Windows 8.1 or Windows 10

TSBING97
post Jul 20 2015, 07:57 PM, updated 9y ago

36 posts

Hi, I am in a dilemma now. Can you guys give me some advice to whether purchase a device with windows 8.1 or just wait for the upcoming windows 10. Thx biggrin.gif
nate_nightroad
post Jul 20 2015, 07:59 PM

Endless numbered days...
3,537 posts

upgrade from win 8.1 to win 10 is free

make no difference

want something really different? join the mac camp
Baconateer
post Jul 20 2015, 07:59 PM

Meh..... (TM)
4,874 posts

purchase win8.1...free upgrade to wins 10...apa susah??
lsl640
post Jul 20 2015, 08:00 PM

292 posts

free upgrade to windows 10 what
yakumo
post Jul 20 2015, 08:04 PM

232 posts

yeap even with windows 7 you get a free win 10 also,
except if you get a pro version (8.1 pro/ultimate) you will also get win 10 pro

This post has been edited by yakumo: Jul 20 2015, 08:10 PM
ifourtos
post Jul 20 2015, 08:07 PM

1,884 posts

i suggest u wait another 3 year
window 12 and 7nm processor
cynical66
post Jul 20 2015, 08:16 PM

444 posts

ts using win98 jack sparrow version isit? dats y kenot upgrade free..
SUSLumiaaa
post Jul 21 2015, 02:10 PM

172 posts

windows 8.1 is cheaper then windows 10

faster get windows 8.1 before the stock is sold
Altrius
post Jul 22 2015, 10:50 AM

264 posts

Windows had announced that windows 10 will get 10+5years support. dont think thr will be a windows 12 in 3 years.

But yeah.. just get a windows 8.1 free upgrade to windows 10 anyways..
SUSAxeFire
post Jul 22 2015, 11:22 AM

368 posts

QUOTE(Altrius @ Jul 22 2015, 10:50 AM)
Windows had announced that windows 10 will get 10+5years support. dont think thr will be a windows 12 in 3 years.

But yeah.. just get a windows 8.1 free upgrade to windows 10 anyways..
windows 10 might be the longest running os under same name (although it probably gets constant updates like OSX using same name but changed alot over 10+ years)
ZeroKunz
post Jul 22 2015, 11:58 AM

205 posts

the thing i worry before i upgrade it is whether it will support the game for instance HON, Dota or not.

because last time i was using window 8 and then when upgraded to 8.1 and now my laptop cant even play Hon. The game now is damn lag and hang, make me no more mood to play it anymore.
horns
post Jul 22 2015, 12:35 PM

\m/
3,036 posts

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ Jul 22 2015, 11:58 AM)
the thing i worry before i upgrade it is whether it will support the game for instance HON, Dota or not.

because last time i was using window 8 and then when upgraded to 8.1 and now my laptop cant even play Hon. The game now is damn lag and hang, make me no more mood to play it anymore.
have you tried this?

edit: imo it's a good deal to grab w7/8.x now and get the free upgrade if you're into w10.

since it allows you to do clean install after the upgrade, you can start everything fresh if you want to, without worrying about activation issues.

This post has been edited by horns: Jul 22 2015, 12:38 PM
ZeroKunz
post Jul 22 2015, 01:02 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 22 2015, 12:35 PM)
have you tried this?

edit: imo it's a good deal to grab w7/8.x now and get the free upgrade if you're into w10.

since it allows you to do clean install after the upgrade, you can start everything fresh if you want to, without worrying about activation issues.
tried but then still the same. the game will hang. done reinstall the game ady but still the same. most of the solution that i tried is not working. that y kinda worried wanna upgrade to window 10. if it fix the problem it would be ok but den scare it will make it worse
horns
post Jul 22 2015, 01:09 PM

\m/
3,036 posts

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ Jul 22 2015, 01:02 PM)
tried but then still the same. the game will hang. done reinstall the game ady but still the same. most of the solution that i tried is not working. that y kinda worried wanna upgrade to window 10. if it fix the problem it would be ok but den scare it will make it worse
oh. that's terrible :/ usually compatibility mode will help, but not really sure what happened to your system. a clean install might be good for you.

yeah upgrades usually caused me troubles also previously. this is why i already planned to do a clean install after the upgrade process is done.
ZeroKunz
post Jul 22 2015, 01:19 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Jul 22 2015, 01:09 PM)
oh. that's terrible :/ usually compatibility mode will help, but not really sure what happened to your system. a clean install might be good for you.

yeah upgrades usually caused me troubles also previously. this is why i already planned to do a clean install after the upgrade process is done.
haha. also done reinstall graphic driver, reinstall game, compatibility, disable some staff in task manager to reduce ram but none of it working. cry.gif i also planning to do clean install for window 10. gonna start to move the file to hard disk. when will be window 10 be launched?
1024kbps
post Jul 22 2015, 01:31 PM

李素裳
5,780 posts

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ Jul 22 2015, 01:19 PM)
haha. also done reinstall graphic driver, reinstall game, compatibility, disable some staff in task manager to reduce ram but none of it working.  cry.gif i also planning to do clean install for window 10. gonna start to move the file to hard disk. when will be window 10 be launched?
July 29th?
those installed Windows 10 preview already received final build, which is same version as the RTM.
ZeroKunz
post Jul 22 2015, 01:38 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(1024kbps @ Jul 22 2015, 01:31 PM)
July 29th?
those installed Windows 10 preview already received final build, which is same version as the RTM.
few more day to go den~ drool.gif
acbc
post Jul 22 2015, 01:39 PM

8,475 posts

W8 sucks! Wait for W10 or downgrade to W7. I'm planning to do the latter for my Lenovo Flex 2. Bloody W8 desktop shell kept crashing. Fed up with it.
ZeroKunz
post Jul 22 2015, 01:42 PM

205 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jul 22 2015, 01:39 PM)
W8 sucks! Wait for W10 or downgrade to W7. I'm planning to do the latter for my Lenovo Flex 2. Bloody W8 desktop shell kept crashing. Fed up with it.
Mine not crashing BUT FPS of game drop like hell, lag like hell, hang like hell
Mine laptop requirement is 8gb ram and gt740m graphic card also cant support those noob game.. sometime kinda piss off when think off dat
acbc
post Jul 22 2015, 01:47 PM

8,475 posts

QUOTE(ZeroKunz @ Jul 22 2015, 01:42 PM)
Mine not crashing BUT FPS of game drop like hell, lag like hell, hang like hell
Mine laptop requirement is 8gb ram and gt740m graphic card also cant support those noob game.. sometime kinda piss off when think off dat
My Flex 2 also has 8GB RAM and 250GB SSD. Startup time of course fast but after few hours or usage, entire OS will be laggy. Only a reboot can cure it. If never reboot, entire system will locked up.

0.0174sec    0.28    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:14 AM