QUOTE(yaniee @ Mar 31 2016, 04:13 PM)
Enough la every few months you troll ppl here lolLYN Scuba Divers Club V6.0, Say hi to the fishes..
LYN Scuba Divers Club V6.0, Say hi to the fishes..
Mar 31 2016, 04:29 PM
2,799 posts Joined: Nov 2007 From: On the beach |
Apr 11 2016, 09:28 AM
I like single framed too. I feel that my field of vision is wider. But actually it doesn't make much of a difference.
The bigger difference is when you get a transparent mask and a black/dark colored one. The sides. Transparent one allows for more light to penetrate thru your mask on a sunny day and can sometimes be quite glaring, but feel less restricted with vision also. So get a few masks |
Apr 12 2016, 09:30 AM
QUOTE(jay5840 @ Apr 12 2016, 07:27 AM) I have/had a few. The transparent ones turn yellow after a while. QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 12 2016, 08:08 AM) I'm going on Saturday and lepak there. Most probably will lepak at the SSI booth and try to talk to girls. "Try to talk to girls"? HahahaDoubt I will buy anything. Exchange rate makes it not worth it plus I've got most of the things I need and don't need. |
Apr 12 2016, 12:09 PM
Apr 12 2016, 03:10 PM
Apr 12 2016, 05:04 PM
Apr 13 2016, 10:27 AM
I paid 2.7m for Garuda return last night.
Checked last month price was 2.5m. What's the flight time for sriwijaya going into Komodo? |
Apr 13 2016, 10:31 AM
QUOTE(kinx @ Apr 13 2016, 10:29 AM) BALI > Labuan Bojo (1.30pm) Ahhh. According to scuba junkie's email, we need to arrive airport by 1.30pm and on departure day, get a flight hat departs after 3pm. Guess the departure is fine. Labuan Bojo > Bali (3pm) By Jet Plane , 20 KG. 2.7m is very expensive for me I already budgeted rm800 for flight so ok la hahah. |
Apr 13 2016, 04:56 PM
QUOTE(Ice28 @ Apr 13 2016, 04:43 PM) Hi hi hi, how do I get to mersing jetty from mersing bus station? (Heard its nearby) and how long it takes from the mersing jetty to tioman? 😅 Here are the directions from bus terminal to jetty. https://goo.gl/maps/r25rJnyrhEyIt's about 10-15 minutes walk. Ferry takes roughly 2 hours + delays. |
Apr 13 2016, 06:51 PM
Apr 14 2016, 05:28 PM
QUOTE(aarondotcom89 @ Apr 14 2016, 05:11 PM) Just wanna ask everyone out here. Sounds like wkkay when he had to fly to Barcelona and dunno where else after our Perhentian trip. I'm actually going for diving at Perhentian Besar(Arwana) from 26-29 May 2016. Flight back to KL on 29th May is 250pm. Means I gotta be at airport around 1250pm. Reach KL 350pm. Then I would have another flight to UK at 1120PM. Be at airport 9PM. 1. Did anyone gotten sick after diving? 2. Did it affect that you are not able to go on flight? 3. Do you think there would be any delay from KotaBharu to KL? =/ Basically it really depends on your own health and immune system. We usually don't get sick after diving. More like sien have to go back to office to work. You have plenty of time in between. Even if flight delay also the most you stay in airport lor. But yea, there are chances of flight being delayed. |
Apr 14 2016, 06:21 PM
QUOTE(aarondotcom89 @ Apr 14 2016, 05:43 PM) Ah! But it's just 1hour flight from KBR to KUL. Hard to say. What flight? Most of the time it's on time. Hence why I say you have plenty of time in between anyways. The most you won't be able to like go home after you arrive kl then go airport again later at 9pm. Usually delays also 1hour right? I have around 6hours from the time I reach KUL 3PM and then be at airport at 9PM (for 1120PM flight) Sometimes flight can delay like 2-3 hours. But generally ok wan la. |
Apr 21 2016, 11:35 AM
QUOTE(EvanSoon @ Apr 21 2016, 09:23 AM) But d4i is novo or the old d4i? I think there's like D4, D4i, D4i novo and newer versions. If it's D4 means it's one of the first few models like my D9 time (D4, D6, D9). After that its D4i, D6i, and D9tx already. The previous version has been around since like middle 2000s. That makes it 10 years since its 2016 already. I got my D9 cheap when they were launching D9tx around 2009 or 2010, so that's probably when first batch of D4i was launched in Malaysia also. d4 is like 2 years old already? Don't know. If me I might rather buy a new mares smart. This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Apr 21 2016, 11:37 AM |
Apr 25 2016, 11:10 AM
QUOTE(demetrius @ Apr 25 2016, 12:11 AM) Dived in Miri. Wow, nice land shots. https://www.flickr.com/gp/ian-c/MeziiF The pics don't do justice to the actual amount of life underwater. Lotsa lost shots due to poor technique. Criticism most welcome |
Apr 25 2016, 02:28 PM
QUOTE(demetrius @ Apr 25 2016, 02:23 PM) Canon s100 with meikon housing bro.. Price is fair if you do more dives with them. With the discounts applied for diving 2 consecutive days and using own gear, I got 20% off. Coco dive. Wanted to try hoopa but they were in Singapore that weekend. ADEX I suppose. Hoopa has better rates if you dive less. Wow, land shots also by S100? Yup coco. Intern DMs guiding that day though. Still plenty fun. Haha. C'mon, gimme some pointers on underwater shots..offend if you have to. I'll bend over and take it like a man. Haha. White balance for some is a bit out. What kind of settings were you using? Internal flash? AV? Manual? P? Then again, most important thing is you happy with your photos can edi. Sometimes I prefer the photos darker, sometimes warmer, sometimes blue-er. My wide angle shots always fail anyways. Can't give you any pointers on that. |
Apr 25 2016, 03:41 PM
QUOTE(demetrius @ Apr 25 2016, 03:10 PM) No la.. Land shots with Sony a6000. Wondering if I should get a housing for that. But I'll sacrifice macro ability for bigger sensor and better light gathering.. Hm, I guess it depends what you are looking for. Do you think you'll go into more macro photography?Haha yea I'm unhappy with the colors too. Ambient light actually. Flash doesn't work too well coz the cheap casing casts a shadow on the subject if too close. I shoot RAW and despite adjusting colors it still looks unsatisfactory. The ones with better color are shot at depths around 6m. I use Tv mode coz wanna keep my shutter at high speed while keeping ISO auto and letting camera decide aperture. Depth of field won't be an issue coz small sensor. I usually use manual WB and get a jpg file along with my RAW, but despite post processing I can't seem to get the colors similar to the jpg. Maxed out the temperature bar all the way to the right but still looks greenish.. Would flash/torch lighting help with the pics? Can't afford a strobe yet so that's out of question.. Thx for the feedback. Appreciate it lots. For macro shots, a torch will definitely help light up the object. Does your housing come with a diffuser? If we don't use the diffuser with the internal flash, the photos will have shadow also if too close. If you're using ambient light, then custom WB would be best for you. The shallower photos turns out better because more sunlight penetration from above. When I need to edit WB, I usually just use the dropper tool and choose a white spot. Usually we will use AV or Manual mode to shoot. When lazy, I was told to use P mode with underwater setting. Not sure if S100 has underwater settings or not. Strobes and torch is another learning curve. Learn how to use your camera first before venturing into that. |
Apr 25 2016, 05:42 PM
QUOTE(demetrius @ Apr 25 2016, 05:33 PM) Hard to control a torch and then the camera though. Manual WB will be a hassle coz I've restored reds on my subject but not background. Shall try and see. Check this video from Tim Ho about using natural lighting for WB. I want a do-it-all camera! Maybe a general purpose zoom lens and top it up with a diopter? I use lightroom for all editing. My manual WB samples my grey watch band before I take the shot, which turns out ok in the jpg but gives me trouble in RAW. But you make a good point. I shall try shooting a grey card before the subject and correct WB later. I feel P mode is giving too much freedom to the camera to decide on settings.. Old camera, cannot trust too much Haha. Manual is kinda hard too.. Coz the housing limits me from using some functions. It has the underwater function but I think it's limited to about 10m only. Coz past that, it's all blue-green. Lol Any budget strobe setup for beginners? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « And check his other videos on natural lighting as well. Manual not that hard la. ISO set it to 200-400 max. Then you just adjust the aperture and shutter speed. But it's a bit hard to adjust if you can't use the dial thingy on your camera. Depending on your housing also. Budget style is torch lor. Hahaha. I also haven't got a strobe. |
May 3 2016, 12:38 PM
QUOTE(vmt @ May 3 2016, 11:35 AM) Thanks, at least I know around how much I should bring. Never felt comfortable having large amount of cash around me whether in city or island, everywhere. Back in Aussie during my uni days I bought an apple from supermarket and paid using paywave and I can camp at uni for a few nights, buying coffee, eating out just using paywave Basically minimum is around RM50 budget for food per day per person, might end up with excess cash if you don't order so much drinks every meal. And I need to reduce my tank too! Last dive I brought 6kgs and upon 50bar trying to decom at 5m I shoot up, mostly because I'm dumb, partly due to bubbles from buddies below. Twice. I don't feel comfortable having large amount of cash with me either. But instead, I always run out of cash in the city hahaha. Usually, I'll carry about RM100 or so with me in my dry bag for meals and coconuts. The rest of the cash I leave in the hotel room safe. The bulk of the expenses usually goes to the dives or the accommodation, these two usually you can do online transfer or pay by credit card (usually got charges also, but sometimes it's worth it). If the hotel room doesn't have a safe, split the money up. Put some in this bag, some in that bag, some in your dry bag. Of course lock your bags, don't put it in your wallet or obvious places where ppl usually keep money. Leave it with the dive center office admin or hotel reception where one would leave their passports with. Check your money everytime you come back. I would actually prefer to carry most of it with me in my dry bag, cause if it's missing while in the middle of the sea, there's not many culprits there. So far boatmen have been quite honest with such things. |
May 3 2016, 01:29 PM
QUOTE(ireallydunno @ May 3 2016, 11:30 AM) Going to langkawi this month and planning to join scuba diving.But the prob is some of my friends did said that langkawi water is not crystal clear like before,instead it's dirty. It isn't that bad. People still dive in Port Dickson these days. If join for scuba diving will need to give deposit of rm150 and its not refundable.So need advice from people who went back from langkawi from this year You'll be diving in Pulau Payar, and people go there to snorkel. The water is more greenish yellowish compared to islands on the East Coast but its really not that bad. Usually around this time, you should go to the East Coast islands. People only dive in Langkawi that side if it's monsoon season on the other side. |
May 3 2016, 01:35 PM