should i take MBA?, i'm only a helpdesk IT exec

TSDavidtcf
post Jul 31 2015, 06:48 PM, updated 9y ago

To the moon!!
3,440 posts

icon_question.gif my company is an education institute.. so there's subsidy for those that wanna take courses in this campus (Inti), up to 70%.

Should I go ahead and take MBA? Will it do me good? since I'm working only as an IT Technical Support.

What u guys think? Should I use 2 years to complete it (part time)? Or it's more worthwhile to pursue some other short course that is more relevant to IT? (e.g. SAP etc, i'm not programmer). If I take other courses means no more subsidy need pay full price myself. Previously I was working on shift too that's why couldn't take up any courses... after married with kid only boss allow me to switch over to Monday to Friday working hours.

There's 2 types of MBA offered also, one is fully online (not affiliated to any international universities tho), and another is affiliated with Coventry University, UK (required to attend class for 2 years too during the night). Is this affiliation important? will it makes a difference when applying for job?

I'm currently married with a 2 yr old kid also... If I'm taking the one with classes, it will definitely take away more time from me from my son and wife. I'm thinking of more to taking the online class, but I will need to be more discipline and I'm afraid it might not be so recognized compare to the Coventry University one. Or should I totally scrap the idea?

Let me know what you think.

Many thanks in advance. smile.gif
jackal1950
post Jul 31 2015, 08:39 PM

568 posts

Suggest you to find out the syllabus in the MBA course and see how it will help you in your career.

If you are planning to be a specialist role in your career then take professional certification instead.
autodriver
post Aug 3 2015, 09:28 AM

332 posts

I do not see the MBA benefit to you are IT technical support because MBA is for those who pursue to business management level. Some poeple may think MBA will help them climb higher level, but in fact it is not. To promote into managerial level the person must has high responsibility toward their job and also to their peers, the experience also take into account for promotion.

If you were toward IT and will stay into IT related job, you can take professional certification which is more relevant. MBA is mostly study about business acumen and the target audience who need the business knowledge for their job such as business development, marketing, strategy planning, purchasing, supply chain management in IT related field.
TSDavidtcf
post Aug 3 2015, 09:29 AM

To the moon!!
3,440 posts

QUOTE(jackal1950 @ Jul 31 2015, 08:39 PM)
Suggest you to find out the syllabus in the MBA course and see how it will help you in your career.

If you are planning to be a specialist role in your career then take professional certification instead.
Ok thanks for the helpful reply! will see how it goes...

sayang to waste the 70% discount also.. one day if i leave this company won't have that chance anymore.
SUSrobertchoo
post Aug 3 2015, 01:03 PM

5,753 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 3 2015, 09:29 AM)
Ok thanks for the helpful reply! will see how it goes...

sayang to waste the 70% discount also.. one day if i leave this company won't have that chance anymore.
taking an mba even for 70% discount is a pure waste of money if you do not have an end game.
Furfur
post Aug 3 2015, 01:37 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Jul 31 2015, 06:48 PM)
icon_question.gif my company is an education institute.. so there's subsidy for those that wanna take courses in this campus (Inti), up to 70%.

Should I go ahead and take MBA? Will it do me good? since I'm working only as an IT Technical Support.

What u guys think? Should I use 2 years to complete it (part time)? Or it's more worthwhile to pursue some other short course that is more relevant to IT? (e.g. SAP etc, i'm not programmer). If I take other courses means no more subsidy need pay full price myself. Previously I was working on shift too that's why couldn't take up any courses... after married with kid only boss allow me to switch over to Monday to Friday working hours.

There's 2 types of MBA offered also, one is fully online (not affiliated to any international universities tho), and another is affiliated with Coventry University, UK (required to attend class for 2 years too during the night). Is this affiliation important? will it makes a difference when applying for job?

I'm currently married with a 2 yr old kid also... If I'm taking the one with classes, it will definitely take away more time from me from my son and wife. I'm thinking of more to taking the online class, but I will need to be more discipline and I'm afraid it might not be so recognized compare to the Coventry University one. Or should I totally scrap the idea?

Let me know what you think.

Many thanks in advance. smile.gif
May I know why do you want to take MBA?
TSDavidtcf
post Aug 3 2015, 02:20 PM

To the moon!!
3,440 posts

QUOTE(Furfur @ Aug 3 2015, 01:37 PM)
May I know why do you want to take MBA?
MBA is good for the resume? no? then when in leadership position one day it will help?

mkdreamervl
post Aug 3 2015, 02:33 PM

34 posts

An MBA in your resume is only useful if you leverage upon it. Meaning how you sell yourself and your qualifications + experience to your future employer. A potential employer will not look at your resume , see your MBA and think " Oh he has MBA he is better than the last person who has no MBA".

MBA teaches you how to think analytically and use facts and figures to formulate strategies. You don't have to wait until leadership positions to use it, but it will help if you are in that position, simply because you will have more opportunities to execute your strategic plans.

Set your short/medium/long term goals, where do you want to be in 3 years 5 years and 7 years, will that MBA compliment your goals ? Will your future job benefit from an MBA ? Your driving point should not be, Oh it is 70% off so I wanna take it ( Although it is very attractive ), it should be, Oh now that I can get an MBA with 70% off, how can I use this opportunity to change my life/career path/future plans.

Hope that helps smile.gif
TSDavidtcf
post Aug 3 2015, 02:42 PM

To the moon!!
3,440 posts

QUOTE(mkdreamervl @ Aug 3 2015, 02:33 PM)
An MBA in your resume is only useful if you leverage upon it. Meaning how you sell yourself and your qualifications + experience to your future employer.  A potential employer will not look at your resume , see your MBA and think " Oh he has MBA he is better than the last person who has no  MBA".

MBA teaches you how to think analytically and use facts and figures to formulate strategies. You don't have to wait until leadership positions to use it, but it will help if you are in that position, simply because you will have more opportunities to execute your strategic plans.

Set your short/medium/long term goals, where do you want to be in 3 years 5 years and 7 years, will that MBA compliment your goals ? Will your future job benefit from an MBA ? Your driving point should not be, Oh it is 70% off so I wanna take it ( Although it is very attractive ), it should be, Oh now that I can get an MBA with 70% off, how can I use this opportunity to change my life/career path/future plans.

Hope that helps smile.gif
tried to find better jobs but all so far no reply / couldn't get them. Maybe coz I'm asking higher salary too (my salary is at its peak for the job i'm doing -- around RM4k). Been in this same job/company for 5 years adi sad.gif

I need an upgrade / go somewhere higher... on the mean time waiting might as well I do this? Since it's so hard to get out of this. sad.gif

mkdreamervl
post Aug 3 2015, 03:03 PM

34 posts

Most companies will offer a 20% - 30% increment in salary. Try and apply and ask for a salary within that 20%-30% range from your last drawn pay, that is the industry trend lah.

What is the next step up from your career ? IT tech support, so Next would be IT support asst manager ? IT support manager ? Apply for 1 position up, and put in a asking pay which is 20% -30% more than your last drawn salary.

If you get called for an interview, then it would be your performance during your interview, that is when you sell your skills and experience to them to make them feel that you are the right candidate for the job ( easier said than done ). When I interview someone I always look out for body language, tonality, sincerity, honesty ( depending on the job they are interviewing for ).

I know how it feels to be stuck somewhere, going nowhere, that is when you need to troll jobstreet, expand your job horizon, do something else but still IT related perhaps, get to know some headhunting firm friends etc etc etc. Good luck, and remember, good things don't come easy, so don't give up.

This post has been edited by mkdreamervl: Aug 3 2015, 03:04 PM
Furfur
post Aug 3 2015, 03:31 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 3 2015, 02:42 PM)
tried to find better jobs but all so far no reply / couldn't get them. Maybe coz I'm asking higher salary too (my salary is at its peak for the job i'm doing -- around RM4k). Been in this same job/company for 5 years adi  sad.gif

I need an upgrade / go somewhere higher... on the mean time waiting might as well I do this? Since it's so hard to get out of this.  sad.gif
first, MBA doesn't really play a major role in anything. Increment also few hundred only. Second, the reason you don't get reply is because of the supply demand. Too many people, too little (good) job. Plus with the recession coming, time's going be tough.

PM me if you want to further. Let's see if there are any other solutions for you smile.gif
xUngrateful
post Aug 3 2015, 07:26 PM

161 posts

I don't know much about anything but..

My brother is an sap consultant and makes great money in Europe.
tishaban
post Aug 3 2015, 08:58 PM

3,615 posts

From personal experience after going to a top 5 b-school, an MBA to me consists of:

- the networking and potentially lifelong friends/business partners that you make
- the exposure to different types of businesses that the b-school can bring to you (family, multinational, entrepreneurial)
- the career services which should be teaching you how to plan your career, how to interview, how to rewrite your resume, how to use the internet tools today, how to negotiate your salary
- finally and probably the least important, the educational side of things

I don't think you've looked at all of these. Personally I think a cheap MBA is not worth it, you either go for a top notch MBA which offers all of the above, or nothing at all. In your position Davidtcf I say save your money and do something different instead.

TSDavidtcf
post Aug 4 2015, 08:49 AM

To the moon!!
3,440 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Aug 3 2015, 08:58 PM)
From personal experience after going to a top 5 b-school, an MBA to me consists of:

- the networking and potentially lifelong friends/business partners that you make
- the exposure to different types of businesses that the b-school can bring to you (family, multinational, entrepreneurial)
- the career services which should be teaching you how to plan your career, how to interview, how to rewrite your resume, how to use the internet tools today, how to negotiate your salary
- finally and probably the least important, the educational side of things

I don't think you've looked at all of these. Personally I think a cheap MBA is not worth it, you either go for a top notch MBA which offers all of the above, or nothing at all. In your position Davidtcf I say save your money and do something different instead.
cheap? by all means it's not cheap.

RM37.5k actual price for the MBA. This course I'm planning to take, and it ties with Coventry, a UK university:
http://newinti.edu.my/main/academic_progra...global-business

70% off reduces it to around RM14k, then plus now can apply for mybrains, reduce another RM10k, which leaves me paying RM4k (mybrains might be removed by the gov soon).

If I dont do this now, I dont think i'll ever get this opportunity again unless if in future my company sponsors me to take it.
ahfox
post Aug 4 2015, 08:51 AM

70 posts

take la,
4k onli
TSDavidtcf
post Aug 4 2015, 08:56 AM

To the moon!!
3,440 posts

but yeah i just checked with my eldest sis in Singapore (she already completed her MBA last time sponsored by her company).. she mentioned don't take the Simplified Learning online one.. this:
http://newinti.edu.my/main/academic_progra...ning-simplified

Although it's cheap only at RM25k, but due to no F2F interaction will miss out a lot on the learning.. esp when Masters involves a lot of practical, discussion etc in class.. it is not advisable to go for that.

Anyhow thanks everyone for the feedback! I've already decided and will pursue the (MBA) Global Business, Coventry University, UK. Will join this September 15th intake. smile.gif

This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Aug 4 2015, 08:57 AM
tishaban
post Aug 4 2015, 10:22 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(Davidtcf @ Aug 4 2015, 08:56 AM)
Although it's cheap only at RM25k, but due to no F2F interaction will miss out a lot on the learning.. esp when Masters involves a lot of practical, discussion etc in class.. it is not advisable to go for that.

Anyhow thanks everyone for the feedback! I've already decided and will pursue the (MBA) Global Business, Coventry University, UK. Will join this September 15th intake. smile.gif
For RM4k it's a no brainer. Go for it, good luck.

vanpersie91
post Aug 4 2015, 10:41 PM

Regular-ly posting shits and stuffs
1,478 posts

All the best TS!

0.0168sec    0.14    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 07:19 PM