9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Model Kits Gundam & Mecha modelling thread V37, Ver Revive

:3mushy:3
post Dec 22 2015, 01:06 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Gonna dedicate my leaves from tomorrow until 3rd January fully to clear my backlog.

At least 20% of it.
post Dec 22 2015, 01:24 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Dec 22 2015, 01:20 PM)
selling or building them?
I seldom sell my kit, unless I really got no love for it, which rarely happens.
post Dec 22 2015, 02:21 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(xein @ Dec 22 2015, 01:58 PM)
Now, i remembered those. A bit hard to put those red rings nicely.
Stickers, decals, should not be used for full round surfaces. I always paint them.
post Dec 22 2015, 04:00 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(D-y @ Dec 22 2015, 03:01 PM)
meanwhile Dry-transfer decals is slowly getting extinct laugh.gif
Well, many prefer the convenience of water slide decals, but dry transfer provides the best looking finish to me. I love both, for rounded and uneven/elevated surface, water slide comes in handy but for flat surfaces, I prefer dry transfer biggrin.gif

QUOTE(memphiz_zero88 @ Dec 22 2015, 03:06 PM)
wanna ask, is there a way to put normal decals on bumpy surface? the decals for Star Wars kit need to put on round and bumpy surface, which make it really hard to stick. The Mr Setter only works for waterslide decals, right?
For normal decal, no other choice than to slice the decal at the center down the edge.
post Dec 28 2015, 09:22 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Dec 28 2015, 08:50 AM)
u mean sinanju stein? just fin applying decals yesterday havent do final coat
i guess it will be very heavy, the rifle seems to be much heavier than any MG i own (Nu, Unicorn, Sinanju etc)
it probably need certain angle to avoid having the joint leaning downward.
Blutack and tiny piece of paper at palm joint would help.
post Dec 28 2015, 08:15 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(falseapocalypse @ Dec 28 2015, 07:53 PM)
ahh, no wonder. yes im using mr super clear. i wait since yesterday to do the coating but it was rainy, and today also same. then cannot wait any more and go spray like crazy then this happen. haha, thanks for the tip!
Spray under direct sunlight preferably in the noon, and let it dry under sunlight. The frosting effect can appear even after the top coat looks dry enough.

This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: Dec 28 2015, 08:15 PM
post Dec 29 2015, 10:33 AM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Dec 29 2015, 10:19 AM)
how u guys do the coating? finish then spray on it or have to tear it apart to spray? wondering should i do coating
HG = limb by limb
Simple MG = part by part
Complex MG = frame, part by part
PG = piece by piece
post Jan 4 2016, 07:29 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

Going through the withdrawal syndrome again, three months with no Gunpla purchase or build.

Dangerous time to be entering hobby shops mellow.gif
post Jan 4 2016, 10:24 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(carpathia @ Jan 4 2016, 07:44 PM)
better buy now before price go up
Tons (figuratively) of backlogs, especially MG and HGBF kits.
post Jan 6 2016, 12:26 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(heally82 @ Jan 6 2016, 11:39 AM)
else you can try chrome spray cans and top coat it with glossy and try polish it to see whether can improve the shines
Chrome + top coat of any kind = silver
post Jan 6 2016, 01:22 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(heally82 @ Jan 6 2016, 12:34 PM)
bro ever try polish?
So you painted chrome, top coat it and then remove the top coat by polishing? What a waste of effort.

Chrome layer is finer than any top coat. Even with gloss top coat, you'll damage the chrome layer by adding grainy layer on top of it.

The gist is painted chrome is not supposed to be topcoated, hence absolute care is compulsory when handling.

This post has been edited by :3mushy:3: Jan 6 2016, 02:30 PM
post Jan 6 2016, 01:40 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(jetjet92 @ Jan 6 2016, 01:32 PM)
I actually tried chrome spray paint on the stand (originally dark blue one) and the result just look like silver, doesn't really have chrome effect. So... it is impossible to achieve that effect like the picture by using spray paint? so sad to hear this..  planning to get an airbrush, but wallet so tight ah..
For smooth chrome, I don't think normal spray cans can do it, most of the time you'll end up with hazy chrome, unrefined reflection.
It is viable with airbrush because you can set the correct pressure and mixture of the paint.

To me the second best, and the best step I've done is chrome powder, but it is quite expensive and the powder stock is always almost zero in local market.

The best way is of course to electroplate the piece with chromium.

post Jan 16 2016, 05:38 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(falseapocalypse @ Jan 15 2016, 11:54 PM)
Next wip! Nearly a year kept inside the box.
Edit: forgot the pic
[attachmentid=5822373]
A word of advice, apply the silver sticker for the clear green part when instructed. Taking those assembled pieces apart is a PITA and you highly risk of breaking the parts.
post Jan 17 2016, 06:37 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(wandiana @ Jan 17 2016, 12:31 PM)

The best RG after 00R biggrin.gif
post Jan 17 2016, 09:26 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(kimirockz @ Jan 17 2016, 09:06 PM)
Am thking whether to get this, or wait for infinite justice  sweat.gif
QUOTE(xein @ Jan 17 2016, 09:23 PM)
Get it. Infinite justice seems like and infinite waiting.
The pain. Please stop mentioning that damned kit unless it's official vmad.gif

cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
post Jan 18 2016, 03:04 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Jan 18 2016, 02:55 PM)
littak having moving out sales i think... from sungai wang 6th floor to 3rd floor. not sure if they are offering nice bargain or not.... considering to grab MG red frame
You wished.

As the official distributor, discounted item means slapping a slashed higher price tag on the box.
post Jan 18 2016, 03:18 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(daisuke @ Jan 18 2016, 03:09 PM)
aih....means no luck for me? i am planning to get the banshee PG + ED unit bundle tonight, but suddenly litt tak announce massive discounts, make me think twice if i should wait until this friday, wo what you guys think? no hope at all PGs + LED unit get discount? cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
Why not just wait until Friday?
post Jan 18 2016, 03:42 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(daisuke @ Jan 18 2016, 03:36 PM)
plan to, but back of my head, keep thinking if i wait, maybe somebody will buy the bundle away.....aih....decisions, decisions, decisions sweat.gif
Normal Gunpla syndrome, just wait it out, it's no big deal.
post Jan 18 2016, 04:33 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(klthor @ Jan 18 2016, 04:11 PM)
they did say up to 50% sales on Retail price... i wonder how much is retail price? parkson or aeon price ?
If they mean by retail, yes. So enjoy your retail RM400 for an MG having 50% discount biggrin.gif

Well I'll be on leave on Friday, maybe will drop by to see what's what.
post Jan 19 2016, 12:28 PM

<--~(--+<[o]>+--)~-->
4,723 posts

QUOTE(limfreelance @ Jan 19 2016, 12:11 PM)
hello kawan..

mau tanya..Super Fumina..is how much ya??

Tq
Satu malam RM60-RM70, depending on your nego skill.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0494sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 06:23 PM