Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V21, ( -_・) ︻デ═一▸ Maxis & Time

AVFAN
post Jul 26 2015, 02:09 AM

24,449 posts

pleased to say i hv been getting what unifi30 should be, at least for last 3 days:

torrent, max 3.6 MBps.

so, guys n gurls, go ahead and get it! biggrin.gif
AVFAN
post Jul 26 2015, 11:00 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(christina1 @ Jul 26 2015, 08:17 AM)
Is it really worth the upgrade from 10MB a lot  of difference?
for me, yes.
i do a quite a lot downloads - hd video streaming and torrenting, multi users.
no gaming, so slow upload is fine.
early days still, but i do notice the streaming is smoother and browsing is faster.

QUOTE(annoymous1234 @ Jul 26 2015, 10:42 AM)
registered 30mbps with jumbo pack total rm242 include gst. but need to wait after mid august for them to set up new port.
(169+60)*1.06 = 242

good to hear tm/unifi is keeping to the "correct" prices like we know and not playing around with prices with diff areas like before.

AVFAN
post Jul 26 2015, 11:14 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 26 2015, 11:11 AM)
I'm still waiting for the email to tell me that the upgrade is completed. hmm.gif
i got no email, no text msg.

but got a phone call from tm point dealer when activated.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 26 2015, 11:14 AM
AVFAN
post Jul 26 2015, 07:08 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kazekage_09 @ Jul 26 2015, 03:59 PM)
They said it the router problem because if tested using lan cable definetely getting above 30mbps. If wifi only at 15mbps max.

So they advise me to get new powerful router that can support unifi. Either tplink or asus. Why TM didnot provide the router also beyond me.

So anyone can recommend me new router for me? If possible with the model number. And also do i need to do the setting later myself?
this is bad, bad...

i know that router is poor, but it's that bad? shakehead.gif

anyway, f them... spend rm200 on an asus, u'll live longer.

unifi30, asus rt-n12hp wifi, 50 ft:

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 26 2015, 07:12 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 26 2015, 07:29 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Jul 26 2015, 07:17 PM)
I really don't want to spend another RM 200 to use it.
If that's the case, I want to cancel this upgrade but she said can't see my order yet. doh.gif
knowing tm, they will be happy if u cancel or give up the line altogether! tongue.gif

anyway... do give a thought what happens when the router goes kaput... u still have to buy new on yr own...
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2015, 01:06 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(otakotak @ Jul 27 2015, 12:31 PM)
how long does it take to torrent a 1.8~2GB movie? let say seeder is 1k+
good seeds, etc, u get max 3.6 MBps.

2gb... 2000/3.6/60 = 9.3 mins.
AVFAN
post Jul 27 2015, 01:18 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(otakotak @ Jul 27 2015, 01:09 PM)
ok next month confirm upgrade. thanks  drool.gif
what is really useful is the 40-50gb ones, save electricity bill too. brows.gif
AVFAN
post Jul 29 2015, 05:26 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jul 29 2015, 04:20 PM)
Received an offer from TM on VIP 30 + Ja-jumbo package RM253.35nett

Not sure worth it or not =`(
jumbo is worth 60. so it should be basic 169+60. add 6% gst = 243.
unless they raise jumbo price?

QUOTE(acidkill @ Jul 29 2015, 04:48 PM)
Hi guys.. i'm currently on RM199 package with 10mb speed + Hypptv mega pack + free calls.
Two days ago got call from TM regarding about these 30mb upgrade and they told me to topup RM20 for the 30mb speed upgrade + hypptv mega pack (got mention about free calls but I cant remember free or not). I told them I need think about it and they will call me back on next week.
So what u guys think? any suggestion ? Need to topup rm20 to get 30mb package. Agak2 berbaloi tak? Tolong bagi comments sikit... Thxxx
this is correct, i m paying that.

basic 169.
mega is worth rm50. mega and platinum are old packs - allowed for existing users.
so, to keep that, it is 169+50=219, which is 20 more than yr current 199. add gst.
but i think u can give up mega, replace with lowest price pack aneka or varnam at rm30.
that way, it is still 199+gst.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Jul 29 2015, 05:30 PM
AVFAN
post Jul 29 2015, 05:44 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(doremon @ Jul 29 2015, 05:33 PM)
Not RM199.00 for VIP30 meh  sweat.gif . Or got special discount like what u mentioned earlier  drool.gif 

Btw, Ja-Jumbo and mega or platinum. Which is better or at best  tongue.gif

Thank bro  notworthy.gif
are u existing user?

what i mentioned is for existing users.

new users, not sure if it is different.

for hypptv packs:

.. basic - free (everyone gets this BUT must buy/pay for 1 other pack)
.. aneka (malay) rm30
.. varnam (indian) rm30
.. ruby (chinese) rm40
.. sports rm40
.. jumbo (all of the above) rm60

platinum rm30 and mega rm50 are old packs, not valid anymore for new users.

note once u sign, it holds for 24 months, cannot simply change. penalty applies.
AVFAN
post Jul 30 2015, 01:31 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(kuroro6262 @ Jul 30 2015, 12:01 AM)
can ask where to check first unifi bill in internet?
can't help you. becos i don't check online. i just wait for email.
AVFAN
post Aug 2 2015, 03:06 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(mulder_sam @ Aug 1 2015, 08:45 PM)
Jz upgraded yesterday. I found out that it's much faster and full throttle is more achievable compared to VIP 10.
everything is faster and stronger.

unifi30 is just as stable as vip10, incl wifi.

except for some streaming sites which are inherently poor, even 100 times speed also no use.

overall, good enough. wink.gif

QUOTE(evolution120 @ Aug 2 2015, 01:15 PM)
hi peeps, just want to double confirm, im now renovating my house, if i to do the installation for the unifi, can the installation of cabling done first before i get my contractor to lay the tile at my car porch? i want the cable to be underneath of the tiling. is that possible?
this "project"... is awfully hard.

1. do u know if unifi is ready there, you applied, port available for you?
2. do you know if the cable will come from the front or the back of the house? this is impt for where you will place router, hypptv, tv.
2. those doing on-site cabling are unifi contractors - hard to coordinate with them via unifi.
3. appointments are never guaranteed - u don't want to hold up yr own renov.

what u can do is visit a similar house and see how the cabling is done. then do yr best to accommodate what is coming.

if cable is coming from front of the house, it usually goes thru the perimeter wall (small hole), then run either in a covered drain or buried in the grass until it gets to the nearest house wall.
AVFAN
post Aug 3 2015, 06:36 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(TheWandererX @ Aug 3 2015, 05:41 PM)
Hi guys, not sure if this has been asked many times already but search not showing anything related, so. Has the 30MB & 50MB package been introduced? If so, what prices? Currently on VIP10 paying RM179/month.
yes, they are.

go visit yr nearest tm point, all info there.
AVFAN
post Aug 10 2015, 09:38 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(arthur88 @ Aug 10 2015, 09:26 AM)
is this normal behaviour for unifi 30mbps? cry.gif
this is normal for me, wifi, 50ft.

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 10 2015, 09:39 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 19 2015, 08:52 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Aug 19 2015, 08:34 AM)
deng,i must be lucky,the highest  i got is 4.1 MBps on a 30Mb UniFi.
yeah, with unifi30, torrent can spike to 4MBps.

it all depends on the number seeds and peers.

best seeds, i get stable 3.6MBps but usually 2.5-3.0MBps.

AVFAN
post Aug 19 2015, 09:09 AM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Aug 19 2015, 09:07 AM)
weird,i always get full speed and even over like 32-33mbps.
no...

8 bits = 1 Byte.

30mbps = approx 3.75MBps

This post has been edited by AVFAN: Aug 19 2015, 09:09 AM
AVFAN
post Aug 19 2015, 07:09 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(mechakucha @ Aug 19 2015, 06:54 PM)
Is this a tactic from TM for existing VIP10 subscribers already paying @RM199 to upgrade to UNIFI30 and force customers to subscribe to their HyppTV pack (Aneka/Varnam/Ruby/Jumbo)?
what hypptv pack do u have now with vip10 rm199?
AVFAN
post Aug 19 2015, 07:31 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(mechakucha @ Aug 19 2015, 07:19 PM)
RM199 is the official price (excl. GST) for VIP10 that only comes with the Free-to-Air basic HyppTV channels.

I was previously one of the VIP10 subscribers that continued to pay RM199 (excl. GST) for almost 2 years until I decided to upgrade to UNIFI50 last month for RM249 (+Ruby Pack for HyppTV +Free Call, excl. GST).

I wasn't lucky like others in this forum that got call from Telemarketers for RM169/179 VIP10 offer.

p/s: Don't ask me how I got Ruby Pack for RM30 and not RM40, but that was the offer I got when I dropped by TM Point to upgrade to UNIFI50. They probably raised the price later since a lot of customer go for Ruby Pack.
ok, that clear things up! biggrin.gif

u paid RM199 for vip10 basic hypp, that's painful, i feel u... that's the WORST deal at any time.

i paid rm199 vip10 megapack, which is basic+ruby+platinum.

was told again and again that old megapack (no longer offered to new users) is worth rm50.

unifi30 is rm169. they let me keep my megapack, so 169+50=rm219.

been using it for last one month, satisfied.

btw, for hypptv haters, it's not that bad. there are some decent channels in hd there. i particularly like natgeo people hd, travel hd, iconcerts hd.

as an ardent androidbox user, i can attest that the hd quality on hypp (using old box) is better than any android.
AVFAN
post Aug 20 2015, 02:29 PM

24,449 posts

QUOTE(wdarke @ Aug 20 2015, 01:29 PM)
By the way, do you also get to keep your free landline call plan?
i am not even sure! biggrin.gif

i hardly use the landline.

i just notice sometimes there is no extra charge, sometimes is a couple rm more on the bill.

0.0478sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 05:33 PM