9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

etigge
post Nov 2 2011, 08:18 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Nov 1 2011, 05:41 PM)
I always (perhaps, almost yearly) make it a point to include CH as one of my travel destinations for its cool and fresh air mountainous environment where I can get some well-deserved R&R from the hustle and bustle of KL City life via the Tapah interchange route.

Luckily for me, delicious food are cooked by competent chef in Equatorial Hotel's own eateries to serve as my meals staying there for 3D2N and whenever I crave for something of the usual, then there's Secret Recipe cafe to my rescue nearby.

Real pure honey of the highest quality which does not cost a bomb per bottle can be bought here and also not forgetting, the white & yellow grained variety of the sweet premium corn are available in abundance to be consumed raw.

Before returning home via the Simpang Pulai route, I'll try to make a quick pitstop in Ipoh to savour its chicken rice with bean sprouts, Sar Hor Fun and to cap things off; take a sip of Nam Heong white coffee which I insist is a must try concoction for at least once-in-your-lifetime things to do.

Cheeritz!
How long have you last been to Cameron Highlands? Secret Recipe 'tapowed' already. It's been 2 years alreadythey decided that it was not worthwhile and now the shop is occupied by Guardian pharmacy. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Nov 2 2011, 12:38 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(MOBAJOBG @ Nov 2 2011, 12:27 PM)
For some unknown reason(s) even to myself, I didn't visit CH last year however it's highly likely that I'll turn up with my wife within the next few months.

I don't know that Secret Recipe cafe had 'tapowed' already but thanks for sharing the information since it certainly has save me one trip from going there.
Secret Recipe shouldn't be the only reason to visit Cameron Hihglands, rclxms.gif It's the end of the year now and the coolest part of the year. It will last till CNY. Just came back from a day trip last few days and it is getting cooler. A few stretches along the Tapah road is only passable one way due to erosion due to the continous rain. Overall still OK. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Nov 12 2011, 10:09 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(hellokitty82 @ Nov 10 2011, 02:04 PM)
alrite!  rclxm9.gif
walking distance or anything to see while walking? if so, can stroll my little girl then... rolleyes.gif

Added on November 11, 2011, 12:38 pmsorry, maybe im asking stupid Q...im going to cameron from melaka..which route to take to go to cameron?
from melaka...exit to klia/damansara exit or sg.besi exit then follow genting road? as i never been to cameron. *blush*
From Malacca. drive to the PLUS highway and once you reach KL head towards Ipoh and proceed to PLUS highway to Ipoh. Keep a lookout for Tapah exit (for old road) or Simpang Pulai exit for new road. Faster if you are using Tapah exit. Save you 90 minutes of driving to Brinchang or Tanah Rata, C.Highlands. Once you pay toll at Tapah exit, at the traffic lights turn left and then all the way up! icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Nov 17 2011, 09:03 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(namakuAriff @ Nov 17 2011, 07:13 AM)
thanks for the reply, but yeah if i am travelling with friends i dun mind about the cleanliness or the set up of the bedroom, but this time with wife and she is pregnant, and krs from what i read from web is that they dont have lift? shocking.gif sure i kena bang with wife later hahaha  rclxub.gif
90rm??i'll check that out..btw, have anyone heard of titiwangsa hotel?in brinchang?is it good?any comment?
Titiwangsa Hotel is on the newly built shoplots just before entering Brinchang. Reviews from the formmers here said it was noisy and I doubt the hotel has lifts anyway. It's only 3 storey high. with your budget I suggest DeLaFern which is the newest hotel at he moment. The rates is slightly above RM200 and it is nestled between the two main towns, Brinchang and Tanah Rata. For that budget you can actually get Equitorial if you deduct their meal vouchers. Still, contact DeLaFern and see. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Nov 18 2011, 07:48 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 17 2011, 09:54 PM)
The last I was asking one modern bungalow at Puncak Arabella in tanah rata ~ RM1200 per bungalow
Was it the one with many naked paintings? Owned by a educational toy company in Perak. Apparently there are a few there to let. I prefer the Bukit Lowick actually, more colonial. Eu Yan Sang the chinese herbalist store alss own a bungalow there and they do let out too.
etigge
post Nov 29 2011, 08:44 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(onejme @ Nov 28 2011, 10:09 PM)
planning to go to cameron on the new years eve..but havent made any bookings yet..still got place aa u guys think?planning to stay at parkland apartment..around 7 ppl are going..any review from this apartment if u experience one?thanks!
You might be too late already! doh.gif
etigge
post Nov 30 2011, 08:12 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(onejme @ Nov 29 2011, 07:08 PM)
no im not..haha..my fren just made a booking n pay the deposit for the room..lucky..6 units left!
thumbup.gif
etigge
post Dec 5 2011, 03:53 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(~Rogue~ @ Dec 5 2011, 05:38 AM)
any big bangulow to recomend for 10ppl ?
Got leh! It is all mentioned in the earlier treads. Go back to the earlier threads. laugh.gif
etigge
post Dec 11 2011, 09:20 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(HWN 1410 @ Dec 11 2011, 02:49 PM)
Hey guys...can i know where can i buy alcohol at cameron? And can i bring alcohol to cameron highland? I scared will pressure the alcohol (chemistry term) hahaha
I think your fear is baseless. laugh.gif Go ahead and bring from KL or if you still want to buy, you can get them in Tanah Rata. Namely, Excel Trading and Num Seong Trading. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by etigge: Dec 11 2011, 09:21 PM
etigge
post Dec 14 2011, 08:18 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Dec 13 2011, 08:51 PM)
Anyone know how to reach Cameroon from kl, say, no own transport?
Planning to go with gf on 5th day of cny
Cameroon, hmm................ Let's see. Maybe you can take a flight to Durban, South Africa and ask around from there.
etigge
post Dec 15 2011, 09:51 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Dec 15 2011, 01:01 PM)
Zzzzz pardon the auto correct doh.gif
Ha,ha,ha. Actually you can take a bus from Puduraya. There are two bus companies namely Kurnia Bestari and Unititi. I suggest you take Unititi as the buses are better and prompt and the other one is exactly the opposite and they stop at Tapah to fill up the bus. laugh.gif The fare is RM35 one way and get the tickets early from their counter in Puduraya 2nd floor. There 3 services daily at 9.30am , 12 noon and 2.30pm. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Dec 27 2011, 07:06 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(pilotHans @ Dec 27 2011, 04:23 PM)
Hi peeps,

1) 1 my trip to cameron ever!  blush.gif
2) planning to go to cameron highlands in feb / week after valentines day...
3) plan to drive there.
4) actually bought a cuopon from groupoun ..despite the -ve comments from equatorial but its the cheapest /affordable place i can find. sweat.gif

Questions
1) for the equatorial, which view is the best? coz i need to call them/request either farm/hill/ or valley view.
2) i heard that the traffic can be quite heavy during weekends/school holidays  sweat.gif so was wondering on a saturday midMonth, would it still be the same?  unsure.gif
3) itenaries suggestion for 2d1n - yeah, im scouting here n there still..hmmm..

Your visit dates are not that busy, don't worry about traffic. The CNY madrush is just over anyway at that time. It is still cooling at that date also. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Dec 28 2011, 09:30 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Dec 28 2011, 05:03 AM)
Ok, straight reach cameron, stop at which town?&nbsp; Straight to Tanah Rata
This is dorm like hotel or what? It is in which town?&nbsp; hmm.gif

Planning to go on CNY 27-29, wonder if hotel rate still high or back to normal by then&nbsp; hmm.gif The rates stays right till the crowd diminishes. Maybe till the 10th day or maybe till the 15th day. Let's see the 15th day is a Sunday, so I guess next yaer's busy period will stretch till the very last day. laugh.gif&nbsp; It's only once a year the apartment owners and hotels can bring out their " Tin Loong Po Kim " to slaughter and also the restaurants. laugh.gif
This post has been edited by etigge: Dec 28 2011, 09:36 AM
etigge
post Dec 31 2011, 05:58 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(stormlcc @ Dec 31 2011, 01:11 PM)
This was my itinerary when I bring my friends to Cameron, I'm working there, start at Ipoh because we all meet in Ipoh and spend one night.  I'd advice you also do the same (spend 1 night in Ipoh) or have a very early start to go up from Simpang Pulai, don't take the old road.  The bold parts are my thoughts.
It only takes 3 hours the most to drive from KL to Ringlet and another 20 minutes to Tanah Rata via the Tapah road, but to spend a night in Ipoh for such a short trip is a damper unless you are interested in discovering Ipoh at night. The road is not really that bad as most perceived it. Afterall it is the third week of February and very likely  to be a quiet time as most of the time the days after CNY is the slowest.

FIRST DAY:
1) Very light breakfast in Ipoh at 7.30am
2) Start journey at 8am
3) Sungai Palas Tea Plantation - proper breakfast (reach there around 10am) - don't need to come here, it's very miserable due to the super narrow roads and the traffic jams.
    I don't think there will be traffic jam at this time of the year as mentioned earlier.

U can go to Tringkap for a heavier breakfast and coffee though, not many tourist stops here because this place is the center of vege collection, and it's exactly why u have to stop here, this place defines Cameron Highlands.  When u just reach the town, there is one road on your right which is quite a big road, leading uphill to some flats, there are a lot of speed bumps on this road.  Turn right again to enter the flats area, u will see a restaurant, behind there got lots of coffee shops and restaurants that only locals go to.

There are 4 restaurants here altogether. One is the first corner lot ( Ai Chai as we call him) and his specialities is the " Chui Pea Kai" or crispy skin chicken . Behind this row there are three eateries. One of them is closed with only the Bak Kut Teh left on the doorstep.(I don't know if there are new takers yet) and the second one is another coffee shop selling lousy noodles (Ah Mui) and the last is the famous Tringkap Restoren where it is used to be on the main road. It is the only two shoplot restaurant, so it is not hard to miss. I too recommend this restaurant ( Ah Kow) and try his famous speciality ( Chew Pai Yee ) and his "Pak Cham Kai". Also try his famous deep fried oyster mushroom.  thumbup.gif
4) Check in (12.30pm) - Equatorial Hotel apartments, the coldest place in Cameron
5) Lunch in Brinchang (1pm)
6) Big Red Strawberry Farm (2.30pm)
7) Bharat Tea Plantation (3.30pm) tea time - MUST GO!
8) Kea farm for some shopping (6pm)
9) Return to apartment for rest (6.30pm)
10) Dinner steam boat (7.30pm) - Jin Jin restaurant, when going out from Equatorial, at the T-junction of the main road turn right (head to Tringkap direction), drive for 1-2 minutes, you will see the sign board (red color) on your right, very near.  Please bring your own chili sauce if u are a chili freak because the only thing bad about their steamboat is their chili sauce, other stuff like food quality, quantity, soups (tomyam and herbal) are top notch, and it's pork free
To me , steamboat is just the same every where in Cameron Highlands. Just make sure they don't slaughter you. laugh.gif Tanah Rata eateries prices are more decent compared to the tourist trap as mention in Sg.Palas junction or in Brinchang.

There's also another good eatery where you can sample the best river fishes caught by the orang asli. It's " Ngau Kee" min Kg.Raja but be prepared to pay premium prices. It's not cheap. Food is OK here too.
SECOND DAY:
1) Brunch (12 noon)
2) Butterfly farm (1pm)
3) Strawberry moment in the middle of no where on return trip (2.30pm) - MUST GO! it's on the new road / highway when you come up from simpang pulai before reaching the junction to turn into Kg. Raja.  I think it's got Avant Chocolate banners all over the place, you MUST TRY the Strawberry Chocolate Fountain.
This post has been edited by etigge: Dec 31 2011, 09:01 PM
etigge
post Dec 31 2011, 09:11 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Str33tBoY @ Dec 31 2011, 08:06 PM)
wana ask all d sifu dat is familiar with CH...
which day is not recommended to visit CH...?
as i know most of d shops or farms is closed on dat day...
thx...
I think most days are OK. Since the visit is not after the 15th day of CNY, it should be OK. The restaurants folks will take holidays after the 15th day (as they usually operates during the CNY) , for maybe a week but not all and definately not on a Saturday and Sunday. Most lorries takes Saturday off and some farm are closed on Saturday but not those tourist farms though. The 'pasar malam' in Brinchang opens only on Fridays and Saturdays after the holidays.

When I meant steamboat is the same, I mean all of them are not nice. rclxub.gif I really mean none of them. After 3 years staying there, I have yet to find one that is nice, price aside. I would rather buy a styrofoam box and buys all the ingredients from KL and ice them in the box. Veges, off course can be bought in CH. Boil my own soup in the apartment (usually there is a rice cooker inside and it can be used or better still bring your own steamboat stove and pot). I did that when I bring friends there. Most don't have the premium ingredient like pork or beef sliced thinly, most also don't really have fresh seafood and as said most don't have nice sauces. laugh.gif

So, Str33tBoY, write a review and let us know, OK ? thumbup.gif
etigge
post Jan 3 2012, 07:44 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(neoxz @ Jan 3 2012, 12:23 AM)
wanna ask sifus around.. will it be very jam to travel to cameron on CNY week? say on 27th this month?
It's a Friday, means a weekend day plus it is still CNY, my guess it will still be jammed. Usually the jams will start from the CNY eve and last for the first few days but with the Friday and another weekend, this year's will probably last a whole week. Only after that the crowd lessen. The jams are actually a nightmare and usually it starts after Kuala Terla and goes on until after Brinchang. It happens only one way though, funny. The sore thing is parking! Finding a spot for meals is also a headache.
etigge
post Jan 17 2012, 07:02 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(RyoKenzaki @ Jan 17 2012, 05:43 PM)
There is a restaurant call yoo woo beside KFC in brinchang which serve cheap and delicious food/ steamboat
My company always send us to cameron for work, we will go to this restaurant every time biggrin.gif

It's Restoren dan Makanan Laut You Hoo. In the afternoons they also sells 'chap fan' and this is where the locals usually eats. Thee's a catch though, for the locals the price is fair but for tourist, you have to take a chance. There are also reviews of this restaurants selling very expensive. Luck, I guess. They do know locals very well as they can see locals eating there often just as OK Tuck Restaurant and a few others.

For tourist all eateries are expensive except an Indian aunty selling Indian food in front of the Planter's Hotel at the car park. Nothing fancy just nice and simple food!
etigge
post Jan 18 2012, 07:04 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(ztrip1001 @ Jan 17 2012, 10:29 PM)
Any recommend package for 2 persons ( Bus, Hotel, Food, transpot etc ) from Kuala Lumpur to C.H ?  doh.gif

Gonna stay 3D 2N there

Never go C.H before so I really no Idea how to go nor stay what hotel at C.H  sweat.gif

Hope you guys can help me,  icon_question.gif  icon_question.gif 

really lost here  rclxub.gif

thanks in advanced  notworthy.gif
Usually when I travel to places unfamiliar, I just go unplanned. Just travel on non-busy dates and find lodging after reaching the place. Even during peak period, there will be lodgings available. You can get take the bus from Puduraya, Unititi Express is the bus that provides service to CH. From Tanah Rata (that's where the bus stops) you can see many hotels on the main road, just check it out. Walk around town and check out the tourist counters. They have pictures of the attractions that CH offers. You can also book their tours and on the extra time, just sit around sipping hot tea and have your dinner at a relaxing pace. Problems with us Malaysians is they want to do everything on one trip which makes the trip stressful! rclxub.gif

etigge
post Jan 18 2012, 08:37 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Sh_L @ Jan 18 2012, 11:56 AM)
Thanks a lot stimix..a good guide tour you propose to me..with a suitable budget I see.. smile.gif
By the way etigge do you know any other guide tour? Beside the one that stimix mention to me.
There are only two counters in Tanah Rata and that's the only ones I have seen but there are many other in the brochures in hotels. Actually any taxi driver can be the guide if you are visiting places of interest other than Lojing (for Rafflesia hikes) or Lata Iskandar (a waterfall on the route from Tapah). Other than the two places other attractions like Rose Valley, Bee Farm, Kea Farm, Sungai Palas Boh Plantation, Habu Boh Plantation, Strawberry Farm, Sam Poh temple in Brinchang is all within reach of the taxi driver. If you are into hiking, you can check with the hotel in Tanah Rata for Robinson's Fall trail, Lookout Point trail, Gunung Beremban trail is near the hospital, Lookout tower trail is near Tanah Rata police station and all are within walking distance from Tanah Rata.

I suggest you enjoy the slow pace of CH and not rushing from one attraction to another. You can book the taxi for half a day and finish the far places mentioned above and then spend the next day just wandering around Tanah Rata and also do a short hike into the jungle. icon_rolleyes.gif
etigge
post Jan 29 2012, 04:39 PM

295 posts

I don't know about ice cream but scones wise, reputably Smoke House's is good. They used to served it for tea. Another good one is T-cafe just above Merrybrown Chicken in Tanah Rata. Most tourist go for T-cafe though as some reviews says Smoke House's service is a bit 'lansi'. From Kuantan, you don't have to go all the way to KL anymore as the road from Raub to Bertam Valley in Cameron Highlands is already opened. Alternately you can travel to Gua Musang and from there you can drive to Kg.Raja in Cameron Highland.

9 Pages « < 6 7 8 9 >Top

0.0579sec    1.04    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:25 PM