Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V37, Ver Revive

TheAdmiral
post Oct 24 2015, 08:54 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(aliffasuka @ Oct 24 2015, 07:09 AM)
JUst wodnering anyone who entered this years GBWC 2015 received a message from LItt takk on when to submit your entries? still haven't received mine.

Also, Any idea on where to get basic stuff for diorama building, like the base?
submission 10th nov, 10am - 8pm
prize presentation 14th nov 5pm
dismantle 15 nov 9pm

19th Oct is the dateline to submit the form though, u didnt get the msg is it because u submit the form late?

what base? Mechanical chain base just get from any hobby shop. Custom base is all made up of random stuff u find everywhere around u, foam, wood, sand, dirt, cardboard, etc.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 24 2015, 09:25 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Oct 24 2015, 09:03 AM)
Is there a list of event from 10-15th November?  I mean the IPC Expo, it's associated with GBWC right?
Correct me if i'm wrong since i never been to the expo and planning to go this year
Gbwc and expo runs at the same time.

As for list of event i duno, gotta check it on the day itself. Its usually model kit building tutorial, photographs session with unicorn / banshee cosplay, kawaguchi autograph (only when he is here for the evaluation day, usually sun), and some other ad hoc stuff. It runs for the whole week but its activity is mostly repeat everyday.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 24 2015, 09:50 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(aliffasuka @ Oct 24 2015, 09:32 AM)
I submitted it during the midyear expo, back then they were already opening registration for it, so i just registered there with the kits I bought at that time.

Ah I see, i was wondering if there were pre build basic flat bases, so you can just add stuff to your wanting.
They got mix up ur form for the mid year contest mayb. Give them a call them and see.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 27 2015, 11:07 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Oct 27 2015, 10:52 AM)
yea i read premixed putty will keep shrinking, and you need A B type putty, but my question is if i buy those A B type in Ace Hardware, will i be able to preserve the unused A & B or i have to finish using them in short period. and how quick do i have to work on the putty once i mixed A & B?
2 part putty require them to mix together to be active, u can store each individual part however long u wan so long as they dont mix together. When u wan to use, just cut some section off from both part in equal amount and mix those together, store the rest.

After u mix, the hardening process will begin. U have 30 or so minute to sculpt after which it'll harden quite abit. Fully harden takes about a day.
TheAdmiral
post Oct 29 2015, 10:53 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(xein @ Oct 29 2015, 09:19 PM)
Seems like a hidden hand which makes me think that the Nightingale is built based on The O.
No. The O is build by Scirocco himself on the Jupitris. Both him and his fleet got wipe out at the same time at the end of Zeta.

Nightingale is made by Anaheim, and Anaheim had fitted sub arms before on TR-1 Hazel in AoZ, 7 years b4 the event of Beltochika's Children.

Of course in real life Izubuchi just slap on stuff to make it look cool and / or to draw connection to past UC designs including The O without really thinking about continuity and stuff like that since AoZ series is made after the fact to fill in the gap.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Oct 29 2015, 10:56 PM
TheAdmiral
post Nov 10 2015, 04:47 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 10 2015, 02:13 PM)
But it's 2pm and not allowed entrance
Submission timeline is today 10am till 8pm, some submit later than others. They hav to close off the area to allow contestant to prepare for their work, if some1 come in at 7pm to submit but crowds are already let inside its gonna interfere. They also hav to figure out some spacing issue since some submit ridiculously huge set pieces. If crowds are allowed in its just gonna be a huge mess on top of the current mess they r already in at the moment.

But this is actually the organizers fault, by right submission should be done the night before so that the place wont get so crowded during the day. This way, when the day start all contestant should already finalize and put on display for the crowds to view. This year they do it on the same day itself, damn crowded.

Stand there waited for 45min just so i could go in and submit mine, n because of the crowds got bump here, there everywhere. Luckily i keep everything in a box filled with foam for protection otherwise it'll probably be disintegrated already.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Nov 10 2015, 04:53 PM
TheAdmiral
post Nov 10 2015, 04:56 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Nov 10 2015, 04:53 PM)
Might go again this sunday because i am interested with the work since most of the work i see are photo based, wanting to see them for real.
Anyway there's also the V2 Ver.ka on display but didnt snap photo of it.
Didnt notice the v2, ahh well saturday gotta go for the prize presentation anyway. I'll take a look around then.
TheAdmiral
post Nov 19 2015, 07:10 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(mujinkun @ Nov 19 2015, 07:03 PM)
Hi to all Sifus...

Recently bought 2 sets of HG Gundam due to some promo at IPC last weekend.

Since I am just beginner into this modelling, is it advisable to use some glue to the plastic parts? If do so, what type of glue is needed? And how much to apply?

Thanks in advance
No glue is needed, gunpla is like lego, just connect male to female peg and u r done.

We dont usually use glue unless its deem necessary, ie if we broke some parts or something. After u get some experience in the hobby u can then advance to using cement for seam lines removal.
TheAdmiral
post Nov 20 2015, 05:25 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Nov 20 2015, 03:38 PM)
lol same case here. thanks to the event.

hi sifus, my case here is a bit specific. i have been building SD gundam during my school days and stop for sometimes until recently i bought myself a MG strike freedom gundam burst mode. anything i need to be careful building this guy since i have no experience other than SD gundam -.-" and i saw youtube review, the guy said the gold colour of the joints are different from other parts therefore we might need to touch up with gold gundam marker... any idea how much it cost and where to get it ?

looks like i do follow the SOP, buy and regret later.... worried i cant finish or break this MG -.-"
The wing mechanism is abit fragile. Pay extra attention when u put it together. If it broke the wing wont open symmetrically.

The gold marker will not achieve the same shine as the chrome gold. It sure as hell better then the puke gold that comes with the plastic, but know that its tone will not match 100%. The marker is about 20bucks. If u wan to try i would suggest u to get a spray can of bosny gold instead, much better then the marker and u hav the option to spray all the gold parts with the same paint to achieve a match.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Nov 20 2015, 05:26 PM
TheAdmiral
post Nov 20 2015, 05:53 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Nov 20 2015, 05:38 PM)
thanks for the warning on the wing part ~.~

yeah i did saw on utube that the it wont shine as chrome gold. what im afraid is i cant find the spray that matches the chrone gold of the hand as i do not wish to spray the hand part -,-" and noob like me might over spray and cost the joint too thick.

ish... sudd felt like should start with HG instead of MG.... at least i wont feel the pain so much if i screw up....
Nothing will, the gold effect is done by electroplating process. No paint can ever replicate it.

Just spray over the whole thing with bosny gold to get a match. If u arent confident with ur painting skill i suggest u just marker it and live with it for now until u get more practice time painting on cheaper kits.

This post has been edited by TheAdmiral: Nov 20 2015, 05:54 PM
TheAdmiral
post Nov 20 2015, 08:42 PM

49 posts

IBO design has really grew on me. Graze is cool, Barbatos im waiting to c how it'll end up by series end since it constantly scavenging parts, Gusion should be fun.

now this,

Really digging the 2nd one.

TheAdmiral
post Nov 20 2015, 08:52 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(:3mushy:3 @ Nov 20 2015, 08:45 PM)
Reminiscence of Overflag biggrin.gif
Reminds me of Patlabor, the head anyway.
TheAdmiral
post Dec 8 2015, 11:50 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(brightshade @ Dec 7 2015, 02:24 PM)
Guys I got a gundam problem.  I lost a part before assembly.
ITS for RG Gundam Zeta.  It's a piece that goes behind the ankle of the RIGHT leg.  Since the LEFT leg piece is still there, was thinking if...

- is there any place or way to duplicate the piece?
- or anyone selling spare parts?

**ps-  the part is called G5
option:

1. Taobao

2. Order replacement from Bandai. This is free of charge but ur gunpla must b from official distributor, aka u must hav litt tak logo at the side of the box and snap pic of it together with the receipt as proof of purchase and email it to them. Duno they still offer this service or not though.

3. Cast it urself. Get some epoxy putty n some talcum powder n u r good to go

TheAdmiral
post Dec 8 2015, 05:48 PM

49 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Dec 8 2015, 05:36 PM)
Care to share some tips on this?? can replicate transparents part too?
No, epoxy dun give u transparent finish. U wan transparent part u nid clear resin casting.

Epoxy cast

Clear resin cast

TheAdmiral
post Dec 21 2015, 07:22 PM

49 posts

Since every1 is uploading their wip, this is mine. Well sort of "work" in progress....

TheAdmiral
post Dec 29 2015, 10:42 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Dec 29 2015, 10:19 AM)
how u guys do the coating? finish then spray on it or have to tear it apart to spray? wondering should i do coating
depend on how meticulous u r n how perfect u wan it to b. I coat most parts 1 by 1
TheAdmiral
post Jan 13 2016, 11:28 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(mrg220t @ Jan 13 2016, 12:29 AM)
Hey all sifus, I'm getting an airbrush soon.
Any recommendation on where to buy lacquer/acryllic paint/ top coat in KL?
Also, anyone built the MG Sazabi Ver Ka before? Targetting that to be my next gunpla. Wonder if there's any comments by you guys on that kit.
Used to get paints from Time Machine but their stocks is inconsistent, Infinite Creation Workshop hav quite abit more selections and recently got restock of Gaianotes paint which imho is slightly more superior than Mr Hobby. Though why limit to just KL? You dont really nid to go there physically to buy em. If u order online then location is irrelevant, Tytroum in garage section hav lots of selection for Mr Hobby, Gaianotes, Tamiya paints.

Sazabi is great, 1 of the best MG out there. 3.0 hand is weak, holding the beam axe is fine but the rifle u can forget it. Not great articulation as expected given the design, super heavy so action base is not ideal, looks gorgeous, great build, lots of details right out of the box, transformation gimmick look nice but can be over the top sometimes, easy enough transformation and its just shifting of some panels here and there so its a solid kit despite the transformation. Every MG builders should hav this in their collection.
TheAdmiral
post Jan 19 2016, 09:23 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Jan 18 2016, 09:00 PM)
out of jesta, rezel, rezel Type C and Delta Plus
which would u recommend and why?
jesta is the most solid of the list. The only downside is the much more cooler version is a P(iss off) Bandai.

the rezels are practically the same models just with different back packs. And so because of that, the type c is the better buy since it gives u more options.

delta plus looks the best of the list but its flawed n fragile.

0.0381sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 11:28 PM