wanna check out the bar and pubs there,experience the night and youth life there  tongue.gif
erm..stop at itaewon station lo. haha. anyway, if you are really keen on visiting at night, unless you are wearing like really thick clothes, its best if you take a taxi and then ask him to drive around first, once u reach the subway station.

maybe u can ask him to recommend a pub nearby. even better. if u wanna go club, the hotel that i stayed also got one. laugh.gif

capitol hotel. icon_idea.gif

if u reli serious about clubbing, check out the clubs around Hongik University. brows.gif brows.gif

some links:

http://www.lifeinkorea.com/Travel2/2

This post has been edited by zstan: Dec 18 2010, 09:04 PM
zstan
post Dec 18 2010, 09:11 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Dec 18 2010, 06:47 PM)
I wonder how much Forever 21 would costs there in Seoul since the founders are South Korean themselves. I guess Namdaemun sounds like a place for stingy-tourist girl like me. LOL!
hmm..its about the same but the choices are definitely much much MUCH more than here! drool.gif drool.gif aiya..knowing girls..u all can go try those clothes and then just camwhore in the changing room also satisfied d right? tongue.gif

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Dec 18 2010, 07:29 PM)
Noted that. I wonder how cold will it be like in Seoul area. I don't think I have the time to cover places outside Seoul, other than the ski resort.

Here is my basic 4 days itinerary. Pls comment  notworthy.gif
19 reach seoul at 9.15pm, stroll, sleep
20 stroll seoul, winter gear, stroll, outdoor ice skating
21 full day skiing, sleighing
22 stroll, shopping
23 last minute shopping before 11pm flight
24 reach malaysia at 5.05 am, prepare to go to work

Will my two yrs Nokia N82 be useful during the cold winter? I might need to use my Garmin for it. If not, I guess I've to get maps then. hmm.gif
are u an avid ice skater a? u sure u can tahan walking, and then ice skating for few hours, and the skiing the whole day some more, amd then go more shopping?!! shocking.gif notworthy.gif

i go pyramid skate few hours leg also numb liao. if u really can stick to your itinerary i respect you wei. rclxms.gif laugh.gif

maps are pletiful at the airport if you didn't get from here.
zstan
post Dec 19 2010, 02:07 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Derwyn @ Dec 19 2010, 12:52 AM)
If ur afraid of missing the last train...get to the AREX train immediately after u've retrieved ur baggage, better bring some food before ur flight so u can take it as "alas perut" before reaching Seoul. AREX is located at the building directly opposite of the airport so u need to either cross the road or follow the AREX sign n get there using the connecting bridge...I managed to reach my destination in Seoul at 11.30pm via AREX and subway, 3 transfers in total. But better don't take the ultra big luggage with rollers cos it will be tough carrying it up the long staircases in the subway stations.

U can find food at the convenience stores after u reach Seoul. smile.gif
if u are taking MAS or a premium airline..then yes..this option is feasible..

but if u are taking air asia..be prepared to wait at least 10-15 minutes before your luggage comes out.... laugh.gif
zstan
post Dec 19 2010, 12:43 PM

15,856 posts

my souvenirs tongue.gif

and some other stuff... laugh.gif
zstan
post Dec 20 2010, 11:40 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(joey_liong22 @ Dec 20 2010, 11:25 AM)
wow.. i bought AA air ticket at RM1020.... you guys so lucky able to MMMMMM the fare at RM300+....
my whole package rm1299 only..includes accomadation and one day tour. tongue.gif
zstan
post Dec 20 2010, 03:40 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Dec 20 2010, 12:23 PM)
How long's your stay?
5 days 3 nights icon_rolleyes.gif
zstan
post Dec 21 2010, 05:43 PM

15,856 posts

i wanted to buy the down jacket with some fur sticking out design but my dad told me its too 'exaggerating' doh.gif

end up just bought a normal, not so fashionable down jacket laugh.gif
zstan
post Dec 21 2010, 08:17 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Dec 21 2010, 07:54 PM)
Currency rate aside, is Dangdaemun an expensive place to shop compared to others like Namdaemun and Myeondong?
well, at dongdaemun there are a few shopping malls.

one is the high class one, which is Doota! and another one nearby, which i cannot remember the name, selling cheaper clothings.

this is Doota~

this is the interior of the 'cheaper' shopping complex

i rate the price like this:

namdaemun>dongdaemun>myeongdong

with the former being cheapest, latter most pricey.
zstan
post Dec 21 2010, 09:27 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Derwyn @ Dec 21 2010, 09:03 PM)
There are many shopping malls at dongdaemun...Doota being the most high class and most of the items have price tags, around Doota are malls like Migiliore and Hello aPM...these malls looks like the pics from zstan, usually the items don't have price tags so u need to ask and bargain abit...the people selling women's clothes are fine but those selling men's clothes are scary as they will pull your hand and keep asking what are you looking for and where are u from.

There is another shopping mall called Cerestar behind Doota...it's a departmental stall so most of the items have price tags, the stuff there are cheaper too, but most of the stuff over there are not so trendy compared to the other malls.
OMG YES I damn freaked out when they do that wei! those who can speak english even more daring! sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

at the end of the day i bought 1 shirt from a guy who didn't pull or harass me. quite an experience. sweat.gif sweat.gif
zstan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:19 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(joey_liong22 @ Dec 22 2010, 11:44 AM)
How about MUST BUY ITEM in Korea ??
cosmetics from duty free shop and girl's accessories from insadong. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
zstan
post Dec 22 2010, 12:48 PM

15,856 posts

not souvenirs uncle, girl's accessories. blush.gif

specifically, i am refering to this shop:

and DUTY FREE face shop, not the normal face shop. blush.gif
zstan
post Dec 22 2010, 02:50 PM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Dec 22 2010, 01:39 PM)
Nowadays a lot of accessories vendor in Malaysia are turning to Korean items. They're selling it for RM4 for earrings, hair accessories, etc, which you can find it at KL Sentral station. Here, based from this pic they're selling it for 1000 won (RM2.70). A little worth it, it's up to the buyer...

I'd rather buy the stuff you can hardly get in Malaysia, that's my rule of thumb of buying when you go travel. Slight price difference, don't care that much sweat.gif All these shopping topics, must ask girls one. Any ladies in this forum arr??? hmm.gif
i bought one large bag full of accessories at rm100 only. malaysia where can find la. and all the quality is very good one. then if buy 2 will free 1(selected items).

actually most of things, like what you said, can be bought in malaysia. laugh.gif shopping tips?here wrong place la. i think i am the only non-budget traveller here. tongue.gif slight difference can mean a lot when you buy A LOT like me.

oh yeah, those stuff at Watson's are pretty cheap as well compared to malaysia one. can go check it out also.

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 22 2010, 02:14 PM)
Haha..suprisingly I saw a guy buying mostly ladies acc geh...  zstan for your gal-gal hor?
actually i wanna buy back and sell but ended up giving most of them away. doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif
zstan
post Dec 22 2010, 05:16 PM

15,856 posts

lol uncle stimix you using your phone online is it? so many typo laugh.gif

which coffee you are referring too? the espresso?
zstan
post Dec 23 2010, 09:39 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(Carmein @ Dec 23 2010, 12:30 AM)
ztan, i recognised that shop at once! I was stucked there for quite a long time buying accessories because they were so cheap!
Only 1000 won per item, you will never get it here at this price!
Also, they have pretty phone covers.
I bought alot of Cantata coffee because of Lee Min Ho. :0) Haha.
i think my whole group was stuck there at least ONE hour laugh.gif laugh.gif

oh yeah the iphone 4 casings are nice too. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
zstan
post Dec 23 2010, 01:31 PM

15,856 posts

too much layers is a problem as well.. you might suffocate in the shopping mall where the temperature suddenly shoots up to about 25 degrees.... laugh.gif
zstan
post Dec 23 2010, 08:35 PM

15,856 posts

waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa 6th time. hardcore korean fan spotted! notworthy.gif

12 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0510sec    0.85    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 08:55 PM