Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Outline · [ Standard ] · Linear+

Sharing a 8mbps and 4mbps internet problem

views

TSdarklord95
post Jul 4 2015, 11:40 PM, updated 9y ago

Getting Started
65 posts

I am a student living in a hostel, sharing a 8mbps internet and 4mbps internet, and I live in ground floor while the internet is on the top floor, so most of the time

I am having a bad wifi signal, often get 3 bars only, the problem is not only that, the problem is with THERE IS THIS GUY WHO KEEPS DOWNLOADING MOVIES

that eats up the bandwidths, sometimes I could not even load up GOOGLE. Complain does not work, this madafaaaka just will not stop, is there any way that

I can like balance it up the internet speed, cuz it is irritating when it comes to grave situations like I want to do my assignment, online to research but I can't.
lolzcalvin
post Jul 4 2015, 11:49 PM

shibe in predicament
1,519 posts

lol.

I assume that "guy" downloads movie via torrent or any download client?
You should ask him to limit the bandwidth where most of the download clients will have this function. Else you can sneak to his pc and limit the bandwidth yourself.

digilife
post Jul 4 2015, 11:50 PM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,024 posts

You have a 4mb & 8mb line ?

Easy, let him have the 8mb & you can use the 4mb or use a good router to limit his bandwidth

wink.gif
TSdarklord95
post Jul 4 2015, 11:54 PM

Getting Started
65 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Jul 4 2015, 11:50 PM)
You have a 4mb & 8mb line ?

Easy, let him have the 8mb & you can use the 4mb or use a good router to limit his bandwidth

wink.gif
Sorry erm, I guess I did not say things clearly. What I mean is that, this hostel has around like 12 people sharing this 8mbps and 4mbps internet, normally its
very slow already since so many ppl sharing and yet this guy keeps on watching movie and do stuffs that will consume the bandwidth. I just wanted to know
is there any way like to limit the bandwidths only to me for a period of time