Photography Nikon D40/D40X, finally, dslr for noobs

firestarter
post Jan 31 2007, 09:56 AM

34 posts

D40 firmware 1.10 Available!

http://support.nikontech.com/cgi-bin/nikon...li=&p_topview=1

I updated mine last night..all went well..just follow instructions to the letter!

Must flash 2 files seperately, one by one..

Cheers
firestarter
post Jan 31 2007, 10:49 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(raoul @ Jan 31 2007, 10:23 AM)
Hi...any significant improvement over the updates ?
Yo..updated last night and just did some test shots to make sure all is well, not enough time to check it out properly..sometime tomorrow maybe, since its a holiday wink.gif

Will update here if i find anything.

Cheers
firestarter
post Jan 31 2007, 01:12 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Mr7077 @ Jan 31 2007, 12:09 PM)
i'm thinking of getting this camera...new user...no experience in DSLR photography...any comment ?...will it be a good choice ?
Excellent choice!
firestarter
post Feb 1 2007, 12:06 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(wen_wen @ Jan 31 2007, 11:08 PM)
chill man...i think wat goldfries meant is jz nt to shut down ppl's choices...personally i feel tat whether a camera is good or bad dpends on wat the user wants n prefer n wat options does the buyer has...some might hav the $$ bt will stil prefer a lower spec camera bcos he/she might nt nid such pro functions bt they jz want a decent camera wt better quality pics compared to compacts or ps...likewise some buyers might want a very pro camera bt could nt afford it financially n so on n so forth...omg i'm getting long winded here, my bad...bt my point is lets keep the options open cos like u mention diff ppl might differ in opinions n preferences...lets jz b happy n merry in sharing ^^ cool?

btw i jz gt the D40 cos i'm nt aiming pro...jz lookin for a new gadget to play wt ^^ n i dun want all the bulks , so the D40 suits me jz fine  (i hav small palms keke)^^..n the price well it's alrite wt me since i wouldn wnna spend more than 2.5k for a camera...n i'm pretty happy wt the quality...dun mind wt all the pro pro stuff cos i aint pro...jz to play play (^0^)
Go for it man! i have both the d80 and d40. d40 is plenty of camera, and as a carry around you wont miss much or any of the d80's extra features! its an excellent camera...even if its cheap and dosent support many lens or is only 6megapixles or hell..only 3 focus points? well i shoot purely choosing focus points manually and having 11 is irritating and cumbersome! 3 is much simpler and faster...the comparison is endless!

Cheers
firestarter
post Feb 1 2007, 06:01 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Feb 1 2007, 12:50 PM)

so, where can get the cheapest price for D40 kit in KL?
with extra lens, of course
I would recommend j-one at amcorp mall (not exactly in kl)..Jason is your man. He has and can get any lens you want..and well stocked with d40 and d80. Be sure to bargain with him.

Cheers
firestarter
post Feb 2 2007, 05:26 AM

34 posts

QUOTE(Evirober @ Feb 1 2007, 07:46 PM)
Guys,
  I gotta a question.... Have anyone here downloaded the D40 latest firmware update ?? Coz it the website states

"If you have entered the correct serial number in the "My Profile" area and are still getting an error your camera may not be a North American model camera. This download is only available to North American users. If you purchased your camera in North America, and the serial number reports an error you may have a "Grey Market" product."

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Hi..I think it says that bcos americans only want americans to download from american website..lol..Im pretty sure the d40 is same throughout the world..only serial number diff due to nikon's country to country support and warranty..bcos they dont support grey market products. So they just waana check that your serial number relates to that country.

Dont download from there..get it from japan or europe sites, i downloaded from europe. If u cant find it..pm me your email and i will email you the file. I updated my d40 3 days ago and all is well.

Cheers
firestarter
post Mar 13 2007, 03:27 PM

34 posts

D40 owners:
1) Evirober
2) harrychoo
3) firestarter
4)
5)