New EFI Firmware Updates for Intel Macs

TSaMDCoPPeR
post Nov 14 2006, 10:40 AM, updated 20y ago

168 posts

Launch your software update fellow intel mac users! Here is the description of the update I've got for my MBP:

This EFI Firmware Update fixes known start up and wake-from-sleep issues on MacBook Pro computers. If the firmware update doesn't run automatically, open it manually in the /Applications/Utilities folder.
wei
post Nov 14 2006, 11:07 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

cool, there's also a camera RAW update.

will update tonight, report back later biggrin.gif
lokgotz
post Nov 14 2006, 02:51 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

my macbook also has this update....not only MBP.....

and it runs automatically....ehhehe
TSaMDCoPPeR
post Nov 14 2006, 03:05 PM

168 posts

Yeah like I said it is released for Intel Macs lol.. So that includes MB, MBP, iMac and Mac Pro...
prasys
post Nov 16 2006, 09:06 PM

Heros Never Die
12,925 posts

I smell apple is making harder for cloners like me to run OSX on their Dells , err Macs....I have talked to semthex on this matter and it looks like they are up to something
artyca
post Nov 16 2006, 10:55 PM

53 posts

installed into my macbook already. No visible difference though smile.gif
dragna
post Nov 20 2006, 04:25 PM

5,252 posts

Got mine installed today and don't see any difference.. yet
TSaMDCoPPeR
post Nov 20 2006, 07:21 PM

168 posts

The firmware is supposed to fix problems that some people are experiencing regarding wake-from-sleep and start-up. If you don't have those issues of course you won't see a difference. lol. smile.gif
minde
post Nov 21 2006, 06:50 AM

dreamt a king, woke up still king
2,911 posts

how come i oni get keynote update and pages update ?
minde
post Nov 21 2006, 06:50 AM

2,911 posts

how come i oni get keynote update and pages update ?
dsiew
post Nov 21 2006, 08:51 AM

715 posts

maybe u've updated it already...

after my first install/update, my battery drained very quickly.. then after that everything was ok..
minde
post Nov 21 2006, 09:04 AM

2,911 posts

this firmware is for C2D MBP ?
etsuko
post Nov 21 2006, 09:43 AM

Spaced out person
4,210 posts

QUOTE(aMDCoPPeR @ Nov 14 2006, 03:05 PM)
Yeah like I said it is released for Intel Macs lol.. So that includes MB, MBP, iMac and Mac Pro...
that should answer your question.. smile.gif
wei
post Nov 21 2006, 09:49 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

so far so good after the update.
artyca
post Nov 22 2006, 05:47 PM

53 posts

anyone experiencing whining noise from the Core Duo processor, after the firmware upgrade? Read about it on the Apple forum - apparently, you can get rid of the whining processor noise by switching on PhotoBooth or something???
TSaMDCoPPeR
post Nov 22 2006, 10:59 PM

168 posts

If you can get rid of the noise by switching on PhotoBooth then you have the infamous whine issue that have affected alot of MBP CD users - like me. Apparently, the whine only happens when the processor is too idle... So that is why running PhotoBooth can remove the noise. For me, the noise goes away each time I switch on my wireless Mighty Mouse. What you can do is to ask for a logic board replacement from Apple Centre because Apple has already acknowledged this issue. Or, you can use a software solution such as ShhMBP. But, you're gonna get a lower battery life for using ShhMBP. I have tried it myself and have lost at least 25 minutes of battery power.

This post has been edited by aMDCoPPeR: Nov 22 2006, 11:00 PM
artyca
post Nov 22 2006, 11:06 PM

53 posts

amdcopper... many thanks for your feedback. Any other MB users out there experiencing this issue?

My concern: I can live with that slight processer whine - it's rather quiet esp. when you have your music on - but is it harmful to the macbook in the long term without this logic board replacement???

I also don't want to install anything that will suck battery juice since i'm always in need of long usage between charges...

TSaMDCoPPeR
post Nov 22 2006, 11:12 PM

168 posts

No, it will not harm your macbook. The noise is only annoying sometimes that's all...
SEP910
post Nov 27 2006, 08:01 AM

Desire!!!
1,153 posts

this update firmware make my mac wake up easier from sleep, but fan became very noisy sometimes.
artyca
post Nov 28 2006, 12:56 AM

53 posts

SEP910... you sure it's the fan and not the processor hum?

0.0171sec    0.39    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:31 PM