Linksys AM300=weak modem, latest firmware seems ok.

lonewalker
post Dec 14 2006, 09:51 PM

204 posts

Hey guys i have the a similar problem too (AM300)

The modem occasionally hands and reboots when it gets hot. I Overcame this by putting a fan next to it. However a second problem arises, i cant resolve DNS entries while running bit torrent. It seem that the modem cannot sustain 30+ multiple connections.

Is this a firmware problem or a hardware problem? Are there any third party firmware for this modem?

@ Quote Cyberig
Basically, this modem oni good enough for surfing ler..hmm..maybe good oso if we set it bridge mode oni and pair it with a powerful wireless router like Linksys WRT54G or Belkin pre-N.

HOw do you go about bridging the modem? There are 2 bridge options in the modem setup (Which, the default bridge or the other one?)
I'm using Linksys's WRT54GS
lonewalker
post Dec 25 2006, 01:43 AM

204 posts

QUOTE(cyberic @ Dec 17 2006, 03:43 AM)
Choose the bridge mode only if u want to pair it with wrt54gs. In the bridge mode oni the AM300 is just a dumb bridge for WRT54GS..the wireless router will do the dialing instead of AM300. RFC 1483 bridging is abit different ...u can google for it smile.gif
Okay, bridge mode the regular bridge only mode. WRT54GS wont dial. either will direct access to the modem via Ethernet port on the pc works.

Both dialing using PPPoE

0.0128sec    0.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:44 PM