Photography Nikon D40/D40X, finally, dslr for noobs

goldfries
post Jan 6 2007, 10:03 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Jan 5 2007, 02:38 AM)
the d40 is not bad, cheap. But alot of flaws biggrin.gif
here's what i like to know

what do you mean by flaws? or are you just saying that the D40 is just lacking those better features found on D50 / D70? smile.gif

Verdict : Highly Recommended
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond40/

With their new D40, Nikon has proven that you can make an entry-level digital SLR without cutting a lot of corners. There's a lot to like about this camera, from its compact size to its performance to its photo quality. For those ready to step up to the D-SLR world, the D40 is a fabulous way to do it.
http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/nikon/d40-review/

QUOTE(wkcheang @ Jan 5 2007, 11:45 PM)
Wow. "Just" buying a D70s. No wonder the economy keeps running.  thumbup.gif
rich nmind, rich and unwise - that's the problem. biggrin.gif

i guess the size and the megapixels that come along makes one look like a better photographer.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 6 2007, 10:05 AM
goldfries
post Jan 6 2007, 10:18 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 6 2007, 10:04 AM)
I like it because it is compact
simply can bring to office everyday
didn't realize it until you mentioned, then i saw this
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond40/page3.asp

btw D40 should be able to work with AF Nikkor 28mm f2.8 prime lens right?
goldfries
post Jan 6 2007, 10:24 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wkcheang @ Jan 6 2007, 10:23 AM)
Yes, you can mount the AF Nikkor 28 2.8, yes, it will meter. But no, it wont AF.  hands.gif
darn. so i need AF-S / AF-I lenses for AFing?

then again - the reason i'm aiming for DSLR is so that i get more freedom to manual focus! tongue.gif my S7000 focusing is tedious, yes it has lens-ring focus but then it's motorized.
goldfries
post Jan 6 2007, 10:34 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 6 2007, 10:30 AM)
who ask u get AF only lens
get la AF-S lens brows.gif
aiyah i got the lense before the camera ma. earlier intended D50 / D70 wan.

i'm still contemplating whether to go without the AF function. biggrin.gif sometimes lazy la, snapping scenery.

btw how much can i sell the D40 kit lens for if i actually did buy one? come to think of it, the D40 kit lens can AF right? biggrin.gif

EDITED : AFAIK it is AF-S DX 18-55mm so looks like AF it can. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 6 2007, 10:37 AM
goldfries
post Jan 6 2007, 10:41 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wkcheang @ Jan 6 2007, 10:39 AM)
From a marketing perspective, I suppose it would be a dead product if the kit lens couldn't AF right?  rclxms.gif
hehe. makes sense. pardon my early-morning-lack-of-common-sense. tongue.gif

still considering the D40...........tempting.........
goldfries
post Jan 6 2007, 12:47 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

i'm not into a lot of lens changing. will just stick to what i have.......... for now. body later still can upgrade. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jan 6 2007, 09:15 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Jan 6 2007, 04:05 PM)
haha sure boh
u will change ur mind very very soon
hehe. i know my usage........ wink.gif

even my S7000 last me nearly 2 years, since photography is just a hobby i don't intend to buy many lense.

my type of photography is usually landscape / scenery so sticking to a lens or 2 will be fine until later on when i have more $$$$ allocated to spend on lenses. smile.gif

goldfries
post Jan 17 2007, 07:54 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chiewming @ Jan 15 2007, 12:24 PM)
KL more expensive meh for D40??

which shop do u all recommend?
i saw at Key Color the other day

RM 2,350
1. D40 + kit lens
2. screen protector
3. Travel bag + Nikon bag
4. 1GB SD
5. Tripod

ehhh. yeah i think that's it.

goldfries
post Jan 20 2007, 03:30 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(Mavik @ Jan 19 2007, 10:57 AM)
Quite happy with the pictures, can get nicer photos from my previous Canon S3.  smile.gif
ok so the Canon S3 produces nicer pictures? or did you put the sentence wrongly?

goldfries
post Jan 31 2007, 04:12 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jan 31 2007, 02:03 PM)
shouldnt it be better to go straight either d70 or d80? rather than getting d40?
wont it be like buy first cause it cheap then regret it later?
not necessarily. you can't generalize people. we all use cameras (and our funds) differently.

smile.gif for some (people like me) we do plan ahead on what to buy and how we wish to go around a hobby.

so D40 is a nice choice IMO if you're just wanting an entry-level DSLR and being happy with a few lenses. biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Jan 31 2007, 04:42 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Jan 31 2007, 04:18 PM)
If you wanna go for DSLR, think of my advice...

For me, better go for high end DSLR
for example, Nikon; go for D70 or D80 or higher
for Canon; go for EOS 350D or 400D or higher

not everyone has the $$$$ to spare.

D70 / D80 isn't even high-end in the first place. it's just a notch or 2 above D40 / 50 but certainly far from being high end.

how about you buy Canon EOS 1D Mk II then?

Why?
Because, no experience got nothing to do with high end camera
when u buy high end camera, you can learn a lot better than lower specs DSLR
this knowledge or so-called experience you WILL NEVER find it in lower specs DSLR

it's not about experience, it's about $$$$. even the D40 also have a lot of things to play around with already compared to P&S. smile.gif

for example, just imagine what 10MP DSLR can do to you
you can go rclxm9.gif when see the results
just imagine, what 6MP DSLR can do for you?
for 6MP, might as well buy normal digital camera like Canon iXus
even iXus better than 6MP DSLR

i guess you have no idea that 6MP and 10MP picture sizes aren't that far apart,

and strangely earlier you mentioned getting a D70 / 350D when they're only 6MP / 8MP respectively. smile.gif

one more thing, if you buy high end DSLR, you will learn more how to take extra care of your camera more than if u buy lower specs DSLR
know why? the cheaper the price, the less you care  wink.gif
that's not the way it's supposed to be. regardless of what you buy, whether P&S below RM 600 or a high-end camera - you MUST always make it a practise to care for it. no matter how, it's still your $$$ spent.

anyone who thinks the way that you mentioned, i just a person who doesn't know how to care for stuff.

and your logic doesn't make sense.
goldfries
post Jan 31 2007, 04:57 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(VincC454 @ Jan 31 2007, 04:55 PM)
and still you ask ppl to buy the d40
haha
see, there's he's just giving his feedback on what he finds he didn't like about it - that doesn't mean he cannot recommend to others. smile.gif

do some readup on the D40 reviews, it's a good camera.

if you have bigger palms, maybe you'd prefer the D70/D80. biggrin.gif for me, i have smaller palms and i like the size of the D40.
goldfries
post Jan 31 2007, 05:02 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

wah ehh. don't get me wrong. i'm just saying he's expressing his opinion. smile.gif chill.....

EDITED : VincC454, my apologies if my post has in anyway offended you. no intention to do so. thank you.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Jan 31 2007, 05:12 PM
goldfries
post Feb 2 2007, 04:14 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(chiewming @ Feb 2 2007, 11:44 AM)
Cons of D40 :
- too small
- not easy to do setting
ehh. is the lacking of LCD status display on top part of your CONs point #2? smile.gif

the size on the other hand is a PRO to some. it boils down to preference.

what i don't like is that D40 doesn't use CF card. damn, bought a CF to use with DSLR and now i have to get SD card. luckily the thing is package usually includes 1 - 2GB SD. smile.gif

yeah - i admit, i'm eyeing on a D40 myself.
goldfries
post Mar 6 2007, 02:12 AM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(sil3ntscr3am @ Mar 5 2007, 11:37 PM)
Nice price. Mind telling where?
that pricing seems similar to the one i saw at Key Color MV Megamall.
goldfries
post Apr 6 2007, 02:49 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(BulletsStorm @ Apr 6 2007, 02:31 AM)
I want to ask a question to all NikonD40 owners out there,,

Probably you've owned a camera(s) before this one and probably this is your first real stuff a DSLR camera so are still thinking for upgrading ?
i think of lens and other accessories more than the body.
goldfries
post Apr 18 2007, 12:41 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

D100 - Announced 21-Feb-02
D70 - Announced 20-Apr-05

source. http://www.dpreview.com
goldfries
post Oct 4 2007, 07:56 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

OFF-TOPIC
- next time see any jokers that spam irrelevant stuff, remember to report (PM, report button, whatever la........)

0.0181sec    0.80    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 09:05 AM