Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V21, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

andrew9292
post Aug 26 2015, 11:17 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Hi folks, I recently received the email to migrate from 5Mbps to 10Mbps for RM179. Have filled out the form & they supposed to call me back since the beginning of the month.

Tried doing that 4 times, still no response each week. Called them & filed a report yesterday, still no call-back today. Anyone has any alternatives? Any agents? Or can go TMpoint to get it done?
andrew9292
post Sep 4 2015, 05:41 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

Update: issue resolved

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Sep 9 2015, 07:49 PM
andrew9292
post Sep 4 2015, 10:16 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(biloxee @ Sep 4 2015, 09:03 PM)
Although I use G's DNS, to be fair...
[attachmentid=4891230]
Yeep, after more testing i admit it largely depends on the assigned IP range for me. Somehow 124.x.x.x range is bad for tm dns on my account, but ok for my kawan a few km away. 110.x.x.x works great for both tm & google dns. All other IP ranges got random spikes, drops and swings... Idk whats goin on... Seems the route is not optimised properly for all ranges (on my account at least)
andrew9292
post Sep 10 2015, 12:23 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

How is the performance of 10Mbps ; RM179 promo package? Is the routing & speed as good as VIP5? Currently on VIP5 and it's damn near flawless. Don't wanna upgrade to find out that it's just some marketing to renew the 2yr contract... Any feedback from current/previous 10M users? In comparison to VIP5's consistency... I see many 30/50M users having mixed reviews here, but hear less from 10M users... Seaching round the forum didn't give much info either...

By performance meaning, consistency & speed for general purpose usage. Social, entertainment, downloading large software, driver updates, Android ROMS & NAS streaming over the net... Thinking of 10Mbps as it's just nice for my requirement. But it will be pointless if it cannot be consistent throughout the day rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Sep 10 2015, 12:36 AM
andrew9292
post Sep 10 2015, 12:43 AM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 10 2015, 12:33 AM)
I was so happy on VIP10 after upgraded from VIP5, now even happier on 30Mbps. smile.gif

Anyway, I suggest you to take up VIP10, the 10Mbps upload speed is useful to some.
Thinking of that too... VIP5 serving me well but I could use a little less waiting time when downloading...
I would jump 30M, great pricing so far! But the feedback is mixed and the entire family will go beserk if I happen to be one of the unlucky ones. Are there any 10Mbps unlucky ones?

- - -

I'm in PJ - Kelana Jaya area btw. Any 10Mbps;RM179 user feedback from this area?

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Sep 10 2015, 12:46 AM
andrew9292
post Sep 11 2015, 09:17 PM

-/Livin' On A Prayer/-
955 posts

QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Sep 11 2015, 08:20 PM)
I am subscribing vip10 but always getting speed about 9.5mbps..is there any way where I can increase my speed close to 10mbps?
QUOTE(shinchan5347 @ Sep 11 2015, 08:29 PM)
Before this I used vip5 and the speed much closer about 4.7mbps and perhaps this vip10 can get closer to 10  tongue.gif
TCP/IP has in minimum about 3% overhead. IPv6 adds a little more.
5Mbps x 97% = 4.85Mbps
10Mbps x 97% = 9.7Mbps

I just got switched from 5Mbps (4.6-4.7) to 10Mbps (9.5-9.6). Not sure how the speed capping works, nor how does Ookla calculate speed, from what I read unless the ISP factors all protocol overheads by over-capping about 3-5%. Useful 'speed' and data will always be somewhere between 95-97% in optimal situations. This is just how the internet works.

If speedtest takes into account overhead data and already adds it in, we are slightly below advertised speed.
If it takes into account and removes overhead data from calculation, then we are actually getting advertised speed.
Only way to get full speed for 'useful' data is an over-cap.

No issue tho, connection is rock solid, thumbs up to TM for that rclxms.gif

Any sifu with better knowledge please do correct me if i'm wrong. My info is from the internet and the internet lies to me sometimes doh.gif

This post has been edited by andrew9292: Sep 11 2015, 09:20 PM

0.0445sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 04:44 AM