How can we get rich in fastest way?, By daily working? Or investment?

TSliangko
post Nov 6 2006, 04:11 PM, updated 20y ago

129 posts

Hello guys. here is the new topic ---> How can we get rich!?

I'm just wanna know what's ur guys opinion on how can we get rich in fastest way. Let's say get rich by doing business. We need a hefty amount of money to start a business and this amount of money only can be saved by working hard day-to-day and yet the business is not guaranteed profitable.

Now let's talk about investment. We do need have some amount of money 1st as well we only can invest in order to get greater return based on the return percent.

Both of them also need modal!!! hiahz. sad.gif

mooze
post Nov 6 2006, 04:14 PM

Just A Normal Person With 2 Kids
1,406 posts

Like the saying goes, "We need money to make money"

Of course you cant guarantee your first business company or mere pisang goreng stall to be successful for lifetime,its trial n error,man.... Well i myself havent gone through these things yet but one things for sure is dun give up no matter what!! IF YOU FALL,CLIMB BACK UP AGAIN! hehe.. sori if i should emotional,juz friendly advice.. gdluck =happy.gif=
Canopies
post Nov 6 2006, 04:15 PM

2,733 posts

Yeah..Play forex

support china ren min bi...as u seen...china market boost and so strong...It can become most top richest country..believe me..

U c..china just get rid off the komunis just few years...20years gua..BUT the development damn dam fast...Its really can win many country liao ...even Us also scare china lah...now china helping afrika..believe me..china business man very bijak and cunning 1 lah...so...afrika just like a water fish...so prepare to invest to china ren min bi..if not u will regret der...btw..i havent do it..but planing to buy whole bunch of ren min bi and store it at my home...or bank lah...

anyway...tell u...

China dont hv debt wif other country...remember this is the core stuffs to invest...haha..malaysia?..OMG...KLCC 1 also havent kao dim now wan build geng bridge..haiz

I advice u better to invest in ren min bi rather than invest business from china..like buying clothes and sell here...unless u hv good relationship wif them..if not....U KNOW LA...CHINA BUSINESS MAN...HAHA
coolwave
post Nov 6 2006, 06:02 PM

131 posts

My own opinion is that, fastest way to get rich is thru NETWORK. Let your ppl work for you, and double up, triple up ur income.... this is the power of leverage!

This is a proven marketing strategy used by most of the network marketing ppl... If i got a company and a good product, i will start to promote my products in this way! NETWORK!

Don't u think so?

kitloon
post Nov 6 2006, 07:46 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Canopies @ Nov 6 2006, 04:15 PM)
Yeah..Play forex

support china ren min bi...as u seen...china market boost and so strong...It can become most top richest country..believe me..

U c..china just get rid off the komunis just few years...20years gua..BUT the development damn dam fast...Its really can win many country liao ...even Us also scare china lah...now china helping afrika..believe me..china business man very bijak and cunning 1 lah...so...afrika just like a water fish...so prepare to invest to china ren min bi..if not u will regret der...btw..i havent do it..but planing to buy whole bunch of ren min bi and store it at my home...or bank lah...

anyway...tell u...

China dont hv debt wif other country...remember this is the core stuffs to invest...haha..malaysia?..OMG...KLCC 1 also havent kao dim now wan build geng bridge..haiz

I advice u better to invest in ren min bi rather than invest business from china..like buying clothes and sell here...unless u hv good relationship wif them..if not....U KNOW LA...CHINA BUSINESS MAN...HAHA
wat u mean by play forex and support china ren min bi? how to support? unsure.gif
Canopies
post Nov 6 2006, 09:32 PM

2,733 posts

just buy ren min bi and store it at home....foreign exchange investment
yetieater
post Nov 6 2006, 09:34 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

As my mom is fond of saying, "Easy come, easy go."

I don't see foreign exchange as the way to get rich unless you're dealing with massive quantities of currency. Do your research before making investments, budget wisely, and plan accordingly.
sugebleach
post Nov 6 2006, 09:35 PM

501 posts

Haha...
dude there is no fastest way to become rich...
u can go to read all the rich ppl's portfolio or books written by them.
Frm there u can know tat their journey to become rich is not easy n no short as fastest way to there.
coolwave
post Nov 6 2006, 09:49 PM

131 posts

work hard man...
yetieater
post Nov 6 2006, 09:50 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(coolwave @ Nov 6 2006, 09:49 PM)
work hard man...
Problem is, that isn't fast enough.

Fast cash: rob someone and pray you don't get caught
Dictionary
post Nov 6 2006, 10:00 PM

14 posts

Nowadays Iraqi dinar is quite popular..many people buying 25000 dinar for RM400 sumthing..and change to ringgit malaysia ...blast ..banyak money
hamster9
post Nov 6 2006, 10:03 PM

CFP
2,251 posts

QUOTE(Dictionary @ Nov 6 2006, 10:00 PM)
Nowadays Iraqi dinar is quite popular..many people buying 25000 dinar for RM400 sumthing..and change to ringgit malaysia ...blast ..banyak money
Isn't that the latest scam apart from swisscash?
dreamer101
post Nov 6 2006, 10:15 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(liangko @ Nov 6 2006, 04:11 PM)

I'm just wanna know what's ur guys opinion on how can we get rich in fastest way. Let's say get rich by doing business. We need a hefty amount of money to start a business and this amount of money only can be saved by working hard day-to-day and yet the business is not guaranteed profitable.

Now let's talk about investment. We do need have some amount of money 1st as well we only can invest in order to get greater return based on the return percent.   

Both of them also need modal!!! hiahz. sad.gif
LiangKo,

1) The fastest way to get rich is DO NOT LOOK for a fast way to get rich.

2) Earn, Save, Invest

A) Find out what you can do much better than anyone else. Do that and earn as much money as you could. Learn how to maximize your earning

B) Save as much money as you could. Do not waste it.

C) Learn how to invest your money.

3) Illegal mean to make money. The problem with this approach is that you only need to get caught once and your whole life will be destroyed.

By the way, what is your definition of RICH??

My definition is FIRE -> Financially Independent Early Retired.

There is a BIG problem with your thinking anyhow. In USA, 50% of the lottery winners went bankrupt 10 years after they won the lottery. If you do not KNOW how to manage money, even if you win a big lottery, you will lose/waste/con away your money quickly anyhow. Easy comes easy goes..

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Nov 6 2006, 10:23 PM
coolwave
post Nov 7 2006, 09:29 AM

131 posts

read more motivational books, that will help u a lot
Anime-FAN
post Nov 7 2006, 09:34 AM

459 posts

-

This post has been edited by Anime-FAN: Mar 19 2015, 01:11 PM
Unbelievable
post Nov 7 2006, 11:11 AM

311 posts

unfortunate is that most ppl think thye know invest..but they dont.
dreamer101
post Nov 7 2006, 11:29 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Anime-FAN @ Nov 7 2006, 09:34 AM)
Daily working will never get you rich, unless your salary >rm10k.

Smart investment is the best way.
Getting lot's of information/knowledge about the industry you want to be in.
How do you know?? I know a family that the father never earn more than 2K per month. They owned 2 houses and send 2 of their children to USA for college education. They are richer than most people. But, they never own a car.

Read "The Millionaire Next Door". The research on the millionaires in USA. Most of the millionaires in USA do not earn a lot of money.

Dreamer
scott1188
post Nov 7 2006, 11:31 AM

42 posts

QUOTE(Unbelievable @ Nov 7 2006, 11:11 AM)
unfortunate is that most ppl think thye know invest..but they dont.
smile.gif agreed.... if everybody alos know how to invest. Then i think no difference between rich and poor
eddychstu
post Nov 7 2006, 11:33 AM

Why so serious?
2,347 posts

define rich please rolleyes.gif
Singh_Kalan
post Nov 7 2006, 11:41 AM

2,033 posts

the fastest way to be rich is to understand the word "compounding" and practice it. As Albert Einstein once said, compounding is the most important mathematical discovery of all time. more important than calculus, trigonometry etc.
SUSspanker
post Nov 7 2006, 11:43 AM

Custom Made e-Penis
7,606 posts

there is no "fast" way of getting rich, if there is people will be doing it already, and if they aren't it's either a failed thing or it's illegal. This thread is pointless.
goliath
post Nov 7 2006, 11:46 AM

5,533 posts

QUOTE(spanker @ Nov 7 2006, 11:43 AM)
there is no "fast" way of getting rich, if there is people will be doing it already, and if they aren't it's either a failed thing or it's illegal. This thread is pointless.
Actually there is..

MLM ph34r.gif

leekk8
post Nov 7 2006, 11:54 AM

1,059 posts

Yes, you must be clear about the definition of RICH.
For me, we must set the financial target, then come out with a plan to achieve the target, once you hit the target, then it's good...can be considered rich.
For the plan, you can save money, to invest or start your own business...
luqmanz
post Nov 7 2006, 08:13 PM

Trading Geek
2,185 posts

Just my 2 cents..

Long term target.
============
1) Find out your talent and find a job that suits the talent.
2) Do a bit of research of career path, how you can make 5 digits of salary after working 5 years.
3) Find a way to use that talent to start a business after that 5 years.
4) Find a good long term investment. (stocks etc)

Short term target
============
1) learn how to save and invest.
2) Part time job ?
3) Time management

ernie ball
post Nov 7 2006, 08:22 PM

459 posts

Join lampe berger, look at how 'successful' they are.

Just don't end up as a lame bugger, tho. xD

Seriously, earn your honest salary. Live a respectable life. If you had enough money invest in real estate, it's more stable than stock or currency. And don't do illegal business. There's no point having 10 millions buried somewhere if you can't spend it.
TSliangko
post Nov 7 2006, 09:08 PM

129 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Nov 7 2006, 08:13 PM)
Just my 2 cents..

Long term target.
============
1) Find out your talent and find a job that suits the talent.
2) Do a bit of research of career path, how you can make 5 digits of salary after working 5 years.
3) Find a way to use that talent to start a business after that 5 years.
4) Find a good long term investment. (stocks etc)

Short term target
============
1) learn how to save and invest.
2) Part time job ?
3) Time management
Wah, working 5 years can make 5 digits of salary? Is that possible for me? I'm currently pursueing accounting degree and I'm planning to take CIMA. To become an accountant.
p4n6
post Nov 8 2006, 11:49 AM

5,974 posts

To get rich, some people will have to get poor. So first by learning how to make other people poor.
goSuccess
post Nov 8 2006, 12:21 PM

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Nov 8 2006, 11:49 AM)
To get rich, some people will have to get poor. So first by learning how to make other people poor.
I think should be 'how to get along with poor people first'

Never never ever under estimate anyone in this world, either young, old, rich or poor.

I learn a lot just by simply talking to the tea lady, even on tips on how to get rich, how to get the girl etc. tongue.gif

cuebiz
post Nov 8 2006, 02:12 PM

992 posts

The fastest way to get rich is to pay a visit to uncle lim shop up in pahang highland. tongue.gif

luqmanz
post Nov 8 2006, 07:04 PM

Trading Geek
2,185 posts

QUOTE(liangko @ Nov 7 2006, 09:08 PM)
Wah, working 5 years can make 5 digits of salary? Is that possible for me? I'm currently pursueing accounting degree and I'm planning to take CIMA. To become an accountant.
Well ... if you join investment bank ... they pay a lot of bonuses.
Let's say with 5 years experience, you get gaji RM 5k per month. Bonus 12 months is quite normal there ... so you already make Rm10k per month. Research your career path.
Kimballsos
post Nov 8 2006, 07:11 PM

80 posts

I think that the fastest way to get rich is find a job that you love. People that have passion for their work are rewarded naturaly. I dun think there's any textbook way to get rich fast lo. Unless you are a conman like PowerEdge tongue.gif
Darkmage12
post Nov 9 2006, 12:56 AM

shhhhhhhhh come i tell you something hehe
17,053 posts

QUOTE(sugebleach @ Nov 6 2006, 09:35 PM)
Haha...
dude there is no fastest way to become rich...
u can go to read all the rich ppl's portfolio or books written by them.
Frm there u can know tat their journey to become rich is not easy n no short as fastest way to there.
by doing this you are making those rich even richer while you on the other hand gets poorer

QUOTE(Singh_Kalan @ Nov 7 2006, 11:41 AM)
the fastest way to be rich is to understand the word "compounding" and practice it.  As Albert Einstein once said, compounding is the most important mathematical discovery of all time. more important than calculus, trigonometry etc.
notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

QUOTE(goliath @ Nov 7 2006, 11:46 AM)
Actually there is..

MLM  ph34r.gif

doh.gif not all MLM people get to con others everyday so only a small amount are 'sucessful'

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Nov 8 2006, 07:04 PM)
Well ... if you join investment bank ... they pay a lot of bonuses.
Let's say with 5 years experience, you get gaji RM 5k per month. Bonus 12 months is quite normal there ... so you already make Rm10k per month. Research your career path.
are you working for an investment bank?
peterbrutus
post Nov 9 2006, 01:29 AM

528 posts

QUOTE(coolwave @ Nov 6 2006, 06:02 PM)
My own opinion is that, fastest way to get rich is thru NETWORK. Let your ppl work for you, and double up, triple up ur income.... this is the power of leverage!

This is a proven marketing strategy used by most of the network marketing ppl... If i got a company and a good product, i will start to promote my products in this way! NETWORK!

Don't u think so?
you sound like a MLM...
no offense. thumbup.gif
jeff_sin
post Nov 9 2006, 09:56 AM

703 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 7 2006, 11:29 AM)
How do you know?? I know a family that the father never earn more than 2K per month.  They owned 2 houses and send 2 of their children to USA for college education.  They are richer than most people.  But, they never own a car.

Read "The Millionaire Next Door".  The research on the millionaires in USA.  Most of the millionaires in USA do not earn a lot of money.

Dreamer
yes, the father is doing the right things, but don't u think he enjoy his life? like saving all the time of his life, never indulge himself

actually his child can be study at local u or local private college, it is more affortable, somemore his child cannot enjoy life there without spending others than only studies.
xcess
post Nov 9 2006, 10:49 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(jeff_sin @ Nov 9 2006, 09:56 AM)
yes, the father is doing the right things, but don't u think he enjoy his life? like saving all the time of his life, never indulge himself

actually his child can be study at local u or local private college, it is more affortable, somemore his child cannot enjoy life there without spending others than only studies.
who knows whether he enjoy or not? sometimes i saw poor peoples happier than those rich peoples.. no need to think about money and also not need to afraid that someone will rob them..

rich doesn't mean you can be happier..

dreamer101
post Nov 9 2006, 11:57 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(jeff_sin @ Nov 9 2006, 09:56 AM)

Jeff_sin,

1) He choose to live in a simple lifestyle that he is happy with. Who says that everyone is happy with an indulgent life style??

2) Study at local U or college??
What kind of future is that??

3) Cannot enjoy life at oversea??
You get to live and experienced a different culture.

Dreamer
sirxl
post Nov 9 2006, 11:58 AM

583 posts

I think you should put some money in forex play, fixed deposits and property. a good mix should do the trick
Anime-FAN
post Nov 9 2006, 12:09 PM

459 posts

-

This post has been edited by Anime-FAN: Mar 19 2015, 01:12 PM
jameslee27
post Nov 9 2006, 12:36 PM

Learn how to make a good proposal. Learn how to bagain, how to deal with people. And the last is meng shui will let u b a rich man if u r. All the methods in the book is just for us to learn how to stablelize our life. Its not for us to get rich. To get rich, we must know how to propose to the right person or an organization. Somemore we have to understand what is our ASSETS and what is our LIABLITY. If we misunderstand that theory, sorry.

This post has been edited by jameslee27: Nov 9 2006, 12:37 PM
Jasonist
post Nov 9 2006, 06:50 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

QUOTE(Canopies @ Nov 6 2006, 04:15 PM)
Yeah..Play forex

anyway...tell u...

hmm... wat a smart way to increase money... but do u have confidence the economy will be stable for years to come? well we cant predict when will the next economic crisis will occur coz we never know wat will happen tomorrow... but if using forex investment, how long shall we wait to invest in Renminbi untill we really make profit?
dreamer101
post Nov 9 2006, 10:26 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Anime-FAN @ Nov 9 2006, 12:09 PM)
Then he isn't consider rich? IMO "He choose live in a simple lifestyle".  You shouldn't even be saying he's rich in the first place.

Money doesn't make people happier? Lies/Bullshitting.
Anime-FAN,

Until you owned and paid for 2 houses and can afford to send your children to oversea education, he has more assets than you. He is richer than you.

I judged whether a person is rich NOT by how much they spend but by how much they own (aka asset).

He choose to buy houses instead of cars. He choose to invest on his children's future instead of buying bigger and better TV and other stuffs. He buys assets and invests instead of spending on useless stuff. He is rich!!

Dreamer

Empty vase makes the loudest noise!!

<<Money doesn't make people happier? Lies/Bullshitting.>>

Money is just a tool. It is how you use it that makes you happy or sad.

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Nov 9 2006, 10:32 PM
harrychoo
post Nov 9 2006, 10:37 PM

3,589 posts

how rich is rich? Is getting rich the only purpose in ur life?
xcess
post Nov 9 2006, 10:58 PM

460 posts

rich does not only mean you have many money...

sometimes, if you have happiness and always feel enough with you had, you're already rich...rich with happiness...

people tend to get rich but forgoting the purpose of life... even they will make other suffer just to make sure they can be rich...

that why we always heard about corrupting, robbery, snatch thieves, killing nowdays..,
mfg210
post Nov 10 2006, 05:44 PM

26 posts

being rich and contributing to the society will make a rich person much more happier
Anime-FAN
post Nov 10 2006, 08:02 PM

459 posts

-

yetieater
post Nov 10 2006, 08:18 PM

pur.skill
1,546 posts

QUOTE(Anime-FAN @ Nov 10 2006, 08:02 PM)
RICH? Doesn't make anyone happy is LIES.
My Economics teacher told us a rather interesting story. There's this fabulously wealthy owner of a music label that decides to go on a vacation in Mexico with his wife. After a night of entertainment, he takes a load off and sets out by himself for a brisk walk. Off in the distance he hears someone playing the guitar and sees the flickering light of a fire - he gets closer and listens to the guitar, entranced. Around the fire are a group of men lounging back in cheap lawn chairs, drinking beers, and having a smoke. The rich guy joins the men for a bit, listening to the guitar player. After the guitar player finishes up, he asks him, "Hey, why don't you start up and get into playing shows and the like? With skills like that, you could do a lot! Imagine all the money that you could make!"

The guitar player looks back at the label owner and asks, "Why would I want to do that?"

The exec replies, "You know, to buy things. You could travel the world, enjoy your life!"

"Why would I want to do that?"

The rich man is getting exasperated at this point, somewhat taken aback by the guitar player's unwillingness to go out and make a name for himself. "You'd get rich with your skills! Think of what you could do with your money."

"What would I do..?"

"You could go on a great vacation. Really take a load off - just sit around with some friends, have a beer, and.."

He cuts himself off.

Money doesn't buy shit in the way of happiness.
sleepsleep
post Nov 10 2006, 08:51 PM

311 posts

hi,
for me, i category rich as a feeling.
i am rich not because i own much
but i am rich because i demand less smile.gif

people varied over "how much money they need to own" so that they can feel themselves rich. some people, even if they already got 700,000.00, they still felt they are poor and want more. some people, got 100,000.00 and they felt enough ready.

some people work hard, earn lots of money, but in the end, (due to hectic working schedule) they sicked and hospitalized, then all their saving went to doctors' pocket.

if you understand why you are here, your purpose on earth, you are already a rich man/woman smile.gif coz many people don't know/understand that.

even if you owned 100 houses, 400 bedrooms, but u can only sleep on one bed at one time whistling.gif

for me, i felt life is more rich if i know more stuffs, like making furniture, building house, repair electronics components, cooking smile.gif , make a crank electric generator and etc etc smile.gif too much knowledge i wish i could know rclxub.gif

not money not enough
but time not enough sweat.gif

This post has been edited by sleepsleep: Nov 10 2006, 08:51 PM
WingKalimdor
post Nov 10 2006, 09:07 PM

Mirai-Chan
1,801 posts

No pain no gain....study alot can make u rich.
xcess
post Nov 10 2006, 09:54 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(sleepsleep @ Nov 10 2006, 08:51 PM)
hi,
for me, i category rich as a feeling.
i am rich not because i own much
but i am rich because i demand less smile.gif

people varied over "how much money they need to own" so that they can feel themselves rich. some people, even if they already got 700,000.00, they still felt they are poor and want more. some people, got 100,000.00 and they felt enough ready.

some people work hard, earn lots of money, but in the end, (due to hectic working schedule) they sicked and hospitalized, then all their saving went to doctors' pocket.

if you understand why you are here, your purpose on earth, you are already a rich man/woman smile.gif coz many people don't know/understand that.

even if you owned 100 houses, 400 bedrooms, but u can only sleep on one bed at one time whistling.gif

for me, i felt life is more rich if i know more stuffs, like making furniture, building house, repair electronics components, cooking smile.gif , make a crank electric generator and etc etc smile.gif too much knowledge i wish i could know rclxub.gif

not money not enough
but time not enough sweat.gif
i agree with you...

if you already have 1million but still to add it because feel it not enough..., you still not rich...

but if you have 1k and it is enough or too much for you... you already rich..

rich is when you feel enough already..
dreamer101
post Nov 10 2006, 10:54 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Anime-FAN @ Nov 10 2006, 08:02 PM)
Well we're talking about how to get RICH. Not about someone elses assets! You're out of the topic in the first place anyway.

RICH? Doesn't make anyone happy is LIES.
No, we are not. He is getting rich by being frugal. He is rich even though he does not earn a lot of money.

The problem here is your definition of rich is a person who spends a lot of money while my definition of rich is someone who own a lot of asset.

Dreamer
Anime-FAN
post Nov 11 2006, 06:27 PM

459 posts

-

luqmanz
post Nov 11 2006, 09:30 PM

Trading Geek
2,185 posts

I'll still keep to my own fact that, daily working will not make you or anyone rich, unless your salary >RM10k.
That is a very realistic goal to be achieved at age 30, if you plan your career path well.
It's all come down, on having a smart brain, to do all those above mentioned.

@yetieater money doesn't make people happier? here's an obvious clue, how the hell did the man get to Mexico to have his holiday with his wife?

How did the guitar player got his guitar? I mean of course the guitar player is not rich, but he got his happiness by playing the guitar, and he got the guitar by the... money... he own. So... I don't get it anyone who said, Money doesn't make us HUMANS happier.

I don't wanna continue talking about this nonsense. You keep your opinion, I'll keep mine.
Guitar player is happy because of the guitar, not the money.
If someone gives him the guitar for free, he will still be happy right ?
If he got RM 1 mil and he lost his limbs in an accident, he wont be happy because he cant play guitar.

That's what they mean when they say, money dont make people happier. You can be happy without having shitloads of money.

This post has been edited by luqmanz: Nov 11 2006, 09:32 PM
fyire
post Nov 11 2006, 10:19 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(Anime-FAN @ Nov 11 2006, 06:27 PM)
Right your definition of rich is owning alot of assets, while we're talking about how to get rich.

Still don't get it?

Spend alot of money? Owning asset? What were you thinking?

Spend money to buy house, the house is an asset. So if someone spent alot more money wisely than someone that owns 2 house of course he is far more richer. I don't get it?

Here my point again on how to get rich.
Get the all the information/knowledge you need.
Make your own business.
Smart investment.

I'll still keep to my own fact that, daily working will not make you or anyone rich, unless your salary >RM10k.

It's all come down, on having a smart brain, to do all those above mentioned.

@yetieater money doesn't make people happier? here's an obvious clue, how the hell did the man get to Mexico to have his holiday with his wife?

How did the guitar player got his guitar? I mean of course the guitar player is not rich, but he got his happiness by playing the guitar, and he got the guitar by the... money... he own. So... I don't get it anyone who said, Money doesn't make us HUMANS happier.

I don't wanna continue talking about this nonsense. You keep your opinion, I'll keep mine.
The entire point that dreamer is trying to make IS indeed on getting rich. Consider the following facts:
- money spent on fast cars, well, money is just spent
- money spent on assets is an investment, and well, using your money to make more money for you

dreamer101
post Nov 12 2006, 07:03 AM

15,855 posts

Unless you want to get money in an illegal way, you will get money

A) Earn

B) Save

C) Invest

A) Earn
To earn more than average people, you either work more hours than normal people or somehow you earn more per hour than normal people. You are either better than average people or luckier than average people.

C) Invest
To earn more from your investment, you have to be smarter than other people or taking a larger risk. Most investment are zero sum game. You make money from others mistake. To earn more than FD rate, you have to take a larger risk. And, just taking a larger risk is not good enough, you have to be smart and or else you will be conned by people.

Given that most people are average, so they will earn average income and have average investment. The only thing that they can do and control is to save money more than average people. They have to be frugal.

Is it any wonder that the research on millionaires in USA show that they are frugal across the board. They buy cheaper cars and houses than their peers at the same income level.

Read "The Millionaire Next Door".

It is easier to save more than earn more and invest smarter than average people. You may not be smart enough to do that. So, the fastest way for an average people maybe to save more money than average people for 20 to 30 years.

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Nov 12 2006, 07:29 AM
dreamer101
post Nov 12 2006, 07:41 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(Anime-FAN @ Nov 11 2006, 06:27 PM)

1) It is not a fact. It is your opinion. As I have shown in my example, a family that never have salary more than 2k per month is probably richer than you with more assets. So, your opinion is wrong!!

2) How many rich people that you actually know?? Aka, first hand information. And, I mean people with a lot of assets as opposed to pretend to be rich (spend a lot of money but own nothing). Almost all rich people that I know personally are very frugal.

3) I know people that earn 6 figures in annual salary in Malaysia and USA. One person has about 2 millions in his company pension alone. He is rich just by working. But, he is not normal aka average people.

It is NOT how much you earn. It is more important how much you save. If you spent most of your earning, you will NEVER be rich.

Dreamer

cherroy
post Nov 12 2006, 12:36 PM

25,802 posts

There is no short cut to be rich. Most of the success stories behind rich people is hardwork first then money make money.
Everyone just see their success and nobody ever think off their hardwork and determination when starting their career. Also, everyone said money make money is the fastest way to get rich, no doubt about it but you at least must have capital first, then using intelligent, knowledge and making decisive and correct investment throughout.

Proper financial management is the key of getting rich.
Demitri
post Nov 12 2006, 04:09 PM

213 posts

Be thankful and grateful, then you are a rich man! flex.gif
BoltonMan
post Nov 13 2006, 09:11 AM

Ass man
1,769 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Nov 12 2006, 12:36 PM)
There is no short cut to be rich. Most of the success stories behind rich people is hardwork first then money make money.
Everyone just see their success and nobody ever think off their hardwork and determination when starting their career. Also, everyone said money make money is the fastest way to get rich, no doubt about it but you at least must have capital first, then using intelligent, knowledge and making decisive and correct investment throughout.

Proper financial management is the key of getting rich.
100% agree

lol....may be some people think lim kok thong's genting is built by others 1 and he just sit there TT with leng lui every day....

even MLM/insurance, u also need muka tebal, call up people to TT, then treat people...then only people will join as your downline...

got 1 fast way 1...a small RM1 investment might change ur life....1 week just invest 3 times..... rolleyes.gif whistling.gif
rexis
post Nov 13 2006, 10:22 AM

*** 7-star status Old Bird ***
3,590 posts

I will just share my uncle's story here:

H work similar to an office boy in his early age, without a university degree, and during his form 3, his teacher thought that the whole class was too stupid and decided to let the entire batch to stay for another form 3. That how the background of H was.

He worked for a few years, saved some money, and he gathered a few partners to opened up a meshed wire business, selling industrial material, those people put inside the concrete and people used to fence their perimeter. Setting up a factory making these material not only required vast investment, it required people skill as well.

It seem like H's partner was not so honest anyway, it is said that he carried away the raw material away from the factory and claimed as his own. The factory is losing money, the partnership, is broken. The business close shop.

This doesnt mean an end for H, he continued his journey, this time, his rich brother steps in, and therefore a partnership among brothers was created. And another factory was set up.

It is not easy to secure industrial customers thou, "You clients wont come to you themselves" H said. H's rich brother(aka CEO of the factory, while H as GM) looking for clients at his lawyer firm(when the people come to make relevent contract, H giving discounts, and try best to make a happy customers.

And then they start making good name for themselves, happy customers introduced more customers. H always said, "If one client just ordered a few roll of meshed wires from you, dont underestimate them but serve them well, you will never know 10 years later he will come back to you with a 10 millions dollar project on hand."

20 years down the road, the factories expanded, a 2nd factory opened up. H is another rich brother in the family.

And when hes rich, he also brought a lot of lands, properties + FD.

So if you think the moral of the story is you need to have a rich brother to become success, its awefully wrong. No money doesnt mean impossible, you can always look for financial support. Failure doesnt mean an end, but only mean you learned from mistake and will not repeat again.

The least is that you have to know what you want to do.

QUOTE(ernie ball @ Nov 7 2006, 08:22 PM)
Join lampe berger, look at how 'successful' they are.

Just don't end up as a lame bugger, tho. xD
Seriously, earn your honest salary. Live a respectable life. If you had enough money invest in real estate, it's more stable than stock or currency. And don't do illegal business. There's no point having 10 millions buried somewhere if you can't spend it.
cough, hehe

This post has been edited by rexis: Nov 13 2006, 10:42 AM
darun
post Nov 13 2006, 10:40 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 12 2006, 07:41 AM)
1)  It is not a fact.  It is your opinion.  As I have shown in my example, a family that never have salary more than 2k per month is probably richer than you with more assets.  So, your opinion is wrong!!

2) How many rich people that you actually know??  Aka, first hand information.  And, I mean people with a lot of assets as opposed to pretend to be rich (spend a lot of money but own nothing).  Almost all rich people that I know personally are very frugal.

3) I know people that earn 6 figures in annual salary in Malaysia and USA.  One person has about 2 millions in his company pension alone.  He is rich just by working.  But, he is not normal aka average people.

It is NOT how much you earn.  It is more important how much you save.  If you spent most of your earning, you will NEVER be rich.

Dreamer
Dreamer, whats your view on children's education? I mean if a person saves and be frugal lets say for 20 years, by which time his/her child(ren) will need to go to university. Assume on average you are not able to secure a scholarship (most people dont) and you obviously want an acceptable tertiery education for your child (read: overseas), with the value of our ringgit right now, that whole education package for even one child is enough to set a person back by a big amount, in some cases most of their savings over the last 20 years. So, what do you recommend for a person to be financially independant when he/she retires taking into account the big amount he/she will have to spend on their child's education? Is being frugal alone enough?

One suggestion I've heard is to plan ahead and determine where the person wishes their children to study in. Then work towards migrating there, even if it means a career bump, at least you earn the local currency in that country and also the education costs will be local rates as well. He/she can then continue saving in that country's currency which would in most cases be a stronger currency than here. Of course the downside to this is there will be a substantial overhead investment in the initial move. What's your take on this?
kckia
post Nov 13 2006, 08:37 PM

343 posts

QUOTE(liangko @ Nov 6 2006, 04:11 PM)
How? If you really want to know, you have to do this one thing well. It is a four-letter word. If you don't know how to do it now or not skilled at it now, you have to learn how to do it well. This is the fastest way to get rich. smile.gif

You wanna know what the thing is? Yes, it is "sell".

Cheers.
KC

P.S. Now that you know what to do, if you really want to be rich, you must do it. Many people NATO: no action, talk only. wink.gif

dreamer101
post Nov 13 2006, 10:16 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Nov 13 2006, 10:40 AM)
Dreamer, whats your view on children's education?  I mean if a person saves and be frugal lets say for 20 years, by which time his/her child(ren) will need to go to university.  Assume on average you are not able to secure a scholarship (most people dont) and you obviously want an acceptable tertiery education for your child (read: overseas), with the value of our ringgit right now, that whole education package for even one child is enough to set a person back by a big amount, in some cases most of their savings over the last 20 years.  So, what do you recommend for a person to be financially independant when he/she retires taking into account the big amount he/she will have to spend on their child's education?  Is being frugal alone enough?

One suggestion I've heard is to plan ahead and determine where the person wishes their children to study in.  Then work towards migrating there, even if it means a career bump, at least you earn the local currency in that country and also the education costs will be local rates as well.  He/she can then continue saving in that country's currency which would in most cases be a stronger currency than here.  Of course the downside to this is there will be a substantial overhead investment in the initial move.  What's your take on this?
Darun,

There are multiple questions in your post. Let me answer in a multiple dimension.

1) Is being frugal enough??

It may not be enough but the alternative of not being frugal gives you even less options. You may not even survive financially. Much less talking financing education.

2) My approach to my children's education

In order for the new generation to survive, they need to learn how to earn, save, invest. My son is 10 years old and my daughter is 9 years old.

A) My son and daughter play monopoly. My son knows how to play "Cashflow 101" and win. So, he know quite a bit about accounting.

B) My children has a budget for their Xmas present and they get more money if they achieve certain improvement for their academic year. Please noted that word: "improvement". We are happy as long as they improve. We are NOT looking for them to score 100 in every subject. As long as they do their homework and prepare for exam and pass, that is what we are looking for.

They know how to shop for their present. They know that they get more for their money when they buy it on sale or buy older product. They pool their money and bought a old PS2 from their uncle.

They have fixed time for PS2 and TV as long as they finished their homework and pass their exam. It is merit based. They earn their PS2 time and TV time.

C) Due to advanced planning, both of my children have US green cards.

D) I spent half of my life living in USA. So, I am fairly Americanized. I do not believe in fully 100% financing my children's college education. They should work their way through college if they want to get a degree. This is how I did it. They learn a lot more if they do it that way.

E) For American system, the cheap way to go through college is to spend first 2 years in a community/junior college. Then, spend the last 2 years in a normal university.

This is a complicated/complex subject. The bottom line is you are trying to prepare your children for life. It is not just academic. They need to learn how to take care of themselves financially too. But, first, they need to have a habit / work ethic to earn for what they want. There is time for play and time for work.

Dreamer
elaineliew88
post Nov 13 2006, 11:17 PM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

robbed da bank then can fastest get rich...LOL
dreamer101
post Nov 13 2006, 11:32 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(elaineliew88 @ Nov 13 2006, 11:17 PM)
robbed da bank then can fastest get rich...LOL
You are assuming that bank has money.

Dreamer
elaineliew88
post Nov 13 2006, 11:32 PM

MCKY girl
1,230 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 13 2006, 11:32 PM)
You are assuming that bank has money.

Dreamer
lol...bank of coz got money wat.... tongue.gif tongue.gif
dreamer101
post Nov 13 2006, 11:40 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(elaineliew88 @ Nov 13 2006, 11:32 PM)
lol...bank of coz got money wat.... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
Nowaday, bank do not keep that much CASH around for you to rob.

Dreamer

darun
post Nov 14 2006, 08:36 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 13 2006, 10:16 PM)

D) I spent half of my life living in USA.  So, I am fairly Americanized.  I do not believe in fully 100% financing my children's college education.  They should work their way through college if they want to get a degree.  This is how I did it.  They  learn a lot more if they do it that way.

E) For American system, the cheap way to go through college is to spend first 2 years in a community/junior college.  Then, spend the last 2 years in a normal university.

This is a complicated/complex subject.  The bottom line is you are trying to prepare your children for life.  It is not just academic.  They need to learn how to take care of themselves financially too.  But, first, they need to have a habit / work ethic to earn for what they want.  There is time for play and time for work.

Dreamer
Ahh so you did go the migration route. I dont believe in 100% financing either, but without a green card in the country of education, it is very very difficult to work yourself through college, if the country is anything like the states, without a PR, a foreign student cannot work outside campus (and not more than 20 hours a week) and most campus jobs pay minimum rates (when I was working, it was around 5.50/hour) which is scarcely enough for room and board, let alone tuition. I've been there done that and I was lucky cause at that time the exchange rate was only slighly above 2.0 and my parents was able to cover my tuition. The exchange is currently 3.7 and as far as I know the tuition in the states have increased steadily over the years since I was there.

So looking back at just the financial point of view, assuming a person does not have very high pay, does not have a big high risk investment going on, the only source of financial stability is a mediocre pay job with good sense in frugality, the only option so far I see to provide a good tertiery education option for a person's offspring in a foreign country would be to secure at least a residentship in the country of interest. Another option would be to secure a scholarship, but that is abit risky as a lot of them depends on your child's secondary performance, but not everyone has a child prodigy.

dreamer101
post Nov 14 2006, 09:14 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Nov 14 2006, 08:36 AM)
Ahh so you did go the migration route.  I dont believe in 100% financing either, but without a green card in the country of education, it is very very difficult to work yourself through college, if the country is anything like the states, without a PR, a foreign student cannot work outside campus (and not more than 20 hours a week) and most campus jobs pay minimum rates (when I was working, it was around 5.50/hour) which is scarcely enough for room and board, let alone tuition.  I've been there done that and I was lucky cause at that time the exchange rate was only slighly above 2.0 and my parents was able to cover my tuition.  The exchange is currently 3.7 and as far as I know the tuition in the states have increased steadily over the years since I was there.

So looking back at just the financial point of view, assuming a person does not have very high pay, does not have a big high risk investment going on, the only source of financial stability is a mediocre pay job with good sense in frugality, the only option so far I see to provide a good tertiery education option for a person's offspring in a foreign country would be to secure at least a residentship in the country of interest.  Another option would be to secure a scholarship, but that is abit risky as a lot of them depends on your child's secondary performance, but not everyone has a child prodigy.
Darun,

1) I did not have a green card. I worked two part-time jobs while going through college in USA. I paid in-state tuition because I worked at the campus.

2) IMHO, you are asking a wrong question. You are trying to prepare your children to survive in the new world. So, depending the capability of your children, a college degree may or may not be the answer. If your children is NOT college material, saving the money from college as down payment for their first house might be a better option.

3) I have seen too many NEW generation waste their parent money on college and learnt nothing.

4) If your children's secondary result is no good even though our standards in Malaysia is so low, is it a good idea for him/her to study oversea?? Is it a waste of money??

Dreamer
darun
post Nov 14 2006, 09:53 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 14 2006, 09:14 AM)
Darun,

1) I did not have a green card.  I worked two part-time jobs while going through college in USA.  I paid in-state tuition because I worked at the campus.
As far as I know, paying in-state tuition is up to the university and not an immigration law. Not all unis provide that. At my uni, they only normally provide that for master's students and not bachelor's. Also, as far as I know, back then, I'm not sure about now, immigration clearly states you cannot work more than 20 hours a week for foreign students. Sure some of my friends work over the quote and some even work outside campus, but just because they never got caught doesnt mean it wont happen. In fact after 9/11 our uni did a crackdown on students working in campus exceeding the immigration quota and refused to sign their i20s for reentry and asked those students to quickly finish their course and head home. Of course those that worked illegaly outside campus was not caught since the uni's only focused on in campus employees.

So for 20 hours a week, at minimum wage (5.*/hour) is NOT enough to cover out of state tuition. Yes you did it, but you are not an average case as far as I know. Btw does your uni guarantee in-state tuition for ALL campus employees? Which uni is this?

I did not claim you have a green card, I merely state you went the migration path since you claimed your children has residence status in the states.

2) IMHO, you are asking a wrong question.  You are trying to prepare your children to survive in the new world.  So, depending the capability of your children, a college degree may or may not be the answer.  If your children is NOT college material, saving the money from college as down payment for their first house might be a better option.

3) I have seen too many NEW generation waste their parent money on college and learnt nothing.
You are approaching this wrong. How do you determine if your children is college material? When he/she is born? When he/she is in primary school? When he/she is in secondary school? Do you only plan for his/her tertiery education then? Personally I believe it is prudent to plan it now. Even if he/she is not interested in tertiery education or is not cut out, then no point forcing him/her. I never said about forcing tertiery education upon them. You assume too much. But if he/she is made out and wills to extend their education, by then it may already be too late to plan.

4) If your children's secondary result is no good even though our standards in Malaysia is so low, is it a good idea for him/her to study oversea??  Is it a waste of money??

Dreamer
Not only does our education standard bad in educating children, it is also bad in evaluating smart children. As an example, someone who scores 15As does not necessarily mean they are smart and capable of critical thinking. It could just mean he/she is good in memorizing materials and spitting them back out. Sure they have some level of intelligence, but 15As hardly provide undeniable proof that they are a genius. Look at our SPM for instance, at one point you can excel in all subjects but considered to fail or at least get the lowest grade if you fail B.M. How is that even an accurate determinant of whether someone is cut out for tertiery education? In fact my own brother was in this situation, he failed his B.M. but got decent grades in all other subjects. He went on to do his A-levels and got a degree in the states easily.

As for focing tertiery education upon our children, I've never said anything about doing that. But I do believe in planning ahead in case they do need it. Even if they dont, the already laid out plan can be used for something else, as you said the money can be used for them, even their residence status/green card can be used for them to secure a job.
dreamer101
post Nov 14 2006, 10:50 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Nov 14 2006, 09:53 AM)
As far as I know, paying in-state tuition is up to the university and not an immigration law.  Not all unis provide that.  At my uni, they only normally provide that for master's students and not bachelor's.  Also, as far as I know, back then, I'm not sure about now, immigration clearly states you cannot work more than 20 hours a week for foreign students.  Sure some of my friends work over the quote and some even work outside campus, but just because they never got caught doesnt mean it wont happen.  In fact after 9/11 our uni did a crackdown on students working in campus exceeding the immigration quota and refused to sign their i20s for reentry and asked those students to quickly finish their course and head home.  Of course those that worked illegaly outside campus was not caught since the uni's only focused on in campus employees.

So for 20 hours a week, at minimum wage (5.*/hour) is NOT enough to cover out of state tuition.  Yes you did it, but you are not an average case as far as I know.  Btw does your uni guarantee in-state tuition for ALL campus employees?  Which uni is this?

I did not claim you have a green card, I merely state you went the migration path since you claimed your children has residence status in the states.
You are approaching this wrong.  How do you determine if your children is college material?  When he/she is born? When he/she is in primary school? When he/she is in secondary school?  Do you only plan for his/her tertiery education then?  Personally I believe it is prudent to plan it now.  Even if he/she is not interested in tertiery education or is not cut out, then no point forcing him/her.  I never said about forcing tertiery education upon them.  You assume too much.  But if he/she is made out and wills to extend their education, by then it may already be too late to plan.
Not only does our education standard bad in educating children, it is also bad in evaluating smart children.  As an example, someone who scores 15As does not necessarily mean they are smart and capable of critical thinking.  It could just mean he/she is good in memorizing materials and spitting them back out.  Sure they have some level of intelligence, but 15As hardly provide undeniable proof that they are a genius.  Look at our SPM for instance, at one point you can excel in all subjects but considered to fail or at least get the lowest grade if you fail B.M.  How is that even an accurate determinant of whether someone is cut out for tertiery education?  In fact my own brother was in this situation, he failed his B.M. but got decent grades in all other subjects.  He went on to do his A-levels and got a degree in the states easily.

As for focing tertiery education upon our children, I've never said anything about doing that.  But I do believe in planning ahead in case they do need it.  Even if they dont, the already laid out plan can be used for something else, as you said the money can be used for them, even their residence status/green card can be used for them to secure a job.
1) You did not study in state of Texas. And, you did not study in a state university of Texas. The in-state tuition thing is based Texas state law (aka it applies to all state universities in Texas) but not many people know this. Of course, the school is not interested in telling you too.

2) You are planning ahead for their tertiary education but what you are planning for their future beyond tertiary education??

3) In USA, even people with college degree are struggling to make a living.

4) I really do not know what future held for my children but I am trying to give them
A) A good work ethic

B) Willingness to learn

C) Financial education -> How to shop, budget, save money??

D) Multi-lingual

E) Multi-cultural

F) Ability to think critically

Dreamer

This post has been edited by dreamer101: Nov 14 2006, 10:52 AM
ParaOpticaL
post Nov 14 2006, 10:59 AM

Planter - Durian, Jackfruit, Papaya
2,348 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 13 2006, 10:16 PM)
Darun,

There are multiple questions in your post.  Let me answer in a multiple dimension.

1) Is being frugal enough??

It may not be enough but the alternative of not being frugal gives you even less options.  You may not even survive financially.  Much less talking financing education.

2) My approach to my children's education

In order for the new generation to survive, they need to learn how to earn, save, invest.  My son is 10 years old and my daughter is 9 years old. 

A) My son and daughter play monopoly.  My son knows how to play "Cashflow 101" and win.  So, he know quite a bit about accounting.

B) My children has a budget for their Xmas present and they get more money if they achieve certain improvement for their academic year.  Please noted that word: "improvement".  We are happy as long as they improve.  We are NOT looking for them to score 100 in every subject.  As long as they do their homework and prepare for exam and pass, that is what we are looking for.

They know how to shop for their present.  They know that they get more for their money when they buy it on sale or buy older product.  They pool their money and bought a old PS2 from their uncle.

They have fixed time for PS2 and TV as long as they finished their homework and pass their exam.  It is merit based.  They earn their PS2 time and TV time.

D) I spent half of my life living in USA.  So, I am fairly Americanized.  I do not believe in fully 100% financing my children's college education.  They should work their way through college if they want to get a degree.  This is how I did it.  They  learn a lot more if they do it that way.

E) For American system, the cheap way to go through college is to spend first 2 years in a community/junior college.  Then, spend the last 2 years in a normal university.

This is a complicated/complex subject.  The bottom line is you are trying to prepare your children for life.  It is not just academic.  They need to learn how to take care of themselves financially too.  But, first, they need to have a habit / work ethic to earn for what they want.  There is time for play and time for work.

Dreamer
this piece i find is a very informative post. this i think should be the way we start teaching our kids how to take care of themselves financially.

btw where did you get the CashFlow 101? i havent seen it here locally.
darun
post Nov 14 2006, 11:09 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 14 2006, 10:50 AM)
1) You did not study in state of Texas.  And, you did not study in a state university of Texas.  The in-state tuition thing is based Texas state law (aka it applies to all state universities in Texas) but not many people know this.  Of course, the school is not interested in telling you too.
Hmm this is good information. Thanks. I never knew about Texas law since I've never met or known anyone studying there.

2) You are planning ahead for their tertiary education but what you are planning for their future beyond tertiary education?? 
Havent gotten to the point yet, one step at a time. Havent even have a child yet, will soon though.

3) In USA, even people with college degree are struggling to make a living.
Thats probably true anywhere. I dont equate college degree with guarantee of making a living. But it does give the person with a degree a chance of being short listed for interviews. Whether the person can make a living or not is another question. Personally I think if the person has genuine interest in the work, then even with average intelligence, he/she should be able to make a living.

4) I really do not know what future held for my children but I am trying to give them
  A) A good work ethic

B) Willingness to learn

C) Financial education -> How to shop, budget, save money??

D) Multi-lingual

E) Multi-cultural

Dreamer
Thats some good suggestion, I have some of those in mind but not all, will keep that list in mind. Thanks.
dreamer101
post Nov 14 2006, 11:23 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Nov 14 2006, 11:09 AM)

Personally I think if the person has genuine interest in the work, then even with average intelligence, he/she should be able to make a living.

Darun,

1) That is a BIG problem in Malaysia. The new generation has no genuine interest in anything. They thought that as long as they pass the exam, they will be fine.

2) We, the uncles and aunties, had sponsored many of our nephews and nieces for studies in USA. So, we have experiences with many children across the last 10 years. The problem with the newer batch is that we had done too much for them and they had taken things for granted. Parents had done too much for them and they only have to study and they are not independent. They incapable of taking care of themselves and taking responsibilities.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Nov 14 2006, 11:33 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(ParaOpticaL @ Nov 14 2006, 10:59 AM)
this piece i find is a very informative post. this i think should be the way we start teaching our kids how to take care of themselves financially.

btw where did you get the CashFlow 101? i havent seen it here locally.
I bought it in USA and taught my son how to play it.

Dreamer
low yat 82
post Nov 14 2006, 12:14 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

cashflow here got... but its..... u noe ler....
darun
post Nov 14 2006, 12:39 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 14 2006, 11:23 AM)
Darun,

1) That is a BIG problem in Malaysia.  The new generation has no genuine interest in anything.  They thought that as long as they pass the exam, they will be fine.

2) We, the uncles and aunties, had sponsored many of our nephews and nieces for studies in USA.  So, we have experiences with many children across the last 10 years.  The problem with the newer batch is that we had done too much for them and they had taken things for granted.  Parents had done too much for them and they only have to study and they are not independent.  They incapable of taking care of themselves and taking responsibilities.

Dreamer
That is so true. Parents here nowadays dont focus enough on ethics and morals as well.
post Nov 14 2006, 12:48 PM

lost soul
866 posts

This post has been edited by 9876789: Aug 31 2021, 06:54 PM
luqmanz
post Nov 14 2006, 01:07 PM

Trading Geek
2,185 posts

Mind to share with us any good way of teaching people to think critically?

It's a very-very important skill. Much more important than 15A1. smile.gif
dreamer101
post Nov 14 2006, 01:11 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(luqmanz @ Nov 14 2006, 01:07 PM)
Mind to share with us any good way of teaching people to think critically?

It's a very-very important skill. Much more important than 15A1. smile.gif
Treat your children like adult. Allow them to question you. Give rational answer to them. Let them think out some of the answers instead spoon feeding them.

Make mistake and admit your own mistake. Admit that you are not infallible.

I doubt it is possible in Asian culture.

Dreamer
darun
post Nov 14 2006, 01:16 PM

978 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 14 2006, 01:11 PM)
Treat your children like adult.  Allow them to question you.  Give rational answer to them.  Let them think out some of the answers instead spoon feeding them.

Make mistake and admit your own mistake.  Admit that you are not infallible.

I doubt it is possible in Asian culture.

Dreamer
Another thing I'd like to add, teach them to question what they read/hear/told.
dreamer101
post Nov 14 2006, 10:10 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Nov 14 2006, 01:16 PM)
Another thing I'd like to add, teach them to question what they read/hear/told.
Darun,

It is hard in Asian culture since you are NOT allow to question the authority/parent/elders and so on..

Dreamer
vex
post Nov 14 2006, 10:13 PM

1,984 posts

sound like what the gov should do to the people ~ lol ~
dreamer101
post Nov 14 2006, 10:28 PM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(vex @ Nov 14 2006, 10:13 PM)
sound like what the gov should do to the people ~ lol ~
It is NOT in the best interest of any government for its people to be smart and capable of critical thinking.

Democracy started in Viking culture where the chief is elected because everyone can fight and the need to convince people to follow you. Ditto for trial by juries.

True democracy started in Britain when most commoners can carry a bow and shoot arrows. When that happened, a group of commoners can bring down any knight.

Dreamer
fyire
post Nov 15 2006, 01:58 AM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 14 2006, 10:10 PM)
Darun,

It is hard in Asian culture since you are NOT allow to question the authority/parent/elders and so on..

Dreamer
That brings to mind the extreme looks of shock when I described some of the stunts that I used to pull in University to those who graduated from local colleges smile.gif
quintessential
post Nov 15 2006, 02:28 AM

ilha formosa
2,919 posts

i've very bad feeling about being frugal because my friends taunt me "hey stingy *******" or "cheapskate". i dun spend my money on hi tech gadgets, birthday gathering at secret recipie and clubbing, but i spend money on pursuing my interest such as learning spanish. i dont think my frugalness has not reach the level of "kiamsiapness".

This post has been edited by quintessential: Nov 15 2006, 02:30 AM
post Nov 15 2006, 03:10 AM

224 posts

The good and legal way to get rich is, get a rich husband/wife. Invest on your partners.tongue.gif
dreamer101
post Nov 15 2006, 03:55 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(quintessential @ Nov 15 2006, 02:28 AM)
i've very bad feeling about being frugal because my friends taunt me "hey stingy *******" or "cheapskate". i dun spend my money on hi tech gadgets, birthday gathering at secret recipie and clubbing, but i spend money on pursuing my interest such as learning spanish. i dont think my frugalness has not reach the level of "kiamsiapness".
It is very simple. Average people are NOT rich. Rich people are NOT average.

If you live like normal people, you will never be rich. If you cannot put up with peer pressure, you will never be rich.

Dreamer
dreamer101
post Nov 15 2006, 04:00 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Nov 14 2006, 12:39 PM)
That is so true.  Parents here nowadays dont focus enough on ethics and morals as well.
Darun,

I would not put the blame totally with the parent. It is hard to raise children with morality and ethical fashion when you are living in an immoral and unethical society. The world is telling our children that it is okay to be corrupt, lie, cheat and so on. And, many of them are our leaders.

Dreamer
darun
post Nov 15 2006, 08:13 AM

978 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 15 2006, 04:00 AM)
Darun,

I would not put the blame totally with the parent.  It is hard to raise children with morality and ethical fashion when you are living in an immoral and unethical society.    The world is telling our children that it is okay to be corrupt, lie, cheat and so on.  And, many of them are our leaders.

Dreamer
Well the problem, as I see it right now, a lot of parent are setting a very bad example for their children. As an example, jumping queue, parking in the middle of the road (yes this happens very frequently in Bandar Utama where I'm staying, you see parents parking in the middle of the road during end of school day even though there is a big free MPPJ parking lot right next to the school because they dont want walk a few steps, the school in question is puay chai, if anyone stay nearby, go take a look at 6.30pm everyday), swearing at people, etc. A lot of these are basic ethics and morals, I've no doubt all these parents teach their children morals, but it is useless if they themselves turn around and do all these inconsiderate actions right in front of their children. All they are giving them is lip service and showing them how to be selfish. Also note, all these parent are most likely well educated, successful middle class people considering a lot of them drives cars better than proton make. So yes, based on my own experience often times its the parents to blame, because they themselves are not setting a good example for their kids. No doubt the society contributes a big part as well, but it is quite hopeless for a kid if their own parents are inconsiderate hypocrits.
dreamer101
post Nov 15 2006, 08:39 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(darun @ Nov 15 2006, 08:13 AM)
Well the problem, as I see it right now, a lot of parent are setting a very bad example for their children.  As an example, jumping queue, parking in the middle of the road (yes this happens very frequently in Bandar Utama where I'm staying, you see parents parking in the middle of the road during end of school day even though there is a big free MPPJ parking lot right next to the school because they dont want walk a few steps, the school in question is puay chai, if anyone stay nearby, go take a look at 6.30pm everyday), swearing at people, etc.  A lot of these are basic ethics and morals,  I've no doubt all these parents teach their children morals, but it is useless if they themselves turn around and do all these inconsiderate actions right in front of their children.  All they are giving them is lip service and showing them how to be selfish.  Also note, all these parent are most likely well educated, successful middle class people considering a lot of them drives cars better than proton make.  So yes, based on my own experience often times its the parents to blame, because they themselves are not setting a good example for their kids.  No doubt the society contributes a big part as well, but it is quite hopeless for a kid if their own parents are inconsiderate hypocrits.
Darun,

So what?? I really do not care how others raise their children. That is their responsibilities. I really do not know how my children will turn out. Knock on wood. Hopefully, they will work out fine and not being a burden to anyone. But, I can never be sure. They are so young.

Be constructive in life. Do what you can. Do the right thing and encourage others to do the right thing. But, if people do not follow your advice, do not be so hard on them too. They are living in an environment that encourages that kind of behavior. Most people do the popular thing instead of the right thing. That is normal and how human behave anyhow.

Dreamer
bluffy83
post Nov 15 2006, 08:48 AM

481 posts

QUOTE(dreamer101 @ Nov 7 2006, 11:29 AM)
How do you know?? I know a family that the father never earn more than 2K per month.  They owned 2 houses and send 2 of their children to USA for college education.  They are richer than most people.  But, they never own a car.

Read "The Millionaire Next Door".  The research on the millionaires in USA.  Most of the millionaires in USA do not earn a lot of money.

Dreamer
thats tottally bullshiieeeeeetttttt!!! mind to tell the great father name. ahahah. btw it suit ur nick Dreaaaamer. Wake up dudee rclxub.gif

dreamer101
post Nov 15 2006, 10:05 AM

15,855 posts

QUOTE(bluffy83 @ Nov 15 2006, 08:48 AM)
thats tottally bullshiieeeeeetttttt!!! mind to tell the great father name. ahahah. btw it suit ur nick Dreaaaamer. Wake up dudee rclxub.gif
Why so angry?? Why should I try to convince you?? I make more money if people do not believe me. People takes 9 years car loan. People buying more house than they can afford. People overspent. They end up working for the bank for the most of their life and pay interest to the bank. Meanwhile, I collect good dividend from the bank every year.

I cannot help it if people want to be stupid. At least, I get to laugh my way to the bank.

Dreamer
SUSonlinestore
post Nov 16 2006, 11:05 AM

35 posts

Yes, that's the real world. you need money to make more money. however, if you're smart, then you will find some solution for this. earn big money with little or no model... example??? find yourself. haha.

0.0316sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 12:21 AM