upgrading graphic card alienware m15x

TS-_-
post Jul 22 2015, 08:52 PM, updated 11y ago

178 posts

Hi i want to ask around do any of you know where i can upgrade my computer graphic card without breaking the bank?

I am currently using an i5 520m processor and my graphic card is just a 1GB DDR3 ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 5730

I have seen this thread https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...op+graphic+card

and Dell R9 M290X = RM 1399 looks like in decent pricing.

But the problem he is in penang so i wanna know anyone doing this service in pj?

Mr.Docter
post Jul 22 2015, 09:09 PM

Doctorpreneurs
5,367 posts

If anyone can help you, putochip123 surely one of the good Samaritan with superb skills.

Try asking around Alienware Mothership, see if there is any current user wanting to upgrade their GPU so you can opt to purchase from them.
putochip123
post Jul 23 2015, 12:21 AM

1,496 posts

Processor will be a huge bottleneck

TS-_-
post Jul 23 2015, 06:58 AM

178 posts

is the processor a bottleneck and not the graphic card?

My aim is just to play dota2 in high settings that's all. Mind you care explaining why the processor is a bottleneck?

And is the way forward just to buy a new laptop?

Sorry for the questions

bigmac999
post Jul 23 2015, 03:06 PM

685 posts

QUOTE(-_- @ Jul 23 2015, 06:58 AM)
is the processor a bottleneck and not the graphic card?

My aim is just to play dota2 in high settings that's all. Mind you care explaining why the processor is a bottleneck?

And is the way forward just to buy a new laptop?

Sorry for the questions

right now the GPU is the bottleneck
but buying a new laptop is a sane choice
that i5 520m is enough for dota 2 but r9 m290x is probably overkill for that processor
if you still interested to upgrade the 660m for 399 is a sane choice
best balance

This post has been edited by bigmac999: Jul 23 2015, 03:08 PM
TS-_-
post Jul 23 2015, 04:59 PM

178 posts

Actually I plan to buy another Alienware but my best hope is to tahan anther 3-4 years before buying as I want to buy 4k screen but not wanting to spend too much. Currently my screen is full hd 1080p that's why I feel upgrading the graphic card would be he best choice for me now

Does anyone u know do this job?
e_mc_square
post Jul 23 2015, 05:08 PM

768 posts

I think I did mention I provide service out station. Buyer just have to add RM 100... Haha...

Processor is not really a bottleneck until you play some CPU intensive games. What is CPU intensive games? Usually is online games that support 30 to 60 players in a single map like Battle field.

Try to search around the requirement of your desired game and you will found that CPU requirement is relatively low compare with GPU.
TS-_-
post Jul 23 2015, 09:49 PM

178 posts

Hi square when you coming to kl then?

Price of 399 sounds good but is the improvement significant ? max budget is 700-1000 ringgit but also I don't want like Big Mac say an overkill

I also might want to upgrade hard drive to ssd but I think I can still tahan with it as long it does not jeopardize the performance of the game loading is not a problem for me haha

Sorry for the Noobieness here

0.0155sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 08:46 AM