Computer Restart or reset, computer reset when GPU stress test

TSmunzirawang
post Aug 19 2015, 08:56 AM, updated 9y ago

PC RESET ITSELF

HI guys, I wanna ask something my computer before running games really fine, but around one week before suddenly when playing games even only one minute my computer reset like someone power off my computer and turn it on. After searching on the internet the problem stated in the computer, first I change the thermal paste and then clean all the dust in the computer. The problem still persist and I've tried running Primo95 for CPU stress test, works fine and when running the FurMark for the GPU stress training the computer reset itself. And I've tried others GPU stress test like OCCT, it happen again. Being using the latest AMD GPU software.

Here are the spec of my computer.

Motherboard

MSI 970-G43

Processor

AMD FX 6100

Power Supply

Cooler Master G760M

RAM

2 x 4 GB 1600

Hard Disk

2 x HDD

PS: Is my GPU out or what

donaldliaw87
post Aug 19 2015, 09:02 AM

13 posts

only while gaming it restart?
myeddylim
post Aug 19 2015, 09:02 AM

189 posts

sounds like PSU problem to me, had the same issue before
TSmunzirawang
post Aug 19 2015, 09:07 AM

QUOTE(myeddylim @ Aug 19 2015, 09:02 AM)
sounds like PSU problem to me, had the same issue before
Really? Because I've bought the PSU earlier this year. And sometimes running the computer while surfing the Internet the computer reset (when watching youtube)
elliot_WD
post Aug 19 2015, 09:12 AM

54 posts

Good day munzirawang,

There could be several reasons to this. Could be the hardware issue such as the PSU not supplying enough power or your CPU is overheating. Some newer GPU, anything less than a 500 watt PSU is probably going to give you the trouble.

Maybe it could be a virus, make sure that you get it up to date antivirus software.

Hope this helps. Good luck.
angelgemini
post Aug 19 2015, 09:14 AM

1,663 posts

possible reason
1. driver - got update any driver recently?
2. GPU having problem
3. PSU having problem, when draw more power, it cut off.
4. Possible RAM issue- any bluescreen when restart?
5. Heat - Thermal paste, you apply thin layer or thick layer? but this less possible.
myeddylim
post Aug 19 2015, 09:17 AM

189 posts

try replace the PSU, coz all symptons points to PSU
spontaneousASHLEE
post Aug 19 2015, 09:51 AM

Validating
779 posts

PSU problem it seems to me.
boonwuilow
post Aug 19 2015, 10:38 AM

Diesel rocks
3,794 posts

The thermal paste on your GPU has been reapplied as well? What GPU u using?
ricstc
post Aug 19 2015, 10:41 AM

Saya Pun Nak Cari Makan
2,272 posts

Yeah right everybody needs to write everyone right you have to change the GPU it is now stressing your computer
TSmunzirawang
post Aug 19 2015, 10:57 AM

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Aug 19 2015, 10:38 AM)
The thermal paste on your GPU has been reapplied as well? What GPU u using?
My Bad forgot to tell, I'm using Asus R9 280x for my GPU. And how do you change the thermal paste for the GPU?

Bought it second hand, the year of purchase Febuary 2014 for the original user and bought it around earlier this year

This post has been edited by munzirawang: Aug 19 2015, 10:58 AM
boonwuilow
post Aug 19 2015, 12:23 PM

Diesel rocks
3,794 posts

QUOTE(munzirawang @ Aug 19 2015, 10:57 AM)
My Bad forgot to tell, I'm using Asus R9 280x for my GPU. And how do you change the thermal paste for the GPU?

Bought it second hand, the year of purchase Febuary 2014 for the original user and bought it around earlier this year
If it is still under warranty, is better not to change, because it is required to disassemble the card. But if u want to proceed, the procedure is similar to the CPU, just remove the heatsink. Check the GPU temperature and see how it goes, could be cause by overheating. Check all the cable and wiring make sure they are properly plugged in, especially those 6/8pin power connector on the GPU.
edisonedw
post Aug 26 2015, 11:47 AM

1,307 posts

u try to borrow a new PSU from ur friends or who, it might b PSU problem dude

0.0131sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th March 2024 - 11:53 PM