Recommendation for Credit Cards V3, Please post according to Format stated.
Davidtcf
Oct 8 2015, 10:18 AM
guys, which is the best visa/mastercard in market now?
currently using Amex Maybankcard 2 card also.. should i stop using it? the points value deduction by half really seems like a lot. Then they removed the cashback also - only applies to dining now.
This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Oct 8 2015, 10:18 AM
Davidtcf
Oct 8 2015, 10:37 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 8 2015, 10:30 AM) Have a good read on first post and use the template in second post to post your details here.  Ok. As requested: 1. Annual Income: RM50+k 2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must 3. Card required for: A Visa/Master to accompany my existing Amex Maybank 2 Card. If the points seems like little after 1-2 years of usage I might end up not using it later on (after the stupid points halving this year) 4. Existing credit cards if any: Amex Maybank 2 Card, Aeon Visa (don't like this card due to poor customer service and sucky website - can't change due date of card also.. all credit cards like this? activate already can't change the bill cycle??) 5. Looking at CC from: ?? not sure.
Davidtcf
Oct 8 2015, 10:49 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 8 2015, 10:41 AM) You prefer points than cash rebate? What is the purpose of this Visa/MasterCard for? To pay for what sort of payments? hmmm.. not sure.. if points then make sure need to give a lot of points, with good redeeming system (like maybank prev).. if cashback then if can as high as possible. Either one also ok as long it's strong.
Davidtcf
Oct 8 2015, 11:17 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 8 2015, 10:51 AM) Then, you need to list out your usage again. Like for petrol, dining, groceries, travel (PPL) and etc. Petrol i use Amex. the rest i'm thinking to use another card.. coz u know la many merchants nowadays don't accept Amex pun
Davidtcf
Oct 8 2015, 01:40 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Oct 8 2015, 01:36 PM) With RM 60k annual income, I can only think of Wise, UOB One Plat and CIMB CR for groceries. For insurance, you can use Aeon Watami.  There are many other cards that offer cash rebate for petrol.  HLB Wise, Maybank Ikhwan and UOB One Plat. You don't need to stick to that miserable AmEx for petrol...  Honestly, this was being discussed in CIMB CR thread. I must admit I didn't use SI before for all my transactions. I always pay on monthly basis. why u say Amex miserable ah the points now worth very little is it? 5x still.. but point value halved compare to before May 1st this year  the difference a lot ah? sorry my calculation bad
Davidtcf
Oct 15 2015, 08:52 AM
-posted at wrong section-
This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Oct 15 2015, 08:57 AM
Davidtcf
Dec 7 2015, 08:57 AM
HSBC Reward card good? yesterday at pyramid they approached me i hear they explain like very good ony... can't apply for the cash back card as my spending usually less than 2.5k a mth for a card.
so decided to apply for the reward card.. 8X points at mid valley megamall (Any outlets), 5X points at any mall. No annual fee free for life. And it's Visa easily accepted.
15k points can change 1 RM50 Aeon voucher or some other voucher d.. sounds better than Maybank card 40k points for RM50.
This post has been edited by Davidtcf: Dec 7 2015, 08:58 AM
Davidtcf
Dec 9 2015, 02:10 PM
QUOTE(chiahau @ Dec 7 2015, 09:09 AM) 40k points can change to MYR 100, not RM 50. As for reward cards, I usually find them a little misleading. Unless you are a uber high spender ( but there are definitely other cards which are better in terms of accruing points for rewards ) Always believe that cashback is better over reward points but if you feel that you can maximize the HSBC card, go ahead. which card do u think is best for cashback? i don't want any ridiculous requirements like minimum spend RM2.5k please... thanks..
Davidtcf
Dec 22 2015, 10:37 PM
Guys I just got my HSBC visa platinum card (the reward card). But recently stumbled across the thread in this forum.. Kinda worried now. Is it a good points card? Scare of annual fee can't waive also later... Anyone got any good/bad experiences with it?