Hardware Do you clean ur Keyboard ?, you must!!

TSkokyun
post Nov 9 2006, 03:19 AM, updated 20y ago

770 posts

i am not too sure u guys's keyboard cleanness and how do you guys take care it. but my keyboard is so dirty

here i'll explain what you need to do to have a clean keyboard

-vacuum cleaner
-tissue
-ruler

before you start, it is better to take photos of ur keyboard

as you can see, it is so dirty inside

This post has been edited by kokyun: Nov 9 2006, 03:20 AM
TSkokyun
post Nov 9 2006, 03:21 AM

770 posts

then u should use ruler

to plug all keys out

once done, oh my, i cant believe it, it is so dirty inside, i bought my mac last 2 years ago and i have never clean it, until i found a guide on internet.

TSkokyun
post Nov 9 2006, 03:22 AM

770 posts

clean it with vacuum cleaner and tissue, i rub rub here suck suck there rubt here suck there everywhere rub suck . then da la

so clean it, you guys should do that too.! took me about one hour

This post has been edited by kokyun: Nov 9 2006, 03:28 AM
lokgotz
post Nov 9 2006, 03:31 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

any idea how do do it on a macbook??

i have serious dandruff problems and my hair keeps falling into my keyboard...
TSkokyun
post Nov 9 2006, 03:36 AM

770 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Nov 9 2006, 03:31 AM)
any idea how do do it on a macbook??

i have serious dandruff problems and my hair keeps falling into my keyboard...
oops. . i have no idea to how open it o . as longas you can open it then u should be ok to clean it up. must clean i say.
kenneth87
post Nov 9 2006, 04:29 AM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

Huhh?? Is every keyboard's key can b pluck out??? Im using Samsung, model SWT1000. Can this model's key can b remove as well as urs?
siawgu
post Nov 9 2006, 04:40 AM

996 posts

kokyun, i really clean the keyboard like you 3 days ago because of my apple keyboard is dirty. took me 30 mins to clean it.. pluck all the letters out and clean one by one..
lokgotz
post Nov 9 2006, 04:45 AM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(kokyun @ Nov 9 2006, 03:36 AM)
oops. . i have no idea to how open it o . as longas you can open it then u should be ok to clean it up. must clean i say.
the keyboard "looks like" it can be plugged out key by key but i dont dare to open it.....hehehe
kenneth87
post Nov 9 2006, 08:40 AM

~~"\(0.0)/"~~
956 posts

QUOTE(lokgotz @ Nov 9 2006, 04:45 AM)
the keyboard "looks like" it can be plugged out key by key but i dont dare to open it.....hehehe
Me 2.. Mine also looks like can be unplugged.. But dun really dare... I will try to google it.... laugh.gif laugh.gif
Rowan23
post Nov 9 2006, 09:17 AM

432 posts

does it applies to Laptops as well?!...XD...coz i think a lot of "stuffs" has dropped into my iMac's keyboard...lolz
wei
post Nov 9 2006, 09:50 AM

Get your Macs done right!
6,496 posts

why so much trouble? just get a keyboard condom lar... laugh.gif

This post has been edited by wei: Nov 9 2006, 09:50 AM
ChopSuey
post Nov 9 2006, 09:59 AM

222 posts

Once a while I use a toothpick between the keys.
Sometimes the dust can be big as a 1 sen coin!

- yap
crash
post Nov 9 2006, 04:46 PM

240 posts

I think it's important to clean the keyboard. My office one is disgusting. In the process of cleaning. Only bottom keys are clean so far.
TSkokyun
post Nov 9 2006, 06:12 PM

770 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 9 2006, 09:50 AM)
where to get that, does it harder to type ? cos keyboard plus with condom, just like phone with condom i dont really like it . need to press harder than that

wei
post Nov 9 2006, 07:31 PM

6,496 posts

I got it from singapore apple store. I've used to it after 1 year+ of usage. When I first apply it, it does felt a bit odd. As the keyboard doesn't give me the "hard" & "tap tap" sound as i type. But I don't felt it's difficult to type.

Get those good one, it won't be thick like those handphone condom. Also should look for those that cover the whole keyboard top face, including the side (transparent part), so dust cant slip in.
siawgu
post Nov 9 2006, 07:47 PM

996 posts

use apple keyboard condom also will dirty.. cause i use my mac mini as laptop.. bring from home to office .. including my apple keyboard.. when i open the condom.. wa-lah.. got dirty in it liaw.. thinking to get another apple keyboard.
wei
post Nov 9 2006, 08:36 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Nov 9 2006, 07:47 PM)
use apple keyboard condom also will dirty.. cause i use my mac mini as laptop.. bring from home to office .. including my apple keyboard.. when i open the condom.. wa-lah.. got dirty in it liaw.. thinking to get another apple keyboard.
i presume it get flip open when travel around. mine does not. as it only stay on desk.
radioactive
post Nov 9 2006, 08:55 PM

1,857 posts

i WASH my keyboard!!!!!!!!

sounds like a crazy idea rite? Actually no....im using those flexible silicone type of keyboard....the entire keyboard is constructed out of silicone except for the circuits. The whole thing is sealed so theres no way of water getting into it. At first it'll take a bit of time to adapt to it, much like the keyboard condom....its silicone so it means tht its completely silent and u have to tap bit hard on the keys. I was sorta forced to use this keyboard in the first place cuz my mom has been complaining bout the noise i make while i was busy chatting on msn in the middle of the night.
nando
post Nov 10 2006, 11:58 AM

Was Nando Morientes, Nando Torres, now is Nandos Chicken
1,650 posts

so, can anyone confirm we can take out keyboard keys one by one in Powerbook and wash?
wei
post Nov 10 2006, 12:10 PM

6,496 posts

QUOTE(nando @ Nov 10 2006, 11:58 AM)
so, can anyone confirm we can take out keyboard keys one by one in Powerbook and wash?
NO. laptop keyboard are stick together with the sensor & ribon.
link

fynet
post Nov 10 2006, 04:15 PM

120 posts

Hahaha. YOu can try pulling off your laptop keyboard..and then say bye bye. laptop keyboard cannot take out la.
strife_personified
post Nov 10 2006, 06:33 PM

Discordius Maximus
543 posts

yeah, the best you can do for a laptop keyboard is to take the entire keyboard out of the laptop, if its user serviceable.

from there its up to you whether you want to use a vacuum cleaner or wash it. if you're washing, remember to observe one very important rule. make sure the entire keyboard is COMPLETELY dry before fixing it back in place. since thats basically the rule when you spill liquids on your keyboard, it should hold true for washing. but my disclaimer is, if it fux up, dont call me tongue.gif
flygirl
post Nov 17 2006, 04:12 PM

31 posts

Yeah, I've to admin that my keyboard looks kinda disgusting at times... the dust, the leftover (wakakak, yeah... i just cant stop chewing crispy chips, biscuit... n anything crunchy... n the list goes on!)

I used the same way as kokyun did by plucking out the keys. No doubt, that's the most efficient way! (((thumb up)))
aMDCoPPeR
post Nov 17 2006, 06:12 PM

168 posts

Oh, talking bout eating in front of ur laptop... This made me recall of my iBook G3 back in those days. There was actually an ANT on the apple logo (the one top left). The ant actually went thru the speaker holes or something and managed to crawl all the way in the screen to the spot where the apple logo is LOL. The guys at applecentre told me that when they opened up my iBook, there were bits and pieces of food in there... So I guess the ant wanted to cari makan but mistaken the apple logo on the screen as food ? tongue.gif
siawgu
post Nov 18 2006, 09:30 AM

996 posts

There is a guide to clan your Apple Keyboard:
HERE

This post has been edited by siawgu: Nov 18 2006, 09:30 AM
TSkokyun
post Nov 18 2006, 04:33 PM

770 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Nov 18 2006, 09:30 AM)
There is a guide to clan your Apple Keyboard:
HERE
i saw thinking to put this new post where i get it from net. seems like siawgu. you are way faster than me . haha.

and by the way, what the guy did was way better than me . smile.gif i admit

alanho
post Nov 18 2006, 10:10 PM

thx for the link, siawgu. i go clean my keyboard now kekeke tongue.gif
ifer
post Nov 23 2006, 10:07 PM

4,637 posts

i remember seeing those keyboard condom for the laptops as well, no?
i might be seeing the wrong things

one utama's mac store
opiuma7xp
post Nov 24 2006, 07:36 PM

475 posts

hi guyz...

i m using microsoft wireless natural keyboard & mouse set.. how can i clean em??
civic98
post Nov 24 2006, 07:57 PM

1,255 posts

I think most keyboards should be vacuumed periodically since it is new. That will prevent many unwanted situations.. For me, whenever I leave my notebook idle, I'll cover the keyboard with a cloth.
hungheykwun
post Jul 5 2007, 04:52 PM

1,058 posts

where to buy transparent keyboard
civic98
post Jul 5 2007, 07:01 PM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(hungheykwun @ Jul 5 2007, 04:52 PM)
where to buy transparent keyboard
hmm.gif You got a valid question there, since it's transparent, how to find one?? rclxub.gif

Just kidding, but what exactly are you looking for? Transparent keyboard or keyboard cover? I'm not sure about keyboard, but the cover (silicon) for Mac notebooks are available at all Apple resellers. I bought mine about RM60 if I remember correctly, I bought it from MacStudio. I know Machines have them too.
ChopSuey
post Jul 5 2007, 07:01 PM

222 posts

I cleaned the front row of keys. It's where you can
see most of the dust.

Used a cable tie wire to slip under each key and pull
upwards.

- yap

This post has been edited by ChopSuey: Jul 5 2007, 07:03 PM
neji02
post Jul 5 2007, 07:31 PM

60 posts

i never clean my keyboard b4 coz its new.... biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by neji02: Jul 5 2007, 07:32 PM
tingting_88
post Jul 6 2007, 09:42 PM

but i think that 'condom' is not a very good idea too..it keeps the Macbook too warm sad.gif
civic98
post Jul 6 2007, 09:50 PM

1,255 posts

radioactive
post Jul 6 2007, 09:55 PM

1,857 posts

I wash them....hehe. Im using those silicone keyboard.
If u watched die hard 4, u'll notice tht soft keyboard they use at the power plant. same material different model.
tingting_88
post Jul 6 2007, 11:58 PM

I accidentally mixed the silicon cover few weeks ago with my laundry and i washed it with softener without realising it..now it smells good and softer..hehe..easier to type..

As for the heat..sometimes i on my macbook 24 hours or more is it not encouragable?Coz its pretty warm + the silicon cover..
civic98
post Jul 7 2007, 08:29 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(tingting_88 @ Jul 6 2007, 11:58 PM)
I accidentally mixed the silicon cover few weeks ago with my laundry and i washed  it with softener without realising it..now it smells good and softer..hehe..easier to type..

As for the heat..sometimes i on my macbook 24 hours or more is it not encouragable?Coz its pretty warm + the silicon cover..
I wash my silicon cover frequently too, initially it sticks to dust, but after a few washing it gets softer and more resilient to dust. No problems with washing it with soap powder too, haven't tried softener though! sweat.gif
tingting_88
post Jul 7 2007, 09:54 AM

haha..should try then.i left it into the washing machine..but it turned out to be pretty soft.......hehe..
^aMnESiA^
post Jul 7 2007, 11:53 PM

218 posts

the best thing is when ur keyboard is very dirty u cant stand for it d , u better change a new one ..save time and get new keyboard ^^
exentric_nova
post Jul 8 2007, 12:02 AM

I Am Serious
1,702 posts

Just washed it a few month back. Plugged all the keys out and just put it in a baldi with soap for a night. Next day dry it up. Just for fun, even sprayed it black since the old color already too washed out. Nowadays every now and then I just blow the dust away or use my multi-function cloth to clean it up. Do it around once every few days, and you will have a clean keyboard as long as you keep doing it. smile.gif

QUOTE(^aMnESiA^ @ Jul 7 2007, 11:53 PM)
the best thing is when ur keyboard is very dirty u cant stand for it d , u better change a new one ..save time and get new keyboard ^^
Well the thing is for my keyboard, it has somehow a different keyboard layout. its somewhat ergonomic kinda type where they keys are pointy towards the middle. Once you're used to it, its really hard to be used to normal ones (Same goes the other way around since my friends does have some trouble using it. sweat.gif). Plus, I love my keyboard. Won't even change if someone gave me a G15 or Tarantula. tongue.gif
tingting_88
post Jul 8 2007, 12:40 AM

QUOTE(^aMnESiA^ @ Jul 7 2007, 11:53 PM)
that applies to normal keyboard..how about Laptop??!!my MacBook's keyboard is turning yellowish!
civic98
post Jul 8 2007, 09:03 AM

1,255 posts

QUOTE(tingting_88 @ Jul 8 2007, 12:40 AM)
that applies to normal keyboard..how about Laptop??!!my MacBook's keyboard is turning yellowish!
Change your notebook then nod.gif

Best excuse so far to get a new notebook, your keyboard is yellowish thumbup.gif

But then I never heard of any Macbook keyboard turning yellowish, how old is your Macbook? You could clean it with a little detergent, or toothpaste. Or else get those Macbook cleaning kits that comes with cloth, detergent etc...

If you dont travel a lot, use external keyboard. And better still external monitor as well.

This post has been edited by civic98: Jul 8 2007, 09:04 AM
tingting_88
post Jul 8 2007, 09:12 AM

haha but its just dirt and sweat that make it so..can be removed easily..
singleguy
post Jul 8 2007, 12:39 PM

relax lah!
1,090 posts

hello mbp users. hope can enlight me abit. As we all know, the MBP is kinda hot when being used intensively. So where are the main ventilation openings?
Currently im using a silicon cover on my keyboard, so will this cover the ventilation points?

THANKS
jazzebelle_jazz
post Jul 8 2007, 12:49 PM

**boo boo**
1,484 posts

QUOTE(wei @ Nov 9 2006, 09:50 AM)
drool.gif this one look nice,i wonder do they have it for laptop keyboard? brows.gif
tingting_88
post Jul 8 2007, 01:06 PM

QUOTE(jazzebelle_jazz @ Jul 8 2007, 12:49 PM)
drool.gif this one look nice,i wonder do they have it for laptop keyboard? brows.gif
yaya there is for laptop..i bought one for my macbook around RM80
lokgotz
post Jul 8 2007, 03:20 PM

hehehe
2,657 posts

QUOTE(civic98 @ Jul 8 2007, 09:03 AM)
Change your notebook then  nod.gif

Best excuse so far to get a new notebook, your keyboard is yellowish  thumbup.gif

But then I never heard of any Macbook keyboard turning yellowish, how old is your Macbook? You could clean it with a little detergent, or toothpaste. Or else get those Macbook cleaning kits that comes with cloth, detergent etc...

If you dont travel a lot, use external keyboard. And better still external monitor as well.
you've never seen my macbook.....heheh....

it's no longer white...it's errmm...yellow......

tried taking pictures but pictures just dont show the yellowness of it......

my mb is already 1 year and 1 month.....
hungheykwun
post Jul 10 2007, 10:47 AM

1,058 posts

no wo...the logisys transparent keyboard... i want....
rajulkabir
post Jul 11 2007, 01:08 AM

1,428 posts

QUOTE(tingting_88 @ Jul 8 2007, 12:40 AM)
I clean mine with window cleaner and paper towel, works fine. Just don't get it too wet - spray the window cleaner on the paper towel, and not directly on the keyboard.
bryanyz
post Jul 11 2007, 02:01 AM

292 posts

QUOTE(tingting_88 @ Jul 8 2007, 01:06 PM)
yaya there is for laptop..i bought one for my macbook around RM80
how come ur 1 so expensive? i got my 1 at rm35 tongue.gif

Added on July 11, 2007, 2:05 am
QUOTE(wei @ Nov 9 2006, 07:31 PM)
I got it from singapore apple store. I've used to it after 1 year+ of usage. When I first apply it, it does felt a bit odd. As the keyboard doesn't give me the "hard" & "tap tap" sound as i type. But I don't felt it's difficult to type.

Get those good one, it won't be thick like those handphone condom. Also should look for those that cover the whole keyboard top face, including the side (transparent part), so dust cant slip in.
i'm using the "condom" same as ur 1, but the "condom" will stick a lot of dust on it..
so after two years of using it, i got wash it every few months, but my keyboard still become dirty..
but not yellowish la...

This post has been edited by bryanyz: Jul 11 2007, 02:05 AM
goodiefish
post Aug 25 2007, 02:38 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(kokyun @ Nov 9 2006, 03:21 AM)
then u should use ruler

to plug all keys out

once done, oh my, i cant believe it, it is so dirty inside, i bought my mac last 2 years ago and i have never clean it, until i found a guide on internet.

Can plug out the Microsoft keyboard (like in the link below) with ruler ar?
i don't want to wreck the whole thing for such an expensive keyboard.
any else more effective?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Image:MS_Natu...eyboard_Pro.JPG
xaw5126
post Aug 25 2007, 03:34 PM

3,488 posts

i did it for my MS Natural Keyboard
was a pain in the butt, cos I got some keys wrong... please be very very careful
if you want to do it, take care with the blue buttons on the top, mine didn't have those.
also make sure you get all the electronics perfect smile.gif
TechnoDude94
post Aug 25 2007, 06:41 PM

Happiness Advocate
6,738 posts

Can do for Logitech G15?
Polaris
post Aug 31 2007, 04:16 PM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

Noob question, is the New Apple Keyboard (rm199) compatible with a windows computer?
mono_demon
post Aug 31 2007, 04:27 PM

Cibo
1,458 posts

heres my guide to clean the keyboard the simplest way..

1. flip the keyboard
2. smash it as hard as u want
3. laugh loudly

User61
post Aug 31 2007, 10:32 PM

218 posts

Polaris: Yes. I'm using it right now on my dell laptop. I got it from singapore around RM179. SGD78. Apple stuffs in Malaysia are horribly overpriced.

But I foresee a problem cleaning the new keyboard. It has very shallow keys and I don't know if it can actually be detached to be cleaned. My old apple keyboard became quite dirty after 2 years and I could pry every key and clean it but I have reservations about this new keyboard. =/ Make sure you wash your hands every time before you use it!

This post has been edited by User61: Aug 31 2007, 10:39 PM
jaxon4sure
post Sep 4 2007, 01:08 AM

33 posts

Yea.. I do clean it usually.. Cause im not using the keyboard "condom" coz its rerally fukdup when typing.
wei
post Sep 4 2007, 09:57 AM

6,496 posts

Funny, nut mine work nicely. It doesn't stick dust or dirt. Ofcourse, those that fall on it & left in the gap are different story. Maybe it's "imitation" product from China? laugh.gif

My NDSL condom does stick dust, which irritate me... grr... cheap for a reason i think.
goodiefish
post Sep 12 2007, 10:39 PM

114 posts

OK. i plug out and cleaned my Microsoft Natural Keyboard. A lot of dust collected esp bottom row. When i take out the spacebar key i noticed there's grease at the two steel at the side of it. Since it's also coated with dust. i wipe it off. Then i applied new grease and put it back. But now it's very difficult to hit with the thumb. before i only need to tap it lightly. anyone know where else should i apply the grease. now i cant even worked with the damn thing, have to press the space bar like twice every time. who got experience cleaning microsoft natural keyboard?

Added on September 13, 2007, 3:38 pmuhh... never mind. Problem solved. Not grease prob but the metal clip not inserted properly

http://members.aol.com/bjelen8875/keyboard.html

This post has been edited by goodiefish: Sep 13 2007, 03:38 PM

0.0303sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:25 AM