USA Stock Discussion v7, Greece Debt Crisis!

ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 16 2015, 05:11 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

Yeah NFLX is up 12 percent in pre market trading. Anyway with the Greece drama over for now looks like we will see a good evening.

Here are the pre market indicators (as of this post):
Dow - 18,053.00 +61.00
Nasdaq 100 - 4553.30 +18.80
S&P 500 - 2112.00 +7.75
Russell 2000 - 1267.70 +4.20
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 16 2015, 06:58 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 16 2015, 06:45 PM)
U got Netflix? Never checked... Is it in s&p or Nasdaq?

Yes, tonite should be.... Bull. tongue.gif
De factoly owned tongue.gif Being straddling the options for quite a while now. It is in both the S&P and the Nasdaq 100. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ILoveLalat.net: Jul 16 2015, 06:59 PM
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 16 2015, 08:32 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 16 2015, 07:29 PM)
alright, gud for you!

but do you hv netflix at home?

i had a free short period, wasn't impressed due to non-hd which is due to geo-restrictions, i know.

but i see there is a great future in reasonably price iptv service.

here, they gotta ask the bigshots in tm and astro for permission. tongue.gif
Nope, no Netfix for me. Yeah Netfix is one of the big hot shots for investments with its streaming services and definitely fits the criteria that should be on my radar.

ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 20 2015, 07:26 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

Another day, another green thumbup.gif

Pre-Market Indicator
Dow - 18019.00 +22.00
Nasdaq 100 - 4658.50 +8.50
S&P 500 - 2120.75 +2.00

Looks like Morgan Stanley just top their estimates and with Apple reporting tomorrow and the recent case with Google and Netflix topping the charts, looks like the earnings report is just the beginning.

By the way, any suggestion if the SPY is a perfect indicator for how the market will react at the open?

This post has been edited by ILoveLalat.net: Jul 20 2015, 07:26 PM
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 20 2015, 09:06 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 20 2015, 08:00 PM)
SPY is s&p500/10 in usd. dunno what else!
Because there was this one time that I always suggest to follow SPY as the opening indicator than futures and one of the mentioned it is unreliable but I find it the most accurate indicator of all. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by ILoveLalat.net: Jul 20 2015, 09:07 PM
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 22 2015, 11:41 AM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

GPRO surged more than 6% from the its 11am low. Anyone who did that is definitely lucky.
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 22 2015, 05:23 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

Looks like a gloomy opening today.

Pre-Market Indicator
Dow - 17,797.00 -69.00
Nasdaq 100 - 4,617.25 -49.25
S&P 500 - 2,107.25 -7.25

And...AAPL alone is indicated to shave 46.30 points from the Dow alone.
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 22 2015, 10:22 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

*sigh, the GPRO straddle is going against me. After I found out, the stock did rally more than 20% "before the earnings" doh.gif Anyway, scalp out some put options for a 8 percent gain on put options. Still a loss though.
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 23 2015, 05:51 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

After 2 days of red sea, we may finally get a green!

Pre-Market Indicator
Dow - 17809.00 +24.00
Nasdaq 100 - 4627.75 +10.25
S&P 500 - 2111.00 +3.00

Looks like MCD, CMCSA will announcing their earnings soon while AMZN, T with TRIP will be announcing their earnings during after hours later, everyone is keeping a wait and see attitude. And surprise, it seems WTI Crude is below 50 again. Wonder if it will ever rebound?

This post has been edited by ILoveLalat.net: Jul 23 2015, 05:53 PM
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 24 2015, 09:17 AM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

AMZN up 17% in after hours after a surprising profit. rclxms.gif
ILoveLalat.net
post Jul 24 2015, 10:24 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

Got news that Clinton is proposing a sharp increase in short-term capital taxes. Will we be affected?

-----------------------

Hillary Clinton proposes sharp increase in short-term capital gains taxes

Everett Rosenfeld | @Ev_Rosenfeld
6 Mins Ago
Breaking News

Presidential contender Hillary Clinton's plan to overhaul capital gains taxes aims to foster long-term growth by taxing some short-term investments at higher rates.
Clinton's proposal comes as part of her plan to fight what she sees as an excessive focus on quick profits in capital markets.

Clinton's plan specifically seeks to double the period of time for the 39.6 percent top capital gains rate (from up to a year to up to two years), and then institute a sliding scale until assets are held for more than six years.

After that six-year point, those gains would face the current 20 percent tax rate.

Clinton's proposal comes as part of her plan to fight what she sees as an excessive focus on quick profits in capital markets.

-----------------------

This post has been edited by ILoveLalat.net: Jul 24 2015, 10:39 PM
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 4 2015, 07:08 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

Looks like DIS is releasing their results after hours with a bang. More record highs for this stock. thumbup.gif
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 6 2015, 05:57 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

USD/MYR = 3.9040 shakehead.gif

Buy USD now?
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 6 2015, 06:21 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 6 2015, 06:11 PM)
jan 1998, 4.71. were u around?!  biggrin.gif
http://www.tradingeconomics.com/malaysia/currency

well, can't and won't be the same...

diff is mahathir then, najib now - u decide! tongue.gif
I only joined the stock market foray in 2007, but I did heard that 4.71 was the lowest point the Ringgit ever reached.

After researching on the Ringgit, oil prices are also to blame for the downfall of the Ringgit as well. We would have to wait and see. I am still betting on USD/MYR at 4.00. icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, after years of paper trading and riding onto someone's back in US trading, I might soon join in given the market conditions in US keeps up this way. Thinking of TDAmeritrade or IB as the brokerage account. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ILoveLalat.net: Aug 6 2015, 06:23 PM
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 6 2015, 06:35 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 6 2015, 06:30 PM)
rm is down and down because of a triple whammy - falling oil/gas prices, potential usd rate hike and prolonged bad local politics.

the thing is we alredy know this for some time now, don't we?!
yes, go for one of those brokers! rclxms.gif
Problem is, everywhere I go is "This is because of 1MDB", "Because our PM is silent on this" and so forth. So yeah, everyone is pinning the blame to say 1MDB is at fault. But the problem is not just 1MDB is the problem but everyone solely blaming on Najib.

I too do not agree with what he is doing at the moment, but I am pretty sure that Australia and Canada is down also because of 1MDB? Now how odd can it be?

Oh yeah I heard most of the forumers here are using IB? But I am planning to play options and stocks and there is a requirement for IB? How about TDAmeritrade?

This post has been edited by ILoveLalat.net: Aug 6 2015, 06:37 PM
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 6 2015, 06:48 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Aug 6 2015, 06:45 PM)
it is impt to understand that the main driver is CONFIDENCE, local and foreign investors.

u surely can gauge investor confidence with all those 3 factors together!

ok, this is stocks/fin section... too much politics will derail the thread... tongue.gif
IB is lowest cost. Ameritrade is popular too, as far as i know.
Alright thanks. Need to make decisions quickly just in case... whistling.gif
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 6 2015, 10:05 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

BTU could be the first to go should the oil prices remained low. Currently a penny stock from $16 a year ago. The barrier of $43 which was predicted to be a rebound point is set to break.

This post has been edited by ILoveLalat.net: Aug 6 2015, 10:07 PM
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 24 2015, 09:31 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

Wow Nasdaq Composite down 8 percent. Any chance of afternoon rebound?
ILoveLalat.net
post Aug 24 2015, 09:35 PM

Seasonal Trader
2,906 posts

QUOTE(Brother J @ Aug 24 2015, 09:33 PM)
The only chance is the 3:55 Fed speaker.
Wow sure that is late...

0.0250sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:48 AM