125 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Bottom

Fund Investment Corner, Please share anything about Fund.

SKY 1809
post Feb 22 2008, 09:14 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 21 2008, 01:36 PM)
Divide lah ur fund if scared put in bond and equity smile.gif

Mutual gold status no transfer fees RM 25
One should advise clients to invest according the clients' risk profiles, and not on " scared" . I prefer to use another way " how comfortable " or comfort level of clients.

Investing into bonds at certain times or now when there are lot uncertainties , it is a strategy and not "scared."
Certain people may want to invest for a short period of let say less than 3 years, so bonds could be more appropriate.

Wealth Protection when the economy is uncertain is very important.

Just my 2sen opinion.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 22 2008, 09:17 PM
kingkong81
post Feb 22 2008, 10:08 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Feb 22 2008, 08:56 PM)
Just came across a new fund - HLG Vietnam Fund. Unusual for a fund to concentrate on a single foreign country. Even the China related  funds typically cover HK and Taiwan as well. On the other hand, there could be great growth potential.
Suprisingly...Vietnam stock market has generated about 400% return for the past 3 years.
They certainly benefited from China economy boom as they are consider one of the nearest country to China and exported a lot of raw materials over there.

So, there will be basis of why the fund would like to concentrate on Vietnam. Besides, their property market has been booming recently, with a lot of development projects. Some more a few of M'sia property companies have invested in vietnam to build high-end residential property.

Good or not...judge your own...more study needed
SUSDavid83
post Feb 22 2008, 10:13 PM

52,874 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Feb 22 2008, 10:08 PM)
Suprisingly...Vietnam stock market has generated about 400% return for the past 3 years.
They certainly benefited from China economy boom as they are consider one of the nearest country to China and exported a lot of raw materials over there.

So, there will be basis of why the fund would like to concentrate on Vietnam. Besides, their property market has been booming recently, with a lot of development projects. Some more a few of M'sia property companies have invested in vietnam to build high-end residential property.

Good or not...judge your own...more study needed
I'm wondering if PM is going to have a Vietnam Select Fund. tongue.gif

CIMB has come out with a Middle East fund.

This post has been edited by David83: Feb 22 2008, 10:14 PM
kingkong81
post Feb 22 2008, 10:17 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 22 2008, 09:14 PM)
One should advise clients to invest according the clients' risk profiles, and not on " scared" . I prefer to use another way " how comfortable " or comfort level of clients.

Investing into bonds at certain times or now when there are lot uncertainties , it is a strategy and not "scared."
Certain people may want to invest for a short period of let say less than 3 years, so bonds could be more appropriate.

Wealth Protection when the economy is uncertain is very important.

Just my 2sen opinion.
Totally agree with you... smile.gif

Added on February 22, 2008, 10:22 pm
QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 22 2008, 10:13 PM)
I'm wondering if PM is going to have a Vietnam Select Fund. tongue.gif

CIMB has come out with a Middle East fund.
Haha...that will be something exciting...but many people might see investment concentrating into one foreign country might not be too appeasing...some more when you hear Vietnam, it does not sound like "ka-ching! ka-ching!" ($$ sound) laugh.gif Well, just my 2 cents view & speculation. If PM Fund Manager thinks Vietnam is another good investment opportunities, they will for sure think of something smile.gif

This post has been edited by kingkong81: Feb 22 2008, 10:22 PM
SKY 1809
post Feb 22 2008, 10:30 PM

23,851 posts

"Far East" itself should cover Vietnam or even as far as US. I believe fund managers should invest where the potentials are and not restricted to one country alone. More rooms to provide better returns to investors, take profits if a country's market is about to correct from high valuations.

Just 2 sen opinion.

cherroy
post Feb 23 2008, 09:05 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 22 2008, 10:30 PM)
"Far East"  itself should cover Vietnam or even as far as US. I believe fund managers should invest where the potentials are and not restricted to one country alone. More rooms to provide better returns to investors, take profits if a country's market is about to correct from high valuations.

Just 2 sen opinion.
But, US is considered Western already. Far-East generally refere to Japan, Korea, Taiwan, China, and Pacific Rim countries. (West of Pacific until the GMT line)
SKY 1809
post Feb 23 2008, 10:06 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 23 2008, 10:05 AM)
But, US is considered Western already. Far-East generally refere to Japan, Korea, Taiwan, China, and Pacific Rim countries. (West of Pacific until the GMT line)
Far East according PM does include US , but most likely fund managers would not touch these regions.

I heard it during the fund briefing when PM is about to launch the Consumer Theme Fund.

As I said earlier, I am only a very small agent, so I never ask them why this and not. But I do know US is one of the APEC countries, whether by force or otherwise, I also do not know.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 23 2008, 10:26 AM
cherroy
post Feb 23 2008, 10:42 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 23 2008, 10:06 AM)
Far East according PM does include US  , but most likely fund managers would not touch these regions.

I heard it during the fund briefing when PM is about to launch the Consumer Theme Fund.

As I said earlier, I am only a very small agent, so I never ask them why this and not. But I do know US is one of the APEC countries, whether by force or otherwise, I also do not know.
Sure about it? I always taught a more accurate definition of Far-East is based on GMT line.

Yup,
US is being 'invitied' into APEC.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 23 2008, 11:05 AM
MX510
post Feb 23 2008, 11:29 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Every investment good a risk there's no guaranteed returns :-) unless it's fix deposit or SKIM cepat kaya. Anyway i'm gonna be promoted to MFAS soon smile.gif

This post has been edited by MX510: Feb 23 2008, 11:30 AM
SUSDavid83
post Feb 23 2008, 11:32 AM

52,874 posts

Fund managers: Market likely to improve in H2

StarBiz speaks to some fund managers on the market's direction in view of the current strong sell-down.

GERALD AMBROSE, Managing director of Aberdeen Asset Management Sdn Bhd

The local bourse's performance yesterday was largely led by Gamuda Bhd's sharp share price plunge, triggered by the sell-down by Gamuda managing director Datuk Lin Yun Ling on Thursday.

The market reacted in the worst way possible. It was more of a sentiment thing.

Malaysia has always been a safe haven for investors and has been on the uptrend for a while.

Having said that, I think local investors are beginning to become anxious over future corporate earnings, given the unstable conditions in global markets.

DANNY WONG, Chief executive officer of Areca Capital Sdn Bhd

Investors should not worry too much about yesterday's performance. The road in the short-term may be a little bumpy but most equity markets recover faster than expected.

I foresee the local bourse performing better in the second half.

Our fundamentals remain intact with inflation under control, interest rates stable and gross domestic product figures strong.

As foreigners perceive our currency as having more upside, there will be an inflow of money into our market.

As for corporate earnings, we are "still there" although some recent earnings were below expectations. Firm pump priming measures should sustain earnings.

Should the US go into recession, Malaysia would be the least affected among the emerging economies as our (robust) commodity sector would help balance things up.

We are positive on mainly banking and construction stocks and neutral on the plantation sector, which has seen a strong run-up.

WEE KIM HONG, Head of research of M&A Securities Sdn Bhd

Our market was holding quite well even when the regional markets tumbled over the past couple of months. Investors may feel that at the moment there is not much news to drive the market and chose to take profit.

Having said that, I am more positive on the market now compared with a few weeks ago. I believe it will strengthen after the general election.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...40&sec=business

Jordy
post Feb 23 2008, 11:43 AM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(MX510 @ Feb 23 2008, 11:29 AM)
Every investment good a risk there's no guaranteed returns :-) unless it's fix deposit or SKIM cepat kaya. Anyway i'm gonna be promoted to MFAS soon smile.gif
Congrats. Just a piece of advice to you that when you become MFAS, you should improve a little more on your knowledge. This is just a friendly advice smile.gif
SKY 1809
post Feb 24 2008, 08:02 AM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Feb 23 2008, 12:32 PM)
Fund managers: Market likely to improve in H2

StarBiz speaks to some fund managers on the market's direction in view of the current strong sell-down.

GERALD AMBROSE, Managing director of Aberdeen Asset Management Sdn Bhd

The local bourse's performance yesterday was largely led by Gamuda Bhd's sharp share price plunge, triggered by the sell-down by Gamuda managing director Datuk Lin Yun Ling on Thursday. 

The market reacted in the worst way possible. It was more of a sentiment thing. 

Malaysia has always been a safe haven for investors and has been on the uptrend for a while. 

Having said that, I think local investors are beginning to become anxious over future corporate earnings, given the unstable conditions in global markets. 

DANNY WONG, Chief executive officer of Areca Capital Sdn Bhd

Investors should not worry too much about yesterday's performance. The road in the short-term may be a little bumpy but most equity markets recover faster than expected. 

I foresee the local bourse performing better in the second half. 

Our fundamentals remain intact with inflation under control, interest rates stable and gross domestic product figures strong.

As foreigners perceive our currency as having more upside, there will be an inflow of money into our market. 

As for corporate earnings, we are "still there" although some recent earnings were below expectations. Firm pump priming measures should sustain earnings. 

Should the US go into recession, Malaysia would be the least affected among the emerging economies as our (robust) commodity sector would help balance things up.

We are positive on mainly banking and construction stocks and neutral on the plantation sector, which has seen a strong run-up. 

WEE KIM HONG, Head of research of M&A Securities Sdn Bhd

Our market was holding quite well even when the regional markets tumbled over the past couple of months. Investors may feel that at the moment there is not much news to drive the market and chose to take profit. 

Having said that, I am more positive on the market now compared with a few weeks ago. I believe it will strengthen after the general election.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...40&sec=business
In time like this ( GE is coming ) , it is a bit risky to say the negative things, mostly concentrate on the good things.

The impact of likely fuel increase was not discussed here ( too sensitive ) , Investors better think twice, it is your money that matters.

Just my 2sen opinion.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 24 2008, 08:22 AM
kingkong81
post Feb 24 2008, 02:51 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 23 2008, 10:06 AM)
Far East according PM does include US  , but most likely fund managers would not touch these regions.

For the Consumer Themed Fund PFECTF, it did not include US as one of its investment country. However, they can have the option to invest in company that have its business throughout the world but only listed in its origin country/other country. For example, Coca-cola have its business throughout whole world & Malaysia as well & consider to b a good consumer stocks, however its company is only listed in US market...therefore, the if Fund Manager wan to invest in this stock, he hv to invest from US market.

i.e. only selective stocks that are listed in US will be chosen by Fund Manager and not directly the whole market of US is being invested in. Therefore, US is definitely not included in the "Far-East" term here smile.gif
SKY 1809
post Feb 24 2008, 03:30 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(kingkong81 @ Feb 24 2008, 03:51 PM)
For the Consumer Themed Fund PFECTF, it did not include US as one of its investment country. However, they can have the option to invest in company that have its business throughout the world but only listed in its origin country/other country. For example, Coca-cola have its business throughout whole world & Malaysia as well & consider to b a good consumer stocks, however its company is only listed in US market...therefore, the if Fund Manager wan to invest in this stock, he hv to invest from US market.

i.e. only selective stocks that are listed in US will be chosen by Fund Manager and not directly the whole market of US is being invested in. Therefore, US is definitely not included in the "Far-East" term here  smile.gif
I was asked by the moderator earlier whether Far East does include US Stock Markets, and I replied it is.

" According to page 10 of the prospectus under section Investment Strategy " Establishments are listed in Europe, US and Australia markets."

I did say that Fund Managers do not pick US as a region to invest.

I also said earlier i like Consumer Theme, because funds managers pick stocks that doing business worldwide, so might be able to cushion the impact of US recession if any.

The fund emphasizes on CONSUMER THEME.

I remember PM invest in listed equities only ( for equity funds) , so US means stocks listed in US stock markets.

I do not dispute your above statements.

I am just a junior in PM, Perhaps you are in better position to ask PM to define clearly, as many new agents like me got confused also.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 24 2008, 06:04 PM
kingkong81
post Feb 24 2008, 04:09 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 24 2008, 03:30 PM)
I was asked by the moderator earlier whether Far East does include US Stock Markets, and I replied it is.

" According to page 10 of the prospectus under  section Investment Strategy " Establishments are listed in Europe, US and Australia markets."

I did say that Fund Managers do not pick US as a region to invest.

I also said earlier i like Consumer Theme, because funds managers pick stocks that doing business worldwide, so might be able to cushion the impact of US recession if any.

The fund emphasizes on CONSUMER THEME.

I remember PM invest in listed equities only ( for equity funds) , so US means stocks listed in US stock markets.
I do not dispute your above statements.

I am just a junior in PM, Perhaps you are in better position to  ask PM to define clearly, as many new agents like  me got confused also.
It might be a bit confusing sometimes as when they said Far-East countries, we might think it should only be those Asia countries like Japan, Korea, Taiwan...

But like u said the PFECTF, fund managers can pick stocks with established business worldwide, but listed in US, europe or even Aus.

Just that the % of fund to be invested into all these countries outside Far-East is not too much & main focus is still in Far-East countries, therefore I would said it is more appropriate to use "Far-East" as its name. My 2 cents.

Hey, in terms of knowledge/experience sharing, seniority does not play a part...some junior agents oso have better knowledge than some older/senior agent. So, we are here to share our knowldege...if you think you hv better opinion, juz feel free to share it here with everyone
abgorgjujur
post Feb 25 2008, 09:01 PM

Dear Investor another good news.Introducing new scheme guaranteed return and low risk minimum to invest RM 1000. Sms "Invest" to 0136678229 to find out more. T & C apply
Jordy
post Feb 25 2008, 10:01 PM

Entrepreneur
5,626 posts

QUOTE(abgorgjujur @ Feb 25 2008, 09:01 PM)
Dear Investor another good news.Introducing new scheme guaranteed return and low risk minimum to invest RM 1000. Sms "Invest" to 0136678229 to find out more. T & C apply
Please, if you would like to scam people, please take it somewhere else.
Unless you are talking about FD, nothing is guaranteed and low risk.
We're not stupid by the way wink.gif
kingkong81
post Feb 25 2008, 11:02 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(abgorgjujur @ Feb 25 2008, 09:01 PM)
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif rclxub.gif

If you are an UT agent, please refrain yourself from giving such statement of "guaranteed return & low risk". This is very misleading to other readers.......else, if you are not UT agent, ...enlighten the forumers here on you investment scheme...
Nidz
post Feb 27 2008, 06:37 PM

Don't Be Average!!
1,505 posts

hello there..
i wanted to invest in UT, but im a newbie in this area...
so, to all experienced agents (especially PM & CIMB),
please contact me through PM or my email, budakhasler@yahoo.com
i prefer those who can meet around subang jaya area...
n i also wanted to know about available Islamic funds...
thx alot. notworthy.gif
HMMaster
post Feb 28 2008, 04:57 PM

10K Club
10,308 posts

I have a friend that suggest me to get this one:
http://www.publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?name=PIADF

But I'm totally noob in unit trust. Any comment???

125 Pages « < 113 114 115 116 117 > » Top

0.0310sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:29 PM