Anyone here buy from Aliexpress?

SUSRiddleMeThat
post Jul 30 2015, 09:21 PM, updated 11y ago

237 posts

I mostly go to AliExpress when I want to buy a Chinese brand of origin musical instrument/pedal.

I wouldn't go as far to buy a chibson yet, but for joyo pedals and other mini amps, they're unbeatable for the prices.

Some local and Singapore shops carry the products but I would never bother with them because the mark up is so unreasonable.

Something as low as rm 350 (which is already export price for the Chinese to us) is already higher than locally in China, yet the local shops here can mark up to over 500 ringgit or more.

I wonder why local music stores think they can mark up Chinese brand pedals by so much, as if nobody knows how to buy direct through aliexpress.com
Everdying
post Jul 30 2015, 09:46 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

i guess u will only find out once u run ur own business.
kentang99
post Aug 2 2015, 11:27 PM

118 posts

are those pedals a copy of the original pedal or is it the from the same factory as the original?

am tempted to buy one of those PRS copy though
+3kk!
post Aug 2 2015, 11:34 PM

8,275 posts

QUOTE(kentang99 @ Aug 2 2015, 11:27 PM)
are those pedals a copy of the original pedal or is it the from the same factory as the original?

am tempted to buy one of those PRS copy though
joyo is likely not a copy

i wont recomment buying a copy of any guitar
empire
post Aug 3 2015, 06:29 PM

2,549 posts

QUOTE(Everdying @ Jul 30 2015, 09:46 PM)
i guess u will only find out once u run ur own business.
rclxms.gif

TreyLey
post Aug 3 2015, 06:31 PM

370 posts

Usually the free shipping will take as long as 3 weeks cry.gif
ciwi1166
post Aug 4 2015, 07:57 PM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

never had confident with chinese guitar...

SUSRiddleMeThat
post Aug 4 2015, 08:05 PM

237 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Aug 4 2015, 07:57 PM)
never had confident with chinese guitar...
Apparently they're at least on par with Epiphone quality.
freakfingers12
post Aug 6 2015, 12:43 AM

Honor thy father
2,283 posts

QUOTE(RiddleMeThat @ Aug 4 2015, 08:05 PM)
Which brand?
SUSRiddleMeThat
post Aug 6 2015, 12:50 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(freakfingers12 @ Aug 6 2015, 12:43 AM)
Which brand?
The chibsons... counterfeit gibsons.. *lol* made by ex-employees of epiphone factory workers, all use epiphone pickups.
ciwi1166
post Aug 6 2015, 09:05 AM

~~~Prestissimo~~~
2,263 posts

QUOTE(RiddleMeThat @ Aug 4 2015, 08:05 PM)
i have an epiphone before. got to get my hands on these chinese guitars and see whether they are up to the par. brows.gif
SUSRiddleMeThat
post Aug 6 2015, 10:48 AM

237 posts

QUOTE(ciwi1166 @ Aug 6 2015, 09:05 AM)
i have an epiphone before. got to get my hands on these chinese guitars and see whether they are up to the par.  brows.gif
There is a guitar shop in Johor in skudai area, specializes in importing counterfeit gibsons. They sell at reasonable counterfeit prices too and make no attempts to pass them off as the real deal, since the gibsons are sold at rm 900 and below, less than half the price of epiphones. *lol*

https://www.facebook.com/kedaigilergitar?fr...profile_browser

This post has been edited by RiddleMeThat: Aug 6 2015, 10:49 AM
kentang99
post Aug 16 2015, 06:57 PM

118 posts

aside from the intonation, build quality and pickups, any other thing to take note of when buying aliexpress guitars?
keithspinney
post Aug 21 2015, 05:42 PM

QUOTE(RiddleMeThat @ Aug 6 2015, 12:50 AM)
The chibsons... counterfeit gibsons.. *lol* made by ex-employees of epiphone factory workers, all use epiphone pickups.
The rumor for the last few years is that the Chibson's are being produced at the Epiphone plant. That's why Gibson doesn't file legal action. Gibson makes money on the original parts that buyer's buy to upgrade to original Gibson parts. You can see these on youtube. There are a lot of Chibson videos on there. Quality is getting better too. So, when you see a Gibson or an Epiphone in Malaysia, you have to ask yourself how can that music store carry that brand when Gibson and Epiphone don't ship to Malaysia? Good question. China?
Everdying
post Aug 21 2015, 06:03 PM

Two is One and One is None.
30,735 posts

QUOTE(keithspinney @ Aug 21 2015, 05:42 PM)
The rumor for the last few years is that the Chibson's are being produced at the Epiphone plant.  That's why Gibson doesn't file legal action.  Gibson makes money on the original parts that buyer's buy to upgrade to original Gibson parts.  You can see these on youtube.  There are a lot of Chibson videos on there.  Quality is getting better too.  So, when you see a Gibson or an Epiphone in Malaysia, you have to ask yourself how can that music store carry that brand when Gibson and Epiphone don't ship to Malaysia?  Good question.  China?
gibson has filed action already on certain sellers...finding the factories involved is another matter...i would guess not easy due to the numbers there and as gibson has no real jurisdiction there unless they pay the china govt money to take action...basically same scenario in malaysia with piracy.
anyway i've held some of the fakes, they are definitely inferior to epiphones.

and why dont gibson and epiphone ship to malaysia?
woh fatt used to bring them in.
then swee lee now are the distributors that oversee malaysia as well.

0.0189sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 09:26 AM