Enquiries/Recommendations Gaming Laptop Recommendations
TSdustinbainon
Jul 23 2015, 08:47 PM, updated 11y ago
HI GUYS!!
I'm looking for a gaming laptop to buy but stuck as im not sure what i would want to get. Looking for a laptop with around 8GB of RAM(fine with 4GB) but under RM3.5K. I play FIFA 15, CS:GO, LoL, COD:AW and a few others. any recommendations??
This post has been edited by dustinbainon: Jul 23 2015, 08:55 PM
rageLE
Jul 23 2015, 08:52 PM

ask here better >>https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3539285
DS_Legacy
Jul 24 2015, 12:08 AM
QUOTE(dustinbainon @ Jul 23 2015, 08:47 PM) HI GUYS!! I'm looking for a gaming laptop to buy but stuck as im not sure what i would want to get. Looking for a laptop with around 8GB of RAM(fine with 4GB) but under RM3.5K. I play FIFA 15, CS:GO, LoL, COD:AW and a few others. any recommendations?? Check these out. Dell Inspiron 7447 14” , i7-4710 / 8GB / 1TB / GTX850M 4GB / W8.1 : RM2999 Asus GL552JX-DM174H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB , GTX950 2GB , W8.1 : RM3074
evum seu
Jul 24 2015, 11:45 AM

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 24 2015, 12:08 AM) Check these out. Dell Inspiron 7447 14” , i7-4710 / 8GB / 1TB / GTX850M 4GB / W8.1 : RM2999 Asus GL552JX-DM174H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB , GTX950 2GB , W8.1 : RM3074 GL552jx price had rise up,new stock no more 3074, old stock maybe got
DS_Legacy
Jul 24 2015, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(evum seu @ Jul 24 2015, 11:45 AM) GL552jx price had rise up,new stock no more 3074, old stock maybe got Opt for Dell 7447 if you do not have any brand preference. Good reviews from this laptop and Dell provides great service.
evum seu
Jul 24 2015, 02:48 PM

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 24 2015, 01:00 PM) Opt for Dell 7447 if you do not have any brand preference. Good reviews from this laptop and Dell provides great service.  but screen only 14 inch, dun have numlock keypad and screen is too small for me... the most important is i had my beast already, no need find one more.... This post has been edited by evum seu: Jul 24 2015, 02:49 PM
calvin_ng
Jul 24 2015, 02:54 PM
Acer Nitro Black Edition
DS_Legacy
Jul 24 2015, 03:07 PM
QUOTE(evum seu @ Jul 24 2015, 02:48 PM) but screen only 14 inch, dun have numlock keypad and screen is too small for me... the most important is i had my beast already, no need find one more.... If you have preference on the screen size, 7447 will definitely be out of your choice. Hahaha anyway, have fun gaming on your beast!
Le_Vapera
Jul 28 2015, 11:47 AM
destop is good
MichealLees
Jul 29 2015, 02:35 PM
you can go for Alienware. good laptops for gaming. or maybe can go for Illegear. although never use it but hear in forum alot talking about it.
Rezkt
Jul 30 2015, 09:11 AM

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 24 2015, 12:08 AM) Check these out. Dell Inspiron 7447 14” , i7-4710 / 8GB / 1TB / GTX850M 4GB / W8.1 : RM2999 Asus GL552JX-DM174H 15.6” FHD , i7-4720 , 4GB , 1TB , GTX950 2GB , W8.1 : RM3074 Is it possible to get windows 7 for Inspiron 7447?
DS_Legacy
Jul 30 2015, 01:14 PM
QUOTE(Rezkt @ Jul 30 2015, 09:11 AM) Is it possible to get windows 7 for Inspiron 7447? Yes, it is always possible. Here is a way u can do it. You can buy the laptop without OS for around RM2,819/- Then, install a Windows 7 for yourself. And of course, u can ask the dealer to install it for u if u think this is a bit too tedious for u. They will charge a bit.
Rezkt
Jul 30 2015, 01:29 PM

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 30 2015, 01:14 PM) Yes, it is always possible. Here is a way u can do it. You can buy the laptop without OS for around RM2,819/- Then, install a Windows 7 for yourself. And of course, u can ask the dealer to install it for u if u think this is a bit too tedious for u. They will charge a bit.  Is there a difference if I choose to buy it with windows 8.1 and then ask for the seller to change it to windows 7 compare to buying the laptop without OS and then ask them to install windows 7?
DS_Legacy
Jul 30 2015, 01:43 PM
QUOTE(Rezkt @ Jul 30 2015, 01:29 PM) Is there a difference if I choose to buy it with windows 8.1 and then ask for the seller to change it to windows 7 compare to buying the laptop without OS and then ask them to install windows 7? Laptop + Windows 8 = RM2999/- Laptop with no OS (means no windows at all) = RM2,819/- You cannot simply change the OS without paying. You have to pay for the OS. Since you are not planning to use Windows 8.1, why bother to buy the laptop with Windows 8.1? You can buy the laptop with no OS and a Windows 7 that you want. Then, simply ask them to install it for you. However, some dealers will chop you with the Windows 7 price. You can get a great deal of Windows 7 at RM60 if you know where to find. Hence, if I were you, I will buy a laptop with no OS and install a Windows 7 that I buy at RM60 myself.
Rezkt
Jul 30 2015, 03:00 PM

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 30 2015, 01:43 PM) Laptop + Windows 8 = RM2999/- Laptop with no OS (means no windows at all) = RM2,819/- You cannot simply change the OS without paying. You have to pay for the OS. Since you are not planning to use Windows 8.1, why bother to buy the laptop with Windows 8.1? You can buy the laptop with no OS and a Windows 7 that you want. Then, simply ask them to install it for you. However, some dealers will chop you with the Windows 7 price. You can get a great deal of Windows 7 at RM60 if you know where to find. Hence, if I were you, I will buy a laptop with no OS and install a Windows 7 that I buy at RM60 myself.  The thing is, I have already ordered the laptop with windows 8.1 before I asked this. I'm not sure whether they proceed with the order already (am going to the store directly to find out). It's a relief to know that the OS can be changed from windows 8.1 to 7 though. Also, Idk how to install the windows 7 myself so I will be asking the shop to do everything. Thanks so much for answering. Any estimation on how much the additional cost will be? To topic starter, sorry I'm riding on your topic; didnt wanna make a new topic for this.
DS_Legacy
Jul 30 2015, 03:56 PM
QUOTE(Rezkt @ Jul 30 2015, 03:00 PM) The thing is, I have already ordered the laptop with windows 8.1 before I asked this. I'm not sure whether they proceed with the order already (am going to the store directly to find out). It's a relief to know that the OS can be changed from windows 8.1 to 7 though. Also, Idk how to install the windows 7 myself so I will be asking the shop to do everything. Thanks so much for answering. Any estimation on how much the additional cost will be? To topic starter, sorry I'm riding on your topic; didnt wanna make a new topic for this. Windows 8.1 is not bad and is much better compare to Windows 8 (it sucks badly  ). There is no need to downgrade to Windows 7 imho. However, if that's your personal preference, I will assume that they will charge at least RM30-50 (varies from shop to shop). But if you have the money to do so, then it's entirely up to your decision.
evum seu
Jul 30 2015, 05:28 PM

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 30 2015, 03:56 PM) Windows 8.1 is not bad and is much better compare to Windows 8 (it sucks badly  ). There is no need to downgrade to Windows 7 imho. However, if that's your personal preference, I will assume that they will charge at least RM30-50 (varies from shop to shop). But if you have the money to do so, then it's entirely up to your decision.  i advise just keep our order to window 8.1 version since you can upgrade it to window 10, without os you got no chance to do that beside you know where to find the cheap window 7 key..
DS_Legacy
Jul 30 2015, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(evum seu @ Jul 30 2015, 05:28 PM) i advise just keep our order to window 8.1 version since you can upgrade it to window 10, without os you got no chance to do that beside you know where to find the cheap window 7 key.. Ya. You got the point there. Was thought of the same idea too. But if he insists to downgrade to Windows 7, he can always look up the deal in garage sales. There are plenty of trusted dealers over there.
Rezkt
Jul 30 2015, 07:57 PM

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 30 2015, 03:56 PM) Windows 8.1 is not bad and is much better compare to Windows 8 (it sucks badly  ). There is no need to downgrade to Windows 7 imho. However, if that's your personal preference, I will assume that they will charge at least RM30-50 (varies from shop to shop). But if you have the money to do so, then it's entirely up to your decision.  Well I'm used to windows 7, and whenever someone asks me to install softwares or fix something in their windows 8 laptop, I always find it confusing to use especially since there is no start button. Even people who experiences windows 8 said they like windows 7 better. Hmm are you sure this Inspiron 7447 can be downgraded to windows 7? I just came back from the shop and they said it can't. Because the brand is Dell. Well it can be downgraded but there will be problems like audio etc. And apparently they cant order the one without the OS. I'm resigned to getting windows 8.1 since the shop cant make it to windows 7 without any future problem. I just hope I can adjust myself to use windows 8.1 T_T Thanks for all the answers!