> Tianjin China, Huge Explosion

SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 08:35 AM

95 posts

Comparing google earth to the weather satellite video it definitely looks like it was centered at (or right around) the Taida Service Waibao Industrial Park. Which is right next to the National Supercomputing Center of Tianjin- https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Supe...nter_of_Tianjin So this means that the Tianhe-I supercomputer was destroyed. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tianhe-I Even though this explosion was centered in an industrial park, there are alot of high rise apartments very near. I will be surprised if the fatalities are not in the 6 digits.
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 09:00 AM

95 posts

I work for a Logistics company in the US and we have many shipments there right now. The office is upside down right now.
Update: It's not relevant to my company but many ocean carriers actually lost many crew members that were on the ships. They're taking a wayyy worst hit then we do. Condolences to the crew member's families.
Update 2: People usually leaves at 4:30ish, it's 5:20 right now and everyone are still here. People that called off for today are now all here. Doesn't looking like we're leaving soon since it's morning in China and people are waking up.
Update 3: Angry customers (because they didn't buy insurance) are calling in to see whether if there shipments are okay. We have absolutely no way of finding out. Our average wait time increased from 20 seconds to over 40 minutes now.
Update 4: Leaving work now. Tomorrow will probably be my last day. Hello Trucie.
Updated 5: HR sent an email asking everyone to come in tomorrow at their earliest convenience. I'm gonna go in at 5 am tomorrow (we're 9-5) to help deal with the aftermath. There will be more information available tomorrow to help dealing with the customers.
Update 6: Words are that CEO is working on a deal with a bigger logistics company to buy us out. Not sure what the terms are and I think the company that want to step in and help us I may be able to keep my job after all you guys...
Update 7: We're receiving death threats via emails/phone calls and text messages. Some people's whole life saving is in those containers. This is a mess.

The International department is having an emergency meeting as we speak. We called every single agents we have around that area to see what's still in the port. The damage is now estimated to be about 7.2 million dollars in goods as of right now. I'm working on my resume...
Edit: Over 15 millions in damage now and it's not slowing down...
Edit 2: Over 20 millions now. This is very overwhelming. We've never experienced something like this before.
sos

This post has been edited by han2019: Aug 13 2015, 09:41 AM
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 09:12 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(suicideroach @ Aug 13 2015, 08:57 AM)
lol hundred thousands? u watch too much movies la bro. i don't think i could be more 1000, or even 100.
The population is very dense in that area
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 09:31 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(bai1101 @ Aug 13 2015, 09:12 AM)
Wonder will this incident effect current economy?
For people grappling with how big this is:
There will be a massive loss of life, as there are residential areas not too far from area of the explosion; that is besides a great number of people working at the port facilities.
But the economic implications may loom large as well:
Port of Tianjin is one of the largest ports in the world (top-10, arguably; depending on your metric)
it is massively damaged and won't be operating for quite a while (!); certainly well below capacity for months
cargo currently in port will have to be written off; cargo scheduled to leave the port ... forget about receiving it for a while; other ports in China will be able to deal with some priority cargo (containers, especially), but cannot handle all the cargo that was supposed to be shipped there (Tianjin preferentially handled non-container cargo, it was "only" the 9th largest container port in the world, but the 4th in tonnage)
there will likely be specific product bottlenecks, where other ports wont be able to pick up the slack due to lack of specialized facilities for bulk cargo (apparently coke, coal, oil, grain, fertilizer (!), chemicals, lubricants, ...; not all of these, but some)
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 09:32 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(VanishS @ Aug 13 2015, 09:29 AM)
Dont think there would be many deaths in that area, its not like a commercial area and its night time to boot.
Let's hope that it would be less
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 09:47 AM

95 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Aug 13 2015, 09:44 AM)
Faaaark more company will kena lingkup
[–]mundubra 89 points 5 hours ago
i think everyone has a lot of shipments right there now...

[–]Wesnu 241 points 5 hours ago
Yep words are that every single containers there are completely destroyed. We're fucked. Our customers haven't found out yet. Today is going to be a long day man.
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 12:01 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Proclaimer @ Aug 13 2015, 11:57 AM)
Yea im amazed that there are only 17 deaths?  shocking.gif
17 reported death...
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 12:50 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(shinkawa @ Aug 13 2015, 12:47 PM)
inb4 plot twist.
explosion plan by secret agent from other country to cripple china
which make me think how easy it is for a country to sabotage other country..

just send some guy to do this kind of things...
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 12:51 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(Toyoi @ Aug 13 2015, 12:49 PM)
exactly after China devalue its Yuan currency... nahhh just coincidence...
Just saying- I'm not a big believer in 'coincidences':

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/National_Supe...nter_of_Tianjin

2 Officials detained- although not completely uncommon: https://twitter.com/MSimonTV

President Obama issues executive order to create the world's first exaflop supercomputer, which can mimic the human brain: http://www.wired.com/2015/07/obama-supercomputing/

And this: China devalues Yuan http://www.usatoday.com/story/money/busine...ation/31521611/

Tianjin U Professors Charged with Economic Espionage
https://www.insidehighered.com/quicktakes/2...nomic-espionage

This post has been edited by han2019: Aug 13 2015, 12:54 PM
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 01:00 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(sniper on the roof @ Aug 13 2015, 12:56 PM)
Ya ya ya.... It's all masterminded by Donald Trump bcos obviously he's anti-China. He said on tv recently. Coincidence?

Eh... pleaseeee simpan ok?
Donald Trump is just a puppet/actor.. everything was part of the plan...

The truth is probably more than we can handle...

god bless... the world is going to becum 1 world goverment..

everything the holy book prophesize is slowly comin true
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 01:07 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(AxeFire @ Aug 13 2015, 01:03 PM)
HOW CAN THE CONTAINER BEND RIKE THAT

SHOCKWAVE KE

the air there safe to breathe meh?
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 01:07 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 13 2015, 01:06 PM)
more like the container on the right terpelanting and hit the container on the left
howbout the contena on the right?
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 01:09 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(EternalC @ Aug 13 2015, 01:09 PM)
terkongkek semasa terpelanting
malay too deep, ayam dun understand lol
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 01:15 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(puppeto4 @ Aug 13 2015, 01:13 PM)
hmm.gif if you happen to be in 500m range of the explosion and hide in a gutter, how much would it improve your survival chance?
0.28% based on the current research in US

ediT: actualy ayam oso wan know. . any expat in /k mmind explain?

This post has been edited by han2019: Aug 13 2015, 01:16 PM
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 01:20 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Aug 13 2015, 01:17 PM)
Hide in fridge better, can survive nuclear explosion
/sarcasm
i tot this is real? mythbusted kah?
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 01:21 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(bobohead1988 @ Aug 13 2015, 01:17 PM)
Hide in fridge better, can survive nuclear explosion
/sarcasm
okeh did my researched

So, overall, being in a lead-lined fridge you're somewhere around 51 points (~percent) safer than standing randomly in your home or office. However, you could still get 46 of those points just being in some other well-protected interior room away from any sort of glass or other likely flying debris (removing the fridge escape penalty of course).

As it happens, duck an cover made a lot more sense than we give it credit for today; it's almost as effective as Indiana Jones' brilliant lead-lined fridge idea.

FYI - This is not an exhaustive list of nuclear effects and the actual nuclear attack you're subjected to could change the weighting substantially. Your mileage may vary.

SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 04:06 PM

95 posts

broken window, scary... omg..

duno they ok or not...

This post has been edited by han2019: Aug 13 2015, 04:08 PM
SUShan2019
post Aug 13 2015, 04:53 PM

95 posts

QUOTE(James831 @ Aug 13 2015, 04:48 PM)
So the first batch firefighters didnt know there were dangerous material store on those warehouse when they go in ?

RIP for all the fallen firefighters.
Maybe even they know it is dangerous they oso need to go in to safe people... they are ready sacrifice their life for something greater...

0.0274sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:20 PM