Proton Prevé V23, Livin la vida loca

mr_geforce
post Jul 23 2018, 07:45 PM

267 posts

Just my sharing.

Since I own the Preve turbo, I have been using RON 95 petrol from all the brand available in the market.

Yesterday I pumped some RON 97 oil into my car, about 40% RON 97 mixed with 60% RON 95.

To my surprisingly, I observed a lot of improvement on the car.

1. can feel more powerful on the pickup with slightly press on the gas pedal.
2. During the cool start, previously I noticed during idling there will be a lot of vibration produced. But now, it is very quite and without a lot of vibration produced.
3. During when shut down the engine, previously it is feel like somehow is rough. But now, the shutting down is very smooth, quite.

Just my sharing, although I have read a lot of article said that higher octane on the car that is designed for RON 95 would not feel any differences..but somehow after i tried, there is some differences.

Do let me know if any of you got tested the RON97 and the differences with RON 95.
mr_geforce
post Jul 24 2018, 11:31 PM

267 posts

hahaha.. the felling and the engine sound is totally different with RON97, especially when press on the gas pedal deeper.
mr_geforce
post Aug 10 2018, 12:31 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(SportyHandling @ Aug 10 2018, 08:34 AM)
May I ask how does your car break down 2 times in the last 6-8 months. What is the cause of the breakdown.

Personally after 5 years driving this Preve Turbo, apart from other minor quality issues (rattling inside the car) and suspension which starts to degrade approaching 5 years which does not absorb the knocks and bumps on the roads as efficient as before, I feel the CVT of the car may be the biggest weakness of the car. That's just my opinion and also experience after driving it for 5 years (from this month).

Just last month, the gearbox or CVT produced a weird and abnormal performance during hard acceleration. It's not that I frequently do hard acceleration but during that time when I did hard acceleration and lifted my foot off the pedal, the loud sound from the car can still be heard. It's like the gear or engine is dragging although the foot was already lifted off the pedal. In normal circumstance, when you press the pedal during hard acceleration, the sound of the engine will be loud due to the high RPM. WHen you lift your foot off the pedal, the car will stop accelerating and the sound of the engine and/or gearbox will slowly become softer. But in my case, when I lifted my foot off the pedal, the loud sound from the engine or gearbox is still there and did not become softer.

I"m not sure what is wrong with the car but after this incident, I think it is better to minimise or not do any hard acceleration with the car especially when it's close to 5 years old. When the car is relatively new say 1 to 3 years old, no issues with hard acceleration. But close to 5 years old or more, I think you cannot push the car too hard anymore or I'm afraid something will fail.

Eventually something will fail and parts will need to be replaced as the car ages. It's just like a young man and an old man whereby the old man will need to take more care and more vitamins etc. and will get an injury more easily compared to the young man who is more strong and robust. The car is almost the same except that it's mechanical. New parts are robust but when the parts(engine, gearbox etc.) get used more often and get worn out, it will need maintenance and some parts will eventually fail and need to be replaced.
Have you go to cose to update to latest ECU or TCU firmware. I believe its some software/firmware bug probably in TCU which might have been reported by other user and fixed by proton.

This post has been edited by mr_geforce: Aug 10 2018, 12:32 PM
mr_geforce
post Aug 26 2018, 09:42 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(jeff10012003 @ Aug 26 2018, 09:25 PM)
If the person ask you to change then he don't know what he's doing or he want to trick you.
It's normal that the alignment for rear will not align and they want the easy way and change it
But charging 1.4k is a tad too much. I was quoted 600 only before, original part some more.
Bettee to go to a reliable tire shop and have them looked properly. Should only costs max 100 for just realigning it.
there previous post saying proton preve, suprima adjustment is different from other car..

so, for me i would sent back to proton for alignment as they would know the best setting.
mr_geforce
post Aug 26 2018, 10:59 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(stevenlks @ Aug 26 2018, 10:49 PM)
lucky you, i did 3 times with proton SC, every time also run towards left side, i end up doing the alignment at other place
I sent to COSE.. have 0 trust on other proton SC on doing alignment other than changing the engine oil.
mr_geforce
post Sep 3 2018, 10:28 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(Pain4UrsinZ @ Sep 3 2018, 10:18 AM)
anyone here know what is the latest price to change both front left & right absober ? if we buy it from proton carnival sales can Proton service center accept the item and help to replace with only labor cost ?
yes. absolutely can. they will only charge you the labor.

that day I replace the rear reflector at sc, which i bought from proton parts centre.. they are ok with it.
mr_geforce
post Sep 4 2018, 09:56 PM

267 posts

just want to share one thing..

few weeks ago I got went COSE to do service and one of the thing is to replace the air filter element..

I dunno if it was due to friday or what.. the air filter box.. the long screw they lock it half way in.. while part of the screw is still standing on top of the filter box.. Luckily there is still have 4 clips that secure the filter in place.. otherwise the turbo unit would have suck in unfiltered air into the turbo and engine.

so make sure you guys do a quick check after any services.. just to be assure.

This post has been edited by mr_geforce: Sep 4 2018, 09:57 PM
mr_geforce
post Sep 15 2018, 12:44 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(winners8 @ Sep 15 2018, 11:20 AM)
Hi PREVE CFE owners,

Can I check with you if there is a cover for the OBD socket (just below the steering column and above the brake pedal) on your PREVE CFE vehicle (See attached photo)? 

The reason I'm asking is because on Thursday, I went to service my vehicle and at the same time I asked them to update the ECU.  However, after checking, they told me that they still don't have the latest version for my PREVE CFE which I don't understand because my vehicle is already 3 years old and has never been updated before.  Since I can't remember if there is a cover for the OBD socket, so I was wondering if they did not put back this cover after the checking.  Thanks for a kind reply.

[attachmentid=10021190]
mine one no cover.. since its 2nd hand car.. so dunno got or not..

the Latest ECU for preve Preve & Suprima.. is released around May this year.. if you go small SC they can't do it..
mr_geforce
post Sep 15 2018, 08:37 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(winners8 @ Sep 15 2018, 03:35 PM)
Thanks for your reply.  Any other feedback regarding the OBD cover from first-hand PREVE owners will be much appreciated.

I'm in JB and I went to the PROTON EDAR Larkin SC, which cannot be considered as a small SC.  I was very surprised that they can tell me they don't have the latest ECU version for my 3-year old PREVE. which is still using the original version.  My reason to update the ECU version was because I do encounter occasional jerking (although not very frequent) when switching from "N" to "D".  Hence, I was hoping that probably a new ECU version may resolve this small problem.

In addition, they had also done 2 electrical replacements as stated in their Service Invoice: 

A.  Code:  23850125 – PUP2385200 SB100473 Service Fix C
Preve Starter Adapter N Seri SB100423 SE-, 1

B.  Code:  16210040 – PUP1621190 SB100423 Service Fix Preve 1A
PW913184W Adapter Starter B+ Terminal

I believe the above are part of the wiring harness although I didn't get to see the actual parts replaced.  However, I did see their mechanic removing the alternator for this job.

Previously I would go to the small SC for my regular 6-monthly servicing.  Last Thursday was my first time going to the PROTON EDAR Larkin SC because I had wanted to replace the 2 Oil Cooler Hoses (for the first time) as the vehicle is already 3 years old, although the mileage is only 17,381 km.  Previously, when I brought this matter up to the small SC which I frequent, they will always claim that my mileage still doesn't qualify for the free replacement of the 2 Oil Cooler Hoses and so I was quite pissed off.
You got replaced the radiator fan wiring harness/connector? its under recall.. and the ECU that released this year also under recall one.

mr_geforce
post Sep 17 2018, 11:14 AM

267 posts

@winners8

below are the recall/ service fix that I have done on the car on this year after i took over.

I notice there is also some different version of the service fix from your previous post.

PREVE STARTER ADAPTER N SERI SB100423 SE-
L: 16210040 - PUP1621190 SB100423 SERVICE FIX PREVE 1D
P: PW913184W - ADAPTER STARTER B+ TERMINAL

ENGINE OIL LEAK DUE TO OIL COOLER HOSE S-
L: 12303025 - PUP1230179 SB100401 SERVICE FIX 4
P: PW812789W - HOSE OIL FEED
P: PW821790W - HOSE OIL RETURN
P: PW812314W - CLIP (DIA 16-27)

PREVE SUPRIMA ECU REFLASHING SB100465 SE-
L: 23850125 - PUP 2385200 SB100465 SERVICE FIX C

About the radiator fan connector melting recall.. i remember last time got sent there and took 1 days as they need to remove the front part to access the fan.. unfortunately its not listed on the receipt.. or perhaps its not being done?
mr_geforce
post Sep 17 2018, 02:00 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(winners8 @ Sep 17 2018, 12:47 PM)
Apart from the usual engine oil, oil filter and the drain plug's gasket replacements, below are also what were additionally done last Thursday on my 2015 PREVE CFE:

PREVE SUPRIMA ECU REFLASHING SB100465 SE-
(I don't understand this because upon collecting my car, I asked about the ECU update and they told me that they still don't have the latest version and so, I'm still using my original version.  They even told me that they'll contact me once it's available or I can ask to do this update again at my next servicing.  So, why did they include this in their Service Invoice when it wasn't done at all?)

L: 23850125 – PUP2385200 SB100473 SERVICE FIX C
PREVE STARTER ADAPTER N SERI SB100423 SE-

L: 16210040 – PUP1621190 SB100423 SERVICE FIX PREVE 1A
P: PW913184W - ADAPTER STARTER B+ TERMINAL
(Saw their mechanic removed the whole alternator from the undercarriage for this job)

L: 12303025 EXO, SUPR, PRE CFE ENG, OIL COOLER HOSE
P: PW812790W - HOSE OIL RETURN
P: PW812789W - HOSE OIL FEED
P: PW812314W - CLIP (DIA 16–27)

I also don't understand why was the air filter not replaced or even cleaned?  Isn't it a standard practice for the mechanic to air blow (clean) the existing air filter if it is not to be replaced?  Upon reaching home, I then opened the air filter box to clean the air filter by myself.  I managed to remove some debris (small dead leaves and short twigs) from the air filter.
about the radiator fan wiring harness/connector.. it seems only certain chassis no require the replacement due to melting.. mostly is older generation..especially 2012, 2013.

about the ECU reflash.. hope you didnt get charge for it..

the Adapter starter b+ terminal.. mine one is Service Fix 1D, your is 1A.. wonder what is the differences on the version/...

about the air filter.. the service center would not do anything unless it is requested by customer.. i think they will charge you labor to clean the filter with compressed air.
mr_geforce
post Sep 17 2018, 06:25 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(winners8 @ Sep 17 2018, 05:55 PM)
There was no charge for the ECU Reflash.  However, why should there be a charge for this?  It's part of their responsibility to update to the latest available version since the vehicle has been consistently serviced on schedule by their authorized SC without a single lapse.

Service Fix 1D and 1A, I also don't know what's the difference.

Just air blowing the air filter should be a standard procedure if it is not replaced.  It won't take more than 5 minutes to do this job.  Besides, if they don't open the air-box to even physically check on the air filter's condition, what will happen if the air filter is indeed already torn or too clogged with debris?  To me, this will be considered as Incomplete Service.  The same should also be applied for the simple air-blow cleaning of the air-con filter above the glove box, which is even easier and should take no more than 2 minutes.  However, they also did not do it this time.  The level of servicing is very inconsistent because when I went to my usual small SC previously, they will do the air-blow cleaning for those 2 filters (if they are not replaced, especially for the air-con filter which doesn't require replacement unless it's broken) without even my asking.  All these should have already been included in the Service Charge which I was charged RM66.00 + 6% SST, totaling RM69.96.
sorry.. my bad..i recheck back the receipt, the ecu update is under service fix.. hence no labor charge.

for the filter in the glove box..mine one originally does not have paper filter.. only pollen filter.. Recently i purchased a BOSCH activated carbon paper filter and put inside there.

my element air filter is very quickly turned to black and filled with a lot of carbon/soot , as i always traveling outstation and also drive fast.. hence the volume of the ambient air forced to enter the filter also quite a lot.

if the air filter is heavily clog causing reduce of air enter into the engine.. then engine performance will reduced., less HP,

This post has been edited by mr_geforce: Sep 17 2018, 06:29 PM

mr_geforce
post Sep 17 2018, 10:59 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(winners8 @ Sep 17 2018, 06:56 PM)
My air-con filter is still the original pollen filter.  I just flushed it on both sides with flowing water but being careful not to wet the sponge seals at the front.  Thereafter, I used a cloth to dry it.

Your air filter is indeed quite dirty.  Mine is still usable after clearing away some dead leaves and short twigs because I had replaced it during my previous servicing in March 2018 and is only been used for about 2,800 km since then.  My vehicle is indeed very much under utilized.  Imagine having to change the synthetic oil at only less than 3,000 km of usage.  It's such a wastage.  Anyway, there's nothing I can do as I have to adhere strictly to their 6-monthly servicing interval in order to retain its warranty.  Also, I would usually use a clean damp cloth to wipe the bottom half of the air box as there are also much dust on its inlet (bottom half) side.
btw..i am using syntium 3000 .. change every 10,000.. and the element air filter i think its about more than 10,000km usage..

Actually partially is also due the carbon coming out from the diesel vehicle in front of the road as i always follow quite close to those vehicles.

For me,, I have been drive the car in a quite harsh way.... proton's vehicle is very robust and able to withstand some harsh torture.

the most amazing about this car is the acceleration and the torque, the pickup is quite good especially after exiting toll and hiking road with slope. when the gas pedal being pressed and release, there is nice sound coming from the turbo diverter valve/blowoff valve.
mr_geforce
post Sep 20 2018, 10:18 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(DarkTenno @ Sep 20 2018, 01:25 PM)
Just to share my frustation with this so called authorized services center:

https://www.google.com/maps/place/Wakil+Ser...3;4d101.4418604

My wife went there last 2 week for overheating problem, came there they said wiring harness problem, when I was speaking on the phone ( I was outstation ) they was confident there it was the harness they said one of the connector is broken even though I already asked them to check the radiator fans, my wife when ahead follow they recommendation to change the harness which cost her around 540  shocking.gif ,

wife when back home the next morning it overheat again  ranting.gif wife gone back to the shop now they said radiator fan problem, I straight away call them and why the hell they said it was harness problem as I can still remember they was very confident it was not fan problem yesterday now they saying it a fans problem and they quoted me RM700 to change the fans, I was like screw you I will change it myself, I asked for refund for the harness they said can't (bloodyhell).

few days later I went back from outstation, go to jalan ipoh to get a recon fans for RM130 and installed the dam thing myself saving myself rm700 cost at the service center  vmad.gif, after the fan swap problem solved! I took the old harnes to a workshop for inpection visually there is nothing wrong with the harness everything look fine they broken connector they mentioned only having a bend pin inside easily fix with a screw driver  mega_shok.gif on well at least I have a spare wiring harness  doh.gif

Leaving rant behind, anyone can recommend a cheap HU that support android auto? biggrin.gif
walau... harness 540... fan 700... marcedes service center is it?? proton sc is way cheaper than that

mr_geforce
post Sep 21 2018, 06:31 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(senang_giler @ Sep 21 2018, 04:53 PM)
My preve CFE dashboard light blinking while driving slow or stop during traffic jam.

Any Sifus can help how to rectify this.

https://youtu.be/GoMgjwkdNMo
this one is almost simillar to mine one

last time stupid used car dealer broke the 100A
fuse beside the fusebox, amd bypass it using copper wire and It cause a mess on car system where everything is keep resetting randomly at unpredicted time.

mr_geforce
post Sep 21 2018, 06:38 PM

267 posts

but.. if your car electrical system never been messed before.. then its the alternator kaput,

as we can see the battery icon lit up first, follow up with others (resetting)

there is a workshop to overhaul the alternator, replace the IC with Brush cost RM120.

Need to get it repair fast otherwise dunno what kind of other damage it will do on the electrical board

This post has been edited by mr_geforce: Sep 21 2018, 06:40 PM
mr_geforce
post Sep 21 2018, 07:31 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(senang_giler @ Sep 21 2018, 07:27 PM)
Is it the fuse box in the front bonet?

Maybe I’ll check tomorrow.
yup.. front right..

but i think better sent to COSE, they have alternator testing equipment that can printout the result one.. not those under tree workshop with a motor, belting, lamp indicator.

mr_geforce
post Sep 21 2018, 07:33 PM

267 posts

QUOTE(mr_geforce @ Sep 21 2018, 07:31 PM)
yup.. front right..

but i think better sent to COSE, they have alternator testing equipment that can printout the result one.. not those under tree workshop with a motor, belting, lamp indicator.
and let me know if the altenator ia kaput..

new one from cose with installation cost around 800.

I have a used unit with me, replaced new IC and carbon brush.. sell at Rm400 without installation. let me know if you are interested.
mr_geforce
post Sep 25 2018, 12:35 AM

267 posts

QUOTE(AlOnE89 @ Sep 24 2018, 11:58 PM)
is the refined 2018 Preve worth getting?
Thought of getting my first car sad.gif

But heck.. the equipment in this car is kinda outdated?
Must insert key fob to start engine, and without built in reverse cam.. even persona or iriz is better in this compartment
relax bro... the key fob things.. is for security.

dunno where i read, for those with start stop button without keyfob. they are tend to be stolen as the ecu is actively looking for the signal (range few meters, even outside of the car).. where someone use this as weak point to stole the car..

i think is comments from the few months ago stolen vios in kl.

wait for another year... geely introduce another turbo sedan..
mr_geforce
post Oct 15 2018, 12:08 AM

267 posts

anyone know about suprima, exora cvt damper program improvement initiative things for car that still under warranty?

preve dunno if is on the program improvement initiative list ?

Does any who owned preve that still under warranty get contacted by proton for replacement?

10 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.1107sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 10:31 AM