post Dec 4 2008, 02:50 AM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

not 13?
j3ff345
post Dec 6 2008, 12:34 AM

36 posts

QUOTE(SeLrAhC @ Dec 4 2008, 01:55 AM)
yeaps.. shouldnt be a problem although u might lose out in sports and other non core subjects
what other non core subject? aw lose out in sports..damn!.lol
thx for the info
cheers
P.I.M.P
post Dec 8 2008, 07:34 AM

Jai Ho
719 posts

Hello people,

How's everyone doing? I've been MIA for a while. Went to Chicago shopping for Thanksgiving break. Now I'm done with school. Waiting for my commencement on 20th.

So whats new in the news? What's good?
elaineliew88
post Jan 2 2009, 03:52 PM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

may i know how much is the flight tickets fares right now to US from KL? going to the States end of this year...hopefully can book early and cheaper.thx for help
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 2 2009, 08:04 PM

1,704 posts

Is a TOEFL iBT score of 106 considered okay? :-\
KuzumiTaiga
post Jan 3 2009, 09:56 PM

Spends too much time with mechanical keyboards
3,317 posts

TS, it's been two years now, how is it going?

Added on January 3, 2009, 9:56 pm
QUOTE(P.I.M.P @ Dec 8 2008, 07:34 AM)
Hello people,

How's everyone doing? I've been MIA for a while. Went to Chicago shopping for Thanksgiving break. Now I'm done with school. Waiting for my commencement on 20th.

So whats new in the news? What's good?
missing in action? wow yawn.gif

This post has been edited by KuzumiTaiga: Jan 3 2009, 09:56 PM
-Nos-
post Jan 3 2009, 10:53 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Jan 2 2009, 08:04 PM)
Is a TOEFL iBT score of 106 considered okay? :-\
WoW !
Seriously? shocking.gif
Your English must be darn good.
I thought the max score is 120?

jasonboey90
post Jan 8 2009, 09:01 PM

70 posts

erm , im currently doing a-lvl right now in taylor's college , afer getting my cert , how do i apply to go the uni in us that i want to go to? Sorry to intterupt this thread , im a complete newbie

Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 8 2009, 09:23 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 3 2009, 10:53 PM)
WoW !
Seriously?  shocking.gif
Your English must be darn good.
I thought the max score is 120?
Yeah, the max score is 120. So..it's considered good? sweat.gif blush.gif Wasn't sure of the standard. And no, my English is not darn good. It's far from that laugh.gif
-Nos-
post Jan 8 2009, 09:50 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(jasonboey90 @ Jan 8 2009, 09:01 PM)
erm , im currently doing a-lvl right now in taylor's college , afer getting my cert , how do i apply to go the uni in us that i want to go to? Sorry to intterupt this thread , im a complete newbie
If you plan to study in US, why are you taking A-levels? sweat.gif
I don;t think you will get much transfer credit. blink.gif

QUOTE(Crazy.SoT.Gila @ Jan 8 2009, 09:23 PM)
Yeah, the max score is 120. So..it's considered good? sweat.gif  blush.gif  Wasn't sure of the standard. And no, my English is not darn good. It's far from that laugh.gif
106 is considered very good already. lulz
I'm just aiming for 80. doh.gif
By the way how was the test? I'm taking it on the 24th.

SUSSeLrAhC
post Jan 8 2009, 11:05 PM

★★★7Star★General★★★
5,227 posts

QUOTE(elaineliew88 @ Jan 2 2009, 03:52 PM)
may i know how much is the flight tickets fares right now to US from KL? going to the States end of this year...hopefully can book early and cheaper.thx for help
which part of US?

so far cheapest is united.. but 60 hours + 5 stops..
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 9 2009, 02:37 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 8 2009, 09:50 PM)
Well my test center was pretty relaxing. There were only 4 of us (I believe 5 is the max, considering there's only 6 PCs there, 1 is for the staff) and the staffs/invigilators wasn't strict at all. They even left us alone quite often laugh.gif Whereas for my friend who took it at KL/Selangor (can't remember specifically which center), there was many candidates and they were in cubicles (we didn't have cubicles, just separated tables) with CCTV monitoring every single person sweat.gif

Well, I'd have to say the reading and listening section is harder than the sample sets that I've done (1 from TOEFL's site itself and another 1 from Kaplan). Whereas for speaking and writing section I can't give a comparison as I didn't really bother much about it during practice (well, couldn't figure out how to prepare laugh.gif ). Also, it seems random that some candidates will be given an extra question for the reading section, whereas others would not have it, thus proceeding faster that those that get it.

I happened to be one of the unfortunate one that got it (2 of us got it, the other 2 didn't) and was confused as to why I was sooo slow behind the other candidates doh.gif Kinda got me distracted there a while. Not to mention as some candidates may enter the speaking section earlier, you may be distracted by them too. Though, if you're able to handle your current questions AND listen to what they're talking about, then try to do so. You'll get the idea of what to focus on later during your speaking section as the questions are the same icon_idea.gif My speaking section screwed up sweat.gif Only got 20/30.

Uh, and if you cannot tahan much cold, better bring a sweater/jacket along just in case. Depends on the test center.
-Nos-
post Jan 9 2009, 09:17 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

4 in a class? Good for you.
I'm taking it in KL.
By the way I'm sure you guys will not have the same questions right?

How many questions for the listening and reading section? sweat.gif
I always think that speaking is the hardest section though. doh.gif

May i know which university are you going to study and what is your major? biggrin.gif
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 9 2009, 10:59 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 9 2009, 09:17 PM)
4 in a class? Good for you.
I'm taking it in KL.
By the way I'm sure you guys will not have the same questions right?

How many questions for the listening and reading section?  sweat.gif
I always think that speaking is the hardest section though.  doh.gif

May i know which university are you going to study and what is your major?  biggrin.gif
Well in KL definitely will be on a much larger scale. Won't have the same questions with us, but with the candidates there with you on that day, yeah.

Erm, sorry can't remember tongue.gif Can read it at the TOEFL sample set, it'll tell you that. And yeah, I do agree that speaking is the hardest. Was worried about writing too since I haven't write any essay for a couple of months.

I haven't made a final decision on which uni yet. But I'm going to apply for Drake, Nebraska-Lincoln and Iowa. Still trying to find more choices. My major is actuarial science, not sure if I'm gonna stick to it though unsure.gif
feynman
post Jan 9 2009, 11:07 PM

4,781 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Jan 8 2009, 09:50 PM)
There nothing much that one can do for pre-u if one wants to go to the US.

One might get up to one year's worth of credits.
luckykid
post Jan 10 2009, 02:48 PM

179 posts

Hmm I got 105 when I took it when I was 13, and I think it's low. >.<
I'm aiming for more than 110, when I have to apply for uni.
Pretty good scores in listening, writing and speaking but low in reading because I just don't have the patience to read through the whole passage.
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 10 2009, 06:50 PM

1,704 posts

Why'd you take it when you were 13? blink.gif
-Nos-
post Jan 10 2009, 07:42 PM

I Hate Stupid people!!
1,770 posts

QUOTE(luckykid @ Jan 10 2009, 02:48 PM)
Hmm I got 105 when I took it when I was 13, and I think it's low. >.<
I'm aiming for more than 110, when I have to apply for uni.
Pretty good scores in listening, writing and speaking but low in reading because I just don't have the patience to read through the whole passage.
When you was 13?
I think you're a genius applying for university @ that age?
So you are 17 now?
Which university you got into?
luckykid
post Jan 10 2009, 07:43 PM

179 posts

Nah I just took it because my brother was taking it, and I wanted to know the standard of it so that I can prepare myself better for it later.
And my dad doesn't mind wasting money. o_O
Crazy.SoT.Gila
post Jan 10 2009, 11:18 PM

1,704 posts

QUOTE(luckykid @ Jan 10 2009, 07:43 PM)
Nah I just took it because my brother was taking it, and I wanted to know the standard of it so that I can prepare myself better for it later.
And my dad doesn't mind wasting money. o_O
How'd your brother do that time?

Added on January 10, 2009, 11:27 pmBtw, you're applying for uni this year? How old are you now o.o

This post has been edited by Crazy.SoT.Gila: Jan 10 2009, 11:27 PM

27 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0228sec    0.82    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:02 PM