Hobbies [Official]Magic Tricks, Card tricks, coins, threads, silks, etc

Grajindo
post Aug 19 2008, 07:12 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(LordNed @ Aug 19 2008, 02:34 PM)
Wow, now only I know got such thread! I'm interested in doing magic but don't know where to learn. Any tips?  drool.gif
depend on what magic you want to learn.. balls, cards, stage, coins,.... after you say which one you're more interested in then only we can help smile.gif
Grajindo
post Aug 19 2008, 10:01 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Aug 19 2008, 09:06 PM)

To all magicians/ hobbyist:

I have a question for you guys regarding knowledge sharing and ethics. I've realized in most magic forums, people are often super duper 'protective' of their knowledge.. and to them, you have to spend if you wanna learn. Now my question is this.. is it wrong to teach others magic? I mean certainly not SPOIL the trick, but is it wrong to teach? For example, you buy a math book... or a 'how to do C programming' book... and you read it.. then teach others. I'm sure that's fine with anyone right? But why not magic?

Another question here: Nowadays you see those magic authors selling their dvds or books which cost a bomb. Imagine a dvd for USD20 just for 1 routine!!! Do you think it's wrong if a group of people (lets say 8 people) buy and share the dvd together?
Okay, speaking out my point of view. Personally thinking, it's not wrong to share with others, but, you have to know the person better first before teaching. If he's one that you THINK will keep the secret and practise well before performing, then go on. But, teach some magic tricks/ sleight of hand like DL, self-working trick, svengali... Don't teach tricks that the creator of the trick is still alive. Cause, i think that if he wants to learn that trick, he should buy it. If don't want to buy, then think of your own trick. This is only apply on the magic tricks that the creator is still alive. sweat.gif While for sharing, think is okay as long as all the people in the group will keep the secret and perform it well.

P/S: All of these are just my POV. smile.gif
Grajindo
post Aug 21 2008, 02:01 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(LordNed @ Aug 21 2008, 02:19 AM)
I prefer card trick.  biggrin.gif
in that case, if you're very new, then Born To Perform by Oz Pearlman is a good choice. and also royal road to card magic
Grajindo
post Aug 22 2008, 02:32 PM

2,171 posts

Added on August 22, 2008, 2:35 pm
QUOTE(Grajindo @ Aug 22 2008, 02:32 PM)
one of the best flourishers in malaysia have smaller hands than mine... me myself have small hands already, but he has smaller than mine.. haha.. but for true, cobra cut needs big big big hands...-.-
and i thought you only snap photos of models... mana tau manipulate card also ar...haha...
This post has been edited by Grajindo: Aug 22 2008, 02:37 PM
Grajindo
post Aug 22 2008, 02:43 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Aug 22 2008, 02:39 PM)
OMG Shinchan here omgomgomgomgomg
you're very surprise also ar... so do i..hahaha...
Grajindo
post Aug 22 2008, 05:14 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(wen_loong7 @ Aug 22 2008, 03:48 PM)
Who is Shinchan ??? shocking.gif Cartoon character ? haha.. laugh.gif
erm, lowyat most post forumer... and lowyat model shoot master.. these are what i know

Added on August 22, 2008, 5:15 pm
QUOTE(Grajindo @ Aug 22 2008, 05:14 PM)
erm, lowyat most post forumer... and lowyat model shoot master.. these are what i know... and shinchan is the crayon shin chan if not mistaken? hmm.gif
This post has been edited by Grajindo: Aug 22 2008, 05:15 PM
Grajindo
post Aug 24 2008, 10:35 AM

2,171 posts

this trick is good when you go and see tabib...
Grajindo
post Aug 25 2008, 08:19 PM

2,171 posts

nah.. i'm not from penang.. from sarawak.. and i'm not so into closeup/street.. and blue heng, flourishes cannot la.. she wants magic..
Grajindo
post Aug 25 2008, 09:29 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(magictrader @ Aug 25 2008, 08:30 PM)
LOL.. Sarawak..Then who from Penang ? Rm200++.. quite alot... do some simple card trick la... Like Witness, iNdeCent, BeliEve,Mentalism stuff rclxm9.gif .. Flourish not suitable la shakehead.gif
but need to see who's the spectators 1st.. if more are children, then have to do other tricks.. and i'm definitely not performing for children for now sweat.gif
Grajindo
post Aug 26 2008, 04:02 PM

2,171 posts

i don't know what is Tuborg...haha..
Grajindo
post Aug 26 2008, 06:43 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Aug 26 2008, 04:48 PM)
1 word -> Beer.
in that case, some beer trick must be in!...haha...
Grajindo
post Aug 27 2008, 01:00 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Aug 27 2008, 01:50 AM)
guys, can anyone tell me whr can i learn magic from? or which xi fu? cos i really wanna learn it..
there're a few ways to learn magic. 1st- buy dvd/books... 2nd-join local magic club( The Magic Annexe) 3rd- look for a master. 4th-donno yet sweat.gif

Added on August 27, 2008, 1:02 pm
QUOTE(cyloh @ Aug 27 2008, 04:28 AM)
Whoa, never really thought there is a magic thread in lyn.net.

I noticed alot of magicians into cards. Anyone into coins?

Tricks i bet my life on....
1. Warning
2. Factory Sealed
3. Loops  wub.gif  wub.gif  wub.gif
warning for smoker only?...haha.. so syiok when my first time trying to do.. and never do it again... still can remember how syiok it was... shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Grajindo: Aug 27 2008, 01:02 PM
Grajindo
post Sep 1 2008, 06:19 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Sep 1 2008, 02:44 PM)
Does anyone know where to get bicycle sv**ga*i deck which is cheaper compared to magic garage? I have quite a bad experience with their administrators as they tend to do things very slowly and it's almost impossible to contact them at certain times. Another problem is their shipping charges. Starts from RM10 for poslaju!? Wth???
www.themagicstreet.com . can be trusted. and usually i got the stuffs faster.
Grajindo
post Sep 2 2008, 04:39 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Sep 2 2008, 01:48 AM)
hmm at any rate, i'm gonna try contacting one of the MG personals first. See whether they're willing to arrange a CoD with me or not. If they're not I'll just buy from themagicstreet. I don't trust paying RM10 to them for the delivery just to wait for 1wk+ and not getting my stuff.
sometimes you can't just blame them. there many other factors. like last time, i waited my stuff for so long and i called issac for the code. and later when i checked, then baru know my stuff at kuching. then have to call poslaju and reconfirm with them.. but if you're only buying a svengali deck, then i will suggest you to wait first. buy ton of stuff in 1 go and you will save for the postage fee..
Grajindo
post Sep 2 2008, 09:19 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(wen_loong7 @ Sep 2 2008, 06:58 PM)
Anyone here can recommend me any good mentalsim dvd ?
wa..mentalism ar.. lolz.. can't help u... donno anything about mentalism. know NPL only-.- the most famous one..haha sweat.gif
Grajindo
post Sep 3 2008, 08:31 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Sep 3 2008, 06:39 PM)
but as a first learner, wat should i learn 1st? i thought its going to be step by step? my favourite will b card decks.. so somebody can help me?
thx..

Added on September 3, 2008, 6:40 pm

hm.. thts y i ask whr can i find a master to learn from? u guys got any idea?
www.magicannexe.com might be the thing you're searching. anyway, if you want to learn some card tricks. royal road to card magic, born to perform
Grajindo
post Sep 4 2008, 03:24 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(Darkcloudz @ Sep 3 2008, 09:23 PM)
err.. bro, the website currently not available.. i tried it edi.. but thx anyway
sry.. should be The Magic Annexe
Grajindo
post Sep 4 2008, 10:49 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Sep 4 2008, 08:07 PM)
Indecent is good.. but very dangerous leh.. I kena 'caught' once. I didn't flash but my friend figured it out. luckily I was only performing for 3 of them only. lol.
maybe when you did the secret move before the trick, he was just near you eh..haha... btw, indecent, unhygienic le if no clean water around...lolzzzz later perform few times, your card smells weird..haha
Grajindo
post Sep 7 2008, 08:03 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Sep 7 2008, 04:33 PM)
Have you personally tried it before? Does it work well to create an I deck?
one of my friends told me that we can actually make I deck with a normal bike, and sand paper.haha. but need to have skill la..

This post has been edited by Grajindo: Sep 7 2008, 08:03 PM
Grajindo
post Sep 7 2008, 08:54 PM

2,171 posts

QUOTE(BlueHeng @ Sep 7 2008, 08:36 PM)
wow sand paper.. a bit scary.. later scratch too much off.. maybe i shall google for it. Thanks.
maybe you can try with some cheap deck 1st? and use a bigger number sand paper?

30 Pages « < 20 21 22 23 24 > » Top

0.4854sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 05:39 PM