22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Need New Notebook?Need Recomendation? v26, Please Follow Format :)

DS_Legacy
post Aug 15 2015, 04:19 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(AppleChong96 @ Aug 15 2015, 03:46 PM)
what if i increase my budget to around 2k?
You can opt for any of these imho. And upgrade the ram to 8gb. Be sure to use 64-bit OS to utilise 8gb ram. biggrin.gif
Dell Inspiron 14 3443-20452G-DOS 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 500GB, 4GB, NV 820M, No OS) RM1.9k/-
Lenovo G40-80 80E400ABMJ 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 1TB, 4GB, AMD R5 M330, W8.1) RM1.9k/-
DS_Legacy
post Aug 15 2015, 09:57 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(AppleChong96 @ Aug 15 2015, 08:56 PM)
Thanks for ur reply.
Is it worth few hundreds for the processor?
Or there is no big difference?
It's good to see that you are doing research before buying. biggrin.gif

For your case, I suppose i5 will be good for your usage. Sometimes, people need a more powerful processor (i7) to run photo editing software and. But of course, the more powerful your processor, the more energy it will drain in short time. As for your case, I am sure you are in a dilemma to choose either i3 or i5.

Here is some ideas for you to make your decision. icon_idea.gif
Core i5 will be better for media creation, multitasking, and will be an improvement if you regularly complain about your laptop being slow. Core i3 will be sufficient for people who want a laptop that's faster than an Atom-powered laptop, but don't want to spend any more than they have to. A core i5 will get you better performance overall than core i3.

Ultimately, it is still up to you to decide. Hope this helps. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by DS_Legacy: Aug 15 2015, 09:58 PM
DS_Legacy
post Aug 16 2015, 12:00 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(hahli9 @ Aug 15 2015, 11:39 PM)
Preferred Brand: None
Budget: <4k
Usage: Gaming and usual uni stuff
Preferred laptop/screen size: 15"

Hello guys, currently looking at the Acer V Nitro at RM3,999. At that price point, is the V Nitro a good choice, or are there better models? I know there's a Lenovo with the exact same specs and price but I read reviews that the screen quality of the Acer is better. But I'm not sure about other brands now like MSi, ASUS, etc.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!
Asus G551JW-DM016H and MSI PE60 2QE-206MY come with GTX960M too. Do check them out too. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 16 2015, 04:17 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(fkinwai @ Aug 16 2015, 03:10 PM)
Hi sifu, wanna ask your  opinion.
Lenovo Y40-80 for Rm2800 free upgrade to 8gb ram worth buying?
I need a laptop for dota 2 and documents. But it's  not using the nvidia graphic card though. It's using  ATI Venus XTX R9M275 DD3 4GB memory card. I wanna know if the graphic  card is good.
That R9M275 performance is slightly below Nvidia GeForce GTX 760M and above GeForce GTX 670M. Hope this can ease your comparison. The R9M275 should be sufficient for you to play D2 at max settings. 4gb ram should suffice for D2 but if you have a free upgrade to 8gb ram, why not? biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 16 2015, 11:56 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(tatty89 @ Aug 16 2015, 11:36 PM)
Ok. Thank you for the recommendation!  biggrin.gif  One more question. Will it make any difference (better performance to justify the extra cost) if I upgrade the RAM to 8GB based on the two laptops you suggested? Thanks  smile.gif
More ram doesn't mean better performance. If you don't multitask a lot, 4gb is more than enough already. But if you like to surf the Internet and process some huge database/video at the same time, you may need 8gb ram. However, please be reminded that your windows will have to be in 64 bit in order to utilise the 8gb ram yea. Hope this helps. biggrin.gif
QUOTE(lululee @ Aug 16 2015, 11:39 PM)
1. asus/dell
2. <3000
3. studies in computer science
4. 13-15
Dell Inspiron 7447 14" GTX850M should meet your requirement. laugh.gif

DS_Legacy
post Aug 17 2015, 11:44 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(myway1985 @ Aug 17 2015, 11:21 AM)
Win 8.1 is bitchy le.. 8GB better... win 10 lagi....
If can go for 8gb is always better. But I'm not so sure about windows 10. Dare not to update yet hahaha laugh.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 18 2015, 12:03 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Aug 17 2015, 11:20 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: No. But don't want acer, Hp and Apple
2. Budget: RM 4k or below
3. Usage: Mainly for school, and music production
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 17 inch
Dell Inspiron 17 7746T-20812G-W8 17.3" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 1TB, 8GB Cache, 8GB, NV 845M, W8.1) RM4k
DS_Legacy
post Aug 18 2015, 10:49 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(jayzshadower @ Aug 18 2015, 01:29 AM)
1. Preferred Brand: No. But don't want acer, Hp and Apple
2. Budget: RM 4k or below
3. Usage: Mainly for school, and music production
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 17 inch

Must be i7 core
17.3 inches with core i7, I think you can get MSI only. biggrin.gif
MSI GE72 2QL Apache 2QL-092MY Gaming 17.3" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-5700HQ, 1TB, 4GB, NV GTX950M, W8.1) RM3.9k/-
DS_Legacy
post Aug 21 2015, 02:44 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(-Kronos- @ Aug 21 2015, 02:30 PM)
Hello all, I am a total noob  blush.gif  and need a bit of help to find a new laptop.

1. Any brand, so long its reliable ( after service )
2. Budget a bit tight, Approx ~RM1,500
3. Only for university works, no need for games
4. Not fixed

Oh, and preferably a lighter one.  The main focus is the budget as I am quite tight on that. Thanks all in advance ;D  icon_rolleyes.gif
Dell Inspiron 15 5551-5445SG-DOS Laptop/ Notebook (N3540, 500GB, 4GB, Intel, NO Windows) RM1,357/-
DS_Legacy
post Aug 21 2015, 04:44 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(breaker84 @ Aug 21 2015, 04:33 PM)
Dear all...

Recommend me...

1. Preferred Brand : Any
2. Budget : RM2000 max
3. Usage : University student (Faculty IT)
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13

Girl use, so laptop design + color is matter... laugh.gif

OS exclude, maybe use pirate or FreeDOS
Check these out. biggrin.gif
Dell Inspiron 15 5558-20812G-DOS Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 1TB, 8GB, NV 920M, NO Windows) RM2,284/-
Dell Vostro 14 5480-0045SG-DOS Laptop/ Notebook (i3-4005U, 500GB, 4GB, Intel, NO Windows) RM1,705/-

DS_Legacy
post Aug 21 2015, 05:10 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(breaker84 @ Aug 21 2015, 04:59 PM)
Any from Lenovo?
They got good design....
Girl desire... smile.gif
Here you go. biggrin.gif
Lenovo G40-80 80E400-HKMJ 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 1TB, 4GB, AMD R5 M330, NO Windows) RM1.8k/-

DS_Legacy
post Aug 22 2015, 12:21 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(mandarinoriental @ Aug 21 2015, 06:03 PM)
1. Preferred Brand: Lenovo
2. Budget: RM2000
3. Usage: since i'm a girl, no need at all for gaming - i just need good speakers most importantly! smile.gif
4. Preferred laptop/screen size: 13" minimum screen size and i am looking for something light and portable.

thanks in advance!
Lenovo G40-80 or G50-80. Price around RM1.8k for DOS and 2k with OS. smile.gif

DS_Legacy
post Aug 22 2015, 12:25 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(chocoleaf @ Aug 21 2015, 11:36 PM)
Is Asus K551LN good? And what's the current price in the market for this model? Thanks!  smile.gif
Should be less than RM2.2k. XD
DS_Legacy
post Aug 24 2015, 08:48 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(chickunburrito @ Aug 24 2015, 07:18 AM)
1. Preferred Brand : ANY
2. Budget : RM2K
3. Usage : Work
4. Preferred laptop/screen size : 13-14

Need response asap. Thank you in advance
Check these out! biggrin.gif
Dell Vostro 14 5480-0045SG-W8 Laptop/ Notebook (i3-4005U, 500GB, 4GB, Intel, Windows 8.1) RM1.9k
Lenovo U41-70 80JT0009MJ 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i3-4030U, 500GB, 4GB, NV GT920M, W8.1) RM1,7k

QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Aug 24 2015, 07:53 PM)
Yep smile.gif Can't believe you still remember my name haha
If don't want Dell, what's other option? smile.gif
Maybe you can try Asus? biggrin.gif
Asus ZENBOOK UX305FA-FC197H 13.3" Laptop/ Notebook (M-5Y10, 4GB, 128GB SSD, Integrated, W8.1)
DS_Legacy
post Aug 24 2015, 10:04 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(chickunburrito @ Aug 24 2015, 09:42 PM)
thanks for the recommendation. ive search through this thread and saw some of your recommendations on laptop around this budget and i saw this lenovo G40 : http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/len...-m330-w8-1.html

is it really recommended?  biggrin.gif

and btw, say if I want to buy touchscreen laptop, is this a good choice?

http://www.techhypermart.com/notebooks/asu...p-notebook.html
Everyone has their own priority on choosing a good laptop. Some wants a good after sale service, or good speakers for watching movies. Anyhow, specs wise, this G-40 is one of the cheapest ultrabook with about 5-6 hours battery life. With your current budget, this is one of the best imho. If you have more budget, opt for a SSD. It will definitely make your laptop last longer and trust me, it is worth the invest! But still, there are reviews on Lenovo creating lemon products. So, make your own research before buying yea. biggrin.gif

As for the touchscreen laptop, usually it will be more expensive than an average laptop. This hybrid laptop however, can be used as a tablet during work (presentations biggrin.gif ) but a 15 inch tablet is not exactly comfortable to use. Still, choose your own laptop based on what you need. The design of this hybrid laptop is nice though. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 24 2015, 11:09 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(foongjy @ Aug 24 2015, 10:39 PM)
Lenovo G40-80 80E400G5MJ – 14” / i7-5500U / 4GB / 1TB / AMD R5-M330 / W8.1 : RM2275/-

Lenovo U41-70 0JV0047MJ - 14” FHD / I5-5200U / 4GB / 256GB SSD / N16V-GM 2G / W8.1 : RM2250/-

Inspiron 7447 7447-21452G-W8 – 14” / I5-4210 / 4GB / 500GB / GTX850M 4GB / DOS : RM2390/-

Please tell me which one should i pick? considered DOS is not a problem. Thanks.
7447 is good for gaming. icon_idea.gif

DS_Legacy
post Aug 24 2015, 11:38 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(foongjy @ Aug 24 2015, 11:18 PM)
If gaming wasn't my priority, i need more for working purpose? Is the price difference of dell worth the upgrade from the lenovos? Thanks
Dell is well-known for its after sales service. On-site warranty! thumbup.gif
But if you don't do gaming, opt for either Lenovo U41-70 or Lenovo G40-80. Lenovo U41-70 should fit for working purpose with 6 hours battery life. Lenovo G40-80 will be better for some photo/video editing for work but in return, shorter battery life. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 25 2015, 12:50 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(foongjy @ Aug 25 2015, 12:45 AM)
Great, one last question, if I get the DOS version and install win8 by myself, will the warranty get void? Because some of my friends say it does.
Nah. It won't. Don't go pirate la of course. Look up the garage sales for cheap and genuine key. Some dealers sell at rm40-60 only. biggrin.gif
DS_Legacy
post Aug 25 2015, 09:04 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(nevergiveup5351 @ Aug 25 2015, 03:33 AM)

Im looking for a notebook, mostly for gaming purpose
price range around 3.5 - 4k
any recommendation?
GTX960M very powderful! brows.gif
Acer Aspire V Nitro VN7-591G-78SGk 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-4720HQ, 8GB, 1TB, 8GB SSHD, NV GTX960M, W8.1)
Lenovo Y50-70 5944-2222 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-4720HQ, 1TB, SSHD 8G, 12GB, NV GTX960M, W8.1)
Asus G551JW-DM016H Gaming 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-4720HQ, 4GB, 8GB SSD, 1TB, NV GTX960M, W8.1)
DS_Legacy
post Aug 25 2015, 10:22 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(lzSam @ Aug 25 2015, 10:10 PM)
Hi there, I would like to buy two laptops before doing my intern in October, one is for myself and another is for my gf.

1. Preferred brand - Any
2. Budget - Maximum RM2.5k each
3. Usage - Light gaming and mostly work for us because I got my own gaming desktop and she is not really into gaming
4. Preferred laptop screen size - Erm 14" or 15.6"?

I am looking at Lenovo Z50-70 right now, it's selling at around RM2.4k and I am wondering if there are any better options. The specs for Z50-70 are i7-4510U, GT840M 4GB, 4GB ram, 1TB HDD, windows 8.1 and 15.6" screen size
Check these out! These are for you. biggrin.gif
Dell Inspiron 14 3443-50452G-W8 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-5500U, 500GB, 4GB, NV 840M, W8.1)
Dell Vostro 14 5480-20452G-W8 Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 500GB, 4GB, NV GT830M, W8.1)
Lenovo G50-80 80E502-6DMJ 15.6" Laptop/ Notebook (i7-5500U, 1TB, 4GB, AMD R5 M330, W8.1)

Assuming your gf prefers a lighter one. Perhaps, these will be good for a girl. biggrin.gif
Asus ZENBOOK UX305FA-FC197H 13.3" Laptop/ Notebook (M-5Y10, 4GB, 128GB SSD, Integrated, W8.1)
Lenovo U41-70 80JV0047MJ 14" Laptop/ Notebook (i5-5200U, 256GB SSD, 4GB, NV GT920M, W8.1)

22 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0548sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 03:04 AM