Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

JohnnyTan88
post Jan 5 2008, 04:20 PM

What ever funds you invest in, depends on the experience of the trust manager & trustee..

or else how big is the fund also useless.. smile.gif
JohnnyTan88
post Jan 6 2008, 08:56 PM

public mutual is launching new far east consumer fund (equity fund) on 8 Jan - call me if interested.. 019-6322 568 (Johnny).
JohnnyTan88
post Jan 6 2008, 08:59 PM

public mutual is launching far east consumer themes fund (equity fund)on the 8-jan.. call me if interested 019-6322568 (Johnny).. Thank you
JohnnyTan88
post Jan 7 2008, 05:56 PM

if the agent can show you the top performing stock, he/she might as well invest in that stock & don't have to be an agent to do so.

Most agents will show you the good side of comparison because they promote the funds..!!

Some of the funds does not need any introductions as it is well known nation wide e.g: public mutual..

my two piece advice.. smile.gif

[quote=bumicomp,Nov 17 2006, 03:02 PM]Thank you for bring up this piece of information. I nearly missed it.

I make it a habbit of requesting the Agent to show me the portfolio of top 20 or 30 stocks which a unit trust is buying into.

I've come across agents who are reluctant to do so, so I simply walked away.

Remember, it is your money you are investing so you have the right to vouch & audit which counters the unit trust is holding. There's once I've come across a fund which buys into counters like Ftec, Autoair, Iris etc ........ I lost interest immediately coz the counter are speculative ones.

On the contraty, an agent showed me (HL unit trust) their unit trust hold companies like Maybank, Nestle, MISC, IJM etc ...... I felt more comfortable and confident of the unit trust.

My advice is, request for the top 20 / 30 stocks which the fund buys because its the right of the investor to see the info.

[/quote]

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:06 pmTQ

rclxms.gif

[quote=David83,Jan 6 2008, 08:59 PM]Please promote it at the dedicated thread. Thank you.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/603888/+20#entry14993646

[/quote]

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:09 pmit is a good move but it is also depends on age factor..

if ur still young, i suggest to put in equity as the market have shown that it is an up trend..

rclxm9.gif

[quote=yushin,Nov 16 2006, 10:56 AM]I currently invested in 2 public mutual funds.
PDSF - Medium risk
PGSF - High risk

Not much movement in PGSF these days. haih

Every month I put some money into them using standing order. Just look at them as long term saving smile.gif

Gonna get a bond fund from them later. Just incase equity market turn bad so I could shift the money away.

*edit: spelling error. ha ha ha

[/quote]

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:20 pmvery true.. i agree

any many banks are promoting mutual funds now..

rclxms.gif

[quote=pidah,Nov 19 2006, 11:45 PM]dont just listen without do any research or smthing... if unit trust cannot be trusted 1, why unit trust is approved by the government and regulate by the Securities Commision (SC) & Federation of Malaysian Unit Trust Managers (FMUTM)?

[/quote]

Added on January 7, 2008, 7:07 pmthere is always trick in capital gurantee.. one of them, you have to invest in acertain amount (min. RM10K) and duration must at least certain time (min. 3 years).

if you take out ur money before the mature date.. all the returns/interest will be forfeited.

[quote=bumicomp,Nov 17 2006, 02:50 PM]yes my friend, I heard of that as well.

Its something like 'capital guarantee' fund or something. At the end of the fund, you are sort of guaranteed the amount u purchased even if there's a shortfall of funds.

I didnt pay much attention to it because back then I very kering. The musim kemarau just sets in so no spare cash to buy.

[/quote]

Added on January 7, 2008, 7:11 pmincreasing the fund size is good because the initial size have been sold out and there's many people out there still want to invest into the particular new fund.

[quote=pidah,Nov 19 2006, 11:20 PM]Some information link about Public Mutual fund performance and Total Returns
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/application...erformance.aspx
When they said, they want to increase fund size actually its a good news, Normally that fund potentially can give higher returns to the investors and at the same time can attract more new investors to invest. As the fund size increase, it also can minimized the assets iquidity risks involved.

[/quote]

Added on January 7, 2008, 7:15 pmfund manager(s) & trustee will do the select potential stocks & invest..

[quote=leekk8,Nov 23 2006, 04:14 PM]
Hi mate, I dun think so. The investor the one that decide which to buy based on what were suggested/recommended by the Fund Manager. They are funds, Bonds, Balanced, Umbrella categories in this issue. Not really that the share as you mentioned. Basically we are not discussing shares, but Unit Trust/Mutual Funds.

About how much to buy,... I think the minimum allowed always affordable by public. Thus, how much to buy is really depends on how much you got. Not necessary 1 fixed amount. Any figures like 1234.56 RM, or 5643.21 RM. Then, the number of units bought by you can be calculated.

About shares, today my agent advised me not to sell anything yet. So, I just chose to listen to what he suggested. Noted, I won't blame him if it's a wrong decision. Perhaps we could talk about shares over the Stock Market in Malaysia thread(or that everything investment thread, got 78 pages). I has yet really joining there. Was just busy reading first... biggrin.gif

[/quote]
edifgrto,

I think you misunderstand what I'm saying. I'm talking about equities funds here, not stock. I wish to know how equities fund manager decide to buy which stocks for the funds. Is it himself alone deciding on that, or there is a committee deciding. The amount of stock I mentioned here, is not the amount we buy the unit. I mean is it the fund manager decide how much of a particular stock being bought for the fund. I'm talking about the operation of mutual funds.

[/quote]

Added on January 7, 2008, 9:42 pmthe trustee..

the [quote=JohnnyTan88,Jan 7 2008, 05:56 PM]
if the agent can show you the top performing stock, he/she might as well invest in that stock & don't have to be an agent to do so.

Most agents will show you the good side of comparison because they promote the funds..!!

Some of the funds does not need any introductions as it is well known nation wide e.g: public mutual..

my two piece advice.. smile.gif

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:06 pmTQ

rclxms.gif

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:09 pmit is a good move but it is also depends on age factor..

if ur still young, i suggest to put in equity as the market have shown that it is an up trend..

rclxm9.gif

Added on January 7, 2008, 6:20 pmvery true.. i agree

any many banks are promoting mutual funds now..

rclxms.gif

Added on January 7, 2008, 7:07 pmthere is always trick in capital gurantee.. one of them, you have to invest in acertain amount (min. RM10K) and duration must at least certain time (min. 3 years).

if you take out ur money before the mature date.. all the returns/interest will be forfeited.

Added on January 7, 2008, 7:11 pmincreasing the fund size is good because the initial size have been sold out and there's many people out there still want to invest into the particular new fund.

Added on January 7, 2008, 7:15 pmfund manager(s) & trustee will do the select potential stocks & invest..
edifgrto,

I think you misunderstand what I'm saying. I'm talking about equities funds here, not stock. I wish to know how equities fund manager decide to buy which stocks for the funds. Is it himself alone deciding on that, or there is a committee deciding. The amount of stock I mentioned here, is not the amount we buy the unit. I mean is it the fund manager decide how much of a particular stock being bought for the fund. I'm talking about the operation of mutual funds.

[/quote]

[/quote]

This post has been edited by JohnnyTan88: Jan 7 2008, 09:42 PM
JohnnyTan88
post Jan 8 2008, 10:39 PM

advantage of bond fund is a low risk fund.

and the returns are higher than fd.

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Nov 18 2006, 12:32 AM)
I thought it should be the other way round? buy bond fund when the equities market is going downwards n vise-versa? unsure.gif
JohnnyTan88
post Jan 9 2008, 08:53 PM

go to www.publicmutual.com.my

u can find what u looking for there..

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Jan 9 2008, 06:15 AM)
where can i get the history of funds distribution?? 2004-2007

Added on January 9, 2008, 9:52 pmu can't caluculate it that way because public mutual is helping us to make money..

they also have to earn their living..

nothing is free..

think of long term, the service charge is only one time..

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Dec 15 2007, 11:03 PM)
I think the 7% is from the service charge.

Remember, whenever your fund starts to earn...lets say 1%.... actually the fund have already made 7.5% (6.5% is for service charge).
This post has been edited by JohnnyTan88: Jan 9 2008, 09:52 PM

0.0440sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 09:05 AM