Motorcyclist Thread V2 !
stick
Jan 15 2007, 07:10 PM

hi all, i have no experience at all with motorbikes, and i would be glad if you all could help me with this.. i have a P for car, but nothing for motorbike yet.. i wish to get a motorbike license, how much would it cost? the center i went to quoted me 400 plus, but i read on this thread that it only cost 300, misquoted or price change?
also, im thinking of getting a bike after that.. im not very much into bikes and cars and all that, so all i need is wheels to get me around.. but also, i dont really like those cub chai style bikes, so im thinking along the lines of light weight sportsbikes.. maybe RXZ or FXR 150.. how's the market price like? would it be a better choice to buy second hand and then overhaul it or something? are there any other light weight sportsbikes that i should consider? for now i quite fancy FXR 150, only thing being the display panel is electronic, which would cost a bomb to fix wouldnt it?
thanks in advance for all advise.. i really hope to get some insight from the rest of you here.. =)
This post has been edited by stick: Jan 15 2007, 07:11 PM
stick
Jan 15 2007, 09:55 PM

QUOTE(FunctionX @ Jan 15 2007, 07:58 PM) hey stick, welcome. Ignore every other post, they're useless >XD an fxr150 would be a good choice for general use, esp for a first timer. It's not a hot item like an rx-z, which means it's less likely to be stolen/vandalized. It's also very fuel efficient (40-50km/liter) and can hold 110kph easy. I convoyed with one on my zz2 all the way from negeri sembilan to kl and it was fast enough to stay in the middle and left lane. It held 120-130 all the way, though I should've probably stayed below 120, the fxr was probably at 80% - 90% throttle already. The rider later took it to thailand and back, no problems. Only issue is that the LCD screen starting to fade due to the age of most models on the road. Most owners just install aftermarket bicycle speedos and be done with it. Personally I'd hook it up with a tzm front end including speedometers and turn it into a gs150. rm2.5k thereabouts would get you one in good condition. for rx-z, rm2.2k is abit expensive... but I digress... hi there FunctionX.. so nice of you to give me a detailed explanation.. really appreciate it.. thanks so much.. well, if it's like what you say, i guess i'll be trying to get one.. and i'll see about the mods.. i've heard from elsewhere too about the fuel efficiency, and it seems it has good handling.. as for top speed, i dont really care, i probably wont go more than 80.. haha.. yea, im a wuss of a driver.. thanks again.. =) i'll ask more once im onto something.. =)
stick
Jan 16 2007, 02:55 AM

QUOTE(inoitu @ Jan 15 2007, 10:04 PM) You might not run at maximum speed, but make sure you bike can run at the speed it could easily , otherwise there's nsomething wrong with the bike. Trust me when you are on the road there are times when you depend your ride can max, and make sure you are in control when you run. Not necessarily be mat rempit though. QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 16 2007, 01:04 AM) my fxr150 fuel mileage on average is 30km/l. top speed is about 140km/h++, I did maintained full throttle with this bike while carrying another passenger from negeri sembilan till bangi, bike is still in good condition (didn't go pass red line as suggested by the motorcycle manual). So far the bike haven't break down on the road yet which is nice. Went to Kuantan before with average speed of 120km/h. The fuel is also quite big; 15 litres and it could last 400kms with one full tank. the bike has nice brakes, if installed with steel braided brake hose and good brake pads, you can do stoppie anytime. LCD does fade, and it costs about RM580 for a new one, mine started to fade and I'm sad because of the standard front and rear disc brakes, when you're riding in the rain the brake will usually be weak because of the water from the rain accumulating of the disc brakes (also lowering the temperature of the brake disc). When you keep pulling hard the brakes, it will reach to a point where the brakes gain back the grip, thus the risk of tire lock which is dangerous. hi.. thanks for all the advice and comments.. and 580 is a bomb... hehe.. i'll get someone to go with me when i buy a bike.. =)