PROTON - VW wow!, It's still on suckers!!

SUSDrifter
post Apr 2 2007, 09:07 AM

1,349 posts

proton gave discount of about 10K for the Saga LMST. the step was so successful, it created a 3 months waiting list.

now Proton do the same thing, giving 10K discounts to the Wira 1.5 normal spec as well as Special Edition. the price now are below 40K, which is as much as a Myvi 1.0.

but,

are they worth buying at that kind of price?

Naza also are giving huge discounts for the Sorento CRDI, now selling at 115K. its the cheapest SUV in Malaysia. but is it worth buying
SUSDrifter
post Apr 2 2007, 09:09 AM

1,349 posts

PM to meet Volkswagen over Proton

KUALA LUMPUR: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi is expected to meet top officials from Volkswagen over the future of national automaker Proton, a senior official said.

"A high-level meeting is expected soon. It is being arranged," the official who is familiar with the talks on a possible tie-up said yesterday.

The official, speaking on condition of anonymity, said the meeting would take place here.

Abdullah has said Malaysia may allow Volkswagen to gain a controlling stake in Proton, a move that would help improve the fortunes of the company.

The planned meeting comes as Malaysia missed a Saturday deadline to name a strategic partner for Proton, whose controlling shareholder is state investment arm Khazanah Nasional, which holds a 42.7% stake. - AFP

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...4159&sec=nation
SUSDrifter
post Apr 2 2007, 10:51 AM

1,349 posts

my toilet rosak lar PM
SUSDrifter
post Apr 7 2007, 07:35 PM

1,349 posts

any update???
SUSDrifter
post Apr 10 2007, 09:29 AM

1,349 posts

VW chief yet to turn up for Proton partnership talks

By JANE RITIKOS

KUALA LUMPUR: Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said yesterday that he could not be "waiting forever" for the Volkswagen chairman to meet him to discuss the possible partnership with Proton.

He said he was informed that the Volkswagen chairman had wanted to meet him here, so he waited for a while to meet him.

"I have not seen him yet," he said. "I don't think I can wait too long."

The Prime Minister, however, declined to say how long he was willing to wait for the Volkswagen chief. "I will not tell you when, you just wait."

Abdullah recently said the Government was considering allowing the German carmaker gain a controlling stake in the national carmaker.

A March 31 deadline by the Government to decide on a strategic partner for Proton was not met.

On the proposal to get bloggers in the country to register with the authorities, Abdullah said this needed careful study to ensure such a ruling could be implemented.

He said the registration of bloggers was not a policy at the moment.

Deputy Energy, Water and Communications Minister Datuk Shaziman Abu Mansor recently said in Parliament that bloggers using locally hosted websites might be asked to register as one way to prevent the spread of negative or malicious content on the Internet.

Abdullah also said that he was aware that many people were unhappy with the activities of bloggers who spread "fairy tales".

On whether there would be a new law to govern bloggers, he said that there were already laws in existence to deal with the spread of false information.

On another matter, Abdullah said the Government was waiting for feedback from Saudi Arabia on the difficulties faced by Malaysians in obtaining visas to perform their umrah.

A daily had reported that the Saudi move to tighten visa requirements had affected more than 1,000 Malaysians.

On the Japan Times report that implicated Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud in a scandal allegedly involving RM32mil in kickbacks paid by Japanese shipping companies for timber from Sarawak, Abdullah said he was not aware of such a matter.

http://www.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...=nation&focus=1
SUSDrifter
post Apr 10 2007, 10:02 AM

1,349 posts

PROTON needs VW more than VW needs proton

abt the cititel, wan to donate ah for the 'fee'

This post has been edited by Drifter: Apr 10 2007, 12:28 PM
SUSDrifter
post Apr 14 2007, 05:00 AM

1,349 posts

13-04-2007: No new deadline for Proton to find new partner, says Yakcop
By Kevin Tan
Email us your feedback at fd@bizedge.com

The government has not set a new timeframe for Proton Holdings Bhd to find a new strategic partner after the previous deadline lapsed on March 31, Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop said.

It also had not fixed a date for talks with German carmaker Volkswagen AG to discuss its possible tie-up with Proton, he said.

He was speaking to reporters after launching UEM Group Bhd's leadership centre and new logo in Petaling Jaya on April 13.

UEM Group Bhd chairman Tan Sri Dr Ahmad Tajuddin Ali (left) with Second Finance Minister Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop officially launcing the UEM Leadership Centre and new UEM Logo in Petaling Jaya
Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi had been reported as saying that he has not met Volkswagen chairman Ferdinand Piech yet to discuss the German automaker's possible participation in Proton.

"I don't think I can wait too long," he was quoted as saying.

The government, which holds a 43% interest in Proton via its investment arm, Khazanah Nasional Bhd, has stressed the need for foreign expertise to revitalise Proton.

http://www.theedgedaily.com/cms/content.js...c8b500-ba3007b5
SUSDrifter
post Apr 15 2007, 08:15 AM

1,349 posts

huh, VW needs lotus for save-our-world-from-global-warming syndrome?
SUSDrifter
post Apr 15 2007, 09:52 AM

1,349 posts

btw, today f1 wat time ah? got show of FTA tv?
SUSDrifter
post Apr 17 2007, 09:00 PM

1,349 posts

proton has it
SUSDrifter
post May 28 2007, 03:06 PM

1,349 posts

A piece of news by Edmunds Inside Line carries some very bad news. Edmunds picked up the story of the government saying it will not be providing any financial bailout to Proton, whose cash reserves are expected to be depleted by early 2009 or so. What Edmunds has added on is what it's heard from some government officials of Indonesia in Jakarta.

Edmunds reports that Volkswagen has abandoned Proton tie-up plans altogether, and will be looking at establishing a regional assembly plant in Indonesia instead, or tie-up with a local assembly partner in Indonesia.

Whichever it is, it looks like another Geely tragedy has happened - the NAP has chased away another potential investor to Indonesia. If what Edmunds says is true, the only way for Proton to partner up with Volkswagen somehow is jointly operating the PT Proton Tracoma plant in Indonesia. Perhaps that is why Proton bought out all 100% of PT Proton Tracoma shares back in January 2007?

Of course, the Edmunds article mentions no concrete sources, so we just have to hope, and hope, and hope... that something good will come out of all of this.

http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/28/vol...onesia-instead/
SUSDrifter
post May 28 2007, 04:52 PM

1,349 posts

we still going to have MISS hypermount.bet she is hiding now
SUSDrifter
post May 29 2007, 09:04 AM

1,349 posts

QUOTE(hk_loo @ May 28 2007, 09:16 PM)
so when and where will be the 'cut off' process held ?
QUOTE(travis_ckf @ May 28 2007, 09:21 PM)
It will be extremely hard for Proton to come out a new platform for a new car. The supermini segment is well conquered by the myvi and viva and the savvy isnt doing well. It was mentioned that they plan to have the waja chassis to create a new MPV but till date it is not heard until today.

With the shrinking car market and the markets only wants small cars which is well conquered by perodua and toyota, doesnt seem proton can do much now. Deaths await Proton!
no, unless the "saviour" gives up

QUOTE(kevinlim001 @ May 28 2007, 09:45 PM)
I dun understand y Malaysia (not malaysian) are still holding the proton? 51% with the control still with Proton not VW? Who will deal that? Spending millions to buy something that u cant control??! Poor management first, R&D second dunno doing wat there? Since u cant improve the old model to make the market gain trust useless u promote new fancy model. Malaysia already lose trust to it. Even proton driver buying their new car already set in mind that the car sure will give problem. The only factor that proton still can be in the market is becos of the PRICE! But sooner or later it will b taken by Perodua. Another thing is Lotus. They bought it but wat they got from it?

Its time to let go.. keep the brand but forget abt the local management. Looking forward wat VW can bring to Malaysian.
"national pride"

QUOTE(paanjang16 @ May 28 2007, 10:13 PM)
I think as Proton is now facing the tough challenges of adulthood at the worst possible times. Let's see:-
1) Your competition has better technology than you
2) Brand loyalty is very low
3) Fuel price increase = ppl buy less cars or smaller cars
4) Your competitors can make cheaper cars at better quality than you
5) Your daddy says that since you're an adult you have to fend for yourself
6) your sister got married off and is doing wayyyyy better than you can ever imagine with her rich husband.
7) Your step brother is doing very well coz he has good networking skills
8) You got no extra product lines to speak off (like MPVs and SUVs) except cars
9) No one wants to be friends with you unless you own up your mistakes and do them back a favor
10) Your daddy's policies are not helping you at all.
11) Made some expensive mistakes like buying for $$$ and selling for 1 Euro
12) Didn't utilize Lotus to its full potential
13) Struggling to catch up with your competitors and your sister with new models

I could go on and on. But at the end of the day P1 need nothing more than a miracle.
no need miracle, jz ask money from goverment
SUSDrifter
post May 29 2007, 10:15 AM

1,349 posts

mana our missy?
SUSDrifter
post Jun 5 2007, 01:32 PM

1,349 posts

ur penis is safe