Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

lifeless_creature
post Nov 23 2006, 09:07 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(Grengo01 @ Nov 22 2006, 08:49 PM)
TRue.. but I was drawing to the comparison of mutual funds where if switching is done correctly you may get 15% or so per annum max..
sorry, newbie here, 15% here u mean gross return? or nett return(deducted the service charge) ??
lifeless_creature
post Dec 31 2006, 02:45 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

hie guys, i've a question in regard to calculate returns of a fund that I bought..say Fund A.

Illustration:-
Bought Fund A at RM1.00, 1000units on 5 Oct.
Bought Fund A at RM1.10, 500 units on 18 Oct .

Now price is RM1.20, I wanna sell 500 units. So I will get 500*1.20 = RM600, but my question is, how do u calculate ur return, whether the 500 units is from RM1.10 bucket or RM1.00 bucket ? And the 1,000 units left, are those RM1.00 bucket or RM1.10's leftovers?

THanks.
lifeless_creature
post Jan 1 2007, 10:04 AM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(ante5k @ Jan 1 2007, 04:25 AM)
that is up to you, you can always use First in first out , or last in first out, but stick to the same thing once u started it.
mmm sorry, what do u mean up to me? u mean we can tell the mutual fund company to sell which portion ?? Because I don't see anything mention in the Repurchase form...sorry newbie here, don't really understand.. sweat.gif
lifeless_creature
post Jan 1 2007, 03:27 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(edifgrto @ Jan 1 2007, 03:03 PM)
Trying my best here. When you investing, you buying at their selling price stated to public. When you redeem 500 units of Fund A, you need to use NAV per unit. Which is Net Asset Value(added Repurchase charge where its value just Nil, Zero or 0.00). You current net value of fund is basically solely based on your NAV per unit, nor selling or buying price. Just Fill up your Repurchase Form. And be sure what NAV you having, to know the return.

Correct me if I'm wrong. smile.gif
PS: ante5k, what are all those First in first out , or last in first out?! Is that based on certain funds type one?! sweat.gif
edited:
Your amount invested is RM 1,550 since Oct 2006?! If the year is correct, then perhaps the most you get is only 10.61%(there is one fund having this yield). So, For 500 units, the most you get is RM 82.23. smile.gif
ante5k, I thought that is only applicable to shares? Coz for shares I can see those FIFO,LIFO,etc. options in Smith Barney, but local mutual funds..not sure.. sweat.gif

edifgrto, how do u get 10.61% from the scenario above? I mean how do u calculate the 500 units' return is 10.61% ?? please guide plz guide..thankss
lifeless_creature
post Jan 1 2007, 03:55 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

oh ok...so we average out, so no matter how many units I sell, I need to get average price per unit and if the result is larger than average, I'm getting positive returns, else I'm losing money...plz correct if I'm wrong, thanks thanks edifgrto
lifeless_creature
post Jan 1 2007, 04:18 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

heh thanks!! mmm...I think I've seen the example somewhere before...hmmm
lifeless_creature
post Mar 16 2007, 12:03 AM

The Kid
1,219 posts

sorry guys, 1 question here regarding fund's equities exposure, can a fund's equity exposure is of >100% ? and its money markets exposure is <0%? I mean can this happen? is the fund manager leveraging?
lifeless_creature
post Jun 15 2007, 02:47 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

yep confirmed, reinvested at NAV price. It is done recently on my funds which declared distributions. smile.gif
lifeless_creature
post Jun 16 2007, 10:09 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

I've the statement with me. Additionally, we can always refer to the prospectus, for example, there is info regarding this in page 13 of the Public's China fund prospectus. smile.gif
lifeless_creature
post Jul 20 2007, 04:17 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(ejleemy @ Jul 20 2007, 02:53 PM)
Actually many local equity funds made over 50% in the recent 1 year. His one made over 50% in 8 months could be possible, likely to be one of those more aggressive funds.

Added on July 20, 2007, 2:55 pmboon, switching doesnt incur any initial service charge. Only rm 25 transaction fee deducted from your NAV for normal members. The fee is waived for Mutual Gold members.

A good agent will never advise selling unless the investor plans to withdraw from UT altogether.
ejleemy, does that apply to EPF investments too? coz last time I thought switching for EPF investments are free? No longer applicable? Thankss
lifeless_creature
post Jul 25 2007, 11:46 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

sorry, not sure where to post this, but since this is a fund corner, i'd just post here, plz help me to remove if not appropriate, thanks.

My question is, can we do online additional investments to our funds like we pay bills on the net? I know Public Mutual can, but what about other fund houses like OSK-UOB? or MAAKL Mutual? Thanks~~
lifeless_creature
post Nov 21 2007, 09:48 AM

The Kid
1,219 posts

any idea where we can buy AmInvestment based funds ??
lifeless_creature
post Nov 21 2007, 10:15 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 21 2007, 08:38 PM)
A lot of other banks are selling their product also, check with respective banks.
THanks~! Yep, managed to get the prospectus from its official website as well (AmInvestment). After some searching, managed to find something bout DWS Noor Precious Metal Securities Fund, the fund that AmPrecious Metal feeds into.

Taken from dws.com:-
It is launched on 14-Feb-07,
Past performance(as at 28Sep) 1m - 20.71%, 3m - 11.44%, 6m - 10.94%, Since incept - 10%
Fund manager is Greg Foulis
Asset as of 28-Sep - 9.56mil USD
Breakdown by country (as 28-Sep) - Canada 58.7%, South Africa 15.4%, Australia 9.7%....

Fund Manager's comment -

lifeless_creature
post Dec 7 2007, 02:19 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Dec 7 2007, 01:51 PM)
Prob those who are interested should starts to look @ foreign funds. In malaysia 20-30% return pa is consider very good or perhaps one of the best funds already. In US or Hong Kong, good funds that generate 20-30% return is consider sap sap sui. In US, good funds generate more than 100% p.a and HK, one of the best funds generate over 800% in 5 years. So, widen ur horizon... the grass is REALLY greener on the other side. Cheers .
hie, may we know which fund does that? Do u know the fund company? does it have any website? I'm sure many would like to invest too, if the returns are promising smile.gif Thanks
lifeless_creature
post Dec 29 2007, 07:59 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

yep..so how ar? if u're in that situation, do u keep waiting? or sell out at loss?
lifeless_creature
post Jan 2 2008, 04:28 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

cherroy, how about counter 6033 (PETGAS) and 5681(PETDAG) ? Aren't those petronas counters?
lifeless_creature
post Jan 2 2008, 04:43 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

oh....ok..smile.gif thanks~!
And back to topic by Grengo01, the 1 fund that focuses on natural resources/gas that I found is from OSKUOB-Resources, which invests in palm oil, natural gas, oil. timber, coal, miningg, etc. companies across Asia region including Australia...though that fund may not be EPF-certified...take a look if you're interested smile.gif
lifeless_creature
post Jan 7 2008, 11:52 AM

The Kid
1,219 posts

Red Dragon, do u invest by cash? or CPF? Are u Malaysia citizen? or Singaporean? Thanks.
lifeless_creature
post Jan 15 2008, 03:27 PM

The Kid
1,219 posts

sorry, i've a question here to the agents out there -> My question is, I've submitted DDI previously on Fund A that deducts every 8th of the month, now I'm thinking to submit another DDI that deducts on 18th, on the same Fund A as well (same acc), is that possible ? Thanks.
lifeless_creature
post Jan 16 2008, 11:04 AM

The Kid
1,219 posts

thanks guys~ yep, will ask n see how smile.gif

0.0229sec    1.00    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 09:34 AM