Is it a good idea to top up on ponzi 2?
Fundsupermart.com v11, Grexit or not, Europe will sail on...
Jul 17 2015, 10:11 AM
2,392 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Is it a good idea to top up on ponzi 2?
Jul 17 2015, 01:43 PM
Jul 17 2015, 08:08 PM
Jul 25 2015, 02:26 PM
KAF Vision is super awesome
This post has been edited by brotan: Jul 25 2015, 02:27 PM |
Jul 25 2015, 02:43 PM
Jul 25 2015, 03:15 PM
Jul 25 2015, 03:33 PM
Jul 25 2015, 03:43 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 25 2015, 03:38 PM) try the FUNDS INFO.... i am aware of thatunder it got Chart Center and Funds Returns and many more....I find it very informative.... hope you will like it too. but that one if you already have a list of funds to watch what i need mostly is to analyze which funds i need to consider from the whole list offered. i already have a method for this though |
Jul 25 2015, 04:02 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 25 2015, 03:49 PM) mind to share? or is it also a Proprietary trade marked item like the Algozen ? what i normally do is 1. go to "funds info" 2. then "fund selector" 3. click "generate table". for filters, i leave the default settings 4. it will list all the funds with average return for a few different periods 5. copy the whole content to excel 6. do some formula in excel to calculate the final data i need for this "final data", what i try to generate is the yearly return for individual year. meaning i want to know, what's the return for year no 7, the return for year 4, etc note that i mean the return for that particular year, not the average return for the past whatever year once i have that info (i try to do year 1 to year 7), i try to find which fund makes consistent reasonably high (i normally set at 8%) positive return every single year what i want is consistency and not super high return 1 year but sluggish other years based on the short listed results, i make my final decision |
Jul 25 2015, 04:29 PM
QUOTE(yklooi @ Jul 25 2015, 04:17 PM) just be careful as there is an article about something like this.... "Avoid Using Your Rear-View Mirror To Invest ...... August 16, 2013 Extrapolating historical performance can sometimes be detrimental to investing; we suggest investors avoid relying too much on their “rear-view mirrors” when they invest. http://fundsupermart.com.my/main/research/...?articleNo=3744 also, if the +tive NAV growth had been good for that many years...the PE value of that area of fund coverage maybe already at the high side... "Western developed markets have delivered extremely strong returns in recent years, with the US having soared 117.6% (16.8% annualised) over the past five years and by 81.5% (22.0% annualised) over the past three years. European equities, have also done well, with returns of 69.4% over the past three years (19.2% annualised) although the European Sovereign Debt Crisis back in 2011 and 2012 detracted from its five year returns of 65.4% (10.6% annualised). Returns are as of 20 July 2015. On the back of such strong returns, valuations have likewise risen strongly for the two markets, with both markets trading at premiums against their estimated fair PEs. Looking ahead with a three-year time horizon, valuations are still not cheap for US and European equities, with both markets staring at a potential contraction of valuation multiples ...." https://secure.fundsupermart.com/main/artic...-Markets--10613 also, there is a possibility of a change of FM and the FH ownerships which may lead to some other things just a thought... i reduce my risk by looking at as many years data as possible so if let's i look at 5 years data, each of the 5 years must be performing well only i will consider. of course maybe the 6th year will crash but every investment or analysis method also got risk. just need to reduce them maybe u can share what's ur method? and how well they perform? |
Jul 25 2015, 04:30 PM
Jul 25 2015, 07:48 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 25 2015, 07:17 PM) Sifu sifu I have a question. How are you gonna time the market? Lump sum investing vs dollar cost averaging Most article assumes that at the start you've had a big lump sum cash and then we choose to DCA or not. Their research says that lump sum gives better returns over DCA 2 th But how about youve got no lump sum cash now? if I choose to lump sum. Meand ill accumulate cash overtime In savings account. And when market ngam ngam. Then lump sum invest in? If anyone is expert in timing, no need unit trust liao. |
Jul 25 2015, 10:29 PM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 25 2015, 09:18 PM) erm.... not to say I'm gonna time the market.... haha. just a question. cause i read research that put lump sum investment vs dca. 2/3 of the times, lump sum investment wins dca over 10 years. Let's say you invest lump sum when the price is peak and compare another guy invest partly same time but DCA when price going south this condition is. lump sum investment = at year 0, you got 1 million. you directly put in all. dca = at year 0, you got 1 million. you dca your 1 million over every month until the end. Now I'm thinking how about. at year 0, you got no budget or shit. If you decide to lump sum. means for the first few months perhaps, or few years you are accumulating cash.(static cash). then only you lump sum later. vs at year 0, every month you put in little by little. It seems for this more realistic scenario, dca wins. I think. Who u think will have better return? |
Jul 26 2015, 10:48 PM
you guys do ETF?
Jul 27 2015, 07:20 PM
Jul 28 2015, 09:35 PM
is it possible to view your average real annualized ROI?
now i can only view absolute ROI example. Let's say I buy 1. Jan 1k unit 1.000 2. Feb 1k unit 1.001 3. April 2k unit 1.003 Now Jun NAV is 1.005 FSM just calculate ROI as 0.32 % which is the absolute return, without considering when you buy any option to view the return or annualized return taking into consideration the time you buy? |
Jul 29 2015, 01:21 AM
QUOTE(IvanWong1989 @ Jul 28 2015, 10:03 PM) thanks for the recommendation. cool stuffbtw, wanna ask. when i try "transaction type" = dividend, the units calculated is equal to transaction amt. no matter what's the NAV is this a bug? |
Jul 29 2015, 10:08 PM
Just calculated. My overall IRR only 4.53%. damn lousy
all because of ponzi 2 |
Jul 30 2015, 09:24 AM
Just dump all my available cash to RHB Islamic Bond Fund. Hopefully didn't make wrong decision
Jul 30 2015, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(xuzen @ Jul 30 2015, 09:41 AM) Bad decision....to liquidate a bond fund takes T+14 days to reach your bank account. If you need money immediately, it will be a problem! thanks for the highlghtXuzen p/s: Read the RHB Islamic Bond Fund Fact Sheet carefully esp the small print.... "any fund invested in less than a year, should you withdraw there is a penalty of 1% charge!" damn it. how come got exit fee one? never heard of such thing. i checked other bond fund also don't have. btw, redemption is T + 4 , not 14 This post has been edited by brotan: Jul 30 2015, 01:36 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0508sec
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:04 PM |