Dear all forumers of Serious Kopitiam, I hope you all are well and having a great life.
Before I start here is a little bit something to read. More like an honest statement. Feel free to skip.
I had posted here (some might say ranting aka attention seeking) on Serious Kopitiam section several times regarding my depression and how miserable I am. I had also mentioned how at time I do feel like life isn't interesting anymore and that quitting on it just sounds oh so wonderful. In all honesty I am still am feeling that way. From my stand, for someone who suffer from a depression, anything 'positive and improving' is just temporary and that indeed it is true it is a long tiresome (perhaps a) losing battle. If there is one thing I ask from all the forumers here is to hear first with no judging intention. To judge a depressed person is attention seeking when they're in actual fact, crying for help, begging for someone to finally understand them is a painful death sentence. I don't have a place to rant , not even support from anyone around me. I keep this sickness I have to myself, lock it deeply and not telling anyone around me, not even my family and friends. Because I know they wont understand. I know I am asking a lot from strangers but I am seeking help here honestly. Anyway, I do however understand that I am in no way could and should force anyone here to read nor help me in anyway. Sometimes, like they say, when even a pair of ears listens, it helps, even just a bit. For those who stretched their hands to help, I thank you. And if you must, speak only kindness or silence is gold. Thank you.
----
1. In actuality, I am sure I am depressed. However I am undiagnosed. I know something is wrong with me inside out, but I am so afraid to meet a doctor to diagnose myself with depression. The reason being, I am just afraid I couldn't afford it financially. I do not know if government hospital provide such department for psychology health. I dont know. Never ask.
2. I never tell to my family about it. I know I am sick. But I did not want to tell them. I don't think they care. I never have a great loving father. Its all about the money he said. But money was never enough for him.
3. I am from a broken family ever since I am in my teen age. I had a difficult childhood. It get worst when my parents divorced in my teen age. Ever since then my mental state is not on par of satisfying level.
4. I shun myself from everything and anyone. I am quiet. I can feel I am different. There are times when locking myself for days curling on bed spacing out and thinking endlessly and mindlessly sounds great. I avoid myself from meeting people ever since. I am not confident. I am not happy and enjoyed doing anything. I am closing myself. I am introvert. I am..not myself.
5. Not to say that I am that all the time. The thing is with depression, sometimes you feel great and better, most of the times youre not. Its like an alternating episode of feeling great one time and feeling like crashing the next. Yes although I am undiagnosed I can see that, this are the symptoms.
6. Faking smile is an easy task for depressed people. Showing and giving what other people want to see and perceive us is even easier - which is "youre happy person" although youre not. This is really bad and a lot of time normal people would not understand nor do they want to. They think depressed people are sick and perhaps perceived us as somewhat and abomination even. As if we're contagious. There is a serious miscommunication here.
7. I did not say that I do not understand what normal people feel. It's tiring isnt it? The constant 'attention seeking' that is never enough from these depressed people is unfair and uncalled for. I would be angry too if I am the norm. I would feel that injustice too if I am you. But unfortunately it is not the case.
8. However, never was a time any decent depressed people want to feel depressed. They want to feel better and not feeling sick. But they couldnt afford that. They know they cant be helped. Thus why sometimes they left you. Or they allow you to leave them. Because they understand. But at the same time its contradicting with what they want. That is the comfort and support from another human being. There is just so much someone can give to depressed people before they snapped.
9. So after family, its friends on the line. I did told my friends about myself. About what I feel. But, they don't understand anything about it. I can see its too much for them. The only thing they could do is just hope youre okay by your own and hopefully it will. The faster you get out from this situation the better for them. I dont blame them. Thus why I left them too.
10. Then, I tried love, romance and relationship. Hoping that I could meet someone who would make me feel loved and cared. Make me feel better. I made promises to myself to change and be better. Thinking I have purpose now to live for. I was wrong. I blamed myself. It made myself and my mental state worsen. Rejection is part of the game. So do cheating etc. And I realized too that.. I might have BPD.
Bordeline Personality Disorder (BPD) definition: Abandonment sensitivity is a symptom of Borderline Personality Disorder (BPD). In the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM), abandonment sensitivity is described as "frantic efforts to avoid real or imagined abandonment." People with BPD can be very sensitive to any cue (real or perceived) that they are being rejected or abandoned. This can include strong reactions to seemingly minor rejections by others (e.g., becoming terrified or enraged when someone cancels plans).
Since feeling rejected triggers such strong emotional reactions in people with BPD, they will often engage in behaviors designed to reduce concerns that they are being abandoned (e.g., frequently calling someone they are in a relationship with to "make sure" that there are no signs of impending abandonment). Unfortunately, this type of behavior may actually create the feared outcome, leading to failed relationships and even greater fears of being abandoned.
Also Known As: rejection sensitivity12. You may also find more about it here:
http://bpd.about.com/od/understandingbpd/a/whatisbpd.htmQuoted:
BPD is one of several personality disorders recognized by the American Psychiatric Association. Personality disorders are psychological conditions that begin in adolescence or early adulthood, continue over many years, and cause a great deal of distress.
Personality disorders can also often interfere with a person's ability to enjoy life or achieve fulfillment in relationships, work, or school.
Borderline Personality Disorder SymptomsBPD is associated with specific problems in interpersonal relationships, self-image, emotions, behaviors, and thinking.
RelationshipsPeople with BPD tend to have intense relationships characterized by a lot of conflict, arguments, and break-ups. BPD is also associated with strong sensitivity to abandonment, which includes intense fear of being abandoned by loved ones and attempts to avoid real or imagined abandonment.
Self-imageIndividuals with BPD have difficulties related to the stability of their sense of self. They report many "ups and downs" in how they feel about themselves. One moment they may feel good about themselves, but the next they may feel they are bad or even evil.
Emotions Emotional instability is a key feature of BPD. Individuals with BPD may say that they feel as if they are on an emotional roller coaster, with very quick shifts in mood (for example, going from feeling okay to feeling extremely down or blue within a few minutes). BPD is also associated with feelings of intense anger and emptiness.
BehaviorsBPD is associated with a tendency to engage in risky and impulsive behaviors, such as going on shopping sprees, drinking excessive amounts of alcohol or abusing drugs, engaging in promiscuous sex, or binge eating. In addition, people with BPD are more prone to engage in self-harming behaviors, such as cutting, or to attempt suicide.
Stress-Related Changes in Thinking Under conditions of stress, people with BPD may experience changes in thinking, including paranoid thoughts (for example, thoughts that others may be trying to cause them harm), or dissociation (feeling spaced out or numb).
Borderline Personality Disorder CausesLike most psychological disorders, the exact cause of BPD is not known. However, there is research to suggest that some combination of nature (biology or genetics) and nurture (environment) is at play.
Research has shown that many people diagnosed with BPD have experienced childhood abuse or neglect, or were separated from their caregivers at an early age. However, not all people with BPD had one of these childhood experiences (and, many people who have had these experiences do not have BPD).
There is also evidence of genetic contributions and differences in brain structure and function in individuals with BPD.
Borderline Personality Disorder TreatmentAlthough at one time experts believed that BPD was unlikely to respond to treatment, research has now shown that BPD is very treatable. A variety of treatments are available for BPD, and these treatments can be delivered in outpatient or inpatient (hospital) settings. BPD is usually treated with a combination of psychotherapy and medication. Hospitalization or more intensive treatments may be necessary in times of crisis.
Living and Coping with Borderline Personality DisorderIt can be very difficult to live with the symptoms of BPD. Intense emotional pain, and feelings of emptiness, desperation, anger, hopelessness, and loneliness are very common. As a result of these experiences, many people with BPD report that they think about suicide, or have made suicide attempts or gestures. Some individuals with BPD engage in self-harming behaviors such as cutting or burning themselves in an attempt to reduce their emotional pain (or, in the case of chronic emptiness, to "feel something.")
The symptoms of BPD can affect a variety of areas, including work, school, relationships, legal status, and physical health. However, despite the suffering that BPD can cause, many people with BPD lead normal, fulfilling lives. There are many success stories!
Real life case can be found here :
http://bpd.about.com/od/faqs/f/abandon.htm13. Its overkill for me. So here I am hoping for some help from strangers.
14. I am currently jobless now, if youre wondering. Succumb to this so called sickness that I do not know how to fix. Let alone anyone else.
15. The thing is, it's not that I do not want to work. But when youre suffering from depression, working is just so harder that what you would imagined. There's a constant socializing occurred in which it does not favour depressed people. Thats the last thing that depressed people want. In which also contradicting, where, thats what they really want. They always feel theyre a burden to anyone that is to them normal.
16. When you made constant physical contact with people at your workplace, there will be chance where you have to face bad clients, people, colleagues, even your boss. And thus, it made your depression worsen. That is what really happening to me. I get really emotional when someone just get angry or scold me on my workplace. More than what I should. My inner voice start telling me I am bad, life is not worth living, you have bad life, youre just worthless yourself and you should really leave everything once and for all. Thus why I never stick to one place. Also I got bored too easily. Its uninteresting. Anything and everything is uninteresting to depressed people.
17. All that depressed people see is black and white. All they hear is silence. All they feel is loneliness. Perhaps its really too much to ask for, for a miracle t happen.
1. I am an undiagnosed depressed person. All the symptoms are there and at times feeling hopeless and helpless. And also at times, the thought of leaving everything behind doesnt sounds so bad. However I have financial restraint. Thus why the thought of going to diagnose wasnt so appealing. I know I am sick. But I couldnt afford to pay.
2. I've been fighting it for years now without medications or professional helps. Up and down like a roller coaster ride. I want to feel better. I think maybe it is time to seek professional help.
3. Would like to ask do government hospital offers help for mental and psychology health? If so where could I find it. Any trusted hospital/clinic?
4. Just asking out of curiosity here, what about private and how much does it cost?
5. What are the treatments and how is the procedure?
6. Is it safe? Side effects? Confidential?
7. What sort of medications would they usually provide you with? And will it help make me feel better? How does it help me feel better?
8. Do you become dependent to medication? I am afraid of this. I dont want to. This is why I am hesitating and reluctant.
9. Aside from medications, what are other things they would do to help you?
11. How long is the period of recovery and do you really recover from it?
12. What are other things I can do aside from going to doctors and medications?
13. Do you guys have anything else to suggest as suggestions to help and ways to improve?
14. Also do they check all the symptoms accordingly and diagnosed you have this and that? Or they just conclude youre depressed? From reading aside from feeling depressed I personally think I have BPD (
Thank you.