gypsum board ceiling can block heat from the roof

TSnotthing
post Jul 23 2015, 12:37 PM, updated 11y ago

hi need so ideas from you guys, can gypsum block the heat from passing through it ? let say i got a zink ceiling and install a plaster ceiling below it, will the heat from the zink pass through the plaster ceiling and direct heat inside the house or the gypsum board ceiling can block the heat?
Zot
post Jul 23 2015, 12:49 PM

7,938 posts

QUOTE(notthing @ Jul 23 2015, 12:37 PM)
hi need so ideas from you guys, can gypsum block the heat from passing through it ? let say i got a zink ceiling and install a plaster ceiling below it, will the heat from the zink pass through the plaster ceiling and direct heat inside the house or the gypsum board ceiling can block the heat?
It is one of the material used as thermal barrier also.

http://www.carbontrust.com/media/19469/ctl...-insulation.pdf
http://www.facilitiesnet.com/roofing/artic...source=previous
weikee
post Jul 23 2015, 01:12 PM

12,019 posts

You cannot block, you can only slow down the heat transfer. You have a zinc ceiling or roof? ceiling and roof is not the same.

This post has been edited by weikee: Jul 23 2015, 01:13 PM
MeToo
post Jul 23 2015, 01:15 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jul 23 2015, 12:49 PM)
careful with insulation... some is allergy risk...

stuff like rockwool (cellular glass?)... if kena u itch like gila... if got small kids etc better dun use
DecaPix
post Jul 23 2015, 01:35 PM

5 star monkey
3,000 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 23 2015, 01:15 PM)
careful with insulation... some is allergy risk...

stuff like rockwool (cellular glass?)... if kena u itch like gila... if got small kids etc better dun use
since when rockwool is cellular glass?
the name already rock.
it's not made from glass
TSnotthing
post Jul 23 2015, 01:44 PM

my is a concrete ceiling on top of the ceiling is just bare concrete so after being sun the whole ceiling become very hot, so planed to add a layer of gypsum board plaster ceiling to minimise the heat from the concrete ceiling. not adding any rockwool, just plain gypsum board plaster ceiling so hope can block the heat
enduser
post Jul 23 2015, 02:05 PM

1,281 posts

Flat roof concreate?

A proper ventilation between ur roof & ceiling might help to reduce the accumulative heat.

This post has been edited by enduser: Jul 23 2015, 02:06 PM
SUSsupersound
post Jul 23 2015, 02:10 PM

11,554 posts

QUOTE(enduser @ Jul 23 2015, 02:05 PM)
Flat roof concreate?

A proper ventilation between ur roof &  ceiling might help to reduce the accumulative heat.
To have a cooler ceiling, the essential is heat removal. Installing heat insulation will make the condition worst, no doubt it slow down the heat accumulations, but at the same time it will slow down heat removal also.
With current temperature of 36-38°C, installing those cheapo aluminum ventilator will be a better option thumbup.gif
aeiou228
post Jul 23 2015, 03:14 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(notthing @ Jul 23 2015, 01:44 PM)
my is a concrete ceiling on top of the ceiling is just bare concrete so after being sun the whole ceiling become very hot, so planed to add a layer of gypsum board plaster ceiling to minimise the heat from the concrete ceiling. not adding any rockwool, just plain gypsum board plaster ceiling so hope can block the heat
Plaster ceiling wouldn't insulate the head radiation from the concrete slab.
Better put your money to more effective way to dispel the heat.
The best is to cover up your bare concrete roof with another zinc roof to block direct sun light. Allow min 3' air passage between existing concrete roof and the new zink roof.
If you have stairway to your existing concrete roof, then increase the height of the zink roof so that your can walk freely on your concrete roof and turn your concrete roof top a new storage area.
MeToo
post Jul 23 2015, 03:20 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(DecaPix @ Jul 23 2015, 01:35 PM)
since when rockwool is cellular glass?
the name already rock.
it's not made from glass
hence my "?"

But for sure rock wool will itch if u get it on your.

Maybe not as bad as fibreglass insulation but its still not somethign i wanna use in a resident unless the installation is very secure
Pucca&Garu
post Jul 23 2015, 03:58 PM

177 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Jul 23 2015, 03:20 PM)
hence my "?"

But for sure rock wool will itch if u get it on your.

Maybe not as bad as fibreglass insulation but its still not somethign i wanna use in a resident unless the installation is very secure
You can look for bubble foil insulation..
TSnotthing
post Jul 23 2015, 05:44 PM

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Jul 23 2015, 03:14 PM)
Plaster ceiling wouldn't insulate the head radiation from the concrete slab.
Better put your money to more effective way to dispel the heat. 
The best is to cover up your bare concrete roof with another zinc roof to block direct sun light. Allow min 3' air passage between existing concrete roof and the new zink roof.
If you have stairway to your existing concrete roof, then increase the height of the zink roof so that your can walk freely on your concrete roof and turn your concrete roof top a new storage area.
really ? so mean if i install the plaster ceiling is totally useless the heat will still go to my living room ?
weikee
post Jul 23 2015, 05:49 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(notthing @ Jul 23 2015, 05:44 PM)
really ? so mean if i install the plaster ceiling is totally useless the heat will still go to my living room ?
Yes, is useless.
TSnotthing
post Jul 23 2015, 05:54 PM

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 23 2015, 05:49 PM)
Yes, is useless.
ic thanks for the info, have u install before or wat how u know its useless ?
aeiou228
post Jul 23 2015, 06:07 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(notthing @ Jul 23 2015, 05:44 PM)
Really la. save the money and use it to prevent the problem at source instead or arresting the problem.
More so, kill 2 birds with 1 stone, no more roof water seepage.
weikee
post Jul 23 2015, 07:33 PM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(notthing @ Jul 23 2015, 05:54 PM)
ic thanks for the info, have u install before or wat how u know its useless ?
My previous company pantry and server room Ac compressor are just divided by the dry wall, and walk pass the wall you feel the heat. And pantry will be warmer than any other place every morning before central Ac are switch on.

My house also using plaster ceiling, I don't feel is blocking heat. Every time I clean the ceiling fan, can feel the heat from the first floor ceiling.

TSnotthing
post Jul 24 2015, 09:37 AM

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 23 2015, 07:33 PM)
My previous company pantry and server room Ac compressor are just divided by the dry wall, and walk pass the wall you feel the heat. And pantry will be warmer than any other place every morning before central Ac are switch on.

My house also using plaster ceiling, I don't feel is blocking heat. Every time I clean the ceiling fan, can feel the heat from the first floor ceiling.
May i know what is on top of your plaster ceiling ?
weikee
post Jul 24 2015, 09:50 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(notthing @ Jul 24 2015, 09:37 AM)
May i know what is on top of your plaster ceiling ?
My house roof loh.
TSnotthing
post Jul 24 2015, 09:53 AM

QUOTE(weikee @ Jul 24 2015, 09:50 AM)
My house roof loh.
haha ya i know wat kind of roof clay, zink, or concrete
weikee
post Jul 24 2015, 10:12 AM

12,019 posts

QUOTE(notthing @ Jul 24 2015, 09:53 AM)
haha ya i know wat kind of roof clay, zink, or concrete
Clay roof + Zinc
SUSchokia
post Jul 26 2015, 05:56 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

what about those yellow fibreglass installed inside those aircond duct? will these cause allergy? or most importantly will it trap heat in the ceiling and make it hot at night?

So the best is still that aluminium ventilator?

0.0198sec    0.23    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 07:48 PM