Official Microsoft Surface Thread V4

jack2
post Aug 13 2017, 03:49 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(beverlykho @ Aug 13 2017, 03:47 PM)
Well you can try and use Meguiar's Scratch-X 2.0 and try buff it off. The casing is magnesium so the scratch could only be on the surface.

Salut
It seems it is not on surface. Feel like have deep garisan.

Tried the Turtle X polishing + Scratch remover and can't help.

Don't think it is possible to be removed since it is belived not on surface.

I can't find any reason/way that could cause this.

This post has been edited by jack2: Aug 13 2017, 05:02 PM
jack2
post Aug 14 2017, 10:52 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Aug 14 2017, 10:11 AM)
wow, looks pretty deep. sad.gif
the surface is a delicate machine. I'd like to suggest a folder/rear cover, but it'll only make the surface less of a surface.
Ya, quite deep and I can't understand how it could happen since I was just carrying it and walking to my car. Upon inside car and I turned it to look the surface and noted it. The distance is just 50metres.

I twitted to Surface Pro and they recommended two ways

The kickstand is part of the Surface's unibody feature in which there is no way you can get this part outside or from any third-party vendor. There are two possible way to address this concern:

First - contact the reseller and seek for device replacement. Warranty should allow you to get one.

Second - send your Surface for repair in which possible fees may apply depending on the warranty inclusion acquired from the vendor. Here's the link: http://msft.social/PAVoIW

I don't think the first suggestion is permitted since it is not their fault/manufacturing defect.

I have asked them if they could order the kickstand and sell me that part would do.
jack2
post Aug 14 2017, 01:22 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(cait_sith @ Aug 14 2017, 12:55 PM)
Get a casing for it - http://www.lazada.com.my/flip-case-for-mic...0.0.WRtOnz&ff=1

*Disclaimer: with that recommended casing attached, it will add more weight to it.
added 0.3 kg

ahhah
jack2
post Aug 24 2017, 10:56 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(waynee27 @ Aug 24 2017, 10:53 PM)
Hi Guys,

My Surface Pro 4 mouse/screen freezing when unplugged. It happen after a week i received my Surface Pro 4.
I have contacted Microsoft Support to do troubleshooting via remote access and i did many times recovery.
But the issue still occur, Microsoft cannot solve it, therefore Microsoft offering me to do replacement. (According to them, the replacement is a refurbished unit)

Shall i accept it?
I am not really interested on it because i feel like i paid RM4k++ for a refurbished unit, not a new one.
I never enjoy it since the issue occur, only keep do trouble shooting, i am fed up on it.
Sighzzzz....

Guys, please advise me.... thanks
Only mouse freezing or whole system?

Most probably is USB issue. If it is only mouse/screen freezing and you can still check the Device Manager, try to look at USB Controller should there be any issue/remark.
jack2
post Aug 24 2017, 11:05 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(waynee27 @ Aug 24 2017, 11:03 PM)
i tested with bluetooth mouse, usb mouse & cover keyboard.
it freezing while i browsing.

Sometime whole system hang, mouse cursor cannot move.
i have to press power to on off as refresh.
It is hardware issue?
Reformat also same ah?

It is a bit hard to know if it is caused by USB... Damn, if offer 1 to 1 exchange, is refurnished unit ah?

Then they send to you from US or local Microsoft?
jack2
post Aug 24 2017, 11:10 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(waynee27 @ Aug 24 2017, 11:08 PM)
Yes... i did many time recovery already.
Microsoft did troubleshoot on device manager too.
It still the same.

ya ... 1 to 1 exchange, but cannot guanratee is new unit.
Most probably is refurbished unit.... sighhhh so sien...
Must force them to give new unit la...

I haven't played with mine coz I have unsettled issue on the kickstand.
jack2
post Aug 24 2017, 11:21 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(waynee27 @ Aug 24 2017, 11:15 PM)
they insist cannot promise to give new due to their replacement policy.

have you contact microsoft on your kickstand issue?
May be you can highlight to them that it is just 1 week old and having this issue. It is not fair for you to get the refurnished unit.

Contacted but useless. They kicked me here and there and finally said the kickstand is not replaceable and there is no way to buy or get it replaced.

And I bought this and arrived today.

http://www.lazada.com.my/flip-case-for-mic...mpaign=LineItem

This post has been edited by jack2: Aug 24 2017, 11:22 PM
jack2
post Aug 25 2017, 08:44 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

Didn't know Surface has so many issues...
jack2
post Aug 26 2017, 09:31 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Wonder if anyone of you install addition antivirus system to your Surface?

Also, what is that Microsoft family? My nephew curi curi used my Surface and invited himself to join the family. What is that served?

This post has been edited by jack2: Aug 26 2017, 09:43 AM
jack2
post Aug 26 2017, 11:31 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Aug 26 2017, 10:39 AM)
almost every devices has issues, it depends if the use

r can overlook those flaws

on the bright side, the wifi missing adaptor hasn't reoccur sine the last update, yet.
I only use Microsoft defender. seems enough for me.
no antivirus can substitute mindfulness when plugging in unknown thumbdrive and executing unknown email attachments.

I don't use Microsoft family
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Microsoft_family_features
sounds like part parental control, part purchase control
maybe can knock him off your ms family if in doubt.
As he can login to my device even he didn't know my password or PIN.

jack2
post Aug 28 2017, 10:36 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Anyone is using Surface Pro like normal notebook for office task from 8-5pm with its power supply?

jack2
post Aug 30 2017, 10:10 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(jack2 @ Aug 24 2017, 11:21 PM)
May be you can highlight to them that it is just 1 week old and having this issue. It is not fair for you to get the refurnished unit.

Contacted but useless. They kicked me here and there and finally said the kickstand is not replaceable and there is no way to buy or get it replaced.

And I bought this and arrived today.

http://www.lazada.com.my/flip-case-for-mic...mpaign=LineItem
This flip case is really good in quality. Very solid and worth for money.

Just it adds the weight of 0.3kg and thickness.

BTW, I really don't know why this surface is so easy to get it scratched. I got another line again yesterday when I was using it on my bed...

I don't think my bed or the bed sheet has anything that can make the scratches deep like the one happened before.
jack2
post Aug 31 2017, 08:43 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(beverlykho @ Aug 31 2017, 02:10 PM)
Fingernails could be the culprit. The magnesium body on all the Surface Pros are surprisingly easy to scratch. But at least if you scratch it you will still see the silver colour.

Salud
Are you sure it is easy to scratch?

Then yours one ada kena?

I don't think it is my fingernails lo...
jack2
post Sep 13 2017, 05:44 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

wonder if anyone has windows.old and windows10.upgrade folders in your C: drive?
jack2
post Sep 19 2017, 03:20 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

xps13 2in1 is powerful than microsoft surface?

jack2
post Sep 21 2017, 03:14 PM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(funny duck @ Sep 21 2017, 03:11 PM)
Yes very common, I have already sent it for a warranty. Couldn't really use it at all for long hours of usage
So low quality...
jack2
post Sep 27 2017, 10:06 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(xXAaronXx @ Sep 27 2017, 10:03 AM)
As expected from MS. Call me stupid but I bought an iPad Pro 10.5 out of frustration to replace my Surface Pro 4. Ppl say Apple is overprice but at least their quality is good unlike this Surface.
Why called you stupid?
jack2
post Sep 27 2017, 11:48 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(chamelion @ Sep 27 2017, 11:34 AM)
My 2 years old sf4 battery swollen.
Ms send me a replacement and in mid of migrating.

Is a issue for non serviceable (glued together) designed...
send a new device or just battery?

If just battery, how are you going to replace it?
jack2
post Sep 29 2017, 06:14 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

Anyone here tries before to refresh the windows 10 by doing a clean installation (clean installation means install from the latest windows build, other than reset to factory setting and need to perform all updates again)?
jack2
post Sep 29 2017, 10:01 AM

Mr
15,192 posts

QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Sep 29 2017, 07:30 AM)
Just did that for my workstation yesterday. Yes need to download another 4gb of updates. But my router traffic analyzer shows more than 6gb of download.
This type of clean installation is using the latest build?

I believe reset = re-install from the image stored in the SSD which is not the latest, correct?

If "clean" installation is done, how to update the image so future reset is using the current build rather than the one which was set in factory?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0217sec    0.73    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:33 AM