Recommendation for Credit Cards V3, Please post according to Format stated.

chiahau
post Dec 15 2015, 09:55 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(free666 @ Dec 13 2015, 05:18 PM)
Annual income: 44k

Card required for: collecting travel points in the future.

Currently working in company covering my working expenses, plan to use this card to collect points on these expenses, so can exchange travel tickets in the future.

Any recommends?
If you want to change for air tickets, the best would be M2C 2 Premier but it's a whooping 120k PA or you can pledge FD to get it.

It's truly the best spending : points ratio compared to other major air miles card.

QUOTE(cyang @ Dec 14 2015, 11:05 PM)
1. Annual Income: >100k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes, can be waived within reasonable amount (not 50k. LOL)

3. Card required for: Petrol

4. Existing credit cards if any: Mbb2amex plat, new Aeon Gold, PBB VS, CIMB CB plat, MBB VS (canceling soon), SCB WorldMiles (canceling soon)

5. Looking at CC from: Mbb islamic ikhwan (but only for fri and sat, which I cant really utilize it, most likely every 3-4 days need pump petrol)

Any other card I can fully utilize? Sorry. Am lazy to check all credit card thread to get the details. Hope get some taikor spoon feed me. haha. Thanks in advance.
Fully utilize = MBB Visa Signatures but have epic 50k requirement to waive.

Lesser option : Ikhwan, CIMB Master CR (2%), UOB One ( Weekend 5%, weekdays 2% ), SCB Petrol CB ( But need spend around 888 to get back 33? ), HLB Wise ( Have to plan your budget accurately to fulfill 10 x 50 )
chiahau
post Jan 8 2016, 10:35 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(harizdesu @ Jan 8 2016, 09:50 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM32k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Yes!

3. Existing credit cards (if any): CIMB petronas (petrol only)

4. Card required for: Cashback on shopping and Dining

5. Another question: is there any other CC that is better than CIMB petronas for petrol?
UOB One ( 5% weekend / 2% normal days )

MBB Ikhwan ( 5% Fri / Sat )
chiahau
post Jan 12 2016, 03:12 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Jan 12 2016, 02:16 PM)
Public bank Visa Signature too..
This is a rare card.

Even if you meet requirement, does not mean they'll approve you laugh.gif

I'd go for UOB and CIMB for less fuss.
chiahau
post Jan 15 2016, 01:35 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(jason1986 @ Jan 15 2016, 01:18 PM)
Maybank 2 cards is now useless. No more cash back for amex on weekends except for dining.

Any other cash back cards to recommend?
Plenty but which one suit you?

1. MBB Ikhwan
2. UOB One
3. UOB Vox
4. HLB Mach
5. HLB Wise
6. Aeon Watami
7. Citibank CB Plat
8. MBB VS
9. PBB VS
10. SCB Gold Cash Back

Now you see, if you don't put in your income and use as per the template, how we know which card will suit your usage? laugh.gif
chiahau
post Feb 9 2016, 10:20 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(buahnyior @ Feb 9 2016, 08:03 PM)
1. Annual Income: RM60K to RM70K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must or if the bank allow to waive yearly after reviewing (if it's really that good CC)

3. Card required for: List all your needs (spending as below)
Petrol - 400 monthly
Insurance - 450 Monthly
Car Maintenance - 1500 yearly
Dining - 300 a month
Utilities - TNB 400 a monthly, UNIFI 300 monthly, Maxis 300 monthly
Groceries on weekend about 200-300 per month.

Required : Looking mainly for Cash Back/Rebate Card

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil.

5. Looking at CC from: Maybank /CIMB/ Citibank and open to others
Free for life option :

1. MBB Ikhwan - 5% for Petrol and Groceries during Fridays / Saturdays.

2. MBB 2 cards - 5% for Dining on Sat/Sun

Not-so-free option :

1. MBB Visa Signatures ( 70k PA ) - 5% for petrol and groceries all day long. ( Note that AF : 500 is waive-able upon spending of 50k PA. )

2. HLB Wise - Quite hard to explain but can cover most of your needs if you plan your swipes. ( 50 swipes * 10 per month + AF of 180 ( so far not much report of waivers ) ) Please head to the Wise thread for more information.

3. UOB One - 5% petrol on weekends. 2% on weekdays. ( AF free for 1st 2 years, after that it's probably a useless card )

4. UOB Vox - For online utilities payment of your TNB and Unifi ( 5% off )

5. Aeon Watami - 3% quarterly rebate for anything except ( Petrol ).

6. Standard Chartered Cash Back Gold - Tiered Cashback but achieving RM 888 per month would get your an effective 3% CB. There's T&C to this so please head to the SC thread for more info.

Overall -

There's no one card to cover all. You need multiple cards.

1. Aeon Watami to cover for insurance and car maintenance.

2. Groceries/Petrol on MBB Ikhwan / VS

3. Utilities on UOB Vox.

4. Dining on MBB 2 cards if you want.
chiahau
post Feb 10 2016, 12:34 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(buahnyior @ Feb 10 2016, 12:29 PM)
Thank for your swift reply.

Im considering MBB 2 card platinum and MBB Ikhwan. is it okay?
Apply Ikhwan 1st.

Coz approval rates for Ikhwan is very bad.

And you don't have cover for your insurance if you don't get watami.
chiahau
post Feb 17 2016, 09:27 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Feb 16 2016, 06:20 PM)
There's a reason why I didn't really like aeon...
If you want the best cashback, listen to fellow experts here tongue.gif

You might not like the bank/institute, but as long as you're getting back your $$, why not right?

QUOTE(laymank @ Feb 17 2016, 12:48 AM)
truth be told, I don't like it, too.
But I don't want to go against the cash that I received from using the card.

it's your choice lah, bro.
Cash > personal preferences tongue.gif

Probably why I'm still on a CB card that cost MYR 500 AF if you don't spend 50k per annum doh.gif
chiahau
post Feb 17 2016, 09:45 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(ghodul @ Feb 17 2016, 09:35 AM)
I've tried to look the details about AEON cards at ringgitplus. It seems like its not really suitable for 0% EPP. Because my usage is usually for that...
I don't really condone 0% EPP coz people will usually buy things they can't afford with it....

( I myself is a good example laugh.gif )

But you can always BT to Aeon Watami for 0% for 6 months.

EPP mostly available to large local banks - MBB ( easiest to have EPP since most terminals are on MBB ), HLB, PBB and some HSBC if you are lucky.

And not to mention, 0% EPP will usually be charged extra by the merchant ( 3~5% surcharge which is illegal btw )

You have to take the effort to complaint, and then wait for the refund.

Too much hassle tbh.

QUOTE(laymank @ Feb 17 2016, 09:41 AM)
No problem.

Get another card, i.e. PBB VS, then enjoy the 0% Balance Transfer.
By so doing, you get the cashback from AEON, you also enjoy months of interest free installments.

But you've got to be cautious with your spending.
If can qualify for PBB VS, no need to apply for Aeon dy tongue.gif
chiahau
post Feb 17 2016, 03:56 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Zinxer @ Feb 17 2016, 03:28 PM)
Hey guys, for Citibank Clear Card policy states that i must have atleast a tied loan to a financial institution for atleast 12 months to be eligible for application? wth? Couldn't they just check my EPF or income tax?
Must be holding a CC for at least 12 months, if not straight rejek.

Unless you are earning big bucks like 100k PA, then no problem, just go ahead and apply.
chiahau
post Jul 21 2016, 09:46 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Jul 21 2016, 09:44 AM)

I am thinking below combination
1. UOB Lady Card : Grocery = 10% rebate
2. HLB Wise : Petrol + Utility 1 + Maxis  = 10% rebate
3. Aeon Big (+UOB Vox/PB Visa Sig) : Insurance + Utility 2 + Internet + Food = ~3% rebate

Terminate : MBB2C
New          : UOB VOX, PB Visa Sig, Aeon Big

Question : Any better option for item#3 which having better rebate from 3%
1. Lady's card hit and miss. Only females can get it btw tongue.gif

Sometimes 23rd of the month still can get grocery CB while sometimes 2nd of the month already don't have.
chiahau
post Dec 14 2016, 11:25 AM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 14 2016, 11:21 AM)
Guys. Need help . I'm a first timer. I'm not sure but I thought I should move to credit credit instead of using debit cause debit have rm18 annual fee

For the below card. Does it mean I do not need to pay any annual fee, GST or RM50 service tax  for life?
Not sure if there's any hidden fee suddenly.
CIMB Cash Rebate Platinum MasterCard credit card

Rebates galore! 5% cashback for online shopping, 2% cashback on groceries, petrol, mobile and utilities, and 0.2% cashback on everything else.
15% p.a. interest rate
20 days interest-free period
up to 10% cashback
5.99% p.a. balance transfer over 6 months
Easy Payment Plan (EPP)
RM0.00 annual fee
This card is free for life, yes.

Depends on your usage, it might be good and it might not be good.
chiahau
post Dec 14 2016, 12:20 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(denzel88 @ Dec 14 2016, 12:05 PM)
I'm just a light user, usually just for online payments or purchases such as Lazada, Digi , Games.
Can share more on reason you say it's might be bad or good? smile.gif
Credits cards are generally based on the user's requirements.

If I am planning to use the card for retail expenses or etc, this card won't be good for me as it only gets me 0.2% CB

However, if I am using it for Lazada, then it's a good card as I get 5% CB on the purchases?

Hope you understand what I am trying to convey.

Cheers!

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0240sec    0.26    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 02:14 AM