Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V21, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

WhitE LighteR
post Jul 27 2015, 04:59 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(earthloon1998 @ Jul 27 2015, 01:51 PM)
Got my upgrade to 30Mb (from 10Mb). For my case, when I use my home netbook (Atom chip), I only get 12-13Mb download when doing the speed test. However if I use my office laptop, I get a full 30Mb +- on download speed test. All test using Wifi (stock router). So can  I conclude that low end spec laptop/pc using Wifi have impact on download speed?
U need to see what link rate your netbook vs your laptop is connecting to the AP. Diff wifi interface capabilities will limit the performance.
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 27 2015, 05:32 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Jul 27 2015, 05:20 PM)
Wait, actually there are people getting wifi 30mbps using stock router? Mine is stock also, model RG MARITIME-TRG212M. How to do it?

Tried install speedtest on my smartphone and tested. On mobile get 15mbps on laptop 10mbps only. What does this mean? Really I starting to regret upgrading lol
going to higher n higher speed, not all wifi is created equal...

i feel many malaysian is learning this once upgrade to 30mbps n above.

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Jul 27 2015, 05:32 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 27 2015, 05:47 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Jul 27 2015, 05:42 PM)
What you mean by not all wifi is created equal? Do you mean different router different wifi speed?
There is so many speed rating that exists and not all wifi router/ap can support all those speeds. Then there is also a question of client wifi capabilities that could also be another limiting factor. U can learn all this from online articles about wifi or you can post here the wifi router/ap/client model and version n we can tell u what they are capable off.
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 27 2015, 06:59 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

Those numbers you posted all looks nice but the reality is most people dont own and not willing to pay for such devices.

wireless AC is not common yet to most people. So the best case scenario i would say that most regular routers running on 2.4ghz will only have a 300Mbps link rate on router side. But even to get 300Mbps the router need to have 2 spatial stream n running on HT40, WMM enabled, short GI, and pick a relatively unbusy freq. Mostly only laptop can connect to 300Mbps. But even then you only have a real world throughput of about 30-50Mbps at best.

Most mobile device on the other hand only support 1 spatial stream n can only go up till HT20. So they are limited to 75Mbps link rate. Keep in mind that link rate is not equal to real world throughput.

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/wireless/wi...i-products-2015

Not sure how smartbuilder run their test in 2008 but 80mbps seems abit optimistic for dir615.

Here is a more realistic speed without camping beside the router :

http://www.speedguide.net/faq/what-is-the-...of-wireless-374

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Jul 27 2015, 07:23 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 27 2015, 11:25 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Jul 27 2015, 10:15 PM)
i just upgraded from 10mbps to 30mbps . on my desktop pc connector via cat6 cable
i can get full 30mbps on speedtest . but when use speedtest on my Note3 i only manage to get about 10-13mbps can i know which is not compatible? router?
What is your note3 link rate?
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 28 2015, 09:49 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Jul 28 2015, 07:36 AM)
How to check the link rate pls.
On your note3 click the wifi setting to see the list if available wifi. Click once on the wifi you are connected to n a pop up will appear. U can see link speed there.
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 28 2015, 07:57 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Jul 28 2015, 07:46 PM)
The link speed stated 72mbps
yup. so that is the rate your note3 is capable to connect to your router on 2.4Ghz. You can expected your speed to be anywhere below 1/2 to 1/4 of that link rate. The further away you are from the router or the more walls in between, the slower that speed will become.

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Jul 28 2015, 07:59 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 28 2015, 08:16 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 28 2015, 08:14 PM)
Mine with link speed of 72mbps, actual transfer speed is around 33-35mbps so it should be no issues for UniFi 30 (but I guess it depends on the router, signal strength/quality etc).
this speed is when within same room with the access point itself?
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 28 2015, 08:19 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jul 28 2015, 08:18 PM)
Tested at one room away and also downstairs (router is placed upstairs).
and it maintain the 33-35 throughput? wow... what router is that?
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 29 2015, 01:04 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Jul 28 2015, 11:29 PM)
the thing is on the desktop the speed can up 2 32mbps on speedtest but on mobile just 10mbps sad.gif
mind to share on DD-WRT flashing? im using stock Dlink DIR615 also
Your PC link rate how much?
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 29 2015, 11:56 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Jul 29 2015, 11:36 AM)
PC Link 1.0Gbps
yea. so you cant really compare your pc which have a link rate of 1gb/s vs 72mb/s.

So now you need to check is it your note3 issue or wifi issue. A wifi issue can easily be known if u have other wifi device also having the same problem. If it is not then u need to focus on the note3 itself. Some setting might be specific to samsung phone which i can help with...

Check this link out
http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Samsung/Gal...es/td-p/1781072
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 29 2015, 01:36 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Jul 29 2015, 01:33 PM)
Help anyone? Anyone using this router getting their deserved speed?
mine is inside a box d...
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 29 2015, 02:41 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(mitsui hisashi @ Jul 29 2015, 02:37 PM)
I just bought a new TPLink Archer C9 for my unifi but it doesn't seems to login unifi, can anyone kind enough to give me a help on this (I've update to the lastest firmware)

Thanks in advance
fuyo.. 600 ringgit router...
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 29 2015, 04:00 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(Elanges @ Jul 29 2015, 03:38 PM)
THANKS... i try to test with my wife's Z3 and Notebook.  by the way how to update the modem's firmware? i couldnt find the tool option on control panel.

im using Dlink 615 router
if i not mistaken dir 615 has a higher permission login username call tmadmin

they have a few, u need to try all n see which one works.

http://unifidr.blogspot.com/2013/09/how-to...ink-router.html
https://www.keithrozario.com/2012/07/change...wifi-dlink.html
https://www.keithrozario.com/2013/08/hack-u...t-password.html

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Jul 29 2015, 04:02 PM
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 29 2015, 04:03 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Jul 29 2015, 03:51 PM)
My HyppTv also stutters sometimes, showing the No Satellite icon. Does this happen to everybody?
do u connect ur hypptv direct to router or via homeplug?
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 29 2015, 05:32 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(blacktubi @ Jul 29 2015, 05:08 PM)
I compiled a list of routers that are compatible with Unifi here.
http://www.blacktubi.com/unifi/unifi-repla...nt-router-list/

TP-LINK WDR4300 is within your budget.
U can add RT-N18U into the fully compatible list.
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 29 2015, 11:34 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jul 29 2015, 11:23 PM)
when connected to unifi, the link speed of my phone keeps changing, what is the problem?
means the signal not strong enough to maintain link speed.
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 30 2015, 12:07 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(fkinmeng @ Jul 29 2015, 11:39 PM)
thanks, will do further testing when nearer to the router.
im doing normal browsing, sometimes the link speed drops to 5Mbps, making it rather impossible to surf.
if signal is not strong try to get a repeater. the half speed penalty might not matter much to u if u only use it for regular surfing.

QUOTE(wdarke @ Jul 29 2015, 11:52 PM)
Direct to router.
in that case i duno. maybe u can try to reboot your router more often. in my case it is because of my homeplug if left idle for a long time it become crazy abit because it goes into a low power mode. so i need to restart it from time to time to keep it in good shape. I use a timer to restart it everyday.

This post has been edited by WhitE LighteR: Jul 30 2015, 12:08 AM
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 30 2015, 12:26 AM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Jul 30 2015, 12:23 AM)
The weird thing is, when it goes into one of the stutters, i can switch channels and other channels are fine.
yea.. its like tht one.
WhitE LighteR
post Jul 31 2015, 12:25 PM

WhitE LighteR Is Black~
10,340 posts

QUOTE(XiaoGuiZuo @ Jul 31 2015, 10:52 AM)
I am sharing Unifi (VIP 5) with other housemates, any idea why when during night I ping to router (default gateway) and the ping is always request time out?

I restart the routher, it is ok for first 15 minutes or maybe lesser, then start like this again.

Problems occured on my laptop as well as mobile.

Any SiFu have solution?

Is it because of some heavy users?
maybe he torrent.

0.0541sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 09:20 PM