Discussion best captain in EPL?, who do you think?

boxsystem
post Jan 10 2007, 08:22 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(williamlee_1985 @ Jan 5 2007, 10:41 AM)
ur voting him the best just because of one game?

anyway he is one of the best, alongside gerrard and currently gilberto too.

he did awesomely well since taking over the armband as henry was injured.

score many goals as well
i would say stevie g. altho i kindda fancy gilberto too. he did a good job in the absence of henry.
boxsystem
post Jan 20 2008, 12:52 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(shah_ho_nam2 @ Jan 20 2008, 01:56 AM)
yeah i would say terry is the best defender in his class... remember about AF said.. keep away your ball from terry
I don't think so. Terry being a punk more than a leader. What about taking the card from the ref's hand? Yes, if you're a captain, you must defend your subordinates. But taking the card from the ref is just too much. The best defender? Try beat Carragher, Ferdinand and Gallas first. Hell, put Vidic in as well. He is way way way better than your Terry.

As for the best captain at the moment, I would say yes to Gerrard. He lifts up the morale of the whole team. Rooney has the same characteristics but he is far far away from taking over the captaincy.
boxsystem
post Jan 21 2008, 12:42 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(taor3n @ Jan 21 2008, 12:25 AM)
huh?..owh plz...u wana compare defenders?....plz put terry in ur eye b4 u say so...other than cannavaro and nesta , i dun c any defender can outclass terry at this moment...
please put maldini, gallas, ferdinand, carragher and vidic. they are far far far better than terry is.
boxsystem
post Jan 21 2008, 01:10 AM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(taor3n @ Jan 21 2008, 12:55 AM)
....far far better?...yea u wish...
some people won't just accept the truth ... whistling.gif just compare the current form of your so-called best defender with any of the names that I've mentioned in the previous post. How's that for a finding? sweat.gif
boxsystem
post Jun 5 2008, 10:09 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

best would be Viera and Keane. Those two are very class. Gerrard is good as well but he's not in the same the league as those previous two.
boxsystem
post Jun 6 2008, 03:07 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 6 2008, 01:20 PM)
Personally I would object to your opinion on Gerrard being in a different league from Viera. He leads by example and have time and time again dragged Liverpool back from the brink of defeat (West Ham - FA Cup Final, Qlympiocos - Champions League, AC Milan - Istanbul, etc). In Istanbul he gave an inspired half time talk and after scoring the first goal, he could be seen waving his hands about urging the players and the crowd to pick the pace up.
Probably makes more impact on Liverpool fans but what the hell? Just providing my reason. It's just one example lah of course. I've read his biography but don't want to repeat everything here.

I would not compare him at the moment to Roy Keane simply because Keane's game improved later in his career as did his influence. Gerrard is approaching his late 20's and still has a number of years ahead of him. It would be like comparing him to Emlyn Hughes or Greame Souness at the moment. His story has yet to come to an end.

Again, this is just my opinion, I'm not saying it's right.
Everyone is entitled to his own opinion. No doubt, Gerrard is one of the best. Heck, he should get the armband for England. But when I meant that he's different, you can clearly see the intense rivalry between Keane and Viera and how they would like to knock each other out. You can see Keane is being a mean bad-a** with every other single team that is not United. Viera does that too.

Simplest word, not my teammates hence my enemy. Gerrard doesn't think it that way.

Enlighten me if I'm wrong. smile.gif
boxsystem
post Jun 6 2008, 03:44 PM

Legend
1,573 posts

QUOTE(Duke Red @ Jun 6 2008, 03:19 PM)
My first impression when you mentioned that they weren't in the same league was that Gerrard was not in their class, hence my reply. Viera and Keane clearly do not like one another. The tunnel scene is evident of that. It depends on what qualities you want in a captain I suppose. You have your bad ass types, you have your cool, calm types and so on. Bryan Robson was a good captain but he didn't go around kicking the opposition about. Gerrard was a bit of a prick in his earlier days but has since adopted a more controlled temperament. If you're suggesting that the rivalry between Keane and Viera is in a different class as compared to Gerrard and player X, then I'd agree. I do not however think that Gerrard is any less influential.
Gerrard is influential. Heck, we can see that. One saying he's not then one must be thick. Credit is given where it's due. Gerrard pawns Neville in captaincy. But in being a bad ass type, he can't compete with the two I mentioned. And yes, they do hate each other but I would say that Keane just hates everybody. We knew the case of Haarland, don't we? Albeit, at the same time, Keane can be so diplomatic.

This post has been edited by boxsystem: Jun 6 2008, 03:45 PM

0.0515sec    1.18    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:11 AM