4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Need New Notebook?Need Recomendation? v26, Please Follow Format :)

XeactorZ
post Sep 30 2015, 03:00 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

Need help regarding recommendation of 2 laptop

1st laptop
1. Preferred Brand : asus, lenovo, acer
2. Budget : 3.5k
3. Usage - gaming, multimedia, office
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 15.6"

I'm considering g551jw-dm016h (gtx 960m) and upgrade the ram to 8gb, but seems hard to find it now
Or should I get its variant (GL552JX-DM174H) which using gtx 950m ?
Just wondering is it a lot differences between 950m & 960m ?

2nd laptop

1. Preferred Brand : any as long as is ultrabook, no chromebook thanks
2. Budget : 3k
3. Usage - no gaming, multimedia, office
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13 /14

For this one either i5 / i7 & 8gb ram will do, and if possible prefer with ssd smile.gif
XeactorZ
post Sep 30 2015, 12:39 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 30 2015, 07:24 AM)
Alot different 950m n 960m...
For ur 2nd laptop u can try Inspiron 7348 i5..
Thanks for the recommendation, will go for g551jw

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Sep 30 2015, 07:54 AM)
There is a very big difference between GTX960M and GTX950M. For example, if you set ultra settings in Bioshock Infinite, you get 45fps for GTX960M and 30fps for GTX950M. Opt for the GTX960M one.  thumbup.gif
Lol, how about 2nd laptop suggestion ? Any recommendation ?
XeactorZ
post Sep 30 2015, 07:24 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Sep 30 2015, 07:15 PM)
Sorry for late reply.  tongue.gif
Lenovo U41-70 or Asus UX305FA. Both comes with 256gb full SSD one. The lenovo one is lighter but the asus one has a relatively long lasting battery.  biggrin.gif
its okay
just check for it, core M laugh.gif
is even worse than i3 right hmm.gif ??

if change the screen size to 15.6", asus k501lx will be my only option ?
like its slim body drool.gif
anyway thanks for the recommendation

XeactorZ
post Sep 30 2015, 07:47 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Sep 30 2015, 07:38 PM)
Don't get the wrong idea of the M-5Y10. Its performance is just slightly behind the 4th gen Intel core i5. Great thing about this core is that it draws so little power, it doesn't need a built-in fan to cool it.

You can read the comparison here

And their is really less variety in 15.6 ultrabook. Asus K501LX seems to be the best in term of specs.  biggrin.gif
oo, I thought slower than i3 whistling.gif
so its just like macbook which also using core M laugh.gif

now there goes again, acer v nitro vn7 or asus g551jw
I guess this have been ask a lot time, but seems asus better in terms of quality right ?
XeactorZ
post Sep 30 2015, 08:49 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Sep 30 2015, 07:54 PM)
asus rog slightly better quality n service lo
Ya this is what I found on internet as well
Since ROG exist long time ago compare to Acer only recent years start making gaming laptop lol

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Sep 30 2015, 08:01 PM)
The ROG has a better quality build. But do you like MSI? You can look up MSI GE62 too. Great steelseries keyboard. Good Dynaudio speakers, redesigned 2 fan cooling system.  icon_idea.gif
Ya, but MSI seems over budget, and I hate its design (windows button on right side) doh.gif
Yet it using gtx 950m although it's processor is 5th gen i7
Will consider about it
Thanks for the recommendation

XeactorZ
post Oct 1 2015, 09:42 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(duck v3 @ Oct 1 2015, 08:14 PM)
ahhh i originally planned to get the ge60, but i snooped around on google and found out about the fan issue haha
soo really nothing else aside from the gl552 alrdy?

but i kinda worry abt the gl552 in the future though. it's quite hard to maintain the fan cz need to remove the keyboard..
your situation almost same like me
else you can consider G551JW-DM016H
but same as gl552, also need another 4gb ram to become 8gb ram
XeactorZ
post Oct 14 2015, 04:31 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 14 2015, 03:39 PM)
Dell has just reduced their laptop prices?
I think so
yesterday I check there no cent for their laptop
now some laptop end with cent laugh.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 14 2015, 05:54 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Oct 14 2015, 04:55 PM)
The site is not stable and abit crazy.

For example, one of the inspiron 15 model is listed as 2451.89. After I add 2 yrs hardware warranty listed as +95.40, the total price become 2694.40!!  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

2451.89 + 95.40 = 2547.29
lol I didn't try that, waiting for inspiron 15" 5000 or 7000 series with skylake processor brows.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 01:00 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Oct 13 2015, 09:09 PM)
If you are okay with DOS laptop, you can get the new model from Dell. A powerful processor with a excellent graphic card performance. Check out the specs. Some shops have started selling this laptop.  biggrin.gif
Dell Inspiron 15 7559-30814G-DOS 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-6300HQ, 8GB, 1TB, 8G Cache, NV GTX960M, NO Windows)

a) Usually you can put it that way. But there is not much difference in performance between GTX950M and GTX850M. But if you were to compare GT920M and GT940M, GT920M will definitely a better GPU.  thumbup.gif
b) Not so sure about the zero installment rate. Might have to ask other sifus.  biggrin.gif
Wah the laptop you mention not bad
Just wondering got i7 version with skylake ?
Yet what the price for the i5 version with skylake which you mention ?
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 12:26 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Oct 15 2015, 10:05 AM)
Got Skylake has released all three i3, i5 and i7. The price for the model that I mention is about 3.6k including GST. But if you buy online, you can get cheaper, some dealer sell them at 3.4k+/- biggrin.gif
But dell website haven't update it
Found some seller selling already, I will grab the dos version
But just wondering does it have m2 slot in order to put ssd in future ?
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 03:13 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Oct 15 2015, 01:54 PM)
Yeah, it does have an M.2 slot for SSD upgrade. You can always upgrade them if you want. biggrin.gif
shocking.gif
Where is the m2 slot ? Is it like this with red circle ?

Just curious since it don't have dvd drive so how to swap it and put ssd laugh.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 04:13 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Oct 15 2015, 03:51 PM)
Yes. Exactly.  thumbup.gif
Wow, seems hard to put in ssd in future laugh.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 05:57 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Oct 15 2015, 04:18 PM)
It's not hard. M.2 SSD card can fit directly to the slot without problem. Youtube videos should have tutorials one. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Oct 15 2015, 04:18 PM)
Not really.

Just slide the SSD in, clamp it down with hand then screw it tight and you are done.

One of the good thing about m2 slot is the small footprint. you can have many of them in a laptop just whether the CPU and motherbaord supports is the question.
lol seems dangerous cry.gif
else find some IT expert help me whistling.gif
just wondering, if plug in ssd will void the warranty ?
yet I don't get the warranty, 2 years pro support ? what means rclxub.gif

and dell malaysia website haven't update it hmm.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 08:27 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Oct 15 2015, 06:21 PM)
All Dell laptop comes with onsite warranty service. If your laptop encounters any problem, feel free to give them a call. They will come to your doorstep very soon. Usually on the same day or the next business day. Furthermore, usually add in a M.2 SSD will not void the warranty. So, no worries.  biggrin.gif
QUOTE(tachlio @ Oct 15 2015, 06:24 PM)
Its not hard to slot in M2, the only harder part is remove the back panel.
Do read the service manual for HOW TO REMOVE BACK PANEL.
QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Oct 15 2015, 06:40 PM)
Well, might as well learn this stuff by yourself instead of paying some dude RM50 and potentially screw you over (a lot of hassle). The back panel will be more than enough headache for you compared to the M2 SSD....
Lo back panel really hard to take it ? I thought just like normal products open the screw and put m2 sss inside laugh.gif
Yet, for the 2 years on site warranty, just wondering can I call dell and ask them come my house and help me put ssd can or not tongue.gif
But I think I will ask them in online next time, else find my IT friend help me put inside biggrin.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 10:23 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Oct 15 2015, 08:40 PM)
I think you can call them to do that.

Pinging myway1985
QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 15 2015, 08:44 PM)
Dun think they will install for u unless u claim something... dell call center strict but technician cincai

Just belanja them something..token of appreciation.. they might even sell u ram cheap..
what to claim lol
yet, I think 8gb ram is more than enough for me laugh.gif
don't think need extra 8gb ram tongue.gif

just curious, since I going to get the DOs version, just wondering does it got any issue if I install windows 7 / 8 / 8.1 ?
since I am a student I can download windows from msdn
thinking to install windows 7 / 8 / 8.1 > update to windows 10 > clean install windows 10

*I do this way because I want to get windows 10 pro instead microsoft giving me windows 10 education sweat.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 10:33 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 15 2015, 10:29 PM)
U can install any os on dos ver...so wan or not
DELL INSPIRON 7447 LAPTOP
4th Gen Intel Core i7-4720HQ processor(6M Cache,up to 3.60 GHz)
N-SERIES(FreeDOS)
1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
8GB Dual Channel DDR3L 1600MHz(4GBx2)
Tray load DVD Drive(Reads and Writes to DVD/CD)
Dell 2.0 Speakers and Subwoofer NVIDIA GeForce GTX 850M 4GB DDR3
Integrated 10/100/1000 Ethernet Port 3 in 1 media card reader supporting SD,SDHC,SD3.0
802.11ac+Bluetooth 4.0,Dual Band 2.4&5 GHz,1x1L
14.0 inch LED Backlit Display with Anti Glare and HD Resolution(1366x768) LCD back cover-Black Integrated Widescreen HD Webcam,dual digital microphones 65 WHr,6-Cell Battery
1 Year Warranty
Rm3000

512ssd for rm3800.. dual drive
no thanks prefer 7559 skylake brows.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 10:57 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 15 2015, 10:39 PM)
7559 earliest mid nov only reach..

N 7559 still using dual core ulv.. if u not heavy multitasking then ok
no idea when it stock arrive
but I check some shop are selling it already
will check it out either this weekend or next weekend smile.gif
XeactorZ
post Oct 15 2015, 11:54 PM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 15 2015, 11:02 PM)
Those ap 1
no idea as I saw 2 years dell warranty on site
XeactorZ
post Oct 16 2015, 12:11 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 16 2015, 12:02 AM)
Which shop? They must be damn pro, dell sales team today only finish skylake model meeting
tech hypermarket and asashi laugh.gif
and there no seller selling in garage sales
but DS_Legacy said some shop already start selling it
quite confusing rclxub.gif

yet why you know dell sales team got meeting today hmm.gif ??
XeactorZ
post Oct 16 2015, 12:28 AM

♥ PandaDog ♥
31,607 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Oct 16 2015, 12:23 AM)
My order pending for 5hrs..becoz they go meeting from 10am to 3pm...
o.O, seems like I have to wait until mid of Nov then only can buy the laptop then
but just curious does ap set can claim warranty from dell malaysia ???
else why their website stated 2 years on site rclxub.gif

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0274sec    0.25    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:29 AM