Study in America!, How?

P.I.M.P
post Nov 13 2008, 08:45 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Hi I'm Inti ADP alumni.

IMO, I think Inti have the most affiliation with U.S uni's. I didn't regret taking ADP in Inti. Right now I'm in U.S, graduating next month!!! I CAN"T WAIT TO GRADUATE!!! Done studying for now.

For those interested to study in U.S, taking ADP will be your 1st step. Something to keep in mind is that the U.S system & U.K system is slightly different in terms of curriculum. But once you get used to the structure, you'll be fine.

Oh I forgot to add, unless you have scholarship, be prepare to sell of a semi-detached house for your education here in U.S. All I can say is that it ain't cheap. But think of the exposure you get here, its nothing compare to the money you paid. Start saving money for those who intend to study in U.S. If you have scholarship, that'll ease your family's burden a lil' bit.

This post has been edited by P.I.M.P: Nov 13 2008, 08:47 AM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 13 2008, 11:57 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Seriously, RM100k is not enough if you're depending on family aid. No way. You better prepare for more than that. My mum already prepared the financial aid since I enrolled in AUP. Don't wait till last minute to shop for your funding. You'll end up having trouble applying to uni cos they will wanna see your financial statement & bank letter. Get prepared early.

I am in U.S and A now. Graduating on Dec 20!! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Were you in Subang or Nilai campus? Yeah Inti has the most connections if you're into ADP. FOr other courses I'm not too sure. I'm in Univ. of Nebraska Lincoln. What about you? Aaahhhhh, don't ask about life here. Life here is slow moving. Good for retirees. Not for city boy like me laugh.gif . I'm more into NY or LA or SF. Live life on the fast lane. Keep in touch.

Its almost impossible to get in-state tuition fee. Depends on which state you're in. Some states have laws like if you stay there for a number of years, you can pay in-state tuition. Not too sure about that cos my uni doesn't such law.

If you're planning to work off campus (legally) & support your education, forget about it. There is no way you can fully support your edu & living exp at the same time. You're not allowed to work off campus because you're under F-1 student visa. Student on F-1 visa are NOT ALLOWED to work off campus. There are students who work off campus illegally. Thereby, you're at risk of being deported. Why risk you future on waiter/waitressing. IMO, not worth it. Better finish you degree fast fast & get a real paying job. Besides, working off campus employers will treat you like shit. rclxub.gif
P.I.M.P
post Nov 14 2008, 03:56 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

For act. sci., I would suggest Drake Univ. 99% of M'sians there are doing A.S. Great place to develop A.S career. IF and only IF you get scholarship, then only you go to Drake, if not don't bother. Its a private uni & therefore the tuition is way more exp.

Who are the advisors in Inti now? Do you know Ms. Pei Yi working at the AUP office? Total living exp depends on individual. I roughly need like $5k for a semester; rent, utilities, gas, car insurance, petrol, groceries, food, entertainment, phone bill etc. But don't worry about the living exp, if you can adjust your lifestyle, then its okay. thumbup.gif

P.I.M.P
post Nov 15 2008, 09:06 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Nov 15 2008, 08:39 AM)
ermm... tailors is very good too... are u doing OPT there?
No I'm not doing OPT. I got all the documents done, but not gonna do OPT. Gonna head back home icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

P.I.M.P
post Nov 16 2008, 12:37 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

So I am assuming you're one of those who are trying hard to get "into" America right? Don't get me wrong, I'm not stereotyping or labeling here. I guess everyone has their own hopes & dreams. What they wanna do & how they wanna do is up to individuals.

I could do OPT if I wanted to. All the paperwork is lined up & I just need to submit it. But for me, some things in life is much more than OPT or working in U.S. Of course, I would like to stay in U.S & have a great life, but after some events I've been through, I realize U.S is not everything. Besides, I'm sure I will have chance to come back to U.S some time in future.

Added on November 16, 2008, 12:47 pm

I'm not trying to "splash cold water" to those studying abroad. And please don't get me wrong, I am studying abroad & just expressing my thoughts & comments.

Yes America is the land of dreams & opportunity. But that only comes when you're a PR or Citizen. Without either of the status, you're nowhere near that dream. If any of you are following the financial turmoil happening NOW, you'll realize A LOT of big firm are having hiring freeze & laying off workers. How bad can this be? Imagine, Americans themselves are losing jobs & the work force is shrinking, what more for international students who hold only student visa looking for companies to sponsor their working visa? How can companies afford to sponsor more international workers?

It is possible to work under working visa at the current economic condition. But the conditions are harsh & terrible. Unless you really stand out among Americans themselves, then you stand a chance to weather this condition. Anyways, good luck to everybody.

This post has been edited by P.I.M.P: Nov 16 2008, 12:47 PM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 16 2008, 03:22 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Oh yeah, I see you working in Alaska. Must be freezing your arse off huh. BTW, if you wanna make big money fast, try catching some Alaskan crabs. Hehe. If you watch Deadliest Catch on Discovery Channel that it. Lucrative but VERY RISKY!!! Hehe. Would be heck of an experience. But don't tell your parent if you're going. Huhuhu.

Me too. No job offer. Gonna be jobless in few weeks time.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 17 2008, 12:21 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Yes crab fishing is most dangerous job. But the returns are lucrative. That's the last thing I would do.

Yes, during your regular sem, you can only work on-campus. Working OFF campus if not permitted. But as always, there are ways to go around things which I'm not gonna discuss here. We speak about legal stuff here right thumbup.gif thumbup.gif .

However, during summer you can work off campus, BUT, with the condition that your job has to be related to your field of study. Most of the time, students will opt to do summer internship with companies to gain experience & something to write in resume. AFAIK, there is no limit on the amount of hours you can work during summer. As long as your employer is cool with giving you overtime, then you can do it. If otherwise, you gotta sit & talk to your employer.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 01:04 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Yeah you can. But chances are very slim. Unless you get JPA scholarship. Everything paid & covered for.

Well, actually our parents paid for it. Hehe if you know what I mean.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 03:23 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

I make about $250 every 2 weeks working on campus. 20 hours a week x 2 weeks. But now I get around $280 because the Dpmt of Labor increase the min. wage already. Should have gotten $300+, but minus off taxes that what I got left vmad.gif mad.gif .

I spent $150 on phone bills every month. Then about $80 on calling cards. icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif whistling.gif whistling.gif
P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 04:02 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Why? He's afraid of you on concentrating enough on your studies?
BTW, your family is in U.S with you?

My mum said is okay to have a job as long as not interfere with studies. Besides my job is very simple as a front desk. rclxm9.gif

P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 07:04 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Oh I see. Well at least you have your brother with you. Just in case.

So you're on F-1 visa I assume? Barista can get pretty hectic especially in the morning when people are rushing for coffee. Fun job though.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 11:04 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Oh grader. That's cool.

I'll be graduating on Dec 20!! icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif Been waiting for this day for 5 years. Man feels good to be done. Few more weeks. Oh BTW, I'm only taking 3 credit, class on Tues & Thurs 9.30am-11am only rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif . Don't be jealous yeah.

You going back M'sia, cool cool. So I assume you never apply for OPT? I'm in the same case as you man.

P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 12:35 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Oh that's true. That's what I was thinking too. If I stay here chances of securing a job with employer willing to sponsor my visa is VERY slim. What more when companies are having hiring freeze & layoffs. I was thinking about this issue for 2 months already.

Its not a bad thing after all if you choose to go back. There are a lot of jobs at home too. Its not like the end of the world if you didn't get a job offer here in U.S. Just that your expectations gotta be lower than before. Don't have the mentality that you're U.S graduate, therefore you must be paid way higher than local grads. If you have this thinking, for sure you won't get a jobs anywhere. I believe everyone will have to start from somewhere low. Then slowly climb your way up the corporate ladder & get to know more contacts. From there, work your way thru.

I'll be traveling to Europe before going home early Feb. When start working, I know I won't have the time to travel. So might as well make use of this free time to travel 1st. Enjoy a bit before enter the working world.

P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 03:13 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

All the best thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

That's part of the reason rclxub.gif whistling.gif

Added on November 18, 2008, 3:14 pmDARN it
I can't sleep
1.15 am now

This post has been edited by P.I.M.P: Nov 18 2008, 03:14 PM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 04:00 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

We talk about studying in U.S here.
If you want travel tips, check out the travel section.
P.I.M.P
post Nov 18 2008, 10:48 PM

Jai Ho
719 posts

You bf local? That's the easy path for getting green card.

P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 12:37 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Aha very nice.

But just MHO, I think getting married at this age is NO NO sweat.gif sweat.gif . You still have a long way to go. A lot to learn in time to come. A long way down the road before you get married. When you get into the working world, you meet more people from all walks of life. Just my personal opinion. Sometimes I don't get it why Americans get married right after college. unsure.gif unsure.gif

P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 04:29 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Don't get married early. That's my opinion. Get tied down & there goes your future. Unless, got pregnant at early stage. Then no choice lo icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

Engineering only? Finance? Accounting?

You're back home. That's nice. When you returning back to AL?
P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 09:17 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

thumbup.gif thumbup.gif Keep it up.

Wow 50 hours, I'm not surprise. Takes too darn long to travel home. Go home take a hot shower, syokness.

Haha. That's true. Cannot tahan wan la. Maybe after 1st time, he'll say, eh lets try w/o "gloves". Muahahahaha thumbup.gif thumbup.gif doh.gif doh.gif . Sekali leak, fuiyooooooo. That's the day you strike lottery la. 9 mths suffer & future gone case. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

Added on November 19, 2008, 9:18 amBTW, I bet some guys looking at my signature also fapping already. What more with their gf's. Hahahaha

This post has been edited by P.I.M.P: Nov 19 2008, 09:18 AM
P.I.M.P
post Nov 19 2008, 09:58 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Haha. That's hard to say oh. Just WHAT IF he cannot wait? You know some guys just want that "thing" hmm.gif hmm.gif . After they get it, adios amigos. blink.gif blink.gif

0.0444sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:39 AM