128 posts

Short Review: Magicforce Smart 68-key Mechanical Keyboard

Specs:
• Unique 68-key ANSI layout
• Gateron blue switches
• Aluminum top plate (silver) with white plastic body
• White backlighting
• White doubleshot ABS keycaps (OEM profile)
• 3 DIP switches

Pros:
• The form factor. 60% boards (e.g. Pok3r & KBP V60) are a joy to carry around, but having to access the arrow keys through a function layer sometimes make them a pain to use. The Magicforce 68 gives you all the portability of a Pok3r with the added advantage of dedicated arrow keys & PGUP/PGDN for convenience. It really shines when paired with a laptop to consume written content online, especially if you are seated on your couch.
• The price. In my opinion this is an absolute steal for USD75 all-in on Massdrop. At the time of writing, the only other *readily available* 66/68 key options in the market are the Varmilo VA68M, which costs 2x the Magicforce, and the Leopold FC660M, which is 3x the price (!!) If USD75 is still too steep for you, there are Kailh switch versions out there that go for slightly less.
• The build quality. I tried twisting the keyboard with both hands but could only make it flex very slightly. Some people have complained that the base of the keyboard is uneven and rocks back & forth during use, but mine feels pretty sturdy.
• The clean & minimalistic design. This needs no explanation. Even the Magicforce logo etched into the top plate looks sharp.
• The aluminum top plate has a nice matte finish and diffuses the backlight evenly, resulting in a soft glowing effect.
• Has 9 stages of LED brightness, perfect for fine-tuning.
• USB cord is detachable.
• Idiot-proof. Just plug and play, no need to mess around with software. You can even ignore the DIP switches.

Cons:
• The chamfered edges of the aluminium top plate are poorly finished. Some areas have hairline scratches, while other sections seem mis-cut. This appears to be a common (but minor) problem from what I've read online.
• The chamfered edges trap fingerprints in the blink of an eye, although they are only noticeable from up close.
• The ABS keycaps feel thin and cheap, and the legends are ugly.
• Only has 3 lighting modes: On, Off and Breathing.
• Method of adjusting breathing mode speed is counter-intuitive.
• Does not remember your last-used lighting mode & brightness setting; defaults to 'On' mode upon restart.

Gateron Blue Switches:
• The Gateron blue switches here are made in China and have a translucent top shell, which is slightly less see-through compared to the transparent Outemu switches I reviewed here.
• The one thing you have probably heard about Gaterons is that they are buttery smooth. Well, I can tell you the hype is real! Being a first-time Gateron user, this was something I noticed immediately upon using the Magicforce. I am seriously impressed.
• The smoothness even results in a snappier upstroke where the keys just bounce back readily to their original position. This is a definite improvement over the friction-y MX Blues that I use daily. Ironically, I never realized MX Blues were friction-y until now.
• In terms of the clicking noise, these Gaterons are on par with Cherries (i.e. not as loud as Outemus).
• The pitch of the click (in the musical sense) is similar to Cherry as well. I can't tell them apart blindfolded.
• There were no inconsistencies in terms of switch feel across the keyboard. These switches are a dream to type on, and they haven't even been lubed yet.

Conclusions:
• The Magicforce Smart 68 is unquestionably a fun little keyboard with a great price tag, but it is not without its flaws.
• There are issues with the finishing as described above, and the limited lighting modes plus inability to store/recall presets makes you wonder why this product has "Smart" in its name.
• But for me, having a compact keyboard that features dedicated arrow keys definitely outweighs all the negatives I've outlined above. If you are a fan of 60% keyboards yet can't live without arrow keys, you should definitely grab one.
• However, if your existing 60% already fulfills all your needs, or if you don't mind your arrow keys being hidden under a function layer, then give this a miss.
• If you do decide to pull the trigger, try getting a unit with Gaterons inside. You'll be glad you did.

Original post: 13th Feb / 00:15 / Initial impressions after using for ½ a day
Edit 1:
Edit 2:

This post has been edited by [davey.havok]: Feb 13 2016, 12:25 AM
[davey.havok]
post Feb 14 2016, 02:54 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Feb 13 2016, 01:29 PM)
great review

i read as GALVATRON lol .....
tq tq notworthy.gif

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 13 2016, 04:53 PM)
Updated 2nd review from you in first page. smile.gif
thanks boss thumbup.gif

QUOTE(justnits @ Feb 13 2016, 10:42 PM)
nice review man biggrin.gif
very helpful, especially the gateron blue switch as i am curious about that switch as well since i have tried gateron linears.
I dunno, Gat blues to me are very obviously smoother than MX blues.

Ripster seems to doubt this, but other Reddit users think so too.

[davey.havok]
post Feb 14 2016, 05:24 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Feb 14 2016, 12:10 PM)
i am under the impression that ripster tried the first generation gaterons.
but anyway, i think it's the way gateron molds their switch stem that makes it smooth. for cherry switch itself, the new black and red switch stem have obvious rough surface (the part where it rubs against the housing, the new linear couldn't achieve buttery smooth even with excellent lubing) whereas the old cherry black stems have smoother surface (which still requires proper lubing for it to achieve buttery smooth).

gateron linear however is 99% buttery smooth right off the bat  thumbup.gif
Yes yes the consensus is that Gateron's switch stem is either molded differently or uses softer plastic.

The more I use this Magicforce with Gaterons, the more I realize how inferior brand-new MX blues are. But to be fair, I purchased a used Filco MJ2 where the switches were broken in by the previous owner and it does feel much better.

I have a suspicion that Cherry's current blacks and reds are scratchy as as result of cost-cutting measures (either in materials or production). Many people have complained about this yet Cherry chooses to ignore it or keep quiet. Typical German corporate mentality, just look at the Volkswagen emissions scandal. Even the way Cherry answers customers' FAQs is very restrained.

I think it's quite sad that they have allowed a China company with limited history and no track record to overtake them so easily.
[davey.havok]
post Feb 15 2016, 09:19 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 15 2016, 06:30 PM)
Picture of the day

Wow those keycaps have a really nice font, looks similar to stock Novatouch but better shocking.gif
[davey.havok]
post Feb 15 2016, 10:16 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 15 2016, 09:28 PM)
brows.gif
Custom Cooler Master keycap set, charcoal gray PBT dyesub with black font.
Cherry profile.
Looks damn good, available in the market yet?

After seeing that CM set, I feel lucky I didn't spend money on this
[davey.havok]
post Feb 17 2016, 05:32 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 17 2016, 05:15 PM)
This year, our MKB Culb will hit new milestone of 5 years old. We will having a mechanical keyboard giveaway for a lucky winner.  smile.gif
cc. Moogle Stiltzkin (founder)
rclxms.gif

Hopefully the giveaway winner doesn't sell off the prize. I always find that very disrespectful.
[davey.havok]
post Feb 18 2016, 01:12 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Feb 17 2016, 11:16 PM)
only way to get the magicforce 68 is via massdrop?  hmm.gif
The Magicforce 68 can easily be found on Amazon or Alibaba, but AFAIK those have Kailh / Outemu switches. Only Massdrop sells the Gateron version.

QUOTE(rurushu @ Feb 17 2016, 11:16 PM)
or are there any other more accesible gateron blues board? preferrable TKL  laugh.gif
Build your own. I'm not joking
[davey.havok]
post Feb 19 2016, 04:09 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Feb 19 2016, 01:14 PM)
Where can I get novatouch in KL now?
You want a new RM699 one, or secondhand?
[davey.havok]
post Feb 19 2016, 04:52 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 19 2016, 04:13 PM)
just realise from ur siggy most ur mkb are blues  thumbup.gif  notworthy.gif

can learn a lot from u.
tq tq notworthy.gif

if it doesn't click, I don't use it. except maybe Topre

*edit: that's why I'm not bothered about those ppl arguing over Zealios tongue.gif

This post has been edited by [davey.havok]: Feb 19 2016, 04:57 PM
[davey.havok]
post Feb 19 2016, 05:57 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Feb 19 2016, 05:05 PM)
Greens > Blues
if your girlfriend complain your finger not strong enough, by all means go ahead and use green
[davey.havok]
post Feb 20 2016, 05:01 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ Feb 19 2016, 06:10 PM)
but mx green is not razer green right?
i thot some ppl here just told me razer green lighter than mxblues, by very little
When people mention "red", "blue" or "green" in forum, 99% of the time they are referring to Cherry.

Razer switches haven't been around for long enough (or for that matter, earned enough reputation) to be named after their colour.

[davey.havok]
post Feb 20 2016, 05:26 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(YouDontKnowMyName @ Feb 20 2016, 03:17 AM)
Is there any supposed ergonomic benefits to cherry profile? Maybe I'm missing out on something laugh.gif
ntw's answer:

dadude's answer:

my answer:

Thing about MKBs is that so many features are down to personal preference, ask 1 question get 3 different answers. That's why arguments happen all the time whistling.gif
[davey.havok]
post Feb 21 2016, 03:11 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(victor2212 @ Feb 20 2016, 11:38 PM)
If you're interested in wrapping something, pm me; i can provide u with the contact and you can discuss the process and fee personally.  cool.gif
Bro, please PM me if your friend can do carbon fiber wrap. Interested

[davey.havok]
post Feb 22 2016, 06:31 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Feb 22 2016, 02:53 PM)
paid for 5 sets, shows in his system, but in paypal difference because I have to pay additional due to changed order and combined order.
5 sets?! as in 5 whole sets enough to cover 5 boards?! basket you must be damn rich

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Feb 22 2016, 04:29 PM)
No matter how pretty the caps are, not worth the trouble.

Same goes for wimminz.
Some wimminz are worth it. And when the time comes you just trade-in for a younger model.

[davey.havok]
post Feb 22 2016, 06:31 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 22 2016, 05:22 PM)
Get it when the item really delivered to those buyer. Then you buy from those buyer.
Sometime it save cost, and good also if you not urgent.
This also can avoid you waste your money when your fever down.
Agreed. But for me it's more about peace of mind.

I heard somewhere - To CNC an aluminium custom case costs RM1,800 for 1 unit or RM1,200 each for 10 units.

Given how problematic the current GBs I've participated in are going (even established operators like Massdrop), I'm very tempted to just pay the extra...

[davey.havok]
post Feb 23 2016, 01:47 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Feb 23 2016, 12:03 PM)
woo, finally replaced my keycaps biggrin.gif

don't take it personally... but that is an eyesore doh.gif

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Feb 23 2016, 12:52 PM)
Eh come on lah kdi, why are you still upset with that soldering kit and stuff?
what is a kdi ?
[davey.havok]
post Feb 23 2016, 04:53 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Akuma no Hana @ Feb 23 2016, 03:44 PM)
Anybody here knows where to get 5 din or known as 5 pin AT din to ps/2 for old keyboard. Need to convert it to USB to be usable on modern pc. Preferable local only either online or physical shop. Thanks in advance.
I need one as well (female DIN to PS/2). Bloody difficult to find.

I've only ever seen the reverse (female PS/2 to DIN) being retailed here
[davey.havok]
post Feb 24 2016, 04:28 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(skincladalien @ Feb 24 2016, 10:19 AM)
well yesterday night gaming was good as i can identify the keys in dark faster with the contrast.

So even if its ugly to you, it works in my case  rolleyes.gif
No idea how that can be. Your layout seems more confusing than contrasting. shakehead.gif

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Feb 24 2016, 03:31 PM)
Most Dota players and Korean SC2 players don't use striped vomit keycap layout. While a few idiots do use that striped layout, the colours are distracting and serve no purpose.
+1

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Feb 24 2016, 03:36 PM)
I've never seen anyone else done that and if it really is effective, prove it.
+1

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 24 2016, 04:10 PM)
By the way, it's a nice daskeyboard.
Nice daskeyboard ruined by bad keycap choice
[davey.havok]
post Feb 24 2016, 07:48 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(st4Lk3rz @ Feb 24 2016, 07:13 PM)
https://www.massdrop.com/buy/npkc-blank-pbt-keycaps

Planning to buy this, any idea how to engrave the characters to the blank keycaps?
Which color blanks you want? I got spares
[davey.havok]
post Feb 24 2016, 10:14 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(st4Lk3rz @ Feb 24 2016, 10:10 PM)
Light mint
sorry can't help you sad.gif I only have white, mint and light blue

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top