Which brand laptop to recommend?, Budget rm2K below

TSshinchan99
post Jul 23 2015, 01:16 AM, updated 11y ago

619 posts

Dear all sifu

Been looking around for a laptop within range of rm2K below.

Which brand should I go for? Asus / Lenovo ? Any other suggestion?

bigmac999
post Jul 23 2015, 03:10 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jul 23 2015, 01:16 AM)
Dear all sifu

dell for best after sales service
best choice would be dependent on the specs
DS_Legacy
post Jul 24 2015, 12:12 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jul 23 2015, 01:16 AM)
Dear all sifu

Here is the models that fit your requirement. biggrin.gif

1. Lenovo G40-80 80E4005NMJ 14” , i5-5200U , 4GB , 500GB , AMD R5-M230 , W8.1 : RM1950/-
2. Lenovo Z40-70 5943-6166 14” FHD , i5-4210U , 4GB , 500GB , GT820 2GB , W8.1 , 1YR : RM1999/-
3. Asus X454LJ-VX044D VX045D (Black, White) 14” , i3-5010 , 4GB , 500GB , GT920M 1GB , DOS: RM1770/-
4. HP 14-r208TX 14” , i3-5010U , 4GB , 500GB , GT820M 2GB , W8.1 : RM2120/-

The prices may be vary from shop to shop. So do your own survey before buying ya. icon_rolleyes.gif
TSshinchan99
post Jul 24 2015, 08:38 AM

619 posts

Hi sifu,

Narrowed down to this 2 model :

Lenovo
1. G4080 i5 5200
2. G5080 i7 5500

Difference between both of these model (RM 20) is just the processor speed and the G4080 having win8 compared to G5080 DOS, and the screen size which is not really the main factor.

Which one will be a better choice?
lowyard
post Jul 24 2015, 08:41 AM

Nexus 4, 4 Nexers.
2,056 posts

go for i7 then. coz you can install windows by yourself.
DS_Legacy
post Jul 24 2015, 11:33 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jul 24 2015, 08:38 AM)
Hi sifu,

Narrowed down to this 2 model :

Lenovo
1. G4080 i5 5200
2. G5080 i7 5500

Difference between both of these model (RM 20) is just the processor speed and the G4080 having win8 compared to G5080 DOS, and the screen size which is not really the main factor.

Which one will be a better choice?
Always opt for i7 if u want a better performance of your processor. Haha i7 works better and efficient in photo editing software. Install the OS yourself. Shouldn't be hard for you. smile.gif
ck_boon
post Jul 24 2015, 11:36 AM

1,894 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 24 2015, 01:12 AM)
Here is the models that fit your requirement.  biggrin.gif

1. Lenovo G40-80 80E4005NMJ 14” , i5-5200U , 4GB , 500GB , AMD R5-M230 , W8.1 : RM1950/-
2. Lenovo Z40-70 5943-6166 14” FHD , i5-4210U , 4GB , 500GB , GT820 2GB , W8.1 , 1YR : RM1999/-
3. Asus X454LJ-VX044D VX045D (Black, White) 14” , i3-5010 , 4GB , 500GB , GT920M 1GB , DOS: RM1770/-
4. HP 14-r208TX 14” , i3-5010U , 4GB , 500GB , GT820M 2GB , W8.1 : RM2120/-

The prices may be vary from shop to shop. So do your own survey before buying ya.  icon_rolleyes.gif
got thinkpad series? i prefer the small scroll ball one instead of the large touch pad, easy move wrong

TSshinchan99
post Jul 24 2015, 11:39 AM

619 posts

Advise taken.

Will proceed to buy 5080 i7 model smile.gif
evum seu
post Jul 24 2015, 11:43 AM

208 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Jul 24 2015, 11:36 AM)
got thinkpad series? i prefer the small scroll ball one instead of the large touch pad, easy move wrong
thinkpad never below 2k beside it is a 2nd hand unit...
DS_Legacy
post Jul 24 2015, 01:14 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(ck_boon @ Jul 24 2015, 11:36 AM)
The following is the thinkpad series. They are usually more than 2k. smile.gif
Lenovo ThinkPad E450 20DCA04QMY 14" Laptop/ Notebook i3-4005U, 500GB, 4GB, Intel, W7P DG W8.1 Pro RM2243/-
Lenovo ThinkPad E440 20C500A2ME 14" Laptop/ Notebook i5-4210U, 1TB, 4GB, Intel, W7P DG W8.1 Pro RM2,639/-
Lenovo ThinkPad E450 20DC0031MY 14" Laptop/ Notebook i5-5200U, 1TB, 4GB, Intel, W7P DG W8.1 Pro RM2730/-

angkee83
post Jul 24 2015, 01:16 PM

461 posts

Invest in i7... you will not regret... believe me... biggrin.gif
shereen82
post Jul 24 2015, 03:44 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 24 2015, 11:33 AM)
Always opt for i7 if u want a better performance of your processor. Haha i7 works better and efficient in photo editing software. Install the OS yourself. Shouldn't be hard for you. smile.gif
How to install OS by myself? Is it pirate? Becos I do rmbr last time my desktop was having sth like window 7 genius
DS_Legacy
post Jul 24 2015, 04:14 PM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(shereen82 @ Jul 24 2015, 03:44 PM)
How to install OS by myself? Is it pirate? Becos I do rmbr last time my desktop was having sth like window 7 genius
Well IMHO, I will prefer windows 7 over windows 8.1. So, an original Windows 7 home premium OS will cost you about RM300. But if you think that installing OS is tedious, you can always ask the computer shop guy to install it for you with some charges at around rm30-50. (Only if you have the budget ya)

But if you don't have the budget, you can go pirate which is free whistling.gif
Loki[D.d.G]
post Jul 25 2015, 12:37 AM

Quis custodiet ipsos custodes
3,648 posts

It's actually really simple to do, especially with Windows 8/8.1

There are also plenty of easy to understand guides online that give step-by-step instructions

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 24 2015, 04:14 PM)
I didn't realize we condone piracy on these forums...

This post has been edited by Loki[D.d.G]: Jul 25 2015, 02:32 AM
DS_Legacy
post Jul 25 2015, 09:41 AM

Photography is Love
1,526 posts

QUOTE(LokiD.d.G @ Jul 25 2015, 12:37 AM)
I didn't realize we condone piracy on these forums...
My apology. Still new to the forum here. No more next time. icon_rolleyes.gif
bigmac999
post Jul 25 2015, 07:01 PM

685 posts

You can Get windows key for less than 60rm if u know where to find it
shereen82
post Jul 26 2015, 09:09 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(DS_Legacy @ Jul 24 2015, 04:14 PM)
Well IMHO, I will prefer windows 7 over windows 8.1. So, an original Windows 7 home premium OS will cost you about RM300. But if you think that installing OS is tedious, you can always ask the computer shop guy to install it for you with some charges at around rm30-50. (Only if you have the budget ya)

the shop guy told me that he can install a mix version of both 7 n 8.. @@
shereen82
post Jul 26 2015, 09:11 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(bigmac999 @ Jul 25 2015, 07:01 PM)
You can Get windows key for less than 60rm if u know where to find it
it sounds like u know whr it is.. mind sharing? brows.gif
shereen82
post Jul 26 2015, 09:12 PM

104 posts

any special features that windows 8/8.1 has? compare to windows 7?

i not know more about windows 7 or even 8/8.1 cry.gif
bigmac999
post Jul 26 2015, 09:41 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(shereen82 @ Jul 26 2015, 09:11 PM)
it sounds like u know whr it is.. mind sharing?  brows.gif
Look in garage sales
Prices ranges from 40-100

0.0168sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 10:34 AM