[V28] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

KuzumiTaiga
post Jan 16 2016, 11:17 AM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

hey guys, just sharing my little side thingy over here, bringing in a rather cheap mech keyboard (below RM200 range) for those who are interested, any feedback is welcomed.

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3837908
KuzumiTaiga
post Jan 16 2016, 11:47 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jan 16 2016, 11:41 AM)
finally TKL board ..
yup, got TKL. Mostly TKL haha. Price ranging from RM135 to RM180 for TKL, difference is either blue or black SWITCHES, whether want LED or not. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Jan 16 2016, 11:48 AM
KuzumiTaiga
post Jan 16 2016, 03:37 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Jan 16 2016, 03:35 PM)
My e-element also using ouemo switches so should be fine

Before this,  was aiming for tkl

Good deals you have
if you don't mind me asking, what color are the switches? blue or black yeah? and how much did you pay for it? got photo? laugh.gif
KuzumiTaiga
post Jan 27 2016, 08:57 PM

3,317 posts

Is there a FAQ for keycaps somewhere? Just got myself my first mech (see siggy) and already tempted to change keycaps. Why are they so expensive? doh.gif Taobao and eBay pricing also so scary doh.gif
KuzumiTaiga
post Jan 27 2016, 11:32 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(Patent @ Jan 27 2016, 09:30 PM)
Its in the front page.
The price basically comes down to the material used (ABS or PBT).
thanks man, already read them, I'm now wondering if mixing ABS and PBT keycaps on the same board is okay? just different texture and durability, right?
KuzumiTaiga
post Jan 28 2016, 07:39 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Jan 28 2016, 05:30 AM)
That's your first and you wrote there "reliable"? How are people gonna trust you lol?

Honestly, you're not gonna like the idea of switching keycaps unless you have the money. They're crazy expensive for some reasons.

There are some cheap sets, but it's not going to be better than your stock ones.
Following my research's findings ahahah I feel bad but I had to do what I can to pull in interested people, right? Thank goodness it turned out rather well xD. I have friends with mech keyboards (mostly cherry mx Browns and kaihl green switches) so I've been playing with them for a while, never truly owned one
KuzumiTaiga
post Jan 29 2016, 02:13 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(xsan @ Jan 29 2016, 01:39 AM)
yeap.. cheapest until this guy KuzumiTaiga open a tered for cheaper outemu blue switch mad.gif vmad.gif

welp if he like it then okay la.. laugh.gif
since got a view, i be searching for a alphanumeric key only then  biggrin.gif
sell your board brows.gif earlier this evening some guy contacted me and said he wants to reserve one unit, and he's selling his CM Storm QuickFire brown TK, not sure if he's joking or not laugh.gif save money on the board, SPEND ALL MONEY ON KEYCAPS drool.gif loving the Oetemu so much, gonna mod it kaw kaw once CNY is over, angpow money thumbup.gif

*clack clack clack clack*
KuzumiTaiga
post Feb 2 2016, 12:47 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(eNDY<3games @ Jan 30 2016, 01:12 PM)
How much is the cheapest mechanical keyboard? any used mech for sale?
QUOTE(Fuuko Master @ Feb 1 2016, 09:45 AM)
Colorful LEDs, futuristic keycap legend and sharp edgy design that looks like a stealth bomber.  laugh.gif
QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 1 2016, 01:22 PM)
tehre is local guy selling the m...
you might wanna try that ...
QUOTE(Besanth @ Feb 1 2016, 10:26 PM)
You lost me at "colorful LEDs" and at a pricing range of below RM200icon_rolleyes.gif
You guys talking about me? icon_idea.gif brows.gif brows.gif

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3837908&hl=

just got my keycap from quovadis123 (along with LowYat.NET keycap) all Cherry custom keycaps work with my keyboard as well.

KuzumiTaiga
post Feb 3 2016, 09:24 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(sai86 @ Feb 3 2016, 01:12 PM)
gotten O-rings thick from quovadis123 for my filco. the sounds really dampened down yet still retain the clicky sound/feel  thumbup.gif
damn cheap things that make things become a wonder. with this o-ring, i can put a mkb blue switch for office use  tongue.gif
hey wilson can help me check the difference when you use the O ring on the keyboard I sold you? laugh.gif i kena tegur already for typing too loudly laugh.gif
KuzumiTaiga
post Feb 11 2016, 01:01 AM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(stupid1 @ Feb 10 2016, 05:16 PM)
Hi thanks for the reply.. But where is the kazumitaiga signature? Can't find it using the search topic thread here.. But based on the thread here for gamers they don't usually use ducky or filco or storm mechanical keyboard?
Hi, he's talking about me. laugh.gif
KuzumiTaiga
post Mar 2 2016, 01:56 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(technoraver @ Feb 27 2016, 11:09 AM)
Hi guys, does anyone know where I can get a cheap mkb for my daily use in office? I saw in reddit someone posted say Lowyat plaza 3rd floor can get 1 for rm140
Hi, the RM140 one I know what you're talking about, Viewnet sells them, IT IS NOT A MECHANICAL KEYBOARD!!!!! It's a "mechanical feel" keyboard. doh.gif Basically a normal keyboard with the faux feeling of typing on a mech. I think the brand was rapoo or something, Chinese brand also. The ones I sell are not available in LowYat Plaza, but are available from me, RM150 can get you a good one already. wink.gif

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Mar 2 2016, 01:56 PM
KuzumiTaiga
post Mar 2 2016, 02:58 PM

3,317 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 2 2016, 02:27 PM)
Ahahahahahaa.

Do you even know the cost of doing a custom? If you wanna do 60% custom to the point where you are proud to own it, I'd say it takes about RM600 or so, sans keycaps. A good keycap set? Maybe RM800 or so then you'll be okok to show it off. That's not including the extreme amount of labour involved in building it to specifications.

DIY and customization? Please hold your words until you've seen what it actually entails. Unless you're talking about keycaps only, then we can talk anything from RM80 to RM800 for a full set.
I know you're trying to save consumers here, but be careful that people might think you trying to kuda here.

On top of that, I know for a fact that decent Gateron-switched TKLs are available from taobao at around RM200+ only, so if I were to be given a choice, I rather pick Gaterons rather than Oetemu.
Hence you only see me posting here once every few weeks, when a nice guy here actually tags me here to recommend me to others, then only will you see me posting here

because otherwise it will definitely be "kuda-ing" around here, and such is an unprofessional /k/ conduct. I find this community and especially this thread started by quovadis123, 168257061 (and others) to be a sacred one, and unlike the Mech KB group on Facebook, I have no intention on turning this thread into an advertisement space for total self-profit, except maybe a humble 10% of it. However I thank you for giving me the reminder too, it is important that I do not get carried away as well. sweat.gif

In regards to Gateron
May I ask what brand and model of gateron mkb is it that you have managed to discover to cost RM200+? Even with my Mandarin proficiency and roughly a hundred hours spent looking around Mandarin alibaba.com and other Chinese websites, I have never been able to discover any Gateron boards for less than RM300. This is assuming the exchange rates of RM4.15/1 USD and RM1.51/1 CNY and it is not inclusive of shipping charges of roughly RM45 for 3 kilograms rounded up weight/keyboard (and mind you, this is inclusive all those special sensitive charges and the occasional duit kopi needed, shipping charges are not as affordable as they once were thanks to our ringgit value plummeting and international shippers only operating based on US Dollars or Renminbi)

Perhaps in the greater interest of consumer knowledge here (and mine too), you could share with us the Gateron board that you have discovered for us all here? Who knows? Maybe I could even try finding a more direct source to maybe lower the cost of having a middle person.

I hope I have not caused you any offense and I hope to hear from you soon. Good day!
KuzumiTaiga
post Mar 7 2016, 07:08 PM

3,317 posts

One customer traded me his Ducky with a double clicking switch for the LingYi keyboards I am selling, because I'm curious on learning how to solder and stuff also, wanna try repairing it myself.

Want to ask:

i) can i solder a non-Cherry MX switch on it?
ii) Where can I get soldering equipment, what will be enough?

hope to get some response here, thanks!

0.0411sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:02 PM