14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Bottom

PROTON - VW wow!, It's still on suckers!!

sqwerk2
post May 31 2007, 09:35 PM

The Big One
1,799 posts

personally, i dun think proton can compare with perodua. proton is manufacturing their own cars now and perodua is still mostly re badging for toyota or daihatsu. naza? please, they are nothing but juz a big photocopy of kia. they are a reason kia can earn more by franchising to naza to re badge for them instead of building a plant here.

but back to the main point, it is the government's stupid ego, wait, they are juz plain stupid. knowign that the company is losing money anually, they should have sold it long ago. vw, is offering for the whole company and they can still reject it. juz plain stupid.
CooShyRee
post May 31 2007, 10:01 PM

The mad italian scorpions!!
3,806 posts

QUOTE(sqwerk2 @ May 31 2007, 09:35 PM)
personally, i dun think proton can compare with perodua. proton is manufacturing their own cars now and perodua is still mostly re badging for toyota or daihatsu. naza? please, they are nothing but juz a big photocopy of kia. they are a reason kia can earn more by franchising to naza to re badge for them instead of building a plant here.
i agree wit u on this.. perodua is juz like proton few yrs back.. naza?? pls dont get me started wit naza... theyre juz nutin but rubbish.. kinda makes me wonder though, wat they wanna do wit proton if they bought it?? i bet theyre juz gonna continue producing kia's, juz like they do now.. no difference..
Chester
post May 31 2007, 10:04 PM

2,380 posts

hope proton have no choice but to sell their car cheaply. den i buy brows.gif
paanjang16
post May 31 2007, 10:27 PM

335 posts

A big Wira sale leading up to the Gen2 sedan launch laugh.gif

Btw, here's the news on Paul Tan

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/31/pro...cial-year-2006/

I have decided, since Volkswagen is not interested in the proposal that Proton wants in terms of equity, Proton needs to talk to other people," commented our Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi,

Who other ppl will P1 talk to? There's practically no one left to talk to.

Toyota? They have P2
Kia? They have Naza
Hyundai? The have Sime-Darby and Hicom with thier INOKOM plant.
Honda? They already have a plant at Thailand (and the Proton syndrome already, so no need to bother expanding w/o checking your own QC first)
Mercedes, BMW? Not interested in ordinary car market. Also after the Chrysler breakup Mercedes is not interest.
Peugeot? They have Naza
Chrysler? After the breakup with mercedes, they are concentrating on the US market
Fiat? Totally unheard off and not enough sales to justify them coming here
Mitsubishi? After the bad experience with them, could either sides mend the fences?
Nissan/Renault? They already have Tan Chong Motors.

The only company left could be GM, Citroen (after the big Tiara failure, maybe not) or at the last resort a China car company like Chery. But even China car company also dun want after we turned off Geely to Indon.

Besides, all those companies have been observing the Volks Proton talks for so long, they would have learned which ace cards to play already. If we signed the FTA then there is a chance Ford or GM will come in. Otherwise they won't waste their time here.

Haih, no more cheap Golf GTI. No more Passat as Perdana replacement model. Why we always get all the lousy cars wan cry.gif
Gurdian
post May 31 2007, 10:32 PM

1,648 posts

Man, there are just so many spoiled kids running our car industry...
michaelconan
post May 31 2007, 10:36 PM

315 posts

haha, most malaysian is hoping Proton to die fast due to the quality of their cars, haiz, they should let go, so government no need spend most of our income tax a, government bond, to paid their loses. sweat.gif

Somehow i will support Perodua more than Proton, although their cars are small, but reliable and more quality proved than Proton.. laugh.gif
Chyan
post May 31 2007, 10:37 PM

4,222 posts

proton bleeding non stop.........sigh......
Gurdian
post May 31 2007, 10:40 PM

1,648 posts

Our Government treats Proton like an ex-girlfriend.

Proton: It won't last. I'm sorry. It's just not working out anymore.

Government: NO! I won't give up on you! Die die oso I will do my best, even if it kills me! I WILL NEVER LET YOU GOOOOOOO
kev da man
post May 31 2007, 10:40 PM

super lurker
15,278 posts

where's miss hypermount?
travis_ckf
post Jun 1 2007, 04:58 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

QUOTE(kev da man @ May 31 2007, 10:40 PM)
where's miss hypermount?
Maybe she busy in cupid corner or girl's club. tongue.gif
SUSCoupeFan
post Jun 1 2007, 08:15 AM

Peace to be upon you!.. two hands up
36 posts

GG to proton
m|ng
post Jun 1 2007, 08:46 AM

U want a piece of me?!
1,863 posts

So hypermount still has his birdie attached?

As quoted from him
"Im all for the take, if it fails I will cut off my d1ck"

any one can confirm?
leowhy
post Jun 1 2007, 09:00 AM

...P3Nguin PoW3R...
1,844 posts

QUOTE(m|ng @ Jun 1 2007, 08:46 AM)
So hypermount still has his birdie attached?

As quoted from him
"Im all for the take, if it fails I will cut off my d1ck"

any one can confirm?
shhhhhhhh..... not good li tat u know... whistling.gif
tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif
kevinlim001
post Jun 1 2007, 09:05 AM

Ethical Hacker
6,142 posts

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ May 31 2007, 10:27 PM)
A big Wira sale leading up to the Gen2 sedan launch laugh.gif

Btw, here's the news on Paul Tan

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/31/pro...cial-year-2006/
Who other ppl will P1 talk to? There's practically no one left to talk to.

Toyota? They have P2
Kia? They have Naza
Hyundai? The have Sime-Darby and Hicom with thier INOKOM plant.
Honda? They already have a plant at Thailand (and the Proton syndrome already, so no need to bother expanding w/o checking your own QC first)
Mercedes, BMW? Not interested in ordinary car market. Also after the Chrysler breakup Mercedes is not interest.
Peugeot? They have Naza
Chrysler? After the breakup with mercedes, they are concentrating on the US market
Fiat? Totally unheard off and not enough sales to justify them coming here
Mitsubishi? After the bad experience with them, could either sides mend the fences?
Nissan/Renault? They already have Tan Chong Motors.

The only company left could be GM, Citroen (after the big Tiara failure, maybe not) or at the last resort a China car company like Chery. But even China car company also dun want after we turned off Geely to Indon.

Besides, all those companies have been observing the Volks Proton talks for so long, they would have learned which ace cards to play already. If we signed the FTA then there is a chance Ford or GM will come in. Otherwise they won't waste their time here.

Haih, no more cheap Golf GTI. No more Passat as Perdana replacement model. Why we always get all the lousy cars wan cry.gif
Same old saying who would buy sth that u can cant have the power to manage? I propose new car propose new marketing strategy the have to go over proton management while i already bought the company by owning larger share. I guess there wont b second company who bought another company over million but sold it with only RM1!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
ammar
post Jun 1 2007, 10:00 AM

~:"(1)":~
2,090 posts

there goes gti for proton . sad.gif
Vanquish
post Jun 1 2007, 10:01 AM

F.U.B.A.R.
2,115 posts

Latest news ripped from Bernama and Paultan:

Proton has posted it's fourth straight quarterly loss amounting to RM11.8 million (pre-tax) for the first three months of 2007, compared to a profit of RM129.9 million ringgit during the first three months of 2006.

For the full fiscal year of 2006, Proton has lost a total of RM619.9 million ringgit (pre-tax), compared to a net profit of RM46.7 million ringgit during the 2005 period. Revenue for 2006 dropped 37% to RM4.92 billion.

Proton says this is because of weak sales, which plummetted 40% down from 183,824 units to 110,358 units, however it has measures in place to try to improve sales with two more new models to be launched this year. Proton says these two cars are potentially high volume cars, which will give Proton it's much-needed sales boost.

In the exports department, Proton exported 20,595 during the 2006 financial year, almost double from the 12,526 units in the previous financial year.

"They have to turn around. They cannot be going on making losses. They have to do whatever they think is necessary. I have decided, since Volkswagen is not interested in the proposal that Proton wants in terms of equity, Proton needs to talk to other people," commented our Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi, giving more weight to the previous news that Volkswagen has decided to locate it's plant in Indonesia.

Speaking of Indonesia, Proton Holdings Bhd and Tracoma Holdings Bhd has extended their acquisition exercise, giving more time for Proton to acquire PT Proton Tracoma Motors at RM340 million.
I think it's time that hypermount cut his genitals off...

Source

This post has been edited by Vanquish: Jun 1 2007, 10:02 AM
TShypermount
post Jun 4 2007, 11:36 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

Malaysia may cede control over Proton carmaking unit

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia's government is considering ceding control of Proton Holdings' carmaking unit in order to attract a partner, after talks with companies including Volkswagen failed to produce an alliance.

General Motors, Volkswagen and Malaysian car assemblers are "in the picture" for an alliance, Azman Mokhtar, who is managing director of Khazanah Nasional, the state-owned investment unit that owns 43 percent of Proton, said Friday.

Volkswagen ended plans to buy a stake in Proton, which is unprofitable, the government said.

Proton, which a decade ago sold 6 out of 10 cars in Malaysia, needs help to develop technology and new models after losing half its market share to competitors. The government said Friday that it will not bail out the company and that it will decide the fate of the maker of Waja cars within three months.

"The decision has to be made on a business basis, on a commercial basis, no politics," said Tan Teng Boo, who oversees about $177 million in assets at Capital Dynamics Asset Management in Kuala Lumpur. "Whether it's cutting jobs, getting a partner, chopping heads, we have to do whatever it is to make it a viable business entity."

The Malaysian government has been searching for a partner for Proton since an alliance with Mitsubishi Motors ended in 2004. The government missed a self-imposed March deadline to strike a deal for Proton, which last week reported its first annual loss in at least 17 years.

"We need a strategic alliance," Azman said. "We are willing to look at control of certain parts of the business. It may be not just permissible, it may actually be desirable, in the area of, for example, the manufacturing side."

Foreign control of Proton's carmaking unit may change the identity of a company set up in 1983 by Mahathir bin Mohamad, then the prime minister, as an emblem of national manufacturing. Protons, still favored by taxi drivers across the country, are among the cheapest cars in Malaysia.

"We will be happy to share and work on collaborative models in terms of the management, to bring in scale, to bring in technology, but also not to disregard the considerable local capability built over the last 20 years," Azman said.

Control of Proton's manufacturing unit, based in Tanjong Malim, may cost about 900 million ringgit, or $265 million, analysts including Chong Lee Len at Hwang-DBS Vickers Research in Kuala Lumpur have said.

Proton's market share in Malaysia fell to 32 percent in 2006 from 40 percent a year earlier, as it lost market share to Toyota. Its cash on hand fell 34 percent in the 12 months to March 31, to 461 million ringgit.

The second finance minister, Nor Mohamed Yakcop, said Friday that Volkswagen is no longer interested in a stake in Proton. The government will find other suitors and will consider "anything," he said.

"It's disappointing," said Wan Azhar Mustapha, an analyst at OSK Research in Kuala Lumpur, who has a "neutral" rating on Proton stock. "It could be another lengthy wait."

Local companies including the closely held Naza Group, which assembles and sells Kia vehicles, and DRB-Hicom, which assembles cars for Honda and Suzuki, have also indicated interest in Proton.

"Volkswagen doesn't view the talks with the Malaysian government and Proton as ended," said Andreas Meurer, a Volkswagen spokesman. "Right now a further round of talks is being planned for the near future."

This year will be "challenging," the state-owned automaker said after posting a 40 percent decline in annual car sales.

KUALA LUMPUR (XFN-ASIA) - Officials from both Khazanah Nasional Bhd and the government will meet with representatives from Volkswagen AG next week regarding the possible strategic alliance

between the German carmaker and Proton, the Edge Weekly reported.

On Friday, Khazanah managing director Azman Mokhtar said Proton is still in talks with Volkswagen and a meeting will be set up soon between Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi and Volkswagen officials.

An official with the Prime Minister's Office also confirmed that Volkswagen had requested a final round of talks with Abdullah.

This follows Abdullah's earlier statement that Volkswagen is not interested in a proposal raised by Proton, which involves an equity participation arrangement.

Citing unnamed sources, the business weekly said there are factions with their own interests who have been trying to influence the decision-making process.

The Prime Minister may have been misinformed about the status of negotiations, according to the report.

Separately, the Edge Financial Daily reported that Proton had invited Malaysian Airline System Bhd's managing director Idris to share his experience in MAS' turnaround to the ailing carmaker's senior executives two weeks ago.

However, the newspaper said that Idris has not become a consultant to Proton.

"It is one government-linked company sharing its formula with another," the paper quoted a source as saying.
travis_ckf
post Jun 5 2007, 12:18 AM

ambitious but rubbish......
6,413 posts

In conclusion hypermount's little brother is spared again for this moment. whistling.gif
SUSDrifter
post Jun 5 2007, 01:32 PM

1,349 posts

ur penis is safe
allenultra
post Jun 30 2007, 10:16 AM

9,027 posts

14 Pages « < 11 12 13 14 >Top