DJI Phantom 3 Questions, need help!

TSuraki
post Jul 9 2015, 11:56 AM, updated 11y ago

182 posts

Hi, guys.
Got myself a DJI Phantom 3 pro last week, very happy with its performance so far.
My maiden flight video below, I know, I need a ND filter, LOL.

I have a few questions here, hopefully sifu2 can enlighten me, thanks in advance.

1. Can I hand carry the phantom 3 to board MAS Japan flight?

2. Any backpack recommendation for storing phantom 3 and camera gears (Sony A6000+4 lens)?
I prefer not to carry one bag for camera gears another bag for phantom 3 while traveling to other countries.

This post has been edited by uraki: Jul 9 2015, 12:00 PM
kayFX
post Jul 9 2015, 01:36 PM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

Then you really need a huge pelican case for it..

This is what i have for my phantom and it pass the regulated hand carry dimension.. Unless u can squeeze all your gear in there (which i doubt u can, given u have 4 lenses) your other option is a separate bag..

This post has been edited by kayFX: Jul 9 2015, 01:41 PM
SUSchokia
post Jul 10 2015, 07:58 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

DJI is selling a nice bag pack to fit the drone

but if you want to fit the drone into less bulkier and less suspicious and slimmer backpack you need that collapsible skid from RC depot.

TSuraki
post Jul 10 2015, 09:44 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Jul 9 2015, 01:36 PM)
Then you really need a huge pelican case for it..

This is what i have for my phantom and it pass the regulated hand carry dimension.. Unless u can squeeze all your gear in there (which i doubt u can, given u have 4 lenses) your other option is a separate bag..

Pelican case provides very good protection, but I prefer something more easy to bring along when traveling.
TSuraki
post Jul 10 2015, 09:55 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jul 10 2015, 07:58 AM)
DJI is selling a nice bag pack to fit the drone

but if you want to fit the drone into less bulkier and less suspicious and slimmer backpack you need that collapsible skid from RC depot.
You mean the DJI Phantom Backpack? Very expensive, USD $329... sweat.gif
Collapsible skid? Can you show me the link?

SUSchokia
post Jul 10 2015, 09:59 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Jul 10 2015, 09:55 AM)
https://www.rcdepothobbies.com/RCDH_RETRACT...-ph2retract.htm
SUSchokia
post Jul 10 2015, 10:02 AM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

BTW, what gimbal you used to mount A6000 on the drone?

This post has been edited by chokia: Jul 10 2015, 10:03 AM
kayFX
post Jul 10 2015, 11:00 AM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Jul 10 2015, 09:44 AM)
Pelican case provides very good protection, but I prefer something more easy to bring along when traveling.
the phantom itself already big.. the best is the Phantom backpack.. not the hard shell type.. the one they use design from Kata bag.. you can use the top compartment to store your camera and lenses..

QUOTE(uraki @ Jul 10 2015, 09:55 AM)
that DJI Phantom backpack more expensive than my pelican.. sweat.gif

QUOTE(chokia @ Jul 10 2015, 10:02 AM)
BTW,  what gimbal you used to mount A6000 on the drone?
phantom 3 pro/advance already integrate their gimbal and have their own integrated camera as well..
SUSchokia
post Jul 10 2015, 01:35 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Jul 10 2015, 11:00 AM)
the phantom itself already big.. the best is the Phantom backpack.. not the hard shell type.. the one they use design from Kata bag.. you can use the top compartment to store your camera and lenses..
that DJI Phantom backpack more expensive than my pelican.. sweat.gif
phantom 3 pro/advance already integrate their gimbal and have their own integrated camera as well..
Oh i thought you mounted A6000 on the drone
TSuraki
post Jul 13 2015, 10:30 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jul 10 2015, 09:59 AM)
Nice, but the price is not cheap, can get a decent backpack d.

BTW, do you guys know will I have trouble if I hand carry my P3 to board MAS international flights?

This post has been edited by uraki: Jul 13 2015, 10:31 AM
kayFX
post Jul 13 2015, 04:13 PM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Jul 13 2015, 10:30 AM)
Nice, but the price is not cheap, can get a decent backpack d.

BTW, do you guys know will I have trouble if I hand carry my P3 to board MAS international flights?
Something with LiPo batt will have to go inside cargo.. Travel with my rc car will have to put inside cargo.. You mean like openly hold it hand carry? sweat.gif
TSuraki
post Jul 13 2015, 06:00 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Jul 13 2015, 04:13 PM)
Something with LiPo batt will have to go inside cargo.. Travel with my rc car will have to put inside cargo.. You mean like openly hold it hand carry? sweat.gif
I mean hand carry the P3 craft in a backpack to board MAS international flight.

I read lots of ppl using this method to carry their Phantom to board other airlines' flights, not sure about MAS.

This post has been edited by uraki: Jul 13 2015, 06:03 PM
kayFX
post Jul 13 2015, 08:49 PM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Jul 13 2015, 06:00 PM)
I mean hand carry the P3 craft in a backpack to board MAS international flight.

I read lots of ppl using this method to carry their Phantom to board other airlines' flights, not sure about MAS.
Shouldn't be a problem.. Just put the smart lipo batt inside the bag going into cargo.. My rc bag is huge so i just put everything inside cargo..
TSuraki
post Jul 14 2015, 12:20 PM

182 posts

QUOTE(kayFX @ Jul 13 2015, 08:49 PM)
Shouldn't be a problem.. Just put the smart lipo batt inside the bag going into cargo.. My rc bag is huge so i just put everything inside cargo..
Hopefully so, but I read many phantom users says it is better to bring the lipo batts to cabin by storing them in lipo guard bag.

Thanks for your replies, bro.
s7ran9er
post Jul 14 2015, 12:23 PM

ლ(;◉;益;◉;ლ)
4,210 posts

QUOTE(chokia @ Jul 10 2015, 01:35 PM)
Oh i thought you mounted A6000 on the drone
P3 can support such weight? laugh.gif

QUOTE(uraki @ Jul 14 2015, 12:20 PM)
Hopefully so, but I read many phantom users says it is better to bring the lipo batts to cabin by storing them in lipo guard bag.

Have you checked with the country that you can fly a drone?
kayFX
post Jul 14 2015, 12:54 PM

i got title 0.o
913 posts

QUOTE(uraki @ Jul 14 2015, 12:20 PM)

yup lipo guard bag works as well..
SUSchokia
post Jul 14 2015, 04:31 PM

Chartered Member
3,617 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jul 14 2015, 12:23 PM)

MX510
post Jul 15 2015, 04:01 AM

Love Me Sin Hate Me Sinner
4,038 posts

Hi bro which firmware are u using now?

Stock or latest update?

nles
post Jul 15 2015, 04:45 AM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

I hand carry my phantom 2, lipo battery better to hand carry. Some country dont allow check in batteries.
TSuraki
post Jul 15 2015, 09:51 AM

182 posts

QUOTE(s7ran9er @ Jul 14 2015, 12:23 PM)
Have you checked with the country that you can fly a drone?
Planning to bring my P3 to Japan, as I know most of the places in Japan allow flying a drone.
But Tokyo and Osaka has ban drones in all their public parks.

0.1689sec    1.37    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 04:19 PM