[V28] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

[davey.havok]
post Mar 5 2016, 04:09 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Mar 4 2016, 06:39 PM)
So I thought it would make sense to just choose a keyboard with cherry mx reds first as I play a lot of fps games. But if later I find out the switch is not right for me, I can just buy another keyboard.

So this means I should probably avoid the expensive ones for my first mech kb right? Any problems with my way of thinking or any better alternatives to figure out which switch to choose? 
There's nothing wrong at all with that way of thinking.

A lot of people, especially those stingy or cheapskate ones, will call you out for your approach. In their minds, if you don't buy the correct switch on the first attempt, it means you are a spendthrift who didn't do your homework properly.

But if you can easily afford a second (or third) keyboard, this trial-and-error method is probably the best. It's what I practice and I firmly believe MKB enthusiasts should never have only 1 board. Many important lessons are learnt through the process of comparison. Besides, you can always sell off what you don't need at a later date.

Btw I like how you say "I can just buy another keyboard" like money is not an issue thumbup.gif
[davey.havok]
post Mar 6 2016, 08:18 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Mar 6 2016, 01:15 AM)
compared it to my Rosewill RK-9000's Cherry MX Blues, have to agree with the rest, the Gateron Blues are indeed smoother compared to Cherry's MX Blues  nod.gif  I felt the difference only when I slowly depress the keys to feel the difference, but if you are a typical typist, then I think it might not be that noticeable  hmm.gif
You must have gotten old generation Gat blues (milky shell). The smoothness is very very obvious on the new gen (clear shell).

QUOTE(rurushu @ Mar 6 2016, 01:15 AM)
Also, I find that Gateron Blues requires higher actuation force compared to Cherry MX Blues, I can easily depress the keys on my RK-9000's easier compared to MXX's (later found out it really is heavier compared to Cherry MX Blues source)
Again, old gen issues. The actuation force on my newer gen Gat blues is on par with MX Blues, maybe even lower. It's definitely not higher.

I have a board with first gen and another with second gen, my gut feeling says the first gen springs are 5g stiffer but no time to do a thorough comparison
[davey.havok]
post Mar 7 2016, 05:04 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 7 2016, 03:27 PM)
My stab wire always come out when I change caps because the lubing one the wire. no biggie wink.gif
My stab wire also always come out when I change pants, oops I mean caps

Maybe next time we can meetup and lube each other's stabs <3
[davey.havok]
post Mar 7 2016, 06:12 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Mar 7 2016, 05:59 PM)
Apa ini? lube each other's stabs  shocking.gif
thumbsup.gif
Someone made that joke on GH, funny rite thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 7 2016, 06:05 PM)
http://imgur.com/a/Lfbj2

Nah, specially for you.
I personally wouldn't use 1800-ish layouts (I rely on gaps to feel the arrow keys) but bloody hell does that look good.

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 7 2016, 06:05 PM)
Tempting offer... but promise you'll buy me dinner and/or ice-cream
Sure why not. We can cuddle afterwards too <3
[davey.havok]
post Mar 7 2016, 06:27 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 7 2016, 06:22 PM)
I feel the dark colourway with red LEDs is extremely sexy.
yes, the set looks way better on the Lightsaver compared to the 60%
[davey.havok]
post Mar 8 2016, 05:49 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Mar 8 2016, 05:28 PM)
im still new to this and just tried the mxblues.
shouldnt i try more kb 1st b4 going custom?
dadude is going to disagree, but IMO you should try as much mass-market junk first before building a custom. I'm glad I did.

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 8 2016, 05:39 PM)
QUOTE(richard912 @ Mar 8 2016, 05:08 PM)

That's why I ordered tiga biji. Not like I can use all 3 right? When I get them, I will make available 2 for sale. My cost for the 3 biji with shipping works out to RM148.55. So, its about RM50 a piece + a teh Tarik would be nice
Wahlau... you get ady then take piktar first la... So ex...
+1

[davey.havok]
post Mar 8 2016, 07:53 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Mar 8 2016, 05:59 PM)
Example  drool.gif  drool.gif

That one I cincai set the LEDs.

You can get a better outcome if you actually spend time using the configuration tool.
[davey.havok]
post Mar 8 2016, 07:55 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Mar 8 2016, 06:34 PM)
costar gives nice typing feel, but changing keycaps is damn pain in the arse.
It's not that bad la...

It's like digging your nose, once you find the right technique, you can just stick to it for the rest of your life

I will always take costar over cherry stabs if given the choice. Modded (clipped) cherry stabs feel fragile, I dunno.

This post has been edited by [davey.havok]: Mar 8 2016, 07:56 PM
[davey.havok]
post Mar 8 2016, 08:04 PM

128 posts

CNC case for Novatouch - something I've been saving up for.

The maker is also testing it to see if it can fit the QFR-i.

[davey.havok]
post Mar 8 2016, 09:10 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Mar 8 2016, 08:31 PM)
when your change enough keycaps, and having the little inserts starting a treasure hunt game for you, you will finally know the pain lol!
sometimes the inserts are too loose to stay in the keycaps, one of the way is to put little bits of tissue in it. it all adds up.
if you don't change keycaps often, then costar is best for you.
deswai everybody needs to buy & keep a few pairs of plastic inserts. They are dirt cheap anyways.

QUOTE(justnits @ Mar 8 2016, 08:31 PM)
what you mean by clip mod cherry stabs feels fragile?  hmm.gif
The stabilizer stem has 4 small feet that helps to dissipate the force whenever the Backspace or Enter key (for example) gets bottomed out.

Clipping = removing two feet per stem = lesser surface area to dissipate force = higher stress on the remaining feet.

But that's not the worst part. I managed to yank out the a stab stem once while changing keycaps. IIRC it was the left stab stem of my RShift key. This wouldn't have happened if the stem had all its feet intact. The right stab stem managed to stay in place though.

[davey.havok]
post Mar 9 2016, 03:05 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Mar 9 2016, 02:37 AM)
QUOTE(davey.havok @ Mar 8 2016, 08:04 PM)

CNC case for Novatouch - something I've been saving up for.

The maker is also testing it to see if it can fit the QFR-i.
still might need to solder/desolder to adjust the cables. hmm.gif
No, plenty of keyboards have detachable USB. Not everything is like your DK2108.

Man I really hate fixed USB cables vmad.gif
[davey.havok]
post Mar 9 2016, 03:40 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Mar 9 2016, 03:29 AM)
so does this means plenty of ppl selling aftermarket case? for detachable USB board of coz.  hmm.gif
not plenty. choices are pretty limited. plus the nice ones are always out of stock.
[davey.havok]
post Mar 9 2016, 12:44 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Mar 9 2016, 12:07 PM)
brows.gif

miracle, a GMK GB with quick completion tongue.gif
[davey.havok]
post Mar 9 2016, 12:47 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Nursh @ Mar 9 2016, 12:38 PM)
Is it OK to use
http://www.lelong.com.my/synthen-lube-full...7-01-Sale-I.htm
To lube my mkb switch's?
why don't you try it and report back to us
[davey.havok]
post Mar 9 2016, 05:21 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(jxsonl @ Mar 9 2016, 04:10 PM)
4) Are all keycap size standard?
QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 9 2016, 05:08 PM)
4. Yes.

LOL

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 9 2016, 05:08 PM)
Don't thank me, I think you're an idiot.

Give chance a bit la...

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0346sec    0.40    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 05:56 AM