QUOTE(akira5073 @ Aug 4 2011, 09:55 PM)
Yes, there are coverage in major towns.Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?
Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?
Aug 5 2011, 12:37 AM
295 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Aug 7 2011, 09:25 AM
Aug 7 2011, 07:12 PM
QUOTE(Azureknight94 @ Aug 7 2011, 03:01 PM) Hi guys, just wanna ask are there any villa or bungalows to rent for big group of people? about 20 to 30 people Bungalows has been mentiioned in the earlier comments and treads. |
Aug 8 2011, 12:26 PM
As for myself I usually take the Tapah Road as I save 1 1/2 hours of travelling. Most places I visit is Brinchang and Tanah Rata, sometimes Tringkap, beyond that there's nothing there. This route is also cooler as most are under the foilage and the car air conditioner is usually off after Lata Iskandar. So I save the time taken to travel from Tapah to Spg.Pulai and also from Kg.Raja to Brinchang. I usually take 2 hours 15 minutes from D'sara toll to Ringlet so to me daytrip is a norm but I start early lah. Maybe next trip you can plan a 2 days/nights trip and maybe you will enjoy more. |
Aug 12 2011, 01:35 AM
QUOTE(nemosmknimh @ Aug 11 2011, 09:50 PM) Planters Hotel the new hotel ok or not? I don't really know much about hotels' quality but halal food no problemo The price boleh tahan lah for me... Planter's Hotel or Gerrard's Place better? And is it easy to find halal food in Tanah Rata? How about the cab fares there? Cab fares are standardised in CH and the price starts usually from RM12 onwards. You can also book half day or full day. There's a taxi station just in front of Starbuck in Tanah Rata and also a taxi station in the middle of Brinchang. If you want to do a half day visit you can actually book half day tours. There are two tourist counters in Tanah Rata. Check them out. I think Robinson's Fall's, tea plantation, a bit of local produce shopping is included. Hiking tours can also be arranged at the counters there. Enjoy yourself |
Aug 12 2011, 12:42 PM
QUOTE(SamSoon @ Aug 12 2011, 10:13 AM) No road closure, means it is safe lorr. The slide pictured in the papers is on the Simpang Pulai - Kg.Raja road. You can take the Tapah - Ringlet road, faster in fact from KL to CH. |
Aug 12 2011, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(SamSoon @ Aug 12 2011, 07:00 PM) There's one reputated to be good. It is a cafe above the Merrybrown Chicken ( in front of the bus station and just before the Tanah Rata police station ) in Tanah Rata. The place is called T-cafe. The entrance is from the staircase at the side of the Merrybrown Fried Chicken outlet. Smokehouse teatime is quite popular too albeit their services is a bit 'lansi' http://t-cafe.biz/page4.html |
Aug 18 2011, 07:27 AM
QUOTE(ShrugsLova @ Aug 18 2011, 12:10 AM) etigge, Someone said the deal is off! I have to say I am sorry this time as I have seldom stayed in hotels in Cameron Highlands as I do mostly day trips but I did encountered a dirty hotel once. Cameron Highlands is a dampy and cold place so hotel hygeine is a challenging task. Even in Strawberry Park (one of the premier hotels in CH) I checked into a hotel with a musty and smelly bed. If you have more than 3 persons, I think renting apartments are more economical and I have to say some are even cleaner. If hotel is more convenient, my bet goes to DeLaFern Hotel since it is the latest newly built hotel in CH. Nestled in between Brinchang and Tanah Rata (the 2 most popular towns) so it is convenient too. It is even beside a tourist farm How come I see your name pop up whenever I plan my next trip? I saw your name in Langkawi thread about a month ago..and hell it's informative, thank you here and might thank you again in the Langkawi thread. Now, I plan to go CH for a 2D1N trip; and here you are answering all our question. Etigge, any nice hotel suggestion for a price of less say 100-130? *rather pay more for cleanliness. Anyhow I read bout Gerard place and Father's Guest House, just my curiosity, is that a Homestay or a hotel? When it come to CH, it always has to be steamboat? At least, that is first to come to mind. Any suggestion on this? There is this http://www.everyday.com.my/coupons/tr/stra...resort_stay.htm MYR 230 for a studio room at Strawberry Resort + breakfast. Worth it? Any cheap Spa? (didnt get the chance to do it in Langkawi, might as well pamper myself in CH if there is some good one) Thank you first. Father's guest House is more like a backpacker's kind of lodging. It is popular and also among the caucasian tourist. Prices are fair too. I can't comment on the conditions of the rooms as I have never stayed there before. Yes, in CH, steamboat seems to be the thing but after staying there for almost 3 years, none of any of the steamboat places is nice. I mean NONE. Food is one thing CH is not famous for except that for tourist it is darn expensive. I guess spa is not CH thing. I didn't notice any spa in CH. |
Aug 26 2011, 03:51 PM
QUOTE(junekm @ Aug 26 2011, 03:18 PM) ya lo..but wat about the landslide and the rain~~? cz this was planned quite some time le, and been postponed til now due to the rain >< is it safe to go over nx week? I won't worry about landslide if you travel during daytime, most cases are isolated and happens in the most prone areas where they will be monitored. There are already 4 ways to reach Cameron Highlands nowadays namely Tapah, Simpang Pulai, Raub and Gua Musang. It is even cooler when it rains up and it usually affects jungle trekking and hiking most which most city dwellers seldom participates in anyway. Other than that most are the same, restaurants are the the same, cactus farm the same, strawberry farms the same at most just carry a few umbrella in the car.More worrying is the crowd that is going to be there on the double holiday period! |
Aug 27 2011, 09:53 PM
QUOTE(tehtmc @ Aug 27 2011, 07:59 PM) Are you sure? I though the traffic from Tapah would be just as heavy. It is a shorter route for those coming from the south, though very windy. Traffic is moving with more vehicles but most travellers like to use simpang Pulai way maybe due to the fact that the road is wider but once they reach Kg.Raja the road is uphill, winding and narrow all the way to Brinchang, weaving through Kuala Terla and Tringkap. The jam goes all the way till Brinchang. On the other hand, traffic from Tapah is more controlled, maybe because the cars travel slower due to winding and narrower roads (but it is really not that hard to drive as reputated). Except for Tuesdays when there's a 'pasar malam' in Ringlet, there might be a slight jam passing through the town. But one thing is for sure, the highland stretch from Tanah Rata to Tringkap will be jammed big time. PS/ Although very much further, many KL drivers drives till Simpang Pulai and turns into CH route as many think it will be faster but actually you spend more time on the road although the drive might be easier. This post has been edited by etigge: Aug 28 2011, 06:15 AM |
Aug 30 2011, 12:22 AM
QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 29 2011, 10:07 PM) Don't cancel-lah..CH is raining almost daily in the Evening..No matter which mth you come, It will be raining almost daily >300 days per year.. If you scare forever also you can't visit CH haha..The best time as I said during Dec- Feb bcos of the coldest mths...even worst,, That;s the time when all the landslide at its peak..Currently rain consider not so heavy compare to end of the yr You are right. When I was staying in Tringkap (second coolest not coldest |
Aug 30 2011, 04:12 PM
QUOTE(stimix @ Aug 30 2011, 10:07 AM) The lowest I recorded was ~ 2 yrs ago during Jan 2009 (I think) I got ~ 14.5C that time ~ 11pm..Crazy guy wth sweater & enduring cold wind sitting on the cold mable chair & table outside KRS guesthouse for 30min haha...Even the mountain climbers that having abit of party at the garden there asking what am I doing ..so paiseh... This means the traffic police are getting strict. Normally the jams are caused by cars looking for parking space, parking hap-hazardly on the road sides, slowing down, waiting for others to reverse out to park. It normally happens in Sungai Palas, Boh Tea Plantation junction, Kea Farm junction and also 'pasar malam' in Brinchang. Sometimes the area near Multicrops and Uncle Sam also causes jams. If the traffic is smoothen in those areas, then there won't be jams. BTW, reading back few pages that I missed for mths here..Still lotsa ppl still thinking of using Spg Pulai for those from the South.. As what Unker Etigge & my view..Not worth the effort & toll expecially those staying in Tanah Rata. You will not save the time going up there using Spg Pulai except smoother ride. It's only take you 1.5hrs the most to reach Tanah Rata from Tapa. But using Spg Pulai, let say we start the counting from Tapah, without jam also will take you ~ 1.5hrs too but once the jam started at Kuala Terla, Tringkap & Kea farm Brinchang, you will expect 2-2.5 hrs..Faster if using Tapah way haha. Anyway, I still wondering why no jam & congestion during this Holiday season?..Y'day lotsa Policemen manning Kea Farm..Probably easing abit kua? |
Sep 5 2011, 08:06 AM
QUOTE(EtechZONE $ @ Sep 5 2011, 01:01 AM) these are my choices of hotels... i wanna stay 2D/1N ..can anyone share ur xperience in those hotels... which one will be nice? This post has been edited by etigge: Sep 5 2011, 08:09 AM1.century pines resort - quite a nice hotel operated together with their sister hotels in Langkawi and Penang. Location is convenient and located in front of a nice park in CH. A walking trail is just beisde the hotel too. 2.La De Fern -The newest addition of hotels in Cameron and since it is new, furnishing are new too. Located between the two most frequented towns, Brinchang and Tanah Rata. Good comments from forummers here. Recommended. 3.Heritage Hotel - Built atop a hill in Tanah Rata near the school, there are some bad reviews of this hotel. 4. smokehouse hotel - Probably the most famous nostalgic hotel in Cameron. It is the place for afternoon tea in their gardens but their fame has also affected their staffs attitude towards visitors. Many complained about their service though. 5.cameron resort - I think you mean Highlands Resort. Was the former Merlin Hotel but since tookover by YTL it has been refurbished and changed to Highlands. It should be a cosy hotel following YTL standards but too highly priced for a non- airconditioned hotel. |
Oct 5 2011, 02:41 AM
QUOTE(mimi1986 @ Oct 4 2011, 09:59 PM) Your question sounds so .....so...... dirty. |
Oct 15 2011, 09:16 AM
QUOTE(markchan @ Oct 15 2011, 08:51 AM) The only hotels near Kea Farm is Equitorial Hotel and also Bala Chalets (which was reviewed as dirty and service provided is bad somewhere in these treads). There are also a new apartment blocks right in the middle of Kea Farm and there are many for daily rental. You juts have to drive in there and call the numbers on the sign boards hung on the balcony of the apartments. There are no other lodgings around Kea Farm other than those mentioned. |
Oct 22 2011, 07:34 AM
QUOTE(hirano @ Oct 21 2011, 10:05 PM) Is there any good budget accommodation around rm100/night around tanah rata area? With good privacy one. Can recommend, guys? There are a few budget hotels behind the row of shophouses that house CIMB Bank but avoid Highlander Hotel as it is really dirty. The others are OK. If you venture further in (near Maybank) there's a bungalow like hotel and I think it is less than RM100 per night and also on the way to Royal Lily there's also another one which will cost about the same. There's a new hotel, Traders Hotel (formerly Kavi Hotel) but I don't know their rates and it is on the main road but I think it should be within your budget. Tried Heritage before, was really good, but expensive for long stays. |
Oct 26 2011, 06:00 PM
QUOTE(yong417 @ Oct 26 2011, 10:31 AM) Hi all, If you do day trips, it is possible if you drive up yourself but you won't be able to spend more time if you take a bus. The earliest bus leaves Puduraya at 9.00 am and arrives in Tanah Rata at 12.30 pm to 1.00 pm. This is using Unititi which is more punctual than the other one Kurnia Bistari which may even delay. Then the last bus departs Tanah Rata at 4.30 pm and this gives you a window of 3 to 31/2 hours which I doubt you can do anything much there except maybe walk around Tanah Rata. Or maybe take a taxi to Kea Farm or Boh Plantation and then head back to the bus station.need ur recommendations pls i plan to go CH on a day-trip, no overnight stays... thinking of taking bus to CH from KL...(if i m not mistaken, the bus will stop @ tanah rata, right?) any places of interest / activities recommended for a day trip? do i need to rent a car to travel around? any bicycle rental services up there? or is it wiser to take up those one-day tour?? thank u in advance There are no bicycle shops in CH and you hardly see bicycles let alone rent one. If you take the one day tour, they usually departs at 6.00 am and reach about 10.00 am and since the bus itself is the transport around CH, they can cover more places like the Sam Poh temple, Boh Plantations, Kea Farm, Bee Farm and they also can depart later, say 6.00 pm or 7.00 pm and head back to KL. I suggest you take the day tour![ This post has been edited by etigge: Oct 26 2011, 06:01 PM |
Oct 26 2011, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(yong417 @ Oct 26 2011, 06:58 PM) » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « i see.. thank u etigge if so...then maybe i'll drive up there myself btw, just asking, any reputable 'day-tour' service providers to CH?? So, what is stopping you from spending a night there. GF parents won't allow? |
Oct 28 2011, 02:57 PM
QUOTE(lovesick_joe @ Oct 28 2011, 11:21 AM) Hi Guys, Every info you need is all over the tread. Happy reading through. Need some urgent Help... As i'm planing with my gf to visit cameron highland on 6-7 Nov... Anyone got contact? i'm looking for Studio or Apartment... With nice environment, clean and easy access... Is been long long time never visit to cameron highland. Hope anyone here could help & advice. Thanks |
Oct 29 2011, 12:19 AM
| Change to: | 0.0486sec